Nth Gippsland Football League p2

Nah Tomm old mate, I go alright in the jawing off stakes in the outer! lol!

To be perfectly honest its actually good that TTU have got back into the game again by picking up a few good players, been average heading there in the last few years with bugger all people supporting them.

I think most people here have got it right with the expectations of where this comp is at. And I'm actually not to fussed with what people think of it, its enjoyable to watch, there are quality players on every team and some super young talent getting around and on any weekend a lesser team beats or scares the shit out of a top side.

Looking forward to the year ahead.

Ummm no. Traralgon ressies would beat Stratty and maybe Boisdale, but wouldn't beat any of the other teams. I reckon they'd struggle to get within 10 goals of Sale-City, Rosey and Gormy's teams in 2010. Not many Tgon ressies have had a massive impact when they've transferred to the NGFL. Plenty of serviceable players, but no superstars.

I'm with you Pumpter. Having seen plenty of North Gippy footy over the years and enough of the Traralgon ressies, I wouldn't imagine TTU will be as great as some are suggesting.
Can anyone name a seasoned Traralgon Reserves (not a thirds kid that played one year then shot through) player that has gone to Nth Gippy and had a huge impact in recent memory?

I'm with you Pumpter. Having seen plenty of North Gippy footy over the years and enough of the Traralgon ressies, I wouldn't imagine TTU will be as great as some are suggesting.
Can anyone name a seasoned Traralgon Reserves (not a thirds kid that played one year then shot through) player that has gone to Nth Gippy and had a huge impact in recent memory?

I can't think of any from Traralgon

Brad Adams?? Good defender for Heyfield for years.

I can name a couple from Sale that Heyfield had in Andrew Lambie and Luc Wilson.

I can't think of any from Traralgon

Brad Adams?? Good defender for Heyfield for years.

I can name a couple from Sale that Heyfield had in Andrew Lambie and Luc Wilson.

Yeah, Shagga has been a Heyfield stalwart and played a bit of ressies at Traralgon. He is well and truly a Heyfield boy though as compared to a Traralgon boy. Lambie and Wilson are good calls.

Others that some to mind that have had little impact that played a lot of Traralgon twos include Rick Duddington and Greg Booth. Both have played at Gormy and Booth at TTU as well. Never set the Nth Gippy on fire. Wouldn't have featured in their clubs top 5 in the B&F I would imagine.

Not long till round 1.
Who wants to put their neck on the line and make a ladder prediction.

I think overall it will be very even particually from my 3rd to maybe as low as 8th.

Here goes;

1st Glengarry
2nd Sale City
3rd TTU
4th Heyfield
5th Cowwarr

6th Rosedale
7th Churchill
8th Bois/Briag
9th Gormy
10th Woodside
11th Stratford

Not long till round 1.
Who wants to put their neck on the line and make a ladder prediction.

I think overall it will be very even particually from my 3rd to maybe as low as 8th.

Here goes;

1st Glengarry
2nd Sale City
3rd TTU
4th Heyfield
5th Cowwarr

6th Rosedale
7th Churchill
8th Bois/Briag
9th Gormy
10th Woodside
11th Stratford

Wow...are you serious?? Glengarry above City and Boisdale ahead of Gormandale??

Am I missing something my ladder was totally different!!

Wow...are you serious?? Glengarry above City and Boisdale ahead of Gormandale??

Am I missing something my ladder was totally different!!

One blokes opinion Nugget and yes very serious about Glengarry. Boisdale over Gormy was a flip of a coin.
Didn't see your ladder that is totally different. I'll be interested to see your opinion.
Looking forward to a very open and interesting season.

One blokes opinion Nugget and yes very serious about Glengarry. Boisdale over Gormy was a flip of a coin.
Didn't see your ladder that is totally different. I'll be interested to see your opinion.
Looking forward to a very open and interesting season.

I understand I just thought you may have know something that the rest of us have not.

Yes me too.

Glengarry were solid last year and haven't lost much and have picked up a quality GFL player that will improve them as a team. Sale City by all reports have lost a couple of players and I hear things are ticking along very well at Glengarry.

Looking at the clearances seems Gormy has turned over a few and lost a bit of quality wich I believe will see them slide.

As for Bois/Briag they won't be as bad as last season and should be a lot more competitive. They may not win heaps of games but reports are they have recruited ok & are fitter than 2010.

I agree that that Churchill, Gormy and Rosedale will slide, but what makes anyone think that Heyfield will be one of the teams to make the move back up the ladder?

Thoughts?

Glengarry were solid last year and haven't lost much and have picked up a quality GFL player that will improve them as a team. Sale City by all reports have lost a couple of players and I hear things are ticking along very well at Glengarry.
Haven't seen Ryan Potter play, but he'd want to be a superstar if he's going to take Glen from 5th to 1st. Their 2 finals in 2010 consisted of a 50 point defeat to Gormy and a 100 point flogging to Rosedale.

Theres enough talent at Gormy to keep them above Boisdale. I agree that they'll fall out of the top 5 though. They play Cowwarr at home in Round 1 - if they can't win that, then they definitely won't play finals.

Looking at the clearances seems Gormy has turned over a few and lost a bit of quality wich I believe will see them slide.

As for Bois/Briag they won't be as bad as last season and should be a lot more competitive. They may not win heaps of games but reports are they have recruited ok & are fitter than 2010.

City have lost Adam Brander and Clint Counahan, all there midfield guns are playing again. They will be the side to beat.

Regardless of whether Boisdale will be fitter they just don't have the talent to match the other sides, It will not surprise me at all if Stratford finish above them and Woodside.

I agree that that Churchill, Gormy and Rosedale will slide, but what makes anyone think that Heyfield will be one of the teams to make the move back up the ladder?

Thoughts?

I would be very surprised and aspects of this year will have gone terribly wrong if Heyfield finish sixth.

The only thing that stopped Heyfield being a threat last year was injuries and player availability, I can name seven to eight premiership players who missed six games or more. The fact was the players that went well in 2009 also lacked the desire to push themselves to similar heights of 2010.

If Heyfield had beaten Rosedale in the "mini final" they would have been the side that had that dream run, whether or not they would have made the grand final is anyones call but the only thing that stopped us that day was the fact Rosedale had a couple of bigger bodies that we didn't.

Having said that it is one of the best things to happen to the club in missing the finals last year, so much has changed for the better, for the long run.

Gidday guys.........been involved with Cowwarr for the last couple years now up in Cairns , how are the saints looking this year getting some good vibes from the inner group but good to hear what others think........

Apparently Boisdale Briag played a practice match against Lindenow South on the weekend and lost??? Is this true? If so, I've got my early money on Briag for the wooden spoon, as the standard of footy is fairly poor in the ODFL and Lindenow South finished 4th of 6 teams last year, and have lost their best player.

Gidday guys.........been involved with Cowwarr for the last couple years now up in Cairns , how are the saints looking this year getting some good vibes from the inner group but good to hear what others think........

You wouldn't be an ex Hawk, Tiger, Bomber and Saint that's involved with Sth Cairns Saints now would you?

I don't really follow Nth Gippy that much but know they have picked up Ben Morrow and Ryan Stirling from Moe, both were fringe senior players there but mainly two's. Morrow is a ruckman and Stirling is a solidy built utility, other posters would be able to give you a better idea on how they're travelling at the moment.

You don't follow the Sth Cairns Cutters by any chance? If so, how is my old mate, Christopher Curly Adams going? Love to be a Social Member there, to witness the enigmatic one as head Coach.

In answer to your question, Cowwarr will almost certainly improve on last season, and could finish 5th.

You wouldn't be an ex Hawk, Tiger, Bomber and Saint that's involved with Sth Cairns Saints now would you?

I don't really follow Nth Gippy that much but know they have picked up Ben Morrow and Ryan Stirling from Moe, both were fringe senior players there but mainly two's. Morrow is a ruckman and Stirling is a solidy built utility, other posters would be able to give you a better idea on how they're travelling at the moment.

Wow you sure know your footballers......lol.....all except for the last part...i am actually playing for the cairns saints.

You don't follow the Sth Cairns Cutters by any chance? If so, how is my old mate, Christopher Curly Adams going? Love to be a Social Member there, to witness the enigmatic one as head Coach.

In answer to your question, Cowwarr will almost certainly improve on last season, and could finish 5th.

thanks for that pumpter....I am not involved at South cairns, i am with Cairns saints. Chris has copped a bit of flack up here in the pre season but has shown in the practice match's and also in round one that he will play good footy up here in cairns and that he will be a good coach. Go to the South Cairns web site and you will find out his details, or go to the Cairns football league on here and chat with him.

Apparently Boisdale Briag played a practice match against Lindenow South on the weekend and lost??? Is this true? If so, I've got my early money on Briag for the wooden spoon, as the standard of footy is fairly poor in the ODFL and Lindenow South finished 4th of 6 teams last year, and have lost their best player.
Might just take them a little while to adjust to new coach Daniel Sanderman's new game plan as mentioned in the Gippy Times.When they do ,look out ! All jokes aside Kaine Allen is a great pick up for them although ,at 16/17yr old with his size and speed ,i'm a little disappointed he didn't give Power another go ,he really had the potential to play at a much higher level. Hopefully Jon Burge goes well ,too ,i thought considering the circumstances ,he was very stiff not get a game in the 1's at Sale last year.

When your 16/17 and getting paid money to play senior football, Power probably doesn't look that promising!!

Good luck to Jono, nice kid. Hope the club help him out and keep up the promises to him!! Has some talent from people I talk to. Not too sure if he was close to playing seniors though, may have stuck at Sale if they put him in for a senior game though.

When your 16/17 and getting paid money to play senior football, Power probably doesn't look that promising!!

Good luck to Jono, nice kid. Hope the club help him out and keep up the promises to him!! Has some talent from people I talk to. Not too sure if he was close to playing seniors though, may have stuck at Sale if they put him in for a senior game though.
I understand the money thing nugget and i don't know whether you've seen Kaine play but i've watched this kid for a few years now and when i say a higher level i probably should've said the highest there is. He has the size ,speed and the kind of well-placed aggresion on the field that would put him on any AFL club's radar. Personally i like to see any young local kid of that age with that kind of potential whether he be from Sale ,Maffra or Heyfield play the highest level they can. NGFL will be a step backwards for him.