No Oppo Supporters Non Bulldog Footy Talk - Bulldogs only - Part 4

Tarryn Thomas getting another chance this weekend in the VFL.

2027 can't come soon enough. Tasmania can have him back. And it'll be one less player they'll need to poach from the other 18 clubs.

Might head down there to boo him, then go home. He shouldn’t be anywhere near a footy field

He'd be too 'gangsta' for Tasmania now wouldn't he? If they're going to build a good culture, not sure he'd be high on my priority list. Also aren't his origins/family spread across multiple states?

Personally, I hope Tassie surpasses GWS, and has regular better ladder finishes from the start. I want to see GWS bottom out for decades.

He'd be too 'gangsta' for Tasmania now wouldn't he? If they're going to build a good culture, not sure he'd be high on my priority list. Also aren't his origins/family spread across multiple states?

Personally, I hope Tassie surpasses GWS, and has regular better ladder finishes from the start. I want to see GWS bottom out for decades.
Have you seen the crowd they are pulling this year....and absolute black hole on the AFL finances?

Big fan of Ward as a player, but the compensation for him netted us a 200+ gamer that has been a 3xAA and premiership player. We didn't just minimise damage in this instance, we benefited.

Your overall point is a good one though. Address talent needs now before access to it dries up. A couple of best 22 midfielders with our two first rounders this year will do just fine.
It was inadequate. But mainly in comparison with what the Dees got for Tom Scully (a lesser player than Ward). We made it something with Macrae. They stuffed it up with Toumpas.

Hopefully if we do lose anyone it doesn't end up like 2012 when Melbourne received an extra first round pick for Scully on top of what we got for Ward (and allowed them to allegedly broker a backroom deal for the Giants to not bid on Jack Viney with the top 3 picks, allowing them to instead get him in the 2nd round and pick up superstar Jimmy Toumpas with pick 4).

Gardner is our only player from Tassie.
Liam Jones is also isn’t he? Not that he’ll be around by then though

I played sunday night basketball against him last week. Seems way too thin to be playing pro/semi pro footy.

There is another McPherson son coming through and Steve ‘Super’ was from Tasmania obviously his brother ‘Rocket’ Rod was too. So if the father son from Tassie dads comes in this lad could be a Tassie player?

Let’s be honest, anyone “lured” to Tassie will be because of money. They will probably live in Melbourne but have a place in TAS to live during the season

History tells us that anybody lured to Tasmanian expansion side is likely to be a journeyman, an aging star looking for one last big paycheque or kids drafted in without any say in the matter. All of whom are unlikely to truly buy into the place and only sign on because they are being payed way over the odds. This has the knock on effect of pushing the salary cap to busting point necessitating the need to trade players out. And thus the cycle of trading players for draft picks and the life of a feeder club on the lower middle rungs on the ladder begins.

The Adelaide and Perth teams (the Eagles anyway) have for the most part been able to avoid this fate because they had a latent group of expats, strong local leagues and elite junior programs to draw from. I dont think that Tassie will have such an advantage unless the AFL find a way to contrive one for them. Then they are destined to be a drain on the game in the same way that GWS and Gold Coast are. That people are calling for a 20th team before those two basket cases are fixed let alone the looming one in Hobart even kicks off just beggars belief.

For all of the noise that the Tasmanian licence has generated. I'd rather the game got its existing house in order and sorted out the GWS and GC boondoggles first.

History tells us that anybody lured to Tasmanian expansion side is likely to be a journeyman, an aging star looking for one last big paycheque or kids drafted in without any say in the matter. All of whom are unlikely to truly buy into the place and only sign on because they are being payed way over the odds. This has the knock on effect of pushing the salary cap to busting point necessitating the need to trade players out. And thus the cycle of trading players for draft picks and the life of a feeder club on the lower middle rungs on the ladder begins.

The Adelaide and Perth teams (the Eagles anyway) have for the most part been able to avoid this fate because they had a latent group of expats, strong local leagues and elite junior programs to draw from. I dont think that Tassie will have such an advantage unless the AFL find a way to contrive one for them. Then they are destined to be a drain on the game in the same way that GWS and Gold Coast are. That people are calling for a 20th team before those two basket cases are fixed let alone the looming one in Hobart even kicks off just beggars belief.

For all of the noise that the Tasmanian licence has generated. I'd rather the game got its existing house in order and sorted out the GWS and GC boondoggles first.

That is a fair point. The AFL should have gotten GWS and GC in order first. Mind you GWS has finally cracked 30k members, but unfortunately it is not reflecting in match day crowds which is a concern. Gold Coast is a tough market, many teams from various sports have tried there and failed. Makes me wonder if the AFL placed them in the right part of QLD.

The AFL gave in to the pressure of the TAS push which has been drumming for years now. Understandable the costs involved early will be an issue. But in the long term, a team in TAS will benefit the state. Some local teams have seen a drop in numbers, and no doubt a stronger AFL presence and support into development pathways there, will encourage more growth through the lower ranks. You could argue the benefits outside the TAS team itself, could offset any handouts needed to keep TAS up in the early years. I am way more confident TAS will fast overtake both GC and GWS in terms of members.

In think we do need 20 teams, and I do think it can easily be done without needing to prop them up at the expense of others. Which is why team 20 must be in a strong ready made market. Hence WA3. The only reason the chief of football in WA is sooking about the idea of a third team, is because he is a puppet for Freo and WC, the latter who do not want to lose a single one of their 100k fans. The revenue from TV deals for 10 games a week, and removal of the pain in the ass of multiple byes a season for each team, or each game week even. Will just fill the AFLs coffers more, and means they are able to put more towards struggling franchises.

That is a fair point. The AFL should have gotten GWS and GC in order first. Mind you GWS has finally cracked 30k members, but unfortunately it is not reflecting in match day crowds which is a concern. Gold Coast is a tough market, many teams from various sports have tried there and failed. Makes me wonder if the AFL placed them in the right part of QLD.
Im not sure that memberships is a great metric to use when it comes to a clubs success. There seems to be a lot o=f very rubbery figures floating about in this regard. Although its not showing in their crowds and after constantly being pillaged for their best players. I get the impression that after 11 years they have finally turned the corner when it comes to building a culture around their team. Their problem is and always will be one of player retention though. It's an issue that still needs to be addressed with measures beyond paying through the arse to keep their best players. Or just accepting losing players as a fact of life away from the tractor beam draw of Melbourne. If the AFL dont put a completely different pathway in place for Tasmania then history as its want to do will repeat itself. Gold Coast just feels like a club where journeymen footballers go to see out their careers. the whole team just feels like its incapable of rising above the station that the league has set for it. Middle lower rungs destined to ruin careers, suck money out of the game and attain zero success until they inevitable fold or are rebranded and relocated somewhere...anywhere else. It just feels like a lost cause of pointlessness.

The AFL gave in to the pressure of the TAS push which has been drumming for years now. Understandable the costs involved early will be an issue. But in the long term, a team in TAS will benefit the state. Some local teams have seen a drop in numbers, and no doubt a stronger AFL presence and support into development pathways there, will encourage more growth through the lower ranks. You could argue the benefits outside the TAS team itself, could offset any handouts needed to keep TAS up in the early years. I am way more confident TAS will fast overtake both GC and GWS in terms of members.
I dont doubt that the net benefit for Hobart with the development that is planned for the area around the oval and the boost that it will have on the state league will be a good thing. The problem as I see it is whether the game is smart enough to avoid the mistakes that they built into other expansions sides that were by design/accident or incompetence in effect set up to be pillaged by Melbourne sides in particular and the other traditional football states in general. I have many doubts on this front.

In think we do need 20 teams, and I do think it can easily be done without needing to prop them up at the expense of others. Which is why team 20 must be in a strong ready made market. Hence WA3. The only reason the chief of football in WA is sooking about the idea of a third team, is because he is a puppet for Freo and WC, the latter who do not want to lose a single one of their 100k fans. The revenue from TV deals for 10 games a week, and removal of the pain in the ass of multiple byes a season for each team, or each game week even. Will just fill the AFLs coffers more, and means they are able to put more towards struggling franchises.
Im not so sure. One only needs to look at the state of our side and see how top heavy with talent it is, to understand how shallow the pool of talent in the game really is. For mine, it seems that the only real reason being put forward as to why further expansion in the game is needed is to balance out the fixture. This feels like a problem of the games making in search of a solution.

However, I do agree that if a 20th team is to be created then Perth is the logical location. I just wonder whether there is a group of people that are willing to leave their long established teams for the long haul of starting a new franchise. Whether it's by piggy backing onto an established state level club like Freo/Port did or essentially from scratch like the Eagles and Adelaide did. I can't see it working in Adelaide and Im not sure the game has pockets deep enough to do it in the likes of Canberra or FNQ. If they're the next likely candidates then they might as well just start the 20th side in Geelong. At least that side won't have any trouble attracting and retaining top end talent.

TLDR; I have many doubts about the expansion of the game.

The Eagles have never had that problem because:
A) Perth is an excellent place to live; and,
B) WA is very much an AFL state

Im not so sure. One only needs to look at the state of our side and see how top heavy with talent it is, to understand how shallow the pool of talent in the game really is. For mine, it seems that the only real reason being put forward as to why further expansion in the game is needed is to balance out the fixture. This feels like a problem of the games making in search of a solution.

However, I do agree that if a 20th team is to be created then Perth is the logical location. I just wonder whether there is a group of people that are willing to leave their long established teams for the long haul of starting a new franchise. Whether it's by piggy backing onto an established state level club like Freo/Port did or essentially from scratch like the Eagles and Adelaide did. I can't see it working in Adelaide and Im not sure the game has pockets deep enough to do it in the likes of Canberra or FNQ. If they're the next likely candidates then they might as well just start the 20th side in Geelong. At least that side won't have any trouble attracting and retaining top end talent.

TLDR; I have many doubts about the expansion of the game.
This is not from a sudden realisation.

It's from the assumption (mine at least) that the AFL would not have granted licence #19 if they hadn't already had in mind what they were doing after that, i.e. with licence #20. I disagree with a lot of what the AFL does but I don't think they are so ad hoc as not to have thought all this through long before announcing the Tasmanian franchise. I can't imagine they have a long term strategy for an odd number of teams. My tip is something else will be announced before 2030.

So we are just trying to get inside their heads. What IS their long term vision?
Hint: it will be something to do with increased revenue, increased footprint (including media coverage), increased political power, assertion of dominance over other football codes ... or preferably all four at once.