No Oppo Supporters Non Bulldog Footy Talk - Bulldogs only - Part 3

Thanks for the info , amazing !
So all the above got help because of being perennial bottom teams ?
No, just from bottoming out briefly in some cases. There used to be a formula... if you failed to get 4 wins in a season (I think that was the number) then you got a priority pick.

Like any poorly thought out rule (the AFL excels at them) it was quickly rorted.

Thanks for the info , amazing !
So all the above got help because of being perennial bottom teams ?

Nah, they just gave you a priority for winning 5 games or less, in order of which team was worse. Hawthorn Richmond and us all got picks in the Deledio/Tambling, Roughead/Franklin, Griffen/Williams draft - Richmond 1, Hawks 2 and us 3, then the follow ups of Tambling, Franklin, Williams. When tanking became an issue, it took a while but by 2012, AFL got rid of automatic and went to discretionary.

3 = Carlton, Melbourne
2 = Collingwood, Fremantle, Hawthorn, St Kilda, Western Bulldogs
1 = Brisbane*, Richmond, West Coast

* = end of first round rather than start of first round

Full list since 1997 (start of first round, unless stated):

1997 Melbourne (Johnstone)
1999 Collingwood (Fraser)
1999 Fremantle (Hasleby)
2000 St Kilda (Riewoldt)
2001 Fremantle (Hodge, pick traded away to Hawthorn)
2001 St Kilda (Ball)
2001 West Coast (Judd)
2003 Western Bulldogs (Cooney)
2003 Carlton (Walker)
2003 Melbourne (Sylvia)
2004 Richmond (Deledio)
2004 Hawthorn (Roughead)
2004 Western Bulldogs (Griffen)
2005 Carlton (Murphy)
2005 Collingwood (Thomas)
2005 Hawthorn (Ellis)
2007 Carlton (Kreuzer)
2009 Melbourne (Scully)
2016 Brisbane (Hayward, end of first round, pick traded away ultimately ending with Sydney)
It's worth also listing those who have never had a PP:
  • Adelaide
  • Essendon (they found other ways)
  • Geelong (cashed in on F/Sons in the days when you only had to pay a 3rd rounder to get players like Hawkins, Ablett, Scarlett etc. That allowed them to use their first picks on players like Selwood etc.)
  • Gold Coast (until now)
  • GWS (who needs priority picks with all these other goodies we got?)
  • North
  • Port Melb
  • Sydney (remember COLA?)
Bottom line: every club goes through ups and downs. Some get luckier than others.

Nah, they just gave you a priority for winning 5 games or less, in order of which team was worse. Hawthorn Richmond and us all got picks in the Deledio/Tambling, Roughead/Franklin, Griffen/Williams draft - Richmond 1, Hawks 2 and us 3, then the follow ups of Tambling, Franklin, Williams. When tanking became an issue, it took a while but by 2012, AFL got rid of automatic and went to discretionary.

I am never surprised how poorly thought out some of the AFL policies are.
For a multi million dollar industry they are largely run by buffoons !
Just look where we are these days with the MRP / tribunal .
Should be the easiest thing in the world , given those that are responsible have some eye site , to sort out !
Now just a dogs bloody breakfast ! We also need Barristers involved ffs !

I have no real issues with the assistance package handed to the Suns. Desperately need talent and a walkover team is bad for the league. Everyone keeps screaming for them to pick up 26-30 year old bodies from other teams. That’s what they’ve been doing recently and it’s not helping at all. They’ve got a lot of B-grade talent but they need star power and all their star power has left. Picks 1 and 2 gives them the Rowell and Anderson duo and hopefully those other picks can get a Brad Crouch and another player in the Brad Crouch age and talent bracket.

Pretty much a second start for them. As bad as it ended up going, they weren’t far off being a really really good side. 2014 they were headed for the finals before Ablett got injured. Had Prestia, Swallow, O’Meara and Bennell in the midfield (aged between 20 and 22) and KPPs in Lynch, May, Dixon, Thompson and Day (aged between 22 and 24). Whole midfield got injured in 2015 and 2016 and then they all left. Haven’t been close to getting anything going anytime since.

That’s been one thing with the drafting where GWS has been better than Gold Coast. GWS have continually drafted a lot of hard bodies than can go into the midfield. Treloar, Adams, Shiel have all left and they’ve always got high picks ready to fill the void, Taranto and Hopper the latest. Gold Coast seemed to draft heaps of athletic flankers who were meant to compliment that midfield but when they left they didn’t have anyone to fill the void.

How the hell did Clayton Oliver and Max Gawn tie the B&F at Melbourne? Gawn should’ve been first and second spot. The difference between him and the next best Dee was huge. Thought Oliver’s year was pretty meh to be honest. He’ll probably be a great player very soon (once he starts kicking more and kicking better) but didn’t think this year he was half as impactful as 2018.

I see Norf have delisted Hrovat, he had a longer career than Honeychurch.

Got a facebook memory the other day from when Brian Lake won the Norm Smith medal & being happy for him, as well as happy his pick we traded in was used on a "200 game midfielder" o_O

Might delete that one

I opened an article on Fox Sports and the first line was

The whole trade period could revolve around two Essendon stars that are pondering trade requests to rival clubs

so even if Dodo isn't winning the trade period - the trade period is still going to be about Dodo.

Dodo will still win trade week like always.... Only this time he will win the draft too!!!!
He is sure a winner, that Dodo!

I do love that it is now over 5,500 days since Essendon won a final. Pretty sure they have at least another 1,000 days to go until maybe, just maybe they finally make the Dodo extinct.

Essendon had their best and fairest overnight. Stringer didn’t even finish in their top 10.

so.. no AA squad, averaged 12 touches a game, kicked 30 goals, shirked the issue in a final and wasn’t even judged in his team’s top 10 players for the year. But wait for commentators to spruik how exciting he is and how well he played in 2019 all next year.

It makes it all the more disappointing we couldn’t get a first rounder for him. We sold him for what he’s worth but surely could have found someone that overrated him

Dodo will still win trade week like always.... Only this time he will win the draft too!!!!
He is sure a winner, that Dodo!

I do love that it is now over 5,500 days since Essendon won a final. Pretty sure they have at least another 1,000 days to go until maybe, just maybe they finally make the Dodo extinct.
Let’s hope he never becomes extinct.

Essendon had their best and fairest overnight. Stringer didn’t even finish in their top 10.

so.. no AA squad, averaged 12 touches a game, kicked 30 goals, shirked the issue in a final and wasn’t even judged in his team’s top 10 players for the year. But wait for commentators to spruik how exciting he is and how well he played in 2019 all next year.

It makes it all the more disappointing we couldn’t get a first rounder for him. We sold him for what he’s worth but surely could have found someone that overrated him

Wayne Carey will ask for an investigation into the voting system! #justice4jake

I opened an article on Fox Sports and the first line was

The whole trade period could revolve around two Essendon stars that are pondering trade requests to rival clubs

so even if Dodo isn't winning the trade period - the trade period is still going to be about Dodo.
Yeah I remember the Smith, Stringer and Saad year.
We brought in three players too - and also took Naughton and Richards at the draft. Long may Dodo 'win' every October.