Oppo Camp Non-Eagles Discussion

Also talking of the place of tears, is there a more dislikable bloke than Walters? I’ll take the racism outrage cause it’s not allowed this week, but f**k me, I challenge you all to find me an oppo player you’d rather punch more than him. Flopping flog that loves to overreact when he kicks a goal.
oliver

How the fk are port 3rd on the ladder.
This is a very weak season. The teams from 5-11 all have massive flaws and even though we're approaching halfway point of the season, it's not clear which ones will actually make finals (as they are all a bit shit). The bottom 3 are probably the weakest we've ever seen and should be playing WAFL/VFL.

The league feels a bit stuffed to me. The run and gun gameplan is too taxing and is leading to big injury issues at a bunch of clubs. Availability is key, get your team on the field and you can probably push for top 4 just off that. I think Pies have the flag sewn up (the same as Melbourne in 2021 and Geelong last year).

Collingwood still the team to beat, despite their hiccup on the weekend Melbourne are next best IMO

Brisbane still to many question marks over their ability to execute in high-pressure situations, and also at the MCG

Collingwood still the team to beat, despite their hiccup on the weekend Melbourne are next best IMO

Brisbane still to many question marks over their ability to execute in high-pressure situations, and also at the MCG
Not sure about Melbourne. They’re in the same boat as Brisbane for mine. They’re not used to pressure - gotten a bit dependent on the champagne footy.

Port and Pies for mine (also my ideal dinner)

I’ll second that. Most were gracious and just loved to talk footy.. I don’t think I saw one fight all day

They actually seem to have changed as a group.

In the 70's and 80's they were by far the most feral group in the VFL.
I went to a Ric/Col game at the G in the early 80's and they were out of control. Behaved like a bunch of 1970's soccer hooligans.
And if there were 40 000 of them there i reckon less than 1 in a hundred had ever visited a dentist.
And for most of them personal hygiene was something other people did. Bath day for most was at least two weeks in the past.

Now things are very different. You can actually hold a conversation with many.

I'm not sure whether the gentrification of the inner city suburbs has resulted in the gentrification of the inner city club supporters?
But as a whole they are a much more palatable bunch nowadays.

They actually seem to have changed as a group.

In the 70's and 80's they were by far the most feral group in the VFL.
I went to a Ric/Col game at the G in the early 80's and they were out of control. Behaved like a bunch of 1970's soccer hooligans.
And if there were 40 000 of them there i reckon less than 1 in a hundred had ever visited a dentist.
And for most of them personal hygiene was something other people did. Bath day for most was at least two weeks in the past.

Now things are very different. You can actually hold a conversation with many.

I'm not sure whether the gentrification of the inner city suburbs has resulted in the gentrification of the inner city club supporters?
But as a whole they are a much more palatable bunch nowadays.
I think you've hit the nail with the gentrification. I've been to several Pies games at the MCG (for one reason or another), including the 2011 GF and there's been a mix of decent middle-class types but also the odd bogan.

Then again, any club with 80,000 members is going to have a similar mix. We have our fair share of derros as well.

Also talking of the place of tears, is there a more dislikable bloke than Walters? I’ll take the racism outrage cause it’s not allowed this week, but f**k me, I challenge you all to find me an oppo player you’d rather punch more than him. Flopping flog that loves to overreact when he kicks a goal.
Hate Walters flopping.

But credit where credit is due, playing AFL and being a star at 5 foot not much and 70 odd kgs is an amazing achievement.

Plenty of more dislikable and punchable blokes, just look at Melbourne with Oliver and their biggest tosser - Harrison Petty!

Then there are those Shuey Zorko and Jonas types.