North Central Football League - Part 1

Re: North Central Football League

Can't remember if he was in the squad or not there tiger.

i think we only had Needs in the Senior squad, and about 7 guys in the U18's

Have heard on the grapevine that Walpeup-Underbool players were the only ones from the Mallee to turn up to training. I think you will find that from the Bulls Lee, Holmes, Scambler and Noonan will all be playing on Saturday, and Ryan will not be.

I thought the inter-legue was at Donald, but i may be very wrong? I heard that there was hockey at Birchip this weekend?

I see young Riley Koops has been selected in both inter-league sides? which one is he going to line up in? or should line up in? Thoughts?

Am good mates with Koopsy, and have had a yarn to him about this issue exactly. Was named in the senior squad last year but played U18's an was best for North Central Mallee. Few things he needs to take into consideration
* In which grade will he have more of an impact?
* Which team is he needed by most?
* How much match time will he get in seniors compared to U18's?
* Shuld he play seniors as a learning curve?
* He still has another year of U18's next year, therefore should he play U18's this year?

There is no doubt that he is more than capable of playing both, but i would like to hear a few thoughts from others on ol Koopsy
Sorry for talkin bout ya mate, haha :thumbsu:

Am good mates with Koopsy, and have had a yarn to him about this issue exactly. Was named in the senior squad last year but played U18's an was best for North Central Mallee. Few things he needs to take into consideration
* He still has another year of U18's next year, therefore should he play U18's this year?

There is no doubt that he is more than capable of playing both, but i would like to hear a few thoughts from others on ol Koopsy

Play the highest level you can i reckon

His chances of getting more exposure and playing in the East Vs West game would increase if he plays well in the u/18's rather than being ok in the senior one. East V West is a higher achievement than playing senior interleague for NCFL.

Stenhouse would play CHF in the interleague if they wanted to play Sonny or Cliff.

The question about him being shut down and the burn still being able to win is stupid... Shut down Andrews from Charlton, Shut down Ryan from Birchip, Shut down any key player from any team and it will make a difference! the only problem is Stenna has played on much better defenders than any in this league and will be consistently good all year. Yes he may have an off day (not yet though) but so does everyone.

I think Ritchie, Pearce, and Barnes more then capable of stepping up if stenna has an off day.

I think from Wedderburn: Stenthouse, barnes, gash, rose - From Boort: C Rutley, Bartram - From Donald: Ross Funke - Birchip: Ryan (Cliff), Scrambler. Wyche: Tinkler, Rick Allan. Charlton: Finlay, Hill, Andrews. Starnard: Needs, Solyom,

Obviously missed a lot

have you seen wyche play the last few weeks.........would have had hawk in the training squad to have a look at him, would be an awsome small forward along side the big house. pitty he missed the first few games other wise i recon he might have been given a chance.

hey MOR....do u know anyhting about the wallpeup side this year or....just curious....:thumbsu:

wallpeup have a few boys traveling including kane munroe comin from perth. from what iv heard from people having played against him in the past an seen him play(did play a few AFL games) he would carve it up but unsure weather walpeup are willing to put such a huge asset on the line lot of time an money goes into him coming back to play footy

still young enough to play under 18's then leave him in teh unders an let him carve it up as you said harry still got another year in the unders so if he is top quality then he will be in the senior side next year, would proberly prefer to play seniors but is still only young, and wouldnt have a huge impact against the more senior players of teh sunraisia league. dont think nc/m will be good enough to match it with them in the seniors either alot of quality footballers playing up there. but you never know, dont think holmes will have to worrie about atkinson to much.

yeh played with koopsey last year...great bloke and obviously goes well on the field aswell. given that he still has another year of U18s would think that he would be better off playing a whole game in that game this year. Dont think anyone doubts his ability to be up to the seniors but i think he might benefit more from playin a whole game in the U18's instead of probly bits and pieces of a senior match
Anyone got any news on some of the top players re this w/e? Will they get a decent side on the park? noticed last year quite a few didnt play.

yeh played with koopsey last year...great bloke and obviously goes well on the field aswell. given that he still has another year of U18s would think that he would be better off playing a whole game in that game this year. Dont think anyone doubts his ability to be up to the seniors but i think he might benefit more from playin a whole game in the U18's instead of probly bits and pieces of a senior match
Anyone got any news on some of the top players re this w/e? Will they get a decent side on the park? noticed last year quite a few didnt play.

Might be the same this year mate with people pulling out etc...
I think from Boort we had: C Ruts, Plugger, Nelson, Parker, Cooney picked in the squad. Most of these gun footballers are injured however so will not be playing. Think Boort are looking more to the game against the Savs than interleague..... (This might stir a few up)

Definitely Sonny Lindsay for FF as well. I watched him play in the Mallee GF last year on one leg. An amazing footballer to watch. Think he kicked about 8 or 9. . . .

Might be the same this year mate with people pulling out etc...
I think from Boort we had: C Ruts, Plugger, Nelson, Parker, Cooney picked in the squad. Most of these gun footballers are injured however so will not be playing. Think Boort are looking more to the game against the Savs than interleague..... (This might stir a few up)

definately goin to stir it up there ablett...Guess it would happen to an extent in all leagues tho. And while its ok for local and nearby players to want to play, for someone coming from melb its another week of them travelling to the furthest place for the year (Birchip), which takes a fair bit out of ya after playing a game of footy.
But would also be good to see all the best on display together

definately goin to stir it up there ablett...Guess it would happen to an extent in all leagues tho. And while its ok for local and nearby players to want to play, for someone coming from melb its another week of them travelling to the furthest place for the year (Birchip), which takes a fair bit out of ya after playing a game of footy.
But would also be good to see all the best on display together
Yeah it would be great to see Andrews pull on the NCFL jumper, he'll show those Sunraysia boys a thing or two.

Does anyone agree but would C Rutley look the part in the back of a farm ute? Great sheepdog! Don't think I've ever seen him lay a tackle, maybe it's these passengers that prevents them from being a powerhouse! Nelson should be stressing that each player pulls his weight in that team and not having players rely on others to dish it out to them all the time.

Yeah it would be great to see Andrews pull on the NCFL jumper, he'll show those Sunraysia boys a thing or two.

Does anyone agree but would C Rutley look the part in the back of a farm ute? Great sheepdog! Don't think I've ever seen him lay a tackle, maybe it's these passengers that prevents them from being a powerhouse! Nelson should be stressing that each player pulls his weight in that team and not having players rely on others to dish it out to them all the time.

Went to the StArnaud Boort game on saturday and was also at the Birchip game the week before and i dont think ive ever seen a player run as much as craig rutly, he didnt seem to stop! there is no use every player diving on the ball and having no one to dish it out too, rutly seems to get the ball ,give it off, and get it back again. His last quarter at Birchip last week was brilliant!! he must have had 40 plus possesions the 2 games i've seen him play . Isn't he in his mid 30's?

yeah he's not bad for an old fella...34 i believe..and thats about how many possys he'a averaging!! smasher just proving you are one stupid stupid man, so all you do is sit at home and think of stupid statements about boort or their players..

So he has no flaws? He can have 40 possies a game but it means nothing if you don't man up, what does his opponent have every week?

A bit frustrated that you can't find a way to get loose on a saturday there smasher?
a bit down that your opponent mans you up, while a talent like Craig Rutley can break free?

So he has no flaws? He can have 40 possies a game but it means nothing if you don't man up, what does his opponent have every week?

Wouldn't he be being tagged most games, thus the opposition wasting a player as from what i've seen he carves his opponent up!

A bloke with 40 possessions is clearly letting his opponent run wild. Quite irresponsible. Man up, sheeze if you're gonna play so loose, at least get 41 possessions and not 40, you sloppy sod!

I love Wyche.

Oops sorry! Unbiased! Unbiased!

probly not the tightest of players smash but think its a bit ridiculous underrating such a talent. from what ive seen he dishes off a lot of handballs so must be geting in there a bit. plays in the middle for 90% of every game ive seen. think he would be a fair asset to the interleague side. pretty sure most people would agree he has also been great for ncfl footy as a whole