• No

Votes: 67 27.6%
  • Yes

Votes: 136 56.0%
  • Such is Life

Votes: 40 16.5%

Note: This is not a thread to air your views on left/right politics, vaccination mandates or conspiracies, this is a thread to discuss Djokovic and the Australian Open saga only. Humour is accepted and encouraged :D Abuse is not.
Thanks.

AEA78B7C-CABD-42A8-9D94-2ED15A7D2BAB.jpeg

The AFL tribunal acts independently of the AFL too, if you believe that.

Are you suggesting that the Andrews Government, who have gone to great pains to state that unvaccinated players are not welcome at the Australian Open have now worked behind the scenes to ensure that Djokovic has been granted an exemption?

Given the uproar today, that would be one of the greatest political mis-judgements of all time. Here or anywhere.

It simply did not happen that way, as much as the anti-Andrews mob would like it to be so. There's plenty to get the guy on but this is utter nonsense.

Six out of 20-odd applications for the Oz Open received an exception. Make it all about Djokovic though.

26 applications. I havent seen anywhere that says the number accepted.

For all we know it was 26 accepted.

As for the "blind review"...
Stated reason for exemption: "I am the number one male tennis player in the world and my skills are currently unparalleled."

Gotta love a "blind review".

Mate, when people come in here and directly blame Dan Andrews because Novax got his exemption they get what they deserve. It's ignorant. It's patently incorrect and it should be called out. I'd say exactly the same if they blamed Scott Morrison.

Mark McGowan, 'I base all my decisions as far as our COVID response and restrictions go on the best and latest medical advice.'

Dr Andy Robertson, WA, CHO, 'There is no reason on medical grounds why WA can't have a travel bubble with Qld, NT, SA, ACT and Tasmania.'

Journalists, 'Why can't we have a travel bubble with SA and the NT.'

Mark McGowan, 'There is no economic benefit in opening a travel bubble with the NT and SA, none, because all of the high earning WA people will visit them and spend all their money there and they won't visit us. I want us spending our money domestically.'

Qld journalists, 'How come you're letting the rich and famous in and not Qld residents?'

Dr Janet Young, former Qld, CHO and current Qld Governor, 'We need every job and dollar we can get at the moment.'

If you don't think there's been some input from the state government and TA in getting Novak in you're having a laugh.

Every single one of them are a pack of campaigners and we're collectively bending over and copping it dry.

Mark McGowan, 'I base all my decisions as far as our COVID response and restrictions go on the best and latest medical advice.'

Dr Andy Robertson, WA, CHO, 'There is no reason on medical grounds why WA can't have a travel bubble with Qld, NT, SA, ACT and Tasmania.'

Journalists, 'Why can't we have a travel bubble with SA and the NT.'

Mark McGowan, 'There is no economic benefit in opening a travel bubble with the NT and SA, none, because all of the high earning WA people will visit them and spend all their money there and they won't visit us. I want us spending our money domestically.'

Qld journalists, 'How come you're letting the rich and famous in and not Qld residents?'

Dr Janet Young, former Qld, CHO and current Qld Governor, 'We need every job and dollar we can get at the moment.'

If you don't think there's been some input from the state government and TA in getting Novak in you're having a laugh.

Every single one of them are a pack of campaigners and we're collectively bending over and copping it dry.

Rugby League players in 2020 had to have a flu vaccine to enter QLD. One player refused and was told his reason was not accepted.

Luckily he then remembered this time he had an injection and felt ill for a few days after so he was able to then get an exemption.

Brilliant timing with that remembering eh ?

Six out of 20-odd applications for the Oz Open received an exception. Make it all about Djokovic though.

So Tiley says, how is that even able to be verified? We just take his word for it? Medical in confidence so we'll never know unless a player or hanger on comes out and tells us.

Are you suggesting that the Andrews Government, who have gone to great pains to state that unvaccinated players are not welcome at the Australian Open have now worked behind the scenes to ensure that Djokovic has been granted an exemption?

Given the uproar today, that would be one of the greatest political mis-judgements of all time. Here or anywhere.

It simply did not happen that way, as much as the anti-Andrews mob would like it to be so. There's plenty to get the guy on but this is utter nonsense.

I think they've completely misread the room, Novak, Tiley and the government.

Yep, he is able to hide behind his original statement.

Perhaps he produced an antibody test to prove to the panel that he’s “immune”. Just seems strange because he was infected a looooong time ago. How long does one carry antibodies?
He could very well have been infected with covid again since the last time when he revealed it publicly (Adria tour debacle).

Just has a issue with a little needle taken 9 or 10 billion times around the world.

Or the contents more appropriately, which he doesn't necessarily need.

Individuals as mentally resilient and successful as Novak generally have strong belief systems and convictions. This is one of his.

Besides, his body has dealt with the virus and his immune system will recognise a future exposure like and yours and mine. So what exactly is your problem? Oh, he got around the rules that you, me and 95% of Australians couldn't!

Unlike the bulk of Australians, there has been no reason for this bloke to get vaxxed other than to check an outdated administrative box.

****ing move on! It's not June 2020 anymore. Media in this country want to perpetuate the doom and gloom because it's good for business. What does it do for any of you, FFS?

Incorrect.

The decision is made by ATAGI. That's how it works. It's only the dimwitted that want to pin Novax Djokovic playing at the AO on the Andrews Government.

Don't be one of them.

BTW, you do know what "independent" means, don't you?

Then atagi are incompetent.

Theres only a limited number of medical conditions that could render all covid vaccines unsafe for someone to take (as a pose to one vaccine type and not the other) and you wouldnt be physically in the required state to play top level tennis if you had such a medical condition.

How about a booing crowd?
its no crowd he hates the most.

A booing one is one he can turn in his favour. He is used to it when he plays Fedal or previous US Opens. Gets in a "me v the world" mindset. As long as he is prepared for it that is.

Can always rely on the Pollies passing the buck.

reckon his exemption was the fact he got covid again. He loves a crowd old Novak

Having had covid within the last 6 months would been his reason for sure imo. Its ridiculous that they even have that as an exemption criteria what a joke.

It's going to be a media circus when he arrives in Melbourne and plays his first match at the AO.
I’m actually here for it tbh :cute:
It’s gonna be one hell of a melty shit show

I can hear some one singing in the back ground. Is it Helen Shapiro!!!! Nah I think not,
But just a line or two. "Not not, not responsible, not not, not responsible, for things I don't do.
The HOFH maybe singing his own praises here.
But just who is responsible!!

It is if it’s in the last six months.

Word is many of the 26 applicants of which the majority have had COVID in the last 6 months. Most were still denied an exemption.

If that is true than why was it a reason for Novak to be approved but not for others?

This whole situation stinks to hell and until there is a level of clarity and transparency I call bullshit on all of it.

Grand Slam Novak Djokovic Saga (another one): Novak Returns Chompers