Not Worth A Thread - Random Bulldog Discussion

Most likely you were reading The Footy Record surreptitiously under your desk when this was taught, or perhaps another sort of magazine? ;)
It was my brothers and I was just curious what all the fuss was about! Alas, smart phones weren't around in my day. But Maxwell Smart's shoe phone hinted at what might be possible....

I posted this previously after round 8 but latest update on team z-score by ground "zone" after round 14

Based on:
Defence - opposition scores per i50 conceded
Attack - scores per i50
Midfield - ratio of i50s to i50s conceded

1624946501588.png

We're looking good with metrics having improved since round 8, increasing the gap between us and Melbourne.

Bombers are interesting, considering their W-L record.

I posted this previously after round 8 but latest update on team z-score by ground "zone" after round 14

Based on:
Defence - opposition scores per i50 conceded
Attack - scores per i50
Midfield - ratio of i50s to i50s conceded

View attachment 1167051

We're looking good with metrics having improved since round 8, increasing the gap between us and Melbourne.

Bombers are interesting, considering their W-L record.
This means Melbourne should give us our 4 points back :mad:

What would you do?

My wife's best friend is getting married on Saturday the 18th of September. That's Prelim Final Saturday. Ceremony begins at 4.30pm with the reception to follow.

My wife is in the bridal party so this is obviously a huge deal for her.

Given there is a chance we may be playing on the Saturday night, I am unsettled by this. I couldn't possibly imagine being anywhere other than at the game.

The obvious issue is having to RSVP by August so the hosts can confirm numbers for the reception.

My wife understands how die hard I am, and she knows how the date of the wedding has been playing on my mind. However, her position is friends and family come before footy. I know that's also true.

One thing I have considered is going to the ceremony, then going to the footy (if it's on) then going back to the wedding after the match. The wedding is in South Yarra and finishes at midnight so I'll have time.

That still makes me feel uncomfortable tho. I feel I should be going to the wedding.

The groom likes his footy too but not as much as me. I get along well with all his footy mates so I know there will be others in my position. A couple of them support the Bulldogs and a couple support Geelong. I can only imagine they're having similar thoughts to me.

Another thing I've thought of is confirming my attendance and attending no matter what. If we're playing, I'll be watching it at the very least on my phone. I feel this is a good compromise, especially because I am almost certain other guests will be doing the same.

Before you comment, "Who gets married in September", this is the third time they have had to reschedule cause of Covid. They had been messed around and this was the only available Saturday in the near future.

What would you do?

My wife's best friend is getting married on Saturday the 18th of September. That's Prelim Final Saturday. Ceremony begins at 4.30pm with the reception to follow.

Given there is a chance we may be playing on the Saturday night, I am unsettled by this. I couldn't possibly imagine being anywhere other than at the game.

The obvious issue is having to RSVP by August so the hosts can confirm numbers for the reception.

My wife understands how die hard I am, and she knows how the date of the wedding has been playing on my mind. However, her position is friends and family come before footy. I know that's also true.

One thing I have considered is going to the ceremony, then going to the footy (if it's on) then going back to the wedding after the match. The wedding is in South Yarra and finishes at midnight so I'll have time.

That still makes me feel uncomfortable tho. I feel I should be going to the wedding.

The groom likes his footy too but not as much as me. I get along well with all his footy mates so I know there will be others in my position. A couple of them support the Bulldogs and a couple support Geelong. I can only imagine they're having similar thoughts to me.

Another thing I've thought of is confirming my attendance and attending no matter what. If we're playing, I'll be watching it at the very least on my phone. I feel this is a good compromise, especially because I am almost certain other guests will be doing the same.

Before you comment, "Who gets married in September", this is the third time they have had to reschedule cause of Covid. They had been messed around and this was the only available Saturday in the near future.

If it were me I'd go to the wedding. There'll always be more prelims

What would you do?

I will gladly stand in for you at either the footy or the wedding/reception if needed. However, I will not be able to dance with your wife at the reception. And as for the footy, probably best to get an accessible seating booking. I also can act as a stand-in for funerals and Bar Mitzvahs.

What would you do?

I would go to the wedding and absolutely be watching on my phone with one earpod in (apart from key wedding moments of course). I expect people at the wedding will be extremely aware of your situation and so will be thrilled by your attendance - and will see it as the ultimate act of friendship. Consequently the fact you are on your phone will be enjoyed as a delightful quirk rather than be seen as rude or dismissive. In fact I expect you will fast become the most talked about person at the wedding - in a good way! Remember a quarter of the wedding attendance will be thinking about that same game. And they will all know that you will be thinking about it even more. I expect you will have quite a few visitors as the game continues!

I am notorious amongst my social group for my hatred of fine food. When I attended my good friend's wedding he knew i would detest what they had catered - and so as a surprise he arranged for me to have Macca's delivered on my plate in a bag! I obviously would have eaten whatever they gave me. But the fact i was prepared to deal with the conditions I clearly loathed in order to support my friend was celebrated by all there. And the whole night people were laughing about my Maccas dinner. I expect it will be exactly the same with you sitting there with a phone quietly under the table. AS LONG AS YOU PUT IT DOWN AT THE KEY MOMENTS! ;) (You can always rewind a few mins if you miss anything!)

Cheers guys!

Actually typing all that out last night helped me to express my thoughts, and as I was expressing my thoughts I began to realise I should definitely be going to the wedding no matter what. I'm glad the floor so far agrees with me.

I have a different view.

I think it is more rude if you attend the function and spend the whole time watching the footy on your phone.

I like your idea of attending the ceremony, then watching the footy at the MCG, and afterwards heading back to the function for the last hour and a half. You still attend the wedding and are sighted at function. The last hour is the best anyway.

That seems reasonable to me, however the only caveat is if you are very good mates with the groom and bride. If this is the case, you should be attending the wedding full stop. No footy. Sorry.

I have a different view.

I think it is more rude if you attend the function and spend the whole time watching the footy on your phone.

I like your idea of attending the ceremony, then watching the footy at the MCG, and afterwards heading back to the function for the last hour and a half. You still attend the wedding and are sighted at function. The last hour is the best anyway.

That seems reasonable to me, however the only caveat is if you are very good mates with the groom and bride. If this is the case, you should be attending the wedding full stop. No footy. Sorry.
Totally agreed. X_box_X Make your choice either way, but if you do choose the wedding don't be that flog that's on his phone the whole time (or even more than just cursory glances). It's just rude and makes you look bad.

I agree again with Wetdog, it depends on how close you are to the married couple on whether to go or not. Personally as your partner is in the wedding party, I would be attending the wedding, having a good time and trying not to find out any scores/spoilers and then watching the replay as soon as possible afterwards.

Cheers guys!

Actually typing all that out last night helped me to express my thoughts, and as I was expressing my thoughts I began to realise I should definitely be going to the wedding no matter what. I'm glad the floor so far agrees with me.

Don't worry, the Dogs will finish on top of the ladder and the team that finishes on top, usually play the Friday night PF

Seriously though, go to the wedding. Your wife may say she understands if you go to the footy, but mark my words, that is not what she really thinks. The key here is that she is in bridal party, and based on that, you will be in the bad books for a very long time, if you are not at that wedding.

What would you do?

Because your wife is part of the moveable scenery errr...bridal party, you'll be stuck on the kids table by the dunnies of worse still with the grandparents and the other stragglers and misfits.

Having been on both sides of your situation. I can assure you that you won't be missed. So it'd be a hard pass from me.

The key here is that she is in bridal party, and based on that, you will be in the bad books for a very long time, if you are not at that wedding.

yep, no attendance = no soup for you, both literally & euphemistically, xbox

Cheers guys!

I have been in your situation before. Go to the wedding. Make sure you enjoy the wedding BUT also make sure that you wife knows that you are going to watch the replay the following day, even IF you would normally be doing housework….

BEaston got it right. Go to the wedding and keep an eye on the footy score/action when appropriate. In 1996 I was asked to be the Godfather for a friend's daughter. Problem was that the Baptism was at the same time on a Saturday afnternoon as our match against Fitzroy at the WO. I was caught by the priest with my earphone in my ear and my transistor radio in my suit pocket. That cost me ten Hail Marys and a few Our Fathers with a perfect Act of Contrition thrown in. We beat Fitzroy that day.

Totally agreed. X_box_X Make your choice either way, but if you do choose the wedding don't be that flog that's on his phone the whole time (or even more than just cursory glances). It's just rude and makes you look bad.

I agree again with Wetdog, it depends on how close you are to the married couple on whether to go or not. Personally as your partner is in the wedding party, I would be attending the wedding, having a good time and trying not to find out any scores/spoilers and then watching the replay as soon as possible afterwards.
I'm hearing you. 0.1% chance of avoiding score updates though. There will be many others in my position. Plenty of other Bulldogs supporters there. Even seeing their facial expressions will be a dead giveaway.

I hate spoilers. Absolutely hate them.

I worked when the Hawks Cats 2013 prelims was on. I went through the entire shift without any spoilers. I was so excited to get home to watch the replay.

A few vehicles on the freeway with Hawks scarves out the windows as I was driving home weren't a dead giveaway. :rolleyes:

I'm hearing you. 0.1% chance of avoiding score updates though. There will be many others in my position. Plenty of other Bulldogs supporters there. Even seeing their facial expressions will be a dead giveaway.

I hate spoilers. Absolutely hate them.

I worked when the Hawks Cats 2013 prelims was on. I went through the entire shift without any spoilers. I was so excited to get home to watch the replay.

A few vehicles on the freeway with Hawks scarves out the windows as I was driving home weren't a dead giveaway. :rolleyes:
Go to the footy and scrap the wedding.
I had to sit and watch my partner partake as a maid of honour, on a table with folk I didn’t know and or like etc, instead of watch us win the pre season cup and it’s annoyed me for years.

What would you do?

So the misso is in the bridal party and you are even contemplating leaving ??

I’d bring divorce papers back with you if you go to the footy.

Ps I can’t stand weddings but even I’m not trying to pull that one

BEaston got it right. Go to the wedding and keep an eye on the footy score/action when appropriate. In 1996 I was asked to be the Godfather for a friend's daughter. Problem was that the Baptism was at the same time on a Saturday afnternoon as our match against Fitzroy at the WO. I was caught by the priest with my earphone in my ear and my transistor radio in my suit pocket. That cost me ten Hail Marys and a few Our Fathers with a perfect Act of Contrition thrown in. We beat Fitzroy that day.
The Lord be praised!

Proof we have God on our side.

What would you do?

Get them to move the wedding to half time at the G. Problem solved.

Seems like the floor is split.

I reckon I'll live to regret it if I don't go to the wedding. I'm gonna do the right thing and join my wife.

This can easily all be avoided if we play on the Friday night. That's still a strong chance of happening even if we don't finish on top. We will play on the Friday night if any of the following occurs:

Finish on top and win
My brother in law got married during our Round 1, 2001 match v St Kilda. When he was recently filling in his divorce papers he couldn’t remember his wedding date. We were then able to use AFL Tables to find this information. 😉
Annoying game that one. I recall us being three and a half goals up on multiple occasions and missing easy goals to extend the margin to over four goals. The way the match was poised at those times, I felt converting any of those goals would have put us in a match winning position.

We lost by five points. Everitt absolutely dominated us.