Official 18's GVFL Thread (part 1)

Re: Offical 18's gvfl thread

Pretty sure he is going out to Congupna now Beaglehound
And again u are spot on with ur posts about him...
I would be suprised if he got a regular game at Congupna as they will have a pretty strong side, might be rated number 20 to 26 in their player group which means could be a borderline player. Should have stayed at Swans, regular game, best and fairest, league medal who knows. Anyway, I will not be spending any more time commenting re this item as I have better things to spend my time on.

Shepp Bears now have non of there players in the bushrangers squad for 2007. This must be a first for quiet some years i would think??

the bears have been well represented in the past few years at the bushies, its a shame the boys missed out this year

Would GVFL 3rds sides be competitive against district senior teams?

Would the Bushrangers beat many GVFL teams? Whats your opinion.

I think skill yes, speed yes, tactics and cunningness no!

I doubt very much a U18 team such as Bushies or Pioneers would get close to a GVFL team. Size is a big factor along with strength/power. They would go alright for the first quarter and then get run over.

was what you meant to say that a GV under 18 team wouldnt be able to keep it with the bushies? i think thats what you meant... dead right too. half a dozen teams have 1 or 2 bushies playing for them and generally finish off a pretty well oiled team but i doubt that many teams would have even kept it with the bushies for the first quater.. maybe shepp bears, ky, mansfield at full tilt?
i reckon the interleague team would have a fair crack though, that would be a bit of a better competition if they gelled a bit..

on the rendina and daniels issue.. from what i saw last year daniels has a bit more throttle than rendina which gave him a bit more composure cos he had more time.. any thoughts?
both super players though, would love them on my team any day

Some comments from the bloke dobbed in to keep you bludgers in check.

Various posts deleted mainly due to using the forum to slag off people, and language / swear filter evasion breaches. Users are reminded to play the ball not the man.

Please use the report function or PM a mod if you have a problem with a post or another user.

Just arguing back will result in your posts being thrown out with the infringeing ones, and possibly a slap on the knuckles for you as well as the infringer. :)

Please treat this forum like any public place, and if you think that means abusing and swearing and badmouthing, well maybe you oughtn't make too many trips into real public places, either.

Thanks for your time.

Kev

they bushrangers are they best of that age group in the area but keep in mind they are still kids and would be playing against MEN a good handfull of the bushy kids can play seniors and hold their own against the older fellas but i think you would find they wouldnt win many games although they could win a couple maybe possible beat ky and tat , may result in a few injuries from the older guys gettin the run around and not bein able to hack it and given em a clip around the ears

was what you meant to say that a GV under 18 team wouldnt be able to keep it with the bushies? i think thats what you meant... dead right too. half a dozen teams have 1 or 2 bushies playing for them and generally finish off a pretty well oiled team but i doubt that many teams would have even kept it with the bushies for the first quater.. maybe shepp bears, ky, mansfield at full tilt?
i reckon the interleague team would have a fair crack though, that would be a bit of a better competition if they gelled a bit..

this is bullcrap you have to be kidding no side would stay with the bushies or even come close to giving them a run for there money not even the above mentioned sides at full tilt, the bushies are the best young players from around the area if there was a team out there that beat them you would think they would have had better players and if thats the case the better players would be in the bushrangers ya goose...think about it..
and as for the interleague team no disrespect but they players in this team are all they kids that missed out on making the bushrangers most of the time

this is bullcrap you have to be kidding no side would stay with the bushies or even come close to giving them a run for there money not even the above mentioned sides at full tilt, the bushies are the best young players from around the area if there was a team out there that beat them you would think they would have had better players and if thats the case the better players would be in the bushrangers ya goose...think about it..
and as for the interleague team no disrespect but they players in this team are all they kids that missed out on making the bushrangers most of the time

lol thanks for that sonny but no need to get fired up about it.. yeah you might be right about the home and away teams having 0 chance at any stage but i still believe the interleague side would be competitive...
anyone whos played both give a bit of input?
and if you have skillz i dont really wanna know about it

Are we talking 3RDs or Seniors here?

Bushies would win, be an interesting game actully if say a GV team played bushrangers, but i think bushies would win by about 3-4goals.. you have to remember its the best players out of alot of good leauge like GV, O&M and Murray who more than often would be playing senior footy... Bushies would be to quick and dont lack height. Strength wise alot of players are on weight programs, 3-4 times a week and weigh in between 75kg-85kg mark for smaller/medium players with taller players around 90-95kg...
GV or O&M senior interleauge how ever would beat bushies i think
GV or O&M thirds interleauge would get a smashing though

Could skills just stop posting absolute rubbish, it sounds like you seem to know every thing mate, im pretty sure every on is sik of reading your s#it ??

i do know everything thats why im enlightening you people that seem to know jack

lol thanks for that sonny but no need to get fired up about it.. yeah you might be right about the home and away teams having 0 chance at any stage but i still believe the interleague side would be competitive...
anyone whos played both give a bit of input?
and if you have skillz i dont really wanna know about it

well your gonna hear about it... the 3rds interleague side would have a crack but wouldnt stand a chance and they would get a floggen

Bushies would win, be an interesting game actully if say a GV team played bushrangers, but i think bushies would win by about 3-4goals.. you have to remember its the best players out of alot of good leauge like GV, O&M and Murray who more than often would be playing senior footy... Bushies would be to quick and dont lack height. Strength wise alot of players are on weight programs, 3-4 times a week and weigh in between 75kg-85kg mark for smaller/medium players with taller players around 90-95kg...

agree with you 100% its good to see someone that knows what they are talking about instead of these other dreamers

well your gonna hear about it... the 3rds interleague side would have a crack but wouldnt stand a chance and they would get a floggen

they might have come close to last years bushies team? but would cop a floggin to this years...

yeah i think you will find that last years bushrangers team was probably the weakest it has been in a number of years the 7 to 8 years prio to that they have been very strong but seemed to drop away last year they should be back up there this year

Heard that Bears had a cut on Friday night and that there are some disappointed boys out there. Must be hard for them but only so many can make the final list. Anyone know how many were cut and how many are on the final list. I know that United thirds will have to cut around 5 or 6 to get to a list of around 26 not including bushies and senior players. The only alternative would be for players to stay hanging around with no real opportunity to get a lot of game time (not really a good option). I hope that players who are cut don't chuck it in and that they have a look around for a game of footy. I know that Tally 3rds are looking for extra players. It seems a lot of players have wanted to play with the Bears and United this year.

I have been following the bushie's progress for a couple of years now and I think there is no doubt that they would generally beat all GVFL thirds sides. Shepp Bears side (premiers) from last year would have to play at the best to have a chance of success against them. However, I would think that most senior sides would beat the bushies. Hard to beat a side that is bigger, stronger and more experienced then you, even if you are faster. The bushies may have got away with a win last year against Kyabram or Tatura, but even then they would have to have played at their best. I remember seeing some of the top Assumption sides player local seniors in practice matches only to be competitive for a half then be run over.

any news on how the united thirds are looking much talent coming through this year?

the boys are looking great, training really well and have picked up a good variety of guys.. they cant wait to get out there and have a run, should be up there come finals time!

Any star recruits?