Official 18's GVFL Thread (part 1)

Re: Offical 18's gvfl thread

Top 3 Shepp sides...

Bears - have an even mix of height, pace, ball winners and good ball users. The amount the seniors pinch each week won't be a factor.

Daylight........

United - haven't picked up much from last year and their best won't play that often. Top 5 regulars will be Bingham, O'Sullivan, Oldfield, Cecchin, S. Campbell. Keddell an unknown quantity at this stage although big wraps on the boy.

Swans - struggling. They have Hamilton, Lewis and Kirkman but tail off after that. Hope they pinch a couple of games.

You may be right on most points there about the Bears, but I can tell you that they have 9 players over 6 foot, and a fair bit of bulk. In fact being too big might be an issue for them.

Yeah but can they all kick the ball accurately, Handball, have good speed and fitness background? Who cares how big they are that just means they land harder...

Saying that i think Bears will be a handy side, like mentioned no real stand outs but alot of depth that covers the ground evenly

A champion team will always beat a team of champions... United won't jell again this year you watch. A certain someone (not mentioning names) spruiked em for the flag in March last year because he thought they had an awesome team. Look what happened.

You may be right on most points there about the Bears, but I can tell you that they have 9 players over 6 foot, and a fair bit of bulk. In fact being too big might be an issue for them.

being 6 ft or just over isnt that rare these days in u18s footy and there r alot of guys like this.. u will find most of the top on ballers r over 6ft these days when a few years ago on ballers were concidered to be the small guys on the field.. who would the guys over 6ft that have bulk about them be at bears? i was more talkin abouts big guys like oldfield, longmore and keddel who will hit packs and hurt bodies (within the rules) just not sure if bears have any of those players? lowden would be one of the bears over 6ft, but really skinny and wouldnt be surprised if his year is full of injuries after gettin a few big knocks at this level.

who will be rucking for united will this year?

Would have to go with Will O as he uses hisself well around the ground after the ruck contest, and then i would say swapping with Senior to get a breather.

Top 3 Shepp sides...

Bears - have an even mix of height, pace, ball winners and good ball users. The amount the seniors pinch each week won't be a factor.

Daylight........

United - haven't picked up much from last year and their best won't play that often. Top 5 regulars will be Bingham, O'Sullivan, Oldfield, Cecchin, S. Campbell. Keddell an unknown quantity at this stage although big wraps on the boy.

Swans - struggling. They have Hamilton, Lewis and Kirkman but tail off after that. Hope they pinch a couple of games.

i think u will find they have picked up alot of new players. Only lost 4-5 players from last year but have a very different team bcoz of wat they have picked up and have had to tell some guys they wont be gettin a game from last years list.

Yeah but can they all kick the ball accurately, Handball, have good speed and fitness background? Who cares how big they are that just means they land harder...

Saying that i think Bears will be a handy side, like mentioned no real stand outs but alot of depth that covers the ground evenly

Didn't say they could. Just replying to the other bloke who said they didn't have size, when they probably have their biggest side for many years. Whether they can get the pill is the question.

being 6 ft or just over isnt that rare these days in u18s footy and there r alot of guys like this.. u will find most of the top on ballers r over 6ft these days when a few years ago on ballers were concidered to be the small guys on the field.. who would the guys over 6ft that have bulk about them be at bears? i was more talkin abouts big guys like oldfield, longmore and keddel who will hit packs and hurt bodies (within the rules) just not sure if bears have any of those players? lowden would be one of the bears over 6ft, but really skinny and wouldnt be surprised if his year is full of injuries after gettin a few big knocks at this level.

I can promise, the Bears have blokes who have bulk and burst packs in abundance. I don't know where you get your info from. Seem to know a lot for someone who doesn't. For names, I can give you Joe Kelly, Paul Kelly, Pullen, Woodcock, Boyle, Edwards, Parker, Buktin, Ridings, Stanbrook, Borger and Ingram. Like I said though, I'm not suggesting their going to be as good as the last few years, but they have a big, hard list of blokes.

Top 3 Shepp sides...

Daylight........

Bears will no doubt be good again, you missed quite a few of the united list Warren, Arho (80 odd goals last season), Longmore, Riordon and Senior. Will all get under the guard, top performers from the Picola League. Arho 6ft 4, Senior 6ft 4, Riordon great skills pace and strength, Longmore will be huge in the gv and Warren lighting qiuck and highly skilled. Cullum, Friedlieb were in the top bracket last year in under 16s. I think when you look at these plus another handy group still listed you can see that United have picked up quite a bit (which they had to). Take the dees lightly at your own peril. The first 3 round will give a clearer picture with the dees facing up against the top 3 from last season in Benella, Kyabram and the Bears.

Swans, unfortunately are struggling for numbers at this stage, hopefully this might improve once cricket finishes. It would have been great to have all 3 shepp sides strong.

Bears will no doubt be good again, you missed quite a few of the united list Warren, Arho (80 odd goals last season), Longmore, Riordon and Senior. Will all get under the guard, top performers from the Picola League. Arho 6ft 4, Senior 6ft 4, Riordon great skills pace and strength, Longmore will be huge in the gv and Warren lighting qiuck and highly skilled. Cullum, Friedlieb were in the top bracket last year in under 16s. I think when you look at these plus another handy group still listed you can see that United have picked up quite a bit (which they had to). Take the dees lightly at your own peril. The first 3 round will give a clearer picture with the dees facing up against the top 3 from last season in Benella, Kyabram and the Bears.

Swans, unfortunately are struggling for numbers at this stage, hopefully this might improve once cricket finishes. It would have been great to have all 3 shepp sides strong.

which thirds from united will be pushing for seniors selection? its good to see that united have a good mix any underage players this season?

Benalla will be a very dominent team this year, they are always consistent but they look the goods this year. very close tight group and will be hard to knock off

Mansfield will find it a bit harder this year then what they did last year but will be there abouts just missing finals i would say

Euroa no good again

with benalla saints losin a few numbers, do u think young gun Farran Priest could gain a senoir selection

i would've definately thought so....not sure what month his birthday is but i've seen this kid play (including u15 nationals) and if he develops like expected, you would think he'd be a good chance to get on the bushys list as an u16 after they play.....big wraps for this kid, can play!:thumbsu:

Benalla will be a very dominent team this year, they are always consistent but they look the goods this year. very close tight group and will be hard to knock off

Mansfield will find it a bit harder this year then what they did last year but will be there abouts just missing finals i would say

Euroa no good again

you must seem to know alot mate where you get that info from about euroa have had 20+ on the track since early december boys are really fit trainig 3 nights a week and are picking up some talent through the seymour junior league some of those guys straight into senior practice game without even playing a third game

the only reason the thirds boys are getting a game in senior practice matches is because there seniors will be shi* this year and are struggling heaps for numbers.
brad gleeson and ashley hobbs i know for a fact are getting a game, neither of these boys even made bushies.
gleeson- fat and lazy wont handle playing on people bigger than him.
hobbs- can play, just not comitted enough

the only reason the thirds boys are getting a game in senior practice matches is because there seniors will be shi* this year and are struggling heaps for numbers.
brad gleeson and ashley hobbs i know for a fact are getting a game, neither of these boys even made bushies.
gleeson- fat and lazy wont handle playing on people bigger than him.
hobbs- can play, just not comitted enough

gleeso only played 2's and hopefully this year will start to work a bit harder because he does have ability.
hobbsy played seniors and in patches showed brilliance.

lol big tony just cos your stuck at violet town thirds n still not getting a touch doesnt mean you have to get your knickers in a knot over euroa stealing a heap of your older age group players.

how did you practice match go? heard farran got about 60 posessions

i dunno he is looking around though cause swans wont play him in the ones..

oh righto, thats pretty tight of them.. has the new coach implied this?>
if they wont play him i couldnt see them playing barolli or brain in the ones if they were up to it?
what about cam birch is he gona get a run in the 1's?

brain has gone to rumbalara and if they arnt playing hebbard then they wont play barolli either..

baroli is a better and different player to hebbard so u cant assume that..