Opinion Number 1 pick

Who should we pick as the number 1 pick?

• Hugh McCluggage

Votes: 149 53.2%
  • Andrew McGrath

Votes: 131 46.8%

I feel like McCluggage has a slightly higher ceiling but McGrath just looks absolutely ready for the top level and i think he will be a great player. I'd probably pick McGrath as i think he's a safe choice to be very good. His game is just so well suited to AFL level.

Our team will be so exciting with the pace of guys like McGrath, Colyer, Fantasia, Tippa and Merrett. The best part is these guys can really play footy as well. It will be like watching our best during the Knight years (which were exciting at times) but with more substance behind it.

On the flip side - McCluggage is just so smart. Is kind of a mix between Pendlebury and Robbie Gray. I reckon at absolute worst he becomes a classy player like a Caracella type. Think he will end up a gun though. Didn't even have a preseason this year and yet dominated all year.

Glad this isn't my decision in truth.

sup mates! Been awol soz. I've been keeping tabs on both Clugga and McGrath though, I made a few videos if you're interested.

Can't lose either way, Andy can jump in round 1 and do some serious damage with his speed and contested ball ability. Hugh will be the slower burn but has genuine elite footy IQ that you can't teach, watches the play unfold in slow motion and uses that to his advantage opposed to Andy's relentless attack.

Looking forward to 2017 I think we're going to surprise a few people. Walla still my boy go dons mate!

Good to have you back mate!
Nice vids btw. Any preference between the two? I've given up trying to work out who I prefer. Heart says Clugg, head says McGrath... and SPS.

The main guy I know is a gun. He has been spot on every time he has given me info and he normally is in the loop.

This is why I'm second guessing what these other couple of people have told me. I spoke to my guy today and he is still saying he has no idea because no one is talking..if he can't get any info im not sure how the other two can.

Just to clarify did you say you were previously confident (90%) it will be mccluggage or are you now saying you really don't know?

It would be pretty weird for Dodoro to come out and say we think McGrath is the best and then not pick him with #1. I mean it could happen but i think if we had someone else in mind he could have just not said anything or a general statement saying "there's quite a few we rate similarly."

You probably wouldn't want to create a headline where the guy you take with the #1 pick isn't the guy you chose to pump up just before the draft. Not definitive but definitely strongly suggestive in my books.

I recommend a listen to the interview: https://www.sen.com.au/audio/

He doesn't at any point actually say McGrath is the best. He responds to a question involving McGrath's name, but his response is "we think [the player we have at 1 is] the best, and we definitely think he's our best fit".

However, he does then go on to discuss the importance of drafting a leader, which has McGrath all over it.

Haha did Jackets just let slip who we are taking.

Nah he was talking about who does the best with the ladies. On that front McGrath has a slightly better chance of producing more father son picks in the future so we should definitely pick him

If we pick Mcfail it will be remembered as the worst draft blunder in history. Mcgrath is miles better.

Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk

Can you imagine if Dodoro called out:

"The Essendon Football club nominate Hughy McGraggage with the first round selection".

Then up comes a hybrid of the McGrath & McCluggage coming up on stage to take a photo with Worsfold, with Dank walking next to the kid with his arm around him.

#hurryupdraft #losingmyshite #wtf #lol

Wtf is the point of dropping hints when you've got the first pick? Dodo must be wearing too many jackets today

I've been reading a lot of articles lately, and going by quotes from Dodoro and crew. It really sounds like McGrath will be the pick 1.
Another quote today, that Essendon view their premiership window is open now, for the next 5 years.
If i'm wrong, I need to go back to further psychology studies.

FWIW I still think Setterfield should be number 1