Game Day North Melbourne Football Club AFLW - Season 2024 Premiers - First EVER (AFLM/W) UNDEFEATED PREMIERSHIP SEASON - The Invincibles

I was surprised to see that Craven only had it 11 times. Haven't watched the replay yet, but it must have been that literally everything she did was top notch and noticeable.

So pleased for Crock. Such a North man. Walked in the door as a kid in 1984 at the moment a dominant era fizzled out. Never a star player, and dogged by injuries but was a trusted member of a young team that slowly built up under Kennedy. Held his spot when the star power came in the 90s and kicks three goals in a premiership. Missed selection in another Grand Final in his last year. Came back to the club as an assistant - fills in when Laidley went, sticks around when Scott gets the job, fills in again twice when Scott gets crook. Sticks around when Scott goes. Asked to coach the women's team - yep, whatever the club needs. And then last night. He deserves everything he gets. Club legend.
Was Crock on the list in '99? He played his last game in '98.

We’d have pushed 20k for sure.

Probably dragged in neutrals too.

I have zero idea why they do not play the Grand Final at a premier venue when in Melbourne.
Tough dragging family who aren't really into North / footy even if keen when you can't even book a seat and need to get there as a group a few hours before. I'd have loved it at Docklands.

Not bad for a bloke that only got the job because he was part of the boys club

Love Crock and I'm so happy for him, but it's the worst kept secret in football that we've earmarked the AFLW Head Coach position for Emma Kearney once she's done as a player.

Tough dragging family who aren't really into North / footy even if keen when you can't even book a seat and need to get there as a group a few hours before. I'd have loved it at Docklands.

Oh just on this topic...

Unless it comes in the mail in a few weeks, I didn't get a parking fine last night.

But the parking situation around Princes Park is completely rooted.

I've watched the mini match a couple of times since getting home from the game. Notes:
  • Ikon park is absolutely flattered by its aerial view.
  • Lions forwards were completely impotent
  • I think that is the end of the Lions era
  • Craven's boot is sublime - there was a bullet kick in the third (I think) across from HB to the wing (I think) which didn't make the mini match, but trisected three Lions players and hit (maybe Kearney) on the chest.
  • I expect North to be challenged next year by some of the new teams picking up on what we have done - over and above fitness and running training. Fast ball movement, intense pressure.
  • why did the Lions only make 43 interchanges?
  • the talk is about the quality of the team's bottom five players that decides a match, and there is no denying that - our team bats deep. But the Lions were off the boil last night. The mental thing goes two ways - they had the wood on us, and we needed to overcome that in some ways. Conversely, they have been confident they can always win. That isn't true any more, and they now know this in their hearts. I'm sure the Hawks and Cats have taken note.
  • we still have room to improve:
  • Vikki Walls two goals were amazing but she was a bundle of nerves for both. She's great kicking around a corner, rugby style. The straight run has her all over the shop - I hope they get her practicing that this off season
  • while Craven's mark in defense in front of Smith was typifying of the way we won, that Svarc got the free or mark but no one stood to stop her running on is something that needs addressing.

This is the thing - there were actually quite a few empty seats around where we were

I wouldn't be surprised if the venue has to 'under sell' the tickets so that they've got some flex with the seating and people aren't squabbling about getting a spot

Not bad for a bloke that only got the job because he was part of the boys club
The thing about Crock and the so-called "Boys Club"... a few years back, when Caroline Wilson wrote one of her many scathing articles about North Melbourne, she really laid into the entrenched boys club on this occasion. The media manager at the time, Heath O'Laughlin, contacted her afterwards and rebuked her on just one point - that Darren Crocker was never a part of the boys club. Carol accepted that and I think she may have even printed a retraction.

So it always frustrates me that North Melbourne people still think that Crock was only appointed because of his connections. You'd think we'd be smart enough to know not to believe a Caroline Wilson article.

I appreciate that you were being sarcastic Outtatym so I'm not directing this at you.

This is the thing - there were actually quite a few empty seats around where we were

I wouldn't be surprised if the venue has to 'under sell' the tickets so that they've got some flex with the seating and people aren't squabbling about getting a spot
Would have been interesting if the rain had continued or there'd been some thunder and lightning as forecast.

We don’t have a losing streak against any club and our hoodoo clubs we have now beaten multiple times in a row. Adelaide it’s 3 straight, Melbourne it’s two with both being floggings and the Lions it’s two and both were convincing victories.

And of course you're right, it's always the money.

On the other hand, it's time for the AFL to walk the talk about 'respect for women' and give the AFLW a bit more respect by putting the GF at a modern stadium.
Marvel is already booked out for next years gf weekend

Just watching the replay. Big surprise Kelli Underwood picked Brisbane pregame, the other two picked north by less than a goal. Even after an undefeated season and percentage of 315, were underestimated.
Muppets GIF

Picture of Kelli. Worst AFL commentator going around and an even worse judge to have selected Brisbane to win. They kicked 1 goal for the match, that was the result of some rare ill discipline for a down field free. Please ban her from the commentary box next year!!

Something that struck me last night and has just stayed with me since... was just how massive and unified the NORTH MELBOURNE crowd was.

That crowd was genuinely 95% North Melbourne fans, and it was packed. And we were happy, and jubilant, and loud.

And the crowd stayed after the game.

Yeah, we're a "small" club. But not in spirit. Not in passion. Not in loyalty.

That was special.

Might have just been a perception thing but overall I thought it was a “young crowd” as well.

So many kids. So many young women.

We don’t have a losing streak against any club and our hoodoo clubs we have now beaten multiple times in a row. Adelaide it’s 3 straight, Melbourne it’s two with both being floggings and the Lions it’s two and both were convincing victories.
First time any team has beaten the lions consecutively too

Such a vastly improved team to last year, especially our forward line. Bricki Wall just adds such an extra dimension, her return has been such a welcome addition - speed and a raking kick, what a combo. Opposition defenders feel the pressure and are more fumbly and rushed. O'Loughlin has taken it to another level as well - such a dangerous pair up forward and I wish we had a set up like that in the men's team.

We have Randall and King poke their hand up in the air and want the pill on top of them which works ok against the weaker teams but doesn't in finals and the ball gets swept out of there so quickly without the forward pressure which was definitely the case when we had the mid-sizers the likes of Bannister, Bateman and Abbatangelo.

Shierlaw adds that extra dimension by being a lead up key forward as a target that presents and opens up space behind her, although she was falling into the same trap of being a stationary target last night early on when I think the nerves and occasion was front and centre.

Last season Craven was a bit fearful of the hard ball at times, this year - wow. Absolute clutch. Her kicking is top shelf too.

Shout out to the defenders - Wright and Ferguson were able to clunk vital intercept marks and Birch provides that extra quality defender that means the other two can shuffle down to a lesser one. Bresnehan is a cool customer too, doesn't get the kudos she deserves.

Emma Kearney sold so much candy last night I think the Lions players needed insulin jabs after the match - it was awesome! Such a great leader and quality user of the pill.

Of course the midfield has been our strong suit forever and continues to go from strength to strength. It's so important how quick we are on the outside with Smith, Gatt, Eddey and O'Shea shutting down space and pressuring opponents into dump kicks that our defenders eat up for breakfast.

Great atmosphere last night and felt like a greater proportion of North compared to Lions fans compared to last year. It was a magic occasion and hopefully it spurs the girls to go on to back to back!
Hilarious - insulin jabs. 🤣🤣🤣

Game Day North Melbourne Football Club AFLW - Season 2024 Premiers - First EVER (AFLM/W) UNDEFEATED PREMIERSHIP SEASON - The Invincibles