Not Worth A Thread - Random Bulldog Discussion

Seems like the floor is split.

I reckon I'll live to regret it if I don't go to the wedding. I'm gonna do the right thing and join my wife.

This can easily all be avoided if we play on the Friday night. That's still a strong chance of happening even if we don't finish on top. We will play on the Friday night if any of the following occurs:

Finish on top and win

Annoying game that one. I recall us being three and a half goals up on multiple occasions and missing easy goals to extend the margin to over four goals. The way the match was poised at those times, I felt converting any of those goals would have put us in a match winning position.

We lost by five points. Everitt absolutely dominated us.
Blight’s first match as StK coach. They were putrid for most of that year.

The Lord be praised!

Proof we have God on our side.
That was actually a Fitzroy home game against us at the Whitten Oval. Everybody beat Fitzroy that year, well, except for Fremantle. :)

Seems like the floor is split.

I reckon I'll live to regret it if I don't go to the wedding. I'm gonna do the right thing and join my wife.

This can easily all be avoided if we play on the Friday night. That's still a strong chance of happening even if we don't finish on top. We will play on the Friday night if any of the following occurs:

Finish on top and win

Annoying game that one. I recall us being three and a half goals up on multiple occasions and missing easy goals to extend the margin to over four goals. The way the match was poised at those times, I felt converting any of those goals would have put us in a match winning position.

We lost by five points. Everitt absolutely dominated us.

I hear that Dimma has a wedding scheduled for their next game at Marvel and he's torn as to what he should do 🤪

Just get a new set of friends (and wife if necessary) who don't have weddings, birthdays or funerals in footy season.

Having said that I remember listening to a Dogs game during my daughter's deb and missed the father/daughter dance.
I was NEVER forgiven by the female contingent of our family.

The complete wankfest over the bombers is nauseating. They are an ordinary team yet get plaudits anytime they put together a reasonable passage of play…

What would you do?

My wife's best friend is getting married on Saturday the 18th of September. That's Prelim Final Saturday. Ceremony begins at 4.30pm with the reception to follow.

My wife is in the bridal party so this is obviously a huge deal for her.

Given there is a chance we may be playing on the Saturday night, I am unsettled by this. I couldn't possibly imagine being anywhere other than at the game.

The obvious issue is having to RSVP by August so the hosts can confirm numbers for the reception.

My wife understands how die hard I am, and she knows how the date of the wedding has been playing on my mind. However, her position is friends and family come before footy. I know that's also true.

One thing I have considered is going to the ceremony, then going to the footy (if it's on) then going back to the wedding after the match. The wedding is in South Yarra and finishes at midnight so I'll have time.

That still makes me feel uncomfortable tho. I feel I should be going to the wedding.

The groom likes his footy too but not as much as me. I get along well with all his footy mates so I know there will be others in my position. A couple of them support the Bulldogs and a couple support Geelong. I can only imagine they're having similar thoughts to me.

Another thing I've thought of is confirming my attendance and attending no matter what. If we're playing, I'll be watching it at the very least on my phone. I feel this is a good compromise, especially because I am almost certain other guests will be doing the same.

Before you comment, "Who gets married in September", this is the third time they have had to reschedule cause of Covid. They had been messed around and this was the only available Saturday in the near future.
Divorce?

Wasn't sure where to post this but I just found an interesting series of short films on the AFL site relating to finals.
Some really good images and different angles on things.
Only wanted to watch this one.
Enjoy

Here's a bob-each-way analysis that's worth a browse. Not so much for the conclusions (it lacks any coherent thesis) but for some useful before/after stats and a summary of changes made under the SHocking regime.

Oh and also for some riveting footage of the notorious Matthews-Bruns incident and the Hocking square-up.

Also I reject the implication that because rule changes in the past have been abhorred by fans but have turned out OK then it should give rule tinkerers makers licence to make whatever changes they like and any criticism is automatically unwarranted.

Here's a bob-each-way analysis that's worth a browse. Not so much for the conclusions (it lacks any coherent thesis) but for some useful before/after stats and a summary of changes made under the SHocking regime.

Oh and also for some riveting footage of the notorious Matthews-Bruns incident and the Hocking square-up.

Also I reject the implication that because rule changes in the past have been abhorred by fans but have turned out OK then it should give rule tinkerers makers licence to make whatever changes they like and any criticism is automatically unwarranted.
My key takeaway from this is that people will always whinge about the state of the game.

The best thing is the reduction of stoppages, however I'm not sure on the exact driver for this. The article states it's due to umps letting the play run longer, but I'm not sure the data presented is showing that, unless I'm misinterpreting.

The obsession with scoring has been overstated... I don't think higher scores result in a better spectacle. I'd rather see a tight contest than a blowout with heaps of goals. I think the driver for that thinking is in the logic that more goals, more ad breaks, more revenue for the broadcasters/AFL.
Less stoppages I think does change the spectacle (and may result in more goals as a secondary effect) which if Hocking had anything to do with, I'd have to say was a success. Mostly I think the changes he brought in had no real effect.