Nothern Riverina Football League

* Kaine Malone from Barellan has won the league b n f

* Wes Kendall (Lake) along with Troy Glasgo (Tulli) are joint winners of the goal kicking with 60.

Week 2 of the finals is held at Barellan this w.e 9/8.

2;40 Tulli (1) v Hillston (2)

12;30 Girral (3) v Lake (4)

17's 10;50 Girral (1) v Ungarie (2)

14's 9;40 Lake (1) v Barellan (2)

12's 8;30 Barellan (1) v Ungarie (2)

Iheard young mitchell johnson keeps has had plenty of it in these finals series so far?
Also wondering whats happened to hillstons ruckman?
Have they got the cattle to cover for him?

* Kaine Malone from Barellan has won the league b n f

* Wes Kendall (Lake) along with Troy Glasgo (Tulli) are joint winners of the goal kicking with 60.

Week 2 of the finals is held at Barellan this w.e 9/8.

2;40 Tulli (1) v Hillston (2)

12;30 Girral (3) v Lake (4)

17's 10;50 Girral (1) v Ungarie (2)

14's 9;40 Lake (1) v Barellan (2)

12's 8;30 Barellan (1) v Ungarie (2)

LAST WEEEKS WINNERS IN BOLD.

Some interesting results from last w.e, very happy to see that girral went belly up:D

Preliminary Finals this weekend 16/8 are to be held at the rec ground west wyalong;

2;30 1's Tulli (1) V Lake (4)

12;30 17's Ungarie (2) V Lake (3)

11;00 14's Lake (1) V Girral (3)

9;30 12's Barellan (1) V Girral (3)

Some interesting results from last w.e, very happy to see that girral went belly up:D

Preliminary Finals this weekend 16/8 are to be held at the rec ground west wyalong;

2;30 1's Tulli (1) V Lake (4)

12;30 17's Ungarie (2) V Lake (3)

11;00 14's Lake (1) V Girral (3)

9;30 12's Barellan (1) V Girral (3)

last weeks results in bold

Unlucky for tulli lossing just 1 game in the regular season and dropping out in straight set in the finals.

Grand Finals this weekend are to be held at the ungarie sports and rec ground 23/8, should be a great day for all involved.

1st; 2:30 Hillston (2) v Lake (4)

17's 12;30 Girral (1) v Ungarie (2)

14's 11;00 Lake (1) v Barellan (2)

12's 9;30 Barellan (1) v Ungarie (2)

Just spoke with the coaches of the 2008 NRFL Premiers.... Go the Tigers! Winners by 24 points over a red hot Hillston... Well done to scrawns, Cab & the Boys... Back to back for the yellow and black! I mite even sneak up for a game

Great job by the tigers, to come from a situation mid year where they were really struggling for numbers , I hear, to storm home and win the flag, great job scrawny and the boys.
Bet there are some shoulda beens and what ifs at some other clubs!!!
and its great to see those kids that i used to watch run around in the 12's sonney bartholemew, the hart boys mitchell johnson just to name a few , be a part of it
cheers boys

i heard a rumour that former temora player brett wanganeenis playing for west wyalong next year any one heard anything

just out of curiosity 4 u boys out that way, can anyone tell me roughly what coaches are getting paid a year to coach? and your so called gun players? do they even get paid? i know nothing bout that league so just interested to know if anyone can shed any light

i heard a rumour that former temora player brett wanganeenis playing for west wyalong next year any one heard anything

Billy May signed with Queanbeyan Tigers in ACTAFL for 2009.
Former coach of Hillston Adrian Pavese enticed him to make the move!!:thumbsu:

just out of curiosity 4 u boys out that way, can anyone tell me roughly what coaches are getting paid a year to coach? and your so called gun players? do they even get paid? i know nothing bout that league so just interested to know if anyone can shed any light

Not to sure what coach's get paid, 95% of the players are local and have played with the club through juniors the other 5% are paid players that would get a start any day with and rfl side and do a good job,each team would have 4-6 players that would get a start no worries in the rfl..Rumor was last year when hillston won the flag they paid up to 60k for the year..The league consists of 7 sides, the standard of the league is between top rfl 2s and farrer league with a physical side to it..All games are held on saturday with 1's,17's,14's and 12's aswell as 5 grades of netball..not sure wat will happen with the shake up of farrer league but if ariah park,temora and ardlethan were to come to the league it would be a boost to the league and with 10 teams would be a well balanced comp. at the moment the jets and roo's would be ahead of the sides but with jets to got back to bombers and stars would split there stocks, also i think if the sides joined they would loose some of the players they get in from wagga and such leaving them with more locally based sides that have a few more juniors playing 1st grade football.

if your coaching, i'm told it's a choice between...
5 chuppa chups, 6 cans of melbourne bitter, 6 potato cakes with chicken salt and a tank of petrol a week
OR
3 Wizz Fizz, 4 Big boss cigars, a bubble'o bill, a hamburger with the lot, a load of firewood and a carton of carlton draught stubbies a week.

For the players that get paid... i'm guessing they'd generally be the clubs closer to griffith or wagga (hillston, barellan, west wyalong) and they couldn't be getting much more than $100 a game i'd think. Most would be ex-locals or have some link to the clubs and be less likely to be grabbing handfuls of cash like other leagues.

well time to start a rumour or two, best one wins a fulfords pie

I hear , Brett "toolbox" sanson has been shafted by his school in albury, and will be helping rossie out on the farm this year, his income from 2 and a half days at st Francis Xavier supported by the asst coaching at the lake, thats all the chuppa chups and a lifetime supply of fulfords pies,

well time to start a rumour or two, best one wins a fulfords pie

I hear , Brett "toolbox" sanson has been shafted by his school in albury, and will be helping rossie out on the farm this year, his income from 2 and a half days at st Francis Xavier supported by the asst coaching at the lake, thats all the chuppa chups and a lifetime supply of fulfords pies,

Nice work!

If my school has shafted me, I'll consider all offers... it's a bit sad to find out via bigfooty though! I'm not sure bout the assistant coaching role... i'm sure if they pay with pies and lollies that Cab will fight tooth and nail to keep it.

My rumour... Nigel "nunga" Thorpe now has his licence and a car and is considering travelling to play for the tigers during the 2009. Won't come back for all games as he will play at Lavington until the clearance cut off. Also rumoured that a recently retired ex-hume league coach, and close friend, will travel with him on the odd occasion!

If that's the case it might look as though Lake might go back to back. Saw young Nigel play at Henty.....solid little fella .......but very evasive...........chuck in a Sanson or two, here and there (Tim, Mark and Brett) and they should look pretty handy.

On last year.............What about Lake's impressive run to the finals..........Wins against Barellan, West Wyalong, Tullibigeal (i bet that hurt the old grasshoppers)and finally a GF win against Hillston. I bet the guys from Hillston and Tully are still licking their wounds. Lake were not apparently supposed to put up much of a fight.........Hillston to win by 80.

How is the Northern Riverina Football League shaping up this year......any major signings for any clubs....Billy May will be a big loss for the Swans....never watched him...but from all reports can play the game.

Is Kaine Malone still coaching Barellan....very handy player watched him go around for East Wagga a few years ago......

What about Wes Kendall for the lake......watched him a few times at Turvey in the 18's, years ago. I hear he has kicked a few goals out your way.....always was a beautiful kicker of the ball......rarely missed......didn't get out of the goal square much.

If that's the case it might look as though Lake might go back to back. Saw young Nigel play at Henty.....solid little fella .......but very evasive...........chuck in a Sanson or two, here and there (Tim, Mark and Brett) and they should look pretty handy.

On last year.............What about Lake's impressive run to the finals..........Wins against Barellan, West Wyalong, Tullibigeal (i bet that hurt the old grasshoppers)and finally a GF win against Hillston. I bet the guys from Hillston and Tully are still licking their wounds. Lake were not apparently supposed to put up much of a fight.........Hillston to win by 80.

How is the Northern Riverina Football League shaping up this year......any major signings for any clubs....Billy May will be a big loss for the Swans....never watched him...but from all reports can play the game.

Is Kaine Malone still coaching Barellan....very handy player watched him go around for East Wagga a few years ago......

What about Wes Kendall for the lake......watched him a few times at Turvey in the 18's, years ago. I hear he has kicked a few goals out your way.....always was a beautiful kicker of the ball......rarely missed......didn't get out of the goal square much.

A rumour i heard over xmas was mick ireland is coaching tully, bringing with him one of hillston's bigger names as well as trav merrils, who i'm pretty sure played back at the rock last year.. Handy pickups.

Lake's run through the finals was amazing. They hadn't beaten any of the above mentioned sides throughout the home and away and finished with another premiership.. Not sure how often that has happened.

A rumour i heard over xmas was mick ireland is coaching tully, bringing with him one of hillston's bigger names as well as trav merrils, who i'm pretty sure played back at the rock last year.. Handy pickups.

Lake's run through the finals was amazing. They hadn't beaten any of the above mentioned sides throughout the home and away and finished with another premiership.. Not sure how often that has happened.
Heard also that Trav is taking his pig huntin mate, one M O'Leary, to Tully as well, You NRL boys better watch out.:eek:

Have not heard of Mick Ireland, however, Trav Merrills is a great bloke and pretty handy footballer, however, he had a pretty bad run last year with injuries. Hard to imagine with his banged up knee that he would be the player he was at his peak. I would imagine in the NRFL, with the boys rugby skills, his knees would be first target.

Mark O' Leary to Tully.....he is one big scary unit. :(:( However, would find this highly unlikely.....to much travelling for a family man, even if you could entice him with a few pigs.