Game Day North Melbourne Football Club AFLW - Season 2024 Premiers - First EVER (AFLM/W) UNDEFEATED PREMIERSHIP SEASON - The Invincibles

I've had the game on repeat on the projector while I work but only now I've been able to sit down and watch a full replay. A few things stand out that haven't been mentioned much:
  • The first few minutes were quite even. Brisbane had a couple of good opportunities that were messed up through fumbles, pressure and a bit of luck.
  • Kearney changed things. When she started selling candy she just showed that fabulous mix of determination, intensity and simple fun that exemplified the spirit of the team.
  • Amy Smith played a blinder. Always there, tough as nails.
  • Gatt was amazing. My favourite clip of the whole things is the visible only on the replay lof the lead up to Wall's first goal. Gatt has already been in the play up the field, but she is miles ahead of her opponent arriving after a kick. When the ball spills she turns on the jets arcs in like a homing missile to get to it and makes the goal.
Most of all, it's so clear that this domination was built on attitude. It's the determination to become the fittest team in the comp, the discipline and desire to know the systems and play them, and then the 100% intensity with the or without the ball, in front or behind. Those things come together through genuine collective commitment. I wonder if these girls just appreciate their opportunity so much because they have real jobs and real stresses in life. They haven't been school superstars waiting to get on the gravy train. They work for everything.

i hope like hell our male players were learning: Our women became world-beaters on attitude.
Something small I noticed during the live broadcast. Ruby Tripodi, I think. She ran towards the ball, which bounced unkindly to her disadvantage. However, she didn’t miss a step, she continued in an arc, getting back in position to block off any rebound by Brisbane. It was such a fluid movement. There were many examples across the game. I have seldom seen a team put in such a cohesive performance. How Brisbane kept the loss down to 30 points is a mystery to me. Some of their players deserve huge credit. Any other team would have lost by 80 points, at least, on the day - such was North’s dominance. The stats speak for themselves.

Sorry Nozzer I don't think anyone's gonna pass up going BACK 2 BACK
Potentially
The only 2 that come to mind are Shierlaw who is 35 out of contract maybe wanting to end on a high

And Rennie who seemed pretty emotional after the game

Someone here hinted that when they went to final training that we could be seeing a few that might call it. Not sure if the result changes that

Being stuck in Ireland for the next month, I’ve had to content myself with watching my numerous replays on my iPhone. I still have a sore neck from watching the live broadcast on my phone in the Kelly Lou cafe in Portlaoise. Just like Vikki Wall did for last year’s final…
Should we put money on you for two goals in next years GF?

Saying that we were held goalless gives Brisbane too much credit though I think, we had a lot of good opportunities in front of goal throughout the game and failed to capitalise; we really should've won by a lot more. For all that people are going on about how we've played the best footy ever, I've seen this side play much better than that.
Definitely a weakness we need to work on in 2025 if we want to be successful.

Potentially
The only 2 that come to mind are Shierlaw who is 35 out of contract maybe wanting to end on a high

Someone here hinted that when they went to final training that we could be seeing a few that might call it. Not sure if the result changes that
Emma King is one I have thought possibly might hang up the boots. I’d be sad if she did. I’m surprised she hasn’t received more kudos for her performance in the GF. She was immense especially in the first half when Brisbane still had some hope.

Something small I noticed during the live broadcast. Ruby Tripodi, I think. She ran towards the ball, which bounced unkindly to her disadvantage. However, she didn’t miss a step, she continued in an arc, getting back in position to block off any rebound by Brisbane. It was such a fluid movement. There were many examples across the game. I have seldom seen a team put in such a cohesive performance. How Brisbane kept the loss down to 30 points is a mystery to me. Some of their players deserve huge credit. Any other team would have lost by 80 points, at least, on the day - such was North’s dominance. The stats speak for themselves.
Yeah Brisbane last line of defence kept that scoreline vaguely respectable. I've counted at least 4 pinpoint passes that would have hit our forwards lace out within 20 metres of goal if not for a fingertip block.

I've had the game on repeat on the projector while I work but only now I've been able to sit down and watch a full replay. A few things stand out that haven't been mentioned much:
  • The first few minutes were quite even. Brisbane had a couple of good opportunities that were messed up through fumbles, pressure and a bit of luck.
  • Kearney changed things. When she started selling candy she just showed that fabulous mix of determination, intensity and simple fun that exemplified the spirit of the team.
  • Amy Smith played a blinder. Always there, tough as nails.
  • Gatt was amazing. My favourite clip of the whole things is the visible only on the replay lof the lead up to Wall's first goal. Gatt has already been in the play up the field, but she is miles ahead of her opponent arriving after a kick. When the ball spills she turns on the jets arcs in like a homing missile to get to it and makes the goal.
Most of all, it's so clear that this domination was built on attitude. It's the determination to become the fittest team in the comp, the discipline and desire to know the systems and play them, and then the 100% intensity with the or without the ball, in front or behind. Those things come together through genuine collective commitment. I wonder if these girls just appreciate their opportunity so much because they have real jobs and real stresses in life. They haven't been school superstars waiting to get on the gravy train. They work for everything.

i hope like hell our male players were learning: Our women became world-beaters on attitude.

I would also suggest watching Tess Craven in the 60 seconds before her goal. If anyone is wondering how she found all that space or think it was a Joe the Goose, you need to watch her in the background of the previous inside 50. She holds space as she has been drilled to do, while her opponent Orla O'Dwyer goes ball hunting across the other side of the ground. O'Dwyer gets an intercept possession but then stays on that side, leaving Tess alone as a dangerous target right in the corridor. It's the discipline that our team displayed throughout the game to hold shape and trust teammates and in this instance, it was rewarded in the best way.

After reading Sonja's letter, and her mention of Emma Kearney tearing her calf a couple of weeks ago, during her rehab for a hamstring tendon injury, i thought, how would that impact a similarly aged AFL player. Yes, i know the lure of a Grand Final, being Captain and all that, but what a magnificent effort from all involved, Strength/conditioning, medical, Crock and the selection committee for backing her, and of course, Emma herself, for not only making it, but playing an absolute ripper game with a huge impact on the outcome, such a great story.

I would also suggest watching Tess Craven in the 60 seconds before her goal. If anyone is wondering how she found all that space or think it was a Joe the Goose, you need to watch her in the background of the previous inside 50. She holds space as she has been drilled to do, while her opponent Orla O'Dwyer goes ball hunting across the other side of the ground. O'Dwyer gets an intercept possession but then stays on that side, leaving Tess alone as a dangerous target right in the corridor. It's the discipline that our team displayed throughout the game to hold shape and trust teammates and in this instance, it was rewarded in the best way.
I nearly died when she didn’t just run into the open goal, she had that much space, but the fact she knew she could kick it and had the cool head to take her time and put it through was even better.

It’s hard to win your first granny and that’s why I think we didn’t really smash them.
We obliterated them. Without a 50m penalty they didn't score a goal.

I get the counter point though. It felt like we didn't get to really open up the offensive cannons on them.

A little less overuse and reckon that was easily a ~45 pt margin. We left 2-3 goals on the table.

Our should be All-Australian isn’t going anywhere.

The Wright choice: Roo reaps biggest reward after retirement backflip

The Wright choice: Roo reaps biggest reward after retirement backflip​

After contemplating retirement at the end of last season, Sarah Wright decided to play on and now has an elusive premiership medallion
By Gemma Bastiani
WL7p1K5o.jpg

Sarah Wright in action during the AFLW Grand Final between North Melbourne and Brisbane at Ikon Park. Picture: AFL Photos

THIS time last year, Sarah Wright was contemplating retirement.
Now, she is a premiership player off the back of a career-best season.
As she stands on the Ikon Park deck, having just taken a photo with family, the decision to stick around comes into firm focus. Fans were screaming her name, but she just basked in the moment.
"I actually thought about halfway through today 'How disappointing would it be if I was in the crowd?'" Wright told AFL.com.au.
"It would still be exciting, but not exciting as it is now."
bxIi3pXu.JPG

Sarah Wright and partner Kate Newlyn pose for a photo after the 2024 AFLW Grand Final between North Melbourne and Brisbane at Ikon Park. Picture: AFL Photos

There was a sense that she hadn't squeezed everything out of herself just yet. That there was still more to give. It was going to mean some managing of her body, and a level of understanding from her coaches and teammates, but there was still a desire burning away.
"I just had a little bit left in me, and my partner kind of said 'If there's any bit of you that wants to keep going, do it, because this is an opportunity you won't get again'," Wright said.
"I'm bloody glad I did."
She's not the only one who feels that way. Named in the All-Australian squad, Wright was deemed the best defender in the best defence in the League.
"I actually said to her before the game how glad I was that she didn't retire, because she's been so important to us throughout this whole year," head coach Darren Crocker said.
"She's just had such a great year, and we're so thankful that she decided to go on, but it's all credit to the players and the program. We created an environment where it just made it hard for her to retire. And she actually didn't want to retire in the end.
"She felt like she might need to, her body was, you know starting, but we managed her. She put in the work, and she just wanted to again, be a part of it."
The recruitment of Libby Birch helped, as has the form of her long-time defensive partner Jasmine Ferguson. But above all, North Melbourne's famed team defence, and ability to lean on one-another as part of a system allowed Wright to feel comfortable with her choice to stick around.
"With 'Lib' and 'Ferg' back there, it allows me to do what I do best, and that's read the play and intercept. So, without them, I can't do my job. I bloody love them," Wright said.
On Saturday night, however, Wright had her hands full with Lions winger/forward Sophie Conway, who was stationed inside 50 for much of the game. The Roo wasn't expecting Conway to be her direct opponent for the evening, but had done her homework nonetheless.
"I've been watching her, and she's been thrown down forward. Lucky she went back on the wing in that second half," Wright laughed.
"But no, I had a mix of players this year, which has actually suited me, and I really enjoyed the challenge … I think she's got a bit more speed than me, so to get her in that first tackle, I'm bloody lucky. But she plays a little bit of a different game to me, gets involved in offense, and that was something that I've really tried to focus on stopping, and getting the ball early, which I thought I did early."
She did the job beautifully, holding the two-time All-Australian Lion to just nine disposals – and goalless – well below her season average of 17.8 leading into the game.
It was an important part of the victory, with Wright's 20 disposals and nine intercepts helping to bed down the defensive line right from the opening stoppage.
And with such a strong performance, in such a big game, there is just one question that now hovers over Wright: will she play on in 2025?
"I am," Wright said with a smile.
"I've actually signed for two years, I've done a full 360, it's unbelievable."

Potentially

weird that someone would be emotional after winning a granny

Game Day North Melbourne Football Club AFLW - Season 2024 Premiers - First EVER (AFLM/W) UNDEFEATED PREMIERSHIP SEASON - The Invincibles