Autopsy North lose a heartbreaker to the Saints by 8 points

Spoke to my friend who plays for the saints. He said that we're very lucky to have LDU in the side and he's just a freak.
Another 50 games into the kid and we'll be dominating.
The 'kid' is turning 25 next year. Time for the results to start showing onfield or there'll be very real worries regarding an LDU trade request

I know they're contracted, but how much longer do LDU, Wardlaw and Sheez want to go on like this. I guarantee you Sheez doesn't re-sign after r1 if he knows what's in store for the rest of the year. These guys are hungry for wins. A lot of our blokes aren't, or don't do enough to make the win happen. LDU was furious today and rightly so. Wouldn't begrudge him a trade request before his contract is up at all. Call me overdramatic but the change that needs to happen to ensure this year doesn't repeat next year is extraordinary, and potentially beyond a lot of our players
Turn it up with the doom and gloom.

On SM-S901E using BigFooty.com mobile app

It was stunning how St Kilda players were awarded free kicks for tackles, while North players were lucky to earn a ball up. Similar for holding the man. The frees were not paid with equity.

The AFL cannot possibly be unaware of the imbalance.
They’re the reason for the imbalance. When you see a delayed free payed you know it’s from upstairs. The competition is rigged. If Chris ****ing Scott thinks his club is hard done by he should take a look at North.

Doom and gloom . We’ve lost 16 in a row with potential to not win a game for the rest of the year . I have never seen this shit and when it happened last I was about 2 years old . Wouldn’t surprise me if all not some of our prized recruits piss off for greener pastures. This is beyond a ridiculous in this day and age . Maybe I’m over dramatic but this is club folding type stuff . The afl won’t do us any favours either we get better or die in my opinion .

Yeah my apologies mate for being a bit negative, after the team that's won 9 of its past 78 showed yet again that it doesn't know how to win.

Apologies that I'm questioning the happiness levels of players who could achieve more wins by putting in a request to basically anyone else.

Four years of this shit isn't normal. I'd be really keen to see the last instance in which a club's win percentage over four years was as shit as what ours will soon be. Really keen

Exactly, i would argue the male umpires today were actually very bias, but unfortunately because she's the easy target, apparently it's her fault.
I actually thought she was quite good today and it was the male umpires who were s**t.
They were all shit including the girl .

Yeah my apologies mate for being a bit negative, after the team that's won 9 of its past 78 showed yet again that it doesn't know how to win.

Apologies that I'm questioning the happiness levels of players who could achieve more wins by putting in a request to basically anyone else.

Four years of this s**t isn't normal. I'd be really keen to see the last instance in which a club's win percentage over four years was as s**t as what ours will soon be. Really keen
LDU and TT walked out yet?

Logan McDonald has been shithouse and played more games than Phillips with no interruptions. Both of you are either guessing or you're copying the opinions of others in the past.

There's no way you watch both of these guys at AFL level at come to the conclusion you have.
I think you're responding through rose coloured glasses. So let's see what BF says

One thing that stood out to me in the Port/ Woods game was how often they'd knock the ball out rather than take possession when in heavy traffic.
Contrast that to us, we'd take possession and have two tackling us straight away. Even if its not straight away or before you land its easy to be dispossessed with an arm grab in a dangerous area where there are two or three of them.
Given first to the ball draws the oppo in it seems smart to just get the ball to the outside where you should have an outnumber.

Initially I thought it was JZ

Check it out, the same thing happens with him and the wet fish he is dealing with

Either way, there’s a free there but wat irritates is that it happened several other occasions and wasn’t awarded to either team. Consistently is all we want.
Perhaps a minute before that play JZ was manhandled off the ball and it was play on.

I think you're responding through rose coloured glasses. So let's see what BF says
Big footy main board is going to be your arbiter? 90% probably don't know either player but will think "mmm, McDonalds".

I’m not bashing Phillips, but let’s not compare the simplistic numbers of Phillips v Cunnington.

Cunnington’s possessions are impactful, I’m not sure we can say that about Will yet.

I like the kid and think he has tremendous upside, but he needs to eradicate the fumbling from his game. At his height and pace he needs to be super clean to have maximum impact.

All our mids need to get better with their cleanliness around the contest. That split second double grab is enough at this level to prevent a clean clearance.
In Cunners early days he was often caught holding the ball trying to break tackles. Despite that he stayed true to his style and eventually his one handed fend offs became a signature play for him. Phillips too will become a far better player than he is now.

I also hate Jack Higgins, so I concur.

Reckon TT's gone though. Sigh
Why? The club stood by him even when it didn't appear he was helping himself. It was reported the judge said he'd shown remorse and taken actions to turn his life around which was largely due to the program North gave him. North deserve an A+ with their handling of the situation.

Doom and gloom . We’ve lost 16 in a row with potential to not win a game for the rest of the year . I have never seen this s**t and when it happened last I was about 2 years old . Wouldn’t surprise me if all not some of our prized recruits piss off for greener pastures. This is beyond a ridiculous in this day and age . Maybe I’m over dramatic but this is club folding type stuff . The afl won’t do us any favours either we get better or die in my opinion .
They'd be foolish, we aren't as far away as it seems.

She called stand but Cooper didn't comply as he was way back from the mark. Hopeless umpiring by ET.
The time the Saints player actually strolled right through the protected area..within touching distance of North player who had ball... And nothing. That was ALMOST unbelievable....

But her gender is the issue here.

Can anyone honestly say she would be umpiring at this level if she wasn’t female?

I couldn’t care less if a female umpires the game if they can do the job, but when you are gifted games at the elite level purely based on your gender, then it needs to be called out for what it is.

We aren’t talking about a development league here. It’s the top level of the sport, being made a joke of as some form of PR exercise.
Quotas. Happens across all industries.

Minute of absolute garbage from the 4 Gimps put the stamp on the game. First the holding the man when we had the ball going inside 50 and then Eleni take it home with a holding the man call against Archer.

She shouldn’t umpire at this level, it makes a joke of the sport.

The he fact that they found three others that are just as bad as her shows that the AFL as a professional sport is ****ed.

The haves will get the quality draw, quality umpires, while the have nots will be constantly fisted.

Have a look at what we put up with today, utter incompetence. Now they AFL have seen fit to send us to back to back trips to Perth and then Tassie.

We his sport is a so engineered to keep the money flowing and the big clubs happy.
I don’t know if you can single Eleni out. The calls were consistently woeful all afternoon.

We are consistently given the least intuitive umpires in the game.

Doom and gloom . We’ve lost 16 in a row with potential to not win a game for the rest of the year . I have never seen this s**t and when it happened last I was about 2 years old . Wouldn’t surprise me if all not some of our prized recruits piss off for greener pastures. This is beyond a ridiculous in this day and age . Maybe I’m over dramatic but this is club folding type stuff . The afl won’t do us any favours either we get better or die in my opinion .
We'll get a bounce when clarko comes back. Then the usual optimism over the trades and off season.

Got to start delivering next year though or we will be in strife.

Thomas and LDU are both contracted. End of 24 and 25 respectively.

Thomas looked last year and no club wanted to take him on the coin we’ve given him.

I don’t understand how anyone could walk away from yesterday and think the they would want to leave when they were probably the two most willing us to get over the line.

This whole storyline of a poor performing club being a piñata where blokes leave in droves rarely happens.

Chicken little stuff.

I'm trusting hours of watching a ton of footage with my own eyes (which are backed by the stats: see below) and couldn't give a shit what AFL fans (most of which don't form their own opinion but parrot idiots they claim to hate like Kane Cornes and Caroline Wilson) have to say.

Logan McDonald has been extremely underwhelming and that is an understatement.

I've broken down his stats at AFL level before this season - the trends that I explained in great detail last year have only continued. Here's a summary: Oppo Camp - The Non-North Footy Discussion & Matchday Chat Thread (NNFD&MCT) VII

When you compare him to literally any other highly rated key forward in the AFL at the same age, he is miles behind - it's not even close.

Let me highlight this part which has continued this year (he doesn't take contested marks):
  • He just doesn't take contested marks often at all, he's not dynamic in the air, and he's playing on 2nd and 3rd string defenders most of the time. He's taken 10 contested marks in his first 16 games. For comparison's sake, Harry Mckay had 21 in his first 16 games, Curnow 17 in his first 16 games, Jeremy Cameron 26 in first 16, Naughton 22 in his first 16, Mitch Lewis 28 in his first 16, Tom Lynch 29 in his first 16. Feel free to name any other young star key position forward in the competition and I'm more than happy to pull up their first 16 games and the amount of contested marks they took.
4 goals in round 15 vs. Eagles in a 171 point win

He has kicked 1 or 0 goals in 7/14 games. So he's kicked 24 goals in 14 games (1.7 goal average), 9 of which are against bottom 3 sides in massive wins. Remove those, and he's kicked 15 goals in 12 games (1.25 goal average)

He's also averaging a measly 0.8 contested marks per game. To put this in context, this places him at 123rd in the competition for contested marks per game. He averaged 0.7 contested marks and 0.9 goals in 17 games last year.

So he doesn't kick goals or take contested marks, and when you compare him to literally any current quality key forward at the same age, he's not even close.

There's your messiah.

Autopsy North lose a heartbreaker to the Saints by 8 points