• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Murray Bombers

New guys are at Echuca:
Smith (Been training, was on back of local rag in EFC jumper, he is playing)
Maddox
Halloran brothers X2.
Casey
Butler (include him barely played last year)

And there may be 1 or 2 other i'm not aware of.
Also they are hopeful Silas Laidlaws knee will come up after 18 months off, he tried to come back but re-injured it so took all of last year off.

Re: Official GVFL thread

Grimmett said:
I've asked before but got no reply. Where can I buy a copy of the GVFL 2005 Grand Final DVD from?

Give Haig Lindsay a call at Win TV in Shepp...he'll be able to point you in the right direction

Krakour Magic said:
Jeepers, Grimmet, how do you get that info? I knew Euroa and Seymour were in the country, but those family connections are a bit thick. Does this technically make Michael related to Mills as well ( :confused: ok, I know the answer is technically no)?

I'm sure all of the families/cousins get along fine.

Ararat, Grimmet, do you follow the rats? I know a bloke from Horsham (not the same bloke who took 'em off to...) playing up in Brisbane - Josh Molan. Good strong player - do you know of him? Rate him? Good bloke too.

is that the same josh molan who played at belmont with dan mathews, julian carr and paul hanns?, if so he is a good player, good leap good attacking player but no defensive side to his game. last i herd he was following shearer from big brother around and picking up all the chicks that had a crack at shearer.

carntheblue&whitehoops said:
is that the same josh molan who played at belmont with dan mathews, julian carr and paul hanns?, if so he is a good player, good leap good attacking player but no defensive side to his game. last i herd he was following shearer from big brother around and picking up all the chicks that had a crack at shearer.

It would be. Those three guys you have mentioned all hail from Stawell, as does Josh Molan.

ECHUCABOY said:
Anyone had a look at the transfers list, some interesting stuff in there.

A whole lot of Euroa Juniors going to Seymour or vice verser, I forget has that got something to do with different leagues, age levels or are all these kids just leaving?

And about 5 blokes from shepp leaving for congupna...

And blokes trying to leave Kyabram have been denied, should be in interesting few weeks.

I think you'll find the Euroa kids play for the Magpies junior club which competes in the Seymour District Junior Football League, silly to me that they have to then apply for a clearance to their senior club.

Heard that young Echuca gun Casey Nance is not too happy with the club and may be having talks with Rochy.

just signed said:
Heard that young Echuca gun Casey Nance is not too happy with the club and may be having talks with Rochy.

Casey Nance is a sissy and pulls his heartmuscle far too much, could not survive under dirty.

Thanks Doona, just seemed strange, thought something might have happened at the Club.

no left foot said:
First time on this site but can tell you Brad Smith has come back burning the turf after a year off. Echuca are hoping he has a big year, Maddox looks all class on the track. Also hopefull of signing a couple more, however this may be just hopefull at best. The Murray Bombers will be more than copmpetitve in 2006, interesting to see where they finish. Lost only 2 from there top 15 in BF and picked up 5 or 6 good solid senior footballers. Loosing Archard stings them though. Look forward to seeing how they go.

Maybe Echucaboy might have news on the other couple of guys they are trying for.

No Left Foot, could you please give an indication as to which of the Maddox boys has been burning the turf? As I recall there were two down at the Murray Bombers, Josh and his older bro Simon, who was leading goal kicker in the 2002 grand final from a back pocket, and has one of the best white man afro's going around!

carntheblue&whitehoops said:

That's the man! We had a couple of games up here where Josh would get out of the showers and step into Shearer's limmo that was waiting outside the changerooms. Hilarious stuff. Shearer boxed well above his weight when it came to the females, and whilst Josh certainly became a beneficiary, he wasn't having any difficulties with the women prior to Shearer's eviction.

Think Josh did have a year down Geelong way, and he's meant to be bringing 4 or 5 from Geelong and the Wimmera this year (although haven't seen them brave a pre-season session in Brisbane's humidity to date).

Let me know if anyone else is keen to head up to Brisbane for a kick - just think perfect weather every Saturday throughout winter!

Thanks blue and white.

Great Site. Great news and a bit of rubbish. Over the summer read about soft players and money. Get real. Footy is in a different era to past years. All clubs have receivers & runners. Not a big fan of Lamoro but can Play. Money. Silly clubs & Dumb presidents recruit dumb money players e.g Tonny- Baker, Mooroopna e.g Hawking & others. Look at seymour & Euroa. Well administered and good recruits. Good Players want money & success. Looking for a recruit Tige & Echuca Boy ? Mark Alvey ex Essendon is living in Wentworth. Finally name the top 10 GV players.

just signed said:

just signed, believe Casey Nance trained with Rochester on Wednesday night. Very close with Chris Rourke who is Rochy's runner

ilovetogetblind said:
just signed, believe Casey Nance trained with Rochester on Wednesday night. Very close with Chris Rourke who is Rochy's runner

Was just stirring about case, he can definetly play, and should have a good year with the pios, if thats the way he wants to go with his footy.
Rourkey is a great bloke and no doubt he will be trying to intice Case to Tigeland, good on him.

Josh Maddox is the freak, while Simon has had a couple of lean years, but was a big contributor when the side was going well and winning premierships.

Just a quick update for all seymour followers, your former assistant coach is making the local papers in Melbourne, hanging with the big wigs at the Bulldogs. Still has a case of the man boobs going though.

www.wrfl.asn.au/news.html?oid=1494615

Unfotunately no quotes from the big fella.

Another "Day in the Life of..." courtesy the Seymour Footy Club website, complete with BigFooty references and all:

FRIDAY 10th ? FEB ?06

6:30AM I?ve just woken up, and I AM SHANE SCHOTTNER, 3-time Mark Cox medalist, Morrison medalist, premiership captain, and all round superstar.

6:31AM I?ve just woken up, and I AM SHANE SCHOTTNER, 3-time Mark Cox medalist, Morrison medalist, premiership captain, AND ALL ROUND SUPERSTAR.

6:32AM Remind myself to buy a larger bed ? a single is just not big enough.

6:33AM Am pleasantly surprised when told that it is actually a queen size ensemble, and that I am just a massive hulk of a man. (For those of you don?t realize, my biceps are 40? ? around).

6:35AM Strut manfully through my bedroom door (sideways) to the bathroom, taking advantage of every mirror along the way (I counted at least 3, coincidentally the same number of Mark Cox medals I earned).

6:40AM Lather my impressive physique in my custom built extra large shower. Make a note to buy more soap (I use 3 bars each wash as I am so large, coincidentally the same number of Morrison medals I will undoubtedly win by the end of my career) for myself and moisturizer for Macca.

7:21AM The hot water has run out.

7:27AM Finally step out of the shower after 6 agonizingly cold minutes. Not quite as cold as the ice-baths I endure after every game and associated best-on-ground performance. I like to treat my body as a temple, just as the ancient Nepalese monks once did in their cleansing rituals of both mind, body and the soul.

7:28AM Why do people forever make note of my receding hairline? It is a thick as a proud lion king?s mane!

7:29AM My tattoo is looking particularly good today, located on the upper section of my imfraspinatus (or shoulder for you uneducated ones ? Joey Amad). The tattoo was quite an ordeal for me as the needle they originally tried to use was not strong enough to penetrate my leather like skin ? although the ladies tell me it is soft to the touch.

7:35AM Start the trek to school (I am an extremely popular PE teacher at the renowned Assumption College in Kilmore ? I?ve heard somebody say once that I?m the best footballer to ever pass through these gates ? Shane Crawford was correct in saying that).

8:30AM Morning prayer time at school. As many children around me pray and give thanks to the Mighty Lord, I pray for my opponents in the next game.

9:05AM First lesson for the day: my 25 students want to see how it feels to be Shane Schottner, 3-time Mark Cox medalist, Morrison medalist, premiership captain, and all round superstar, so I suggest to them to strap sacks of potatoes to their biceps, triceps, chest, buttocks and thighs to imagine just how big I am. Unfortunately this will not even make them close to being the man I am. In a show of strength, I also bench press all 25 students, and a nearby gardener.

12:30PM Lunch time. I take the time to check my phone ? it looks like a pea in my hand. 34 missed calls from Stuart Peterson that I will not return (apparently he fears I am going to Lalor after a rogue BigFooty rumour), along with the obligatory dozen messages from rival clubs desiring my services ? how Dave Gleeson got my number astounds me.

3:15PM Last lesson of the day finished and the children smell so tantalizing like potatoes. I ate one of them, but he was kind of rubbery. I am still very hungry, one small child with a side of potatoes does not contain my daily requirement of protein to maintain my gargantuan frame.

3:45PM Footy training is only hours away. How I enjoy working my body with such fine athletes as Jeff Anderson and Robert Inness.

6:35PM Much to the joy of my lesser team-mates (are there any other kind) I arrive at training ? fashionably late as always ? training does not start without Shane Schottner, 3-time Mark Cox medalist, Morrison medalist, premiership captain, and all round superstar.

6:40PM Haber?s reminds of our upcoming practice matches. I tell him that Shane Schottner, 3-time Mark Cox medalist, Morrison medalist, premiership captain, and all round superstar does not require practice. Adam Reid laughs at this ? he will now miss the first 5 weeks.

9:00PM I have just finished the max push-up test that we started at the end of training ? everybody left 30 minutes ago ? I don?t know whether you realize but I?ve done over a thousand. The only thing that stopped me was what felt like an earthquake underneath me ? it turns out it was simply the result of my massive pounding heart resonating too closely to the Earth?s crust ? mmm crust. I was a little annoyed with this though, as it ruined my attempt to break my previous max push-up record of 28,213 that I set back in the ?98 pre-season in front of 50 uncontrollable adoring fans.

9:05PM Driving home I visualize one of my goals for the 2006 season. I want to feel what it is like to be tackled to the ground (this is obviously unrealistic though as Mariusz Pudzianowski, multiple winner of the Met-RX World?s Strongest Man contest will not be lining up for Tatura this year, despite rumours from BigFooty). I remember somebody came close to dragging me down once as a 16 year old playing my first senior game. His rehabilitation has taken longer than expected, I felt for his young family.

9:30PM Friday night and I am feeling lonely as only 10 girls (and Stuart Peterson) have contacted me. Should I make that 11 girls, or should I? Or should I what? I?m confused??? I need more protein.

9:35PM I was about to insert the 2005 Premiership DVD into the DVD player but have a change in heart, deciding I would prefer to watch the Shane Schottner, 3-time Mark Cox medalist, Morrison medalist, premiership captain, and all round superstar 2005 highlights package. I watch only the first volume of 26.

11:45PM Decide against going out tonight as my massive structure pulsating on the dance floor can put other patrons in serious danger.

11:59PM My body needs rest. Is my bed small again?

Grandale said:
Another "Day in the Life of..." courtesy the Seymour Footy Club

Id love to see Schotty's version of a day in the life from a very memorable Queensland trip years ago, myself Big Blurter White & brother his Pete, Brett Lewis, Paul Speechley and "Throb" one of Schotty's uni mates had a ripper of a day (and night) on the Sunshine Coast . . . . would be quite a read!!!

grandale, this is a classic piece of material love the work keep it up mate. shotty wood b very happy 2 read that he is the best player 2 walk through the gates at ACK.

Josh Maddox has been training well, Simon Maddox is steady but Josh took most of the ability i think. Interesting to hear about young Nance maybe going to Rochester, thought he would prob play pioneers anyway.

no left foot said:
Josh Maddox has been training well, Simon Maddox is steady but Josh took most of the ability i think. Interesting to hear about young Nance maybe going to Rochester, thought he would prob play pioneers anyway.

Can he play?

Loud Noises!!!!!!!!!!!!!

More Loud Noises!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Grandale said:
Another "Day in the Life of..." courtesy the Seymour Footy Club website, complete with BigFooty references and all:

FRIDAY 10th ? FEB ?06

6:30AM I?ve just woken up, and I AM SHANE SCHOTTNER, 3-time Mark Cox medalist, Morrison medalist, premiership captain, and all round superstar.

6:31AM I?ve just woken up, and I AM SHANE SCHOTTNER, 3-time Mark Cox medalist, Morrison medalist, premiership captain, AND ALL ROUND SUPERSTAR.

6:32AM Remind myself to buy a larger bed ? a single is just not big enough.

6:33AM Am pleasantly surprised when told that it is actually a queen size ensemble, and that I am just a massive hulk of a man. (For those of you don?t realize, my biceps are 40? ? around).

6:35AM Strut manfully through my bedroom door (sideways) to the bathroom, taking advantage of every mirror along the way (I counted at least 3, coincidentally the same number of Mark Cox medals I earned).

6:40AM Lather my impressive physique in my custom built extra large shower. Make a note to buy more soap (I use 3 bars each wash as I am so large, coincidentally the same number of Morrison medals I will undoubtedly win by the end of my career) for myself and moisturizer for Macca.

7:21AM The hot water has run out.

7:27AM Finally step out of the shower after 6 agonizingly cold minutes. Not quite as cold as the ice-baths I endure after every game and associated best-on-ground performance. I like to treat my body as a temple, just as the ancient Nepalese monks once did in their cleansing rituals of both mind, body and the soul.

7:28AM Why do people forever make note of my receding hairline? It is a thick as a proud lion king?s mane!

7:29AM My tattoo is looking particularly good today, located on the upper section of my imfraspinatus (or shoulder for you uneducated ones ? Joey Amad). The tattoo was quite an ordeal for me as the needle they originally tried to use was not strong enough to penetrate my leather like skin ? although the ladies tell me it is soft to the touch.

7:35AM Start the trek to school (I am an extremely popular PE teacher at the renowned Assumption College in Kilmore ? I?ve heard somebody say once that I?m the best footballer to ever pass through these gates ? Shane Crawford was correct in saying that).

8:30AM Morning prayer time at school. As many children around me pray and give thanks to the Mighty Lord, I pray for my opponents in the next game.

9:05AM First lesson for the day: my 25 students want to see how it feels to be Shane Schottner, 3-time Mark Cox medalist, Morrison medalist, premiership captain, and all round superstar, so I suggest to them to strap sacks of potatoes to their biceps, triceps, chest, buttocks and thighs to imagine just how big I am. Unfortunately this will not even make them close to being the man I am. In a show of strength, I also bench press all 25 students, and a nearby gardener.

12:30PM Lunch time. I take the time to check my phone ? it looks like a pea in my hand. 34 missed calls from Stuart Peterson that I will not return (apparently he fears I am going to Lalor after a rogue BigFooty rumour), along with the obligatory dozen messages from rival clubs desiring my services ? how Dave Gleeson got my number astounds me.

3:15PM Last lesson of the day finished and the children smell so tantalizing like potatoes. I ate one of them, but he was kind of rubbery. I am still very hungry, one small child with a side of potatoes does not contain my daily requirement of protein to maintain my gargantuan frame.

3:45PM Footy training is only hours away. How I enjoy working my body with such fine athletes as Jeff Anderson and Robert Inness.

6:35PM Much to the joy of my lesser team-mates (are there any other kind) I arrive at training ? fashionably late as always ? training does not start without Shane Schottner, 3-time Mark Cox medalist, Morrison medalist, premiership captain, and all round superstar.

6:40PM Haber?s reminds of our upcoming practice matches. I tell him that Shane Schottner, 3-time Mark Cox medalist, Morrison medalist, premiership captain, and all round superstar does not require practice. Adam Reid laughs at this ? he will now miss the first 5 weeks.

9:00PM I have just finished the max push-up test that we started at the end of training ? everybody left 30 minutes ago ? I don?t know whether you realize but I?ve done over a thousand. The only thing that stopped me was what felt like an earthquake underneath me ? it turns out it was simply the result of my massive pounding heart resonating too closely to the Earth?s crust ? mmm crust. I was a little annoyed with this though, as it ruined my attempt to break my previous max push-up record of 28,213 that I set back in the ?98 pre-season in front of 50 uncontrollable adoring fans.

9:05PM Driving home I visualize one of my goals for the 2006 season. I want to feel what it is like to be tackled to the ground (this is obviously unrealistic though as Mariusz Pudzianowski, multiple winner of the Met-RX World?s Strongest Man contest will not be lining up for Tatura this year, despite rumours from BigFooty). I remember somebody came close to dragging me down once as a 16 year old playing my first senior game. His rehabilitation has taken longer than expected, I felt for his young family.

9:30PM Friday night and I am feeling lonely as only 10 girls (and Stuart Peterson) have contacted me. Should I make that 11 girls, or should I? Or should I what? I?m confused??? I need more protein.

9:35PM I was about to insert the 2005 Premiership DVD into the DVD player but have a change in heart, deciding I would prefer to watch the Shane Schottner, 3-time Mark Cox medalist, Morrison medalist, premiership captain, and all round superstar 2005 highlights package. I watch only the first volume of 26.

11:45PM Decide against going out tonight as my massive structure pulsating on the dance floor can put other patrons in serious danger.

11:59PM My body needs rest. Is my bed small again?
There's one in every club, should be more of it.