North Footscray Football Club ?

Feb 1, 2005
Footscray Football Club
I've just posted the following on the FNWB site and the Regional Board, sorry, Oldschool. Some regulars here might be able to identify the jumper.

Back in 19 mumble mumble, I ran into a bloke I'd gone to primary school with outside Rosamond Tennis Club on a saturday morning. He'd just finished playing footy and was wearing a royal blue jumper with a white vee. I've always had it in my mind that he said he was playing for a North Footscray under age side. By chance, I happened across the NFFC website this evening and discovered that it played in red and white. Which club would my old school friend have been playing for do you think ?

old_fella said:
North Foots have always been red/white if I recall.
How about Avondale Heights, don't they wear these colours?

old_fella.

Yep, North Footscray have always been red & white vertical stripes, Avondale Heights are a Navy blue (as opposed to Royal blue) with white vee.

O Grobbecker said:
I've just posted the following on the FNWB site and the Regional Board, sorry, Oldschool. Some regulars here might be able to identify the jumper.

Back in 19 mumble mumble, I ran into a bloke I'd gone to primary school with outside Rosamond Tennis Club on a saturday morning. He'd just finished playing footy and was wearing a royal blue jumper with a white vee. I've always had it in my mind that he said he was playing for a North Footscray under age side. By chance, I happened across the NFFC website this evening and discovered that it played in red and white. Which club would my old school friend have been playing for do you think ?

Rosamond Tennis Club is miles away from any footy ground I can think of. Why was he there in his footy gear?

I AM AN OLD FELLA 52 YEARS OF AGE AND I PLAYED FOR MAIDSTONE PRIMARY SCHOOL & MAIDSTONE FOOTBALL CLUB JUNIORS AND THE GURNSEY WAS NAVY BLUE WITH A WHITE LETTER M ON THE FRONT similar to Carlton.

NOW NORTH FOOTSCRAY PRIMARY SCHOOL WAS IN FACT ROYAL BLUE WITH A WHITE V , dont now if NTH FOOTSCRAY JUNIOR SIDES HAD THE SAME?/.

GO DOGIES

Totty State had blue with white V as well all those years ago. Must have been on special at Forges and all the local schools picked them up.

old_fella

Wasn't Totty state next to Tottenham tech School , some great players from TOTTY TECH ( Bones MCGHIE, Alan Stoneham and not to mention Jamie Redfern only joking.

Sorry got side tracked i thought Totty state had marone and light blue.

Knackers said:
Yep, North Footscray have always been red & white vertical stripes, Avondale Heights are a Navy blue (as opposed to Royal blue) with white vee.
Way, way back, North Footscray's jumper was white with a red collar and a red swan on the front.

localyokel said:
Rosamond Tennis Club is miles away from any footy ground I can think of. Why was he there in his footy gear?
Isn't Parksides ground fairly close?I think its called Mervyn Hughes oval or something like that.Would be walking distance to Rosamond Tennis Club I think.

I know its booring but here goes ROSAMOND TENNIS CLUB was near Nth Footscray Primary school , hence the ROYAL BLUE with WHITE v.

Who can remember other PRIMARY school jumpers
BRAYBROOK had ESSEDNON =RED AND BLACK
WEST FOOTSCRAY green with a gold yoke
MAIDSTONE navy blue with white M.
NTH FSCRAY ROYAL blue with white V.
TOTTY LIGHT BLUE AND MAROON
FOOTSCRAY--OLD DOGIES JUMPER
Can any think of any other primary schools in the footscray maidstone area.
We PLAYED all these schools every year , they dont do it any more shame really.

ALGY VOSILITIS said:
I know its booring but here goes ROSAMOND TENNIS CLUB was near Nth Footscray Primary school , hence the ROYAL BLUE with WHITE v.

Were North Footscray and Maidstone Primarys across the road from one another? Or was Maistone the one they demolished about five years ago?

I went to Kingsville and I can't remember playing any of those schools. We played all the other Footscray area schools like Yarraville West (Yarraville west, we're the best, all the others are a pest), Wembley, Spotswood, Yarraville and one other big one I just cant for the life of me remember the name of.

Later at Footscray High we played Totty Tech in the Herald shield and won by ten goals. The next round we played some private school and we ran out to our positions and our opponents were all twice our size. They had Steve and Rod McPherson, Alaistair Ford and a few other guys that Footscray had bought from all over Australia and placed in this School. they won by 25 goals. it was the single, worst game of footy I have played in in my life, we didnt score until the last quarter.

Can't remember the maroon in Totty State jumper Algy but it was a long time ago.
Totty Primary was in Sunshine Road near the station (and the always wet underpass) not opposite Totty Tech. Alas, no longer there. IIRC we mainly played school teams around the Albion/Sunshine area.

old_fella

ALGY VOSILITIS said:

Played against Hyde Street PS as well. What colours did they were. Was it the Hawthorn jumper?

localyokel said:
Were North Footscray and Maidstone Primarys across the road from one another? Or was Maistone the one they demolished about five years ago?

I went to Kingsville and I can't remember playing any of those schools. We played all the other Footscray area schools like Yarraville West (Yarraville west, we're the best, all the others are a pest), Wembley, Spotswood, Yarraville and one other big one I just cant for the life of me remember the name of.

Later at Footscray High we played Totty Tech in the Herald shield and won by ten goals. The next round we played some private school and we ran out to our positions and our opponents were all twice our size. They had Steve and Rod McPherson, Alaistair Ford and a few other guys that Footscray had bought from all over Australia and placed in this School. they won by 25 goals. it was the single, worst game of footy I have played in in my life, we didnt score until the last quarter.

Went to North Footscay, used to be a supermarket across the road which is now an ugly pokies venue.
Maidstone PS was closed so long ago I have forgotten where it was.

localyokel said:
Immediately to its north was an oval surrounded by a dirt track which was used by trotters for training. The oval was used for footy during winter and cricket in summer. North Footscray Primary might be the explanation. I thought that we might have been a bit older but it's a long time ago now and memory is notoriously inaccurate. Thanks to everyone for contributing, by the way. This thread brings back the flavour of growing up in Footscray.

Maidstone Primary was close to CHURCHILL AVE not to far from BALLARAT ROAD, where the old footy ground now soccer ground is. and yes we never played any of the KINGSVILLE or YARRAVILLE primary schools and now that i think of it , TOTTY NTH P.S.was next to TOTTY TECH.

DID ANY ONE ELSE HAVE ANY FOOTSCRAY PLAYERS GO TO THERE SECONDARY SCHOOLS totty tech had MCGHIE and STONEHAM.

BRAYBROOK HIGH had dennis collins i think.

Peter Welsh went to Footscray High. Laurie Sandilands was a local, too. He went to West Footscray primary but I don't know which High School. Kevin Jackman was local. I think he went to West Footscray Primary. Ferret went to North Altona Boys Tech.

localyokel said:

That would have been St.Johns/Chisholm College in Churchill Ave Braybrook. They won the Herald Shield one year, and also had Gary Walpole and Tony Dodemaide, as well as heaps of blokes who played u/19 or reserves at the doggies.

I AM AN OLD FELLA 52 YEARS OF AGE AND I PLAYED FOR MAIDSTONE PRIMARY SCHOOL & MAIDSTONE FOOTBALL CLUB JUNIORS AND THE GURNSEY WAS NAVY BLUE WITH A WHITE LETTER M ON THE FRONT similar to Carlton.

NOW NORTH FOOTSCRAY PRIMARY SCHOOL WAS IN FACT ROYAL BLUE WITH A WHITE V , dont now if NTH FOOTSCRAY JUNIOR SIDES HAD THE SAME?/.

GO DOGIES

Can confirm, Maidstone footy club (Scovell Reserve), had Blue with white monogram.

Footscray North Primary School played with royal blue and white V.

North Footscray footy team, in the FDL, played and still play with white and red stripes.

I have a vague recollection that one of the inner Footscray schools, maybe Geelong rd, had Geelong jumpers

North Footscray Football Club ?