North Central Football League - Part 1

Re: North Central Football League

So he has no flaws? He can have 40 possies a game but it means nothing if you don't man up, what does his opponent have every week?
I couldnt see Craig Rutley's opponent being quite as damaging as him. I think if he can get free and have 40 touches a game his team would be fairly happy with that. I think its probably up to the opposition to man him up. Dont think too many blokes are going to beat him going the other way by themselves. Obviously would need to be judged on a case-by-case basis though.

probly not the tightest of players smash but think its a bit ridiculous underrating such a talent. from what ive seen he dishes off a lot of handballs so must be geting in there a bit. plays in the middle for 90% of every game ive seen. think he would be a fair asset to the interleague side. pretty sure most people would agree he has also been great for ncfl footy as a whole
I'm not underating him at all - Just think that good midfielders should work both ways, offensive and defensive! Defending is his greatest weakness. Some blokes can run all day one way but when it comes to chasing they are no where to be seen.

what the **** would you know , watch him closer this saturday at birchip and notice how much he does both ways..he will dominate interleague

I must admit i have to agree with that statement.

I'll never forget playing Boort U16's back at their peak in the mid 90s and we copped an absolute hiding and i had 6 kicked on me.. The Boort FF found me after the game and preceded to go through every goal and tell me how good to played..

Who was that player gerta?

There's a lot of talk how strong the NCFL is on here, don't even have the numbers to go at it alone, why combine with the Mallee?

NEWS JUST TO HAND

Major review to take place of football leagues in north central and north western regions of Victoria. Evidentially, with the drought, aging population, dwindling supporter bases it has become clear to the VCFL that the region has not got the players or money to support so many clubs. Possible mergers and abondonment of leagues likely to happen as early as 2008. Just heard this on the radio, could have huge implications on the North Central.....

Yeah it would be great to see Andrews pull on the NCFL jumper, he'll show those Sunraysia boys a thing or two.

Does anyone agree but would C Rutley look the part in the back of a farm ute? Great sheepdog! Don't think I've ever seen him lay a tackle, maybe it's these passengers that prevents them from being a powerhouse! Nelson should be stressing that each player pulls his weight in that team and not having players rely on others to dish it out to them all the time.

I think you'll find C Rutley is tagged most weeks and is rated very highly by most in the North Central. Week in week out he continues to perform and his work rate is exceptional. Furthermore his ability to read the ball of the ruckmans hands at clearances is excellent. Not your smartest call smasher!

NEWS JUST TO HAND

Major review to take place of football leagues in north central and north western regions of Victoria. Evidentially, with the drought, aging population, dwindling supporter bases it has become clear to the VCFL that the region has not got the players or money to support so many clubs. Possible mergers and abondonment of leagues likely to happen as early as 2008. Just heard this on the radio, could have huge implications on the North Central.....
Its taken them this long to work this out? 5 years to late

Great idea!!! Send the struggling clubs to bigger and better leagues so that their juniors can be thrashed by bigger and better sides!

Its basically going to come down (when something eventually happens), to which League would be easier broken up... us or Mallee...

won tooleybuc and came 2nd in comp 2005
3rd in comp 2006!!
yeah very ordinary!!

players should be judged on the amount of flags they have been part of, not personal awards. it is a great honour to win league medals an club B/F but some of the players i see as local legends such as, Cecil Trewin, the White boys Flange an Cass, Sparks Mclennan, Eddie McNicholl, Kerin Lourey etc.... ok a few of them would have some personal medals hanging up in the trophy cabnet but i bet theyd trade a personal award in for another preimership medelion. if your out there to win yourself a fenny your not going to win yourself a flag.

i could sure as hell garantee that craig would trade his personal awards in for a premiership too! even thinking that he wouldn't is ridiculous

look at our side in the final last year. we had the likes of Dennis Adams playing... is he necessarily a better player than the likes of Drew Bartram? in your theory he must be, because he has won more senior premierships than bartram

Great idea!!! Send the struggling clubs to bigger and better leagues so that their juniors can be thrashed by bigger and better sides!

Its basically going to come down (when something eventually happens), to which League would be easier broken up... us or Mallee...

we have been in a drought for a while know do you think that if we get a bit of rain over the next few years it will bring younger people back to the country areas an bring the leagues quality back up to where it was in the past....

i could sure as hell garantee that craig would trade his personal awards in for a premiership too! even thinking that he wouldn't is ridiculous

look at our side in the final last year. we had the likes of Dennis Adams playing... is he necessarily a better player than the likes of Drew Bartram? in your theory he must be, because he has won more senior premierships than bartram

a star team will always beat a team of stars..

havnt seen a premiership photo of just one or a few palyers yet

if he plays better in that side then yes he is better

team sport champ

i think if the conditions are better, there is a chance of locals staying at clubs longer yes...

But the Drought is no excuse... IF (for example) Birchip's juniors sucked... they would suck whether playing in the NCFL, or GRFL/MFL..etc

If the drought is bad in St Arnaud, its bad in St Arnaud whether we are associated with the NCFL, WFL, HDFL, MCDFL, etc etc!

you've hit the nail on the head there mate, Martin Pyke has won 4 flags, Nathan Buckley 0, enough said!

correct me if im wrong but didnt donald go on to win the flag. who cares what happins through the season, once your in that last game in september your only playing for one thing mate...................A FLAG
need a whole team to win flags not just your super star players

you've hit the nail on the head there mate, Martin Pyke has won 4 flags, Nathan Buckley 0, enough said!

buckley proberly see's pyke as having a better football career for winning flags an pyke might see buckley as a better player for winning brownlows, its all in how you perceive things and i see an average senior player with 4 flags as a better player and asset to a country side then a super star with 0 flags

Truck that makes absolutely no sense at all. A hack like pike, and Dennis Adams for that matter, gets lucky and happens to scape into a good side and win a flag and all of a sudden they are a gun footballer?? If that is the case, why don't all the locals pack up and head to Balranald, or Calivil of somewhere, forget about their local team and mates and win a flag. I rekon premierships are overated in Country Footy.

Any of the boys interested in watch old coach atkinson run around on saturday at birchip? Whisper is Needs would love to ruck against the big fella. Is needs playing for NC/M. Apparently pulled up very sore on sunday after another great performance for the saints.
I think he is playing but he has lost some spring from previous years to go up against atkinson, his probably just playing for the free piss after the game

Truck that makes absolutely no sense at all. A hack like pike, and Dennis Adams for that matter, gets lucky and happens to scape into a good side and win a flag and all of a sudden they are a gun footballer?? If that is the case, why don't all the locals pack up and head to Balranald, or Calivil of somewhere, forget about their local team and mates and win a flag. I rekon premierships are overated in Country Footy.

if premierships ar over rated then what should you play for????? why bother keeping score for that matter. leaving to play with a club like calivil or balranald wouldnt be the same as playing in your home town with a heap of mates that you have grown up with. staying at the club shows a bit of ticker and charecter to stick with your local side and mates through the lean times.