Mega Thread Non-Freo AFL Discussion

My rough calcs are that each club would need about an extra 7-8 mill/y to fund the pay of the AFLW players to something around 150 average with top players earning 3-4 times that.

22 of the 30 players averaging 150K (some more, new recruits less like in the men's) = 3.3 mill.

8 players between 300-800 (top player) average around 500K = 4 mill

total of about 7.3 mill.

The stadiums are paid for, clubs have already built facilities for the women, AFLW teams already have good paying sponsors, their staff are already paid for with pays only held back by the AFL's own softcap. It's just more money needed for the players.

So a club like WC/Hawks/Richmond with 100K members paying about 800/year or so on average instead pays 900/y. Extra 10 mill. Clubs with 50K members extra 5 mill. AFL averages it out as they always do and there you have your rough calculated 7 and a bit mill to pay the female players.

Members pay 10% or so more but get a second game of their team a fortnight, of fully professional players, double header maybe, in a proper stadium in front of large crowds. Better chance of leaving the stadium with at least one win and happy.

No male player needs to give up a cent.

Rough calcs but you get the picture. It's not outside the realms of possibility very soon.

Not all members would be interested and many couldn't afford it. With inflation coming like a freight train that plan would be adding another 10% on top of other costs thats have increased anywhere from 7-80%.

What would be wrong with asking them to take the same path the men took? Get more sponsors for their game, who are coming, and play part time until they can get an increase in pay. The men played as part timers for many years. Some of the money you are suggesting Peter Matera would only have dreamt of earning, and many of the men are not earning. If there are AFLW players earning 500k then the mens pay should increase by another 30-35% across the board.

The womens game is already ahead of where the men started as far as pay, league and teams commitment.

Not all members would be interested and many couldn't afford it. With inflation coming like a freight train that plan would be adding another 10% on top of other costs thats have increased anywhere from 7-80%.

What would be wrong with asking them to take the same path the men took? Get more sponsors for their game, who are coming, and play part time until they can get an increase in pay. The men played as part timers for many years. Some of the money you are suggesting Peter Matera would only have dreamt of earning, and many of the men are not earning. If there are AFLW players earning 500k then the mens pay should increase by another 30-35% across the board.

The womens game is already ahead of where the men started as far as pay, league and teams commitment.
In theory, yeah.

However we’re expecting them to present in professional condition and fitness.

It thickens.

That, or the AFL are trying to squeeze WC for a few more million for Tassie

TIL the AFL has a General Manager of Integrity.

In theory, yeah.

However we’re expecting them to present in professional condition and fitness.

I wouldn't say there is more expectation to present in a professional condition and fitness level than those late 80's early 90's team.

In fact in most AFLW games there are ~5 players who are quite far from those levels.

I wouldn't say there is more expectation to present in a professional condition and fitness level than those late 80's early 90's team.

In fact in most AFLW games there are ~5 players who are quite far from those levels.
Do we not?

Were there not conversations around Duffy’s fitness levels and body shape last year? Houghton’s this year?

Do clubs expect players to put in 20-30 hours of training in the week, even during the off season, while they are expected to also work full time?

Rightly or wrongly, the women are being judged as if they were full time athletes. Time to let them be that.

Do we not?

Were there not conversations around Duffy’s fitness levels and body shape last year? Houghton’s this year?

Do clubs expect players to put in 20-30 hours of training in the week, even during the off season, while they are expected to also work full time?

Rightly or wrongly, the women are being judged as if they were full time athletes. Time to let them be that.
Miller wrote an interesting article about the difficulty of juggling footy with her career and this year she is just focusing on footy and not working. She acknowledges that she had the savings and privileges with do so. And her footy this year is truly showing what full time dedication is doing. She’s much much improved. You want the best athletes to want to play an attractive quality game. and you get that from full time professionals. the best athletes will also play the game if they get the best cash. imagine if Sam Kerr had the pathways now available. she‘s making way more in soccer but footy was her first love. same with Phillips. Imagine if she had been in the game her whole career!!! The game as a whole would be much better. Paying them better is good for the game. I’m not saying the men need to pay for it, but I don’t buy the argument that the women have to do their time slumming it. People expect a finessed product now. So…. How can we get there there best way possible?

I think there is a big opportunity for a business to grand stand themselves under the guise of closing the gap by supplementing the incomes of players for a particular team's women athletes so they can be full time professionals.

The majority of players on our AFLW team earn just over $20,000. How much is needed to top that up to a full time position? $50,000?

$1,500,000 is what that costs for the 30 players on the list.

If it worth $1,500,000 for BHP to show it's doing it's part for women, ignoring the recent issues on sites, by employing all of the Eagle's AFLW side as Professional Sporting Ambassadors?

I think so.

I think Rio Tinto could benefit with a AFLW Personal Development Fund of $1,500,000 for the Dockers whereby the players on the list get their additional $50,000 to focus full time on being the best they can be and attending leadership meetings at Rio Tinto where they speak about the importance of companies like Rio Tinto supporting women having an equal starting point.

It would be a nice little sponsorship to potentially open the door to larger partnerships into the future.

I think there is a big opportunity for a business to grand stand themselves under the guise of closing the gap by supplementing the incomes of players for a particular team's women athletes so they can be full time professionals.

The majority of players on our AFLW team earn just over $20,000. How much is needed to top that up to a full time position? $50,000?

$1,500,000 is what that costs for the 30 players on the list.

If it worth $1,500,000 for BHP to show it's doing it's part for women, ignoring the recent issues on sites, by employing all of the Eagle's AFLW side as Professional Sporting Ambassadors?

I think so.

I think Rio Tinto could benefit with a AFLW Personal Development Fund of $1,500,000 for the Dockers whereby the players on the list get their additional $50,000 to focus full time on being the best they can be and attending leadership meetings at Rio Tinto where they speak about the importance of companies like Rio Tinto supporting women having an equal starting point.

It would be a nice little sponsorship to potentially open the door to larger partnerships into the future.
I don't mind it.

Sure the companies involved are doing it from a point of self interest and grandstanding, however you can still use the dollars and publicity to make legitimate change.

Reckon the AFL won't appeal but they'll use the "possibility" of appealing as grounds to clarify the rules so it can't be used as precedent later in the season.

This is interesting.

Can we use all those times that buddy elbowed players in the head if anyone gets cited? Can we use footage from the 90's to argue a case? Can see why the AFL are considering an appeal.

We're trying to move forward as a sport, protect the head more. I think the AFL should also appeal the decision on the hit o the gut behind play, pretty sure the offending player got off with a fine.

Rioli's advocate David Grace QC used the example of Nick Riewoldt's iconic 2004 mark (check it out in the player below), who fearlessly ran with the flight of the ball and collided with a group of players when he took his mark against Sydney at the SCG.

Rioli should have got 4 and Robinson 3. Both were never going for the ball and their sole intention was to hurt their opponent. I would have loved these bumps 20 (maybe even 10) years ago but they are just not on now.