Mega Thread Non-Freo AFL Discussion 2024 Part 2

I actually think some of their veterans like Yeo, McGovern and Kelly contribute more than ours, which is not a good thing for them by the way.
Yeah because they don't have anyone else. If we were forced to rely on Fyfe and Walters etc, we'd be stuffed as well.

Yeah he would.
OK, I'll play.
Rioli plays the loose, but attacking half back role that every team uses one of, as they usually have 3 talls, 1 lockdown & 1 hybrid attacking/defending.
I realise this is an oversimplification, but here goes.
Each team only has to contain on their list a better "attacking, loose, half back"
A have Milera, but injuries have cruelled him, so Rioli gets a game
B Zorko & Coleman are far better, so no
C Saad shades Rioli IMO
Coll Houston (I know, he has just gotten there), so even Nick Duckos.
E Martin (I prefer Nick Martin 4 sure)
F Clark (and he can defend as well)
G maybe
GC Flanders is okily dokily, but I can't use that one
GWS Whitfield is far, far batter
H yeah, probably gets a game
M Salem, more rounded as a player, McVee really good & can defend, Rivers versatile & quality, so no IMO
NM Sheezel better in his first year than Rioli his whole career. Shneezel does run with the mids at times, but North have so many mids
PP Houston gone, maybe yes
R basket case while they tank & draft, so yes
SK Sinclair far better
S Lizard far better
WB Dale better
wc lol

so out of 17 teams that are not GC I reckon he makes 6 teams IMO.

care to disagree? (sorry, just bored with the off season & have a work at home pair of days, but on top of it)

Go Freo

There are always loopholes in every sport, that's why it's called "management".

AFL list management is the worst that I have seen. Father/son, academy picks, extra list spots for some, rookie list that has 30 year old vets on it. Loopholes are fine but our sport is a joke for all things draft/trade/lists.

OK, I'll play.
Rioli plays the loose, but attacking half back role that every team uses one of, as they usually have 3 talls, 1 lockdown & 1 hybrid attacking/defending.
I realise this is an oversimplification, but here goes.
Each team only has to contain on their list a better "attacking, loose, half back"
A have Milera, but injuries have cruelled him, so Rioli gets a game
B Zorko & Coleman are far better, so no
C Saad shades Rioli IMO
Coll Houston (I know, he has just gotten there), so even Nick Duckos.
E Martin (I prefer Nick Martin 4 sure)
F Clark (and he can defend as well)
G maybe
GC Flanders is okily dokily, but I can't use that one
GWS Whitfield is far, far batter
H yeah, probably gets a game
M Salem, more rounded as a player, McVee really good & can defend, Rivers versatile & quality, so no IMO
NM Sheezel better in his first year than Rioli his whole career. Shneezel does run with the mids at times, but North have so many mids
PP Houston gone, maybe yes
R basket case while they tank & draft, so yes
SK Sinclair far better
S Lizard far better
WB Dale better
wc lol

so out of 17 teams that are not GC I reckon he makes 6 teams IMO.

care to disagree? (sorry, just bored with the off season & have a work at home pair of days, but on top of it)

Go Freo

He makes every single best 23, the only team he might have a hard time getting into is Brisbane but still think they make room in the 23 for him.

I know Zorko was AA this year but they ask him to retire at his age if getting Rioli was an option.

That’s ignoring he’d probably be their second best HBF on last seasons form (I do think Coleman is a better footballer though).

Think people underrate good players from bad teams and overrate bad players from good teams tbh. It’s part of the reason there’s any enthusiasm whatsoever about us getting Narkle.

Like giving astronomy scholarships to Reece Conca without him a) being interested in astronomy and b) the school having an astronomy lab

If you want to see some bullshit you should see some of the degrees colleges in America come up with for their athletes.

How rooted can a club be when they, the Saints, own pokies and yet still can't make a profit.

Not just that, the gaming revenue for the clubs isn't calculated in the equilisation distribution calculation with the AFL when it sends out the money.

Served Tim Kelly at work tonight, fyi he drinks Good Tides.
He drinks Raspberry Seltzer?
Bruce Campbell Hello GIF

If you want to see some bullshit you should see some of the degrees colleges in America come up with for their athletes.

All of the highly-paid "sociologists with an emphasis in sports" dislike how you disparage their work. Where would we be without them? In the toilet. That's where. ;)

Mega Thread Non-Freo AFL Discussion 2024 Part 2