• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

just a quick note to all the partygoers out there. THE WHIP is havin a little gathering this weekend if anyone is interested let him know asap!!

word has it THE WHIP is a real party animal. No doubt he will be sucking down several cans of XXXX Gold and nailing plenty of his beloved Winfield reds. Has anyone out there seen that delightful mullet bouncing on the dancefloor? Its a sight to behold. Thanks for the invite WHIP, see you soon.

T.Perry said:
Bit of goss on the selection front this week. In a boost to Euroa, Ky will be going in without Newman, but will regain the services of Jimmy Taylor, and their junior player who plays Bushies (reardon (?)).

newman is out for 4 with ligament damage to his ankle, taylor is back in along with ruckman craig nunn back from injury after only playing the first game and sierakowski back after hammy tighness last week. also wearden won't be playin as he has been added to the u/18 vic country squad which has training on the weekend

FOOTYBOSS said:
Didnt happen No Heart. I think it would have been mentioned before a thursday if it did as they Euroa coaching and interchange bench is right in front of the crowd at memorial. Im know he never said that at the bullants during his time either.

Surely you can come up with something better then that during your bullants days.

Carpet Arse i could come up with a lot more, but im not gunna bother. What i carnt believe is all the crap people are saying about you Euroa boys at the moment, whether it be true or bull****, im shocked that a town that was so proud last year when everythings going great and they loved all the Melbourne boys, can turn so quickly.Ive read on here that ressies players arnt happy, im hearing people bitching everywhere. I have repect for a couple of boys who play at your club and its sad at the moment to hear what is being said behind their backs.[Because they deserve better ]And i heard about what Scott was meant to have done on sunday, but i wasnt going to bring it up because as you say its bull****.

scooby-doo said:
they include bell, powell, tubb, burls, thompson and chowanetz. All have been playing consistent footy for a while now

Sorry mate, but these boys are not good enough for senior footy.

Sure, they train and do all the right things when told, but they havent got the skill yet and are still learning.

No Heart said:
Carpet Arse i could come up with a lot more, but im not gunna bother. What i carnt believe is all the crap people are saying about you Euroa boys at the moment, whether it be true or bull****, im shocked that a town that was so proud last year when everythings going great and they loved all the Melbourne boys, can turn so quickly.Ive read on here that ressies players arnt happy, im hearing people bitching everywhere. I have repect for a couple of boys who play at your club and its sad at the moment to hear what is being said behind their backs.[Because they deserve better ]And i heard about what Scott was meant to have done on sunday, but i wasnt going to bring it up because as you say its bull****.
Fair enough then No Heart, we will leave that topic alone, but it definately did not happen.

Let them say what they want to. We know who the true supporters and who the fair weather supporters are. In fact the whole club know who they are. Its no skin off our nose what the fair weather ones say about us. we just ignore what is said about us and try and win some games.

As for the ressie players that are complaining, those few blokes struggle to to get a kick and dominate and would look silly at the later game. They have no skills and no football brains. Thats why they cant get a game.

As for saying we dont try people who are playing well. This weekend you see some new faces. 3 players from the u/18s have got a game. By the way after this weekend we will have used 33 players on our playing list which is decent amount of fresh people.

It would appear soccerboss that you cannot stand the truth about you pathetic Euroa Witch's hats with Black & White Stripes because that is what Benalla now refer to you as.

The truth is knob jockey is the incident didnt even happen. Do you really reckon we care what Benalla refer to us as. All they have done is beaten us in an home & away game. So back into your room and keep raping that baboon you stole from the zoo the other week.

Hey FOOTYBOSS thought you mighta nearly been due 4 call up mate, looks like few inexperienced boys are getting their chance - has Mr. Gleeson opted to give a few ago? Are these 4 blokes youngsters?

EUROA

B: King, Shelton, Marshall

HB: M. Clayton, Watson, Hamill

C: O'Brien, Horsburgh, Stott

HF: Doxey, Hyatt, Cunningham

F: Thomson, Jansz, Bamford

Foll: Fox, Sage, S. Clayton

Inter: Grainger, Matt Mills, Anderson, Ivill

Also noticed Seymour starting to look a stronger list again - and 2 J. Martiniello's named at Benalla, does old Joey still play or is it another guy?

spike dudley said:
2005 Grand Final
FB: Walker Shelton Watson
HB: S Clayton Hamill M Clayton
C: Wilson Sage Thomson
HF: King Hyatt Bamford
FF: Lamaro Grainger Stott
R: Jansz Gibson Harper
Int: Gilliland Howse Mills

2006 V Benalla
FB: Walker Shelton Watson
HB: S Clayton Hamill M Clayton
C: Wilson Sage Thomson
HF: Bamford Hyatt King
FF: Mills Grainger Stott
R: Jansz Marshal Tate
INT: Morphet Anderson Caracher

the players in the 2006 V Benalla team wich are in Bold are those who DIDNT play in last year Grand Final team. So to have a team that is only 5 players different to that of the Euroa team which last year played off in the grand final and blame injuries for there poor form is a joke. Marshal played against benalla and was an emergency for the GF last year. It's high time Euroa took a good hard look at themselves and stop blaming injuries. They are and will continue to be 'pretenders'. Every team has injuries, and some twicee as many as euroa. Seems to me like they are a bunch of gutless sooks

Very well played, Spike. Great to get some factual analysis. Perhaps Yogi Berra was right, and half this game really is 90% mental!

Is the question then how to bring that mental side to play?

Sounds too like the Euroa gents could spend more time considering how to develop the Powells, Burls', Gillilands etc., rather than writing them off as inconsistent, with no football brains and no skills. Very rough comments for what I assume to be team-mates.

On a different side, very good to see 3 brothers playing together at Shepparton - the Chapmans. Unsure how many other sides would ever have had 3 or more brothers playing in the one senior side. I believe Euroa in the 70s had 4 Thomsons (another brother in the 80s?), although they never all played in the one side together.

Doona2 said:
Hey FOOTYBOSS thought you mighta nearly been due 4 call up mate, looks like few inexperienced boys are getting their chance - has Mr. Gleeson opted to give a few ago? Are these 4 blokes youngsters?

EUROA

B: King, Shelton, Marshall

HB: M. Clayton, Watson, Hamill

C: O'Brien, Horsburgh, Stott

HF: Doxey, Hyatt, Cunningham

F: Thomson, Jansz, Bamford

Foll: Fox, Sage, S. Clayton

Inter: Grainger, Matt Mills, Anderson, Ivill

Also noticed Seymour starting to look a stronger list again - and 2 J. Martiniello's named at Benalla, does old Joey still play or is it another guy?

Nah Doona, probably wont play in the later game at all this year, which doesnt really bother me to much. Anderson has played 98 games for the club, while the other 3 are all u/18 players that will play their 1st games for the club this weekend. We have to try something.

To spike Dudley whoever who are c o c k jaw, I dont think anyone from Euroa has posted on here saying injuries are causing our poor form. It is far from the truth. Yes we do have injuries to key players but that is not the reason we are losing. We are all playing terrible footy and lacking form, simple as that.

Tips for this week.

Euroa over Kyabram by 12 goals. Obviously we're under the pump at the minute, and the best way to get the monkey off our back is with a good win. The loss of Newman will hurt Ky significantly.

Echuca to beat Shepp Bears by 2 goals. The Murray Bombers have a good on-ball outfit and a huge target in White up forward. Have heard a whisper that Byers is in doubt, so he may miss or at best go into the game carrying a slight quad strain.

Seymour to get over Mooroopna by 3 goals. Whoever plays on big Singhy (likely to be Anderson or Piling) will have their work cut out for them, and he will need to kick a handful if the Cats are to get over the line.

Benalla to beat Rochy by 6 goals. At the saints home ground and with some fire power back from injury, Benalla will be too strong.

Mansfield to beat Tat by 5 goals. Mansfield at Mansfield is still a tough gig for any team.

Swans to beat United by 1 goal. I reckon this will be match of the round. Forys to kick a bagful, which will keep United in the game until the end.

Any news on how Elliot Bowen Is going? used to play with him in Bendigo. heard he has being getting a few kicks....

FOOTYBOSS said:
Nah Doona, probably wont play in the later game at all this year, which doesnt really bother me to much. Anderson has played 98 games for the club, while the other 3 are all u/18 players that will play their 1st games for the club this weekend. We have to try something.

To spike Dudley whoever who are c o c k jaw, I dont think anyone from Euroa has posted on here saying injuries are causing our poor form. It is far from the truth. Yes we do have injuries to key players but that is not the reason we are losing. We are all playing terrible footy and lacking form, simple as that.

For some reason I didnt think Paul Anderson was playing thought it musta been a younger brother

Holy ****!!!! Euroa have sure copped a lotta crap all week!!!! Cannot believe this!! But when a talented team like Euroa gets flogged, criticism like that is warranted I guess? But I'm sure they will regroup this week and smack a Newman-less Ky and get their season back on track. And a word of advice Footyboss - not a good idea to say ur teammates are not good enough on a public forum - it will come back and bite u on the arse! Good luck this week, but I hope u guys lose!!! Nothing against u, but it would be interesting (and funny) to see how much more **** euroa will cop if they lose!!!
Me head says Euroa by 10 goals
If shepp can beat Mooroopna, then they should knock of Echuca at home in a close one - by 3 goals
Jeff Anderson to keep Singh to less than 4 and Seymour over Mooroopna 5 goals - Duff Man, this should easily be Match of the Round 1st vs 3rd? (not Swans & United!)
Benalla by 8 goals over Rochy
Mansfield at home on the worlds most pathetic excuse for a football reserve should take care of Tatura by 6 goals. And to the Mansfield president, get some f^^king seating on the cow paddock. Or better yet, bulldoze the ground and rebuild!!!!
Finally, Shepp Swans over united by 8 goals.
Good Luck all

TIPS FOR THE WEEK!!
Euroa in a close one over kyabram by 3 goals
Echuca to beat the bears by 8 pts
lions to beat tthe cats by 7 goals
saints to beat the tigers by 6 goals
swans easily over the demons
and mansfield by 10 goals over tat
pies by 6 goals over the demons on monday
GO PIES!!

Good to see Euroa cop a bit for their poor form, but some of the comments are ridiculous....people writing them off for finals:rolleyes:

I'd like to see what the people on this forum write when they string 5 or 6 wins together leading into September. Personally I expect them to go into the finals with a nothing to lose attitude and cause a big stir.

Chance, Footyboss is correct when saying that the players mentioned aren't up to it. They are good two's players at best, not senior players! Looking at the side in the paper they clearly aren't at their best but I must say it's a suprise that Gleeson has named kids to get them out of their slump. Not a good move IMO.

just wondering if Kyabram's backline is coping without matty (cannons) hosking. heard he is killing it for redan in the BFL.

Doona2 said:
What has happened to the Seymour FC website? Weekly games get a run, but the entertaining reading under "fun stuff" has dried up.

Good point Doona...

Grandale has been busy with his new job...but still giving fine contributions on match reports, as for our other two contributors, one is in exam mode and can't spend too much time writting loads of crap about how joe amad is the ugliest footballer in the GV and refering to Mark Pilling as silverback time and time again...whilst our final contributor has snuck a game or two in the ones as of late, and is putting his focus on good saturday performances rather than grand performances in the "fun stuff" column...

With a host of social events coming in the next month and a half, expect some humour to pop up...

Cliffy Penn asked me the same question about the "fun stuff" column only a couple of weeks back...ah cliffy...

Leave it in capable hands Doona, all will be resolved.

Junkie said:
Good to see Euroa cop a bit for their poor form, but some of the comments are ridiculous....people writing them off for finals:rolleyes:

I'd like to see what the people on this forum write when they string 5 or 6 wins together leading into September. Personally I expect them to go into the finals with a nothing to lose attitude and cause a big stir.

Chance, Footyboss is correct when saying that the players mentioned aren't up to it. They are good two's players at best, not senior players! Looking at the side in the paper they clearly aren't at their best but I must say it's a suprise that Gleeson has named kids to get them out of their slump. Not a good move IMO.

Most of the boys in question have played seniors over the past 3 or 4 seasons. Dont think they have been given many chances to string any games together. 3 U/18's in, yet not one of these boys who have been toiling for the club since they were 16. Loyalty can work both ways.

3 brothers have played for euroa in a reserves game a few year ago. The burls bros (dene, trav and ryan).

Now sitting here at longwood i have to agree that gleeson playing three first gamers in an attempt to get out of this slump is a bit surprising, i recognise they are the future of the club but so are some of the reserves players. As has been said they might not have the football brain, but dont you get a better idea about the game playing better football in the seniors? i must admit though that he has to try something.

Good luck to leigh fox who pulls on the boots for his first senior game for euroa. being a local longwood player i wish him all the best in the ruck department, go leeroy!!!

FOOTYBOSS said:
As for the ressie players that are complaining, those few blokes struggle to to get a kick and dominate and would look silly at the later game. They have no skills and no football brains. Thats why they cant get a game.

maybe thats why Euroa aren't travelling so well if this is how supposed 'teammates' speak about each other. And as for consistancey FOOTYBOSS, your senior team is showing plenty. Plenty of loosing consistancy. I think Euroa are very lucky to be playing Kyabram this week. If they were to face off agaisnt a more quality outfit such as an Echuca or Mooropna this week, they could well be on the end of yet another belting.

The Whip.... He is alive. I will be there or be square. You will have to tell me again about the time you took a hattrick playing for that scum Violet Town cricket team. Apparently they dont get many speed demons up that way, and your thunderbolts were unplayable....

Bowser said:
Any news on how Elliot Bowen Is going? used to play with him in Bendigo. heard he has being getting a few kicks....

Bowen is a star. He's kicked about 15 goals (incl. 7 v Tatura) and played interleague. He has been used as CHF, CHB and occasionally in the ruck. Very good player.