North Melbourne Memberships

we're not in that bad a financial position.

20030425007100510.jpg

I think it'd be sad to see a club like North fold or relocate (my grandfather was a life member of Fitzroy and that was heart wrenching when they got "taken over").

If they were able to relocate to Tasmania in a similar move to the South Melbourne/Sydney relocation of the early 80s, that would be the best case scenario for their supporters, if they were unviable in Victoria. It would still be the same team and probably the exact same jumper. If there was an option, you'd go with a relocation, ahead of a merger.

Thanks, HAD, but I have to agree that your mate's strategy isn't sustainable. My family bought extra memberships in 2008 to do our little bit against the club being killed off, but have since decided to just buy for those who love the club and go to games. The Board and admin have to know what they have as a solid foundation to build from.

If people have extra cash and want to help another Vic club sustain itself, I think it would be better invested in debt reduction when we get to that, or an ace hoodie, or something else that helps out but doesn't muddy the waters. Like we all pitched in for Saints or Tigers or Dogs or Demons when they called for help.

I'm happy with watching the club plan and build for the future properly for the first time in years - things off-field keep improving and we can be more confident the trend will continue.

Yah except the bigger Vic clubs want the part of the pie those small Vic clubs are currently taking away from them.

Collingwood, Essendon, Hawks, Richmond, Carlton would all vote to kill North/Dogs/Melbourne because it would mean more dollars for them. The less teams there are in Victoria not only do you have a bigger population to recruit from, the more advertising and sponsorship dollars go up.

I wouldn't bet on it - us Vics stick together.

Also the people in charge at those clubs (especially Eddie at the Pies) typically like AFL/VFL history and wouldn't want to see traditional clubs fold.

Lets see how many turn up in round 2. If it is less than 20k then you may have a point - over 20k and you don't.

It is not, and has never been, about how many people North can get to attend games against Collingwood. Or even Essendon or Carlton. You could get 50k to those games and it still wouldn't matter. Because when it comes down to it, it's only being able to draw 15k against Fremantle, or Port Adelaide that is the problem.

For North to be able to become successful and financially stable, they need to stop whinging about draw inequities and realise that at the end of the day, even if you played every game at home, what's the point if 75% of the fans that turn up are opposition supporters?

Brush the chip off your shoulder, stop blaming non-Victorian sides for your own failings, and try to get good crowds to your games no matter who you're playing. Then, and only then, will you be able to stand on your own two feet and say North is a successful, viable club. Otherwise you're just going from being propped up by the AFL to being propped up by other Victorian clubs and their fans. Either way it's depressing.

..it's only being able to draw 15k against Fremantle, or Port Adelaide that is the problem.
Yeah, no doubt we need to build crowd numbers, no disputing this.

On field success is vital to this, and then building on it. The administration of the 90s weren't capable of building on our 90s success. I have much greater hope in this administration who have first sought to ensure we can have (sustained) success through investment in facilities and the football department (ahead of debt reduction).

Attention is now going to debt reduction and attendance and membership increases. How well we go is, obviously, the question.

I don't think many appreciate the significant difference in strategic competence between our current administration and those of the past.

Yeah, no doubt we need to build crowd numbers, no disputing this.

On field success is vital to this, and then building on it. The administration of the 90s weren't capable of building on our 90s success. I have much greater hope in this administration who have first sought to ensure we can have (sustained) success through investment in facilities and the football department (ahead of debt reduction).

Attention is now going to debt reduction and attendance and membership increases. How well we go is, obviously, the question.

I don't think many appreciate the significant difference in strategic competence between our current administration and those of the past.

Bang on. :thumbsu:

Thanks, HAD, but I have to agree that your mate's strategy isn't sustainable. My family bought extra memberships in 2008 to do our little bit against the club being killed off, but have since decided to just buy for those who love the club and go to games. The Board and admin have to know what they have as a solid foundation to build from.

If people have extra cash and want to help another Vic club sustain itself, I think it would be better invested in debt reduction when we get to that, or an ace hoodie, or something else that helps out but doesn't muddy the waters. Like we all pitched in for Saints or Tigers or Dogs or Demons when they called for help.

I'm happy with watching the club plan and build for the future properly for the first time in years - things off-field keep improving and we can be more confident the trend will continue.

Hey no worries at all.

My mate works at The Age and is pretty good friends with quite a few people there. He has already got a couple of high profile media people to buy North Melbourne memberships even though they don't support the club :D

His intentions are admirable, but you're right it isn't sustainable long term. I just wanted to help out the footy club, because I believe in Victorian Football and have a lot of respect for North Melbourne. Every little bit helps in the short term I suppose, but they do need a solid business plan moving forward.

The only difference between Rich/NMFC is that Richmond have the supporter base to determine their own destiny.

If we want to be a basketcase, then we can and we will survive.

North need to do everything right, and after viewing their financial report it really looks bleak.

They cannot rely on opposition supporters to keep them in the game every second year. They need to unite, literally...and get that club off it's arse.

Imagine if Jeff Kennett barracked for North Melbourne, in all seriousness Jeff is an absolute genius with the way he transformed Hawthorn and NM need someone with that initiative to take the helm.

No use in posting "PROFITS" after adding AFL/Government grants/loans into your operating income.

You haven’t viewed North’s Annual report.

Every club used their ‘handouts’ in their figures. It’s an accounting practice, I know for example that the Bulldogs had massive revenue last year due to the same thing.

It is not, and has never been, about how many people North can get to attend games against Collingwood. Or even Essendon or Carlton. You could get 50k to those games and it still wouldn't matter. Because when it comes down to it, it's only being able to draw 15k against Fremantle, or Port Adelaide that is the problem.

For North to be able to become successful and financially stable, they need to stop whinging about draw inequities and realise that at the end of the day, even if you played every game at home, what's the point if 75% of the fans that turn up are opposition supporters?

Brush the chip off your shoulder, stop blaming non-Victorian sides for your own failings, and try to get good crowds to your games no matter who you're playing. Then, and only then, will you be able to stand on your own two feet and say North is a successful, viable club. Otherwise you're just going from being propped up by the AFL to being propped up by other Victorian clubs and their fans. Either way it's depressing.

They’re not 75% opposition supporters and you know (or should know) that.

When Carlton get 80k against Collingwood but only 26k against Fremantle does that mean that Collingwood are drawing 54k out of the 80? Somehow I don’t think so and it’s the same reason draw lower against non-Vic clubs. It’s also a strong part of the theory that putting new teams into Sydney & Qld will improve the situation in those states – that of a rivalry.

North need to improve their baseline however they also get a consistently less financially competitive draw and I’m not just talking about FNF or Anzac day. It’s a continual and ongoing balance of home games against non-vic clubs that hurts us as much as it helps the bigger Victorian clubs.

They’re not 75% opposition supporters and you know (or should know) that.

When Carlton get 80k against Collingwood but only 26k against Fremantle does that mean that Collingwood are drawing 54k out of the 80? Somehow I don’t think so and it’s the same reason draw lower against non-Vic clubs. It’s also a strong part of the theory that putting new teams into Sydney & Qld will improve the situation in those states – that of a rivalry.

North need to improve their baseline however they also get a consistently less financially competitive draw and I’m not just talking about FNF or Anzac day. It’s a continual and ongoing balance of home games against non-vic clubs that hurts us as much as it helps the bigger Victorian clubs.

There are two clubs who play nothing but home games against interstate opposition, and four who play 10/11 home games against interstate opposition. 5/6 manage healthy crowd averages, and Port are struggling at the moment, but it usually takes some horrid weather for their crowds to drop below 20k.

That's what I'm talking about. You guys have got to stop using that excuse. Is it unfair? Yeah, it probably is. But it's life. The AFL like to maximise their revenue. The Swans are getting our first Friday night H&A game in 8 years this season (and it's going to be overshadowed by a damn royal wedding).

I've made this argument a million times before. North being able to average 25k+ against non-Victorian sides will be a much better indicator of success than being able to pull 45k against Victorian sides.

I think this problem has been hidden over the last 6-7 years because you constantly sold off those matches to the Gold Coast/Canberra. So you'll look at the average home crowd figures for Melbourne games at the end of the year and think you were doing well.

There are two clubs who play nothing but home games against interstate opposition, and four who play 10/11 home games against interstate opposition. 5/6 manage healthy crowd averages, and Port are struggling at the moment, but it usually takes some horrid weather for their crowds to drop below 20k.

That's what I'm talking about. You guys have got to stop using that excuse. Is it unfair? Yeah, it probably is. But it's life. The AFL like to maximise their revenue. The Swans are getting our first Friday night H&A game in 8 years this season (and it's going to be overshadowed by a damn royal wedding).

I've made this argument a million times before. North being able to average 25k+ against non-Victorian sides will be a much better indicator of success than being able to pull 45k against Victorian sides.

I think this problem has been hidden over the last 6-7 years because you constantly sold off those matches to the Gold Coast/Canberra. So you'll look at the average home crowd figures for Melbourne games at the end of the year and think you were doing well.

This post, is on the money.

So you would have no problems telling us your membership number then?

I signed up over the phone today and haven't recieved my membership pack yet. I put it on my CC and there will be monthly payments coming out on the 21st of every month worth $16. I wil recieve my membership pack in 2 to 3 weeks and that's all I know so far.

You don't have to believe me if you don't want to, as it's of no consequence to me. I'm trying to do the right thing by your footy club and I'm trying to get others on board as well.

Just further on my post, I did some research on the crowd stats:

Between 2006 and 2010 North Melbourne played 16 games in Melbourne against non-Victorian opposition. Over that time, the average crowd was 19,775. And even then that's probably a little inflated since for a few years you only played Sydney and Brisbane in Melbourne, the two non-Vic clubs with strong Victorian support. That's the number you guys need to focus on improving. Stop worrying about the other crap which is on the periphery and out of your control. You're never going to get lots of Friday night games unless you're on top of the ladder. In fact you'll probably get none because I suspect in the TV rights deal it will be entirely up to the broadcaster.

Improve that number, and it will go a long way to ensuring that North remains in the league as a Melbourne based side.

Ummm, Sydney has 4m people all to themselves. False comparison.

Says you Chicken Little. Bet you've bee saying we're going to die in three years time for the next thirty.

Interesting that The Age didn't even contact North to check any of these statements or figures.

Its a hatchet job, nothing less.

I really have no issue with North Melbourne Jamie.

The Age doesn't really have to contact the FC by deducing the figures from the Annual Report.

Eugene confirmed that the club was close to $7 Million in debt. This "insular", the media are out to get us feeling is why North is such a poor brand that doesn't appeal to neutrals. As long you display this chip on the shoulder attitude, new markets won't be keen to embrace you.

qoute from JB

"Ten days after there was $2600 in that account, there was $1.05 million," Brayshaw told Triple M on Thursday morning.

North Melbourne Memberships