• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

The Whip said:
Yes footyboss i did have a blinder and am in no doubt that i will be selected in the senior 21 this weekend v's Shep Bears. I think if they throw me into a forward pocket i will be able to weave my magic and bag a handful. I did think i would make my senior debut before the age of 35 but it just shows what 20 years of hard work can get you!
Look out Shep The Whip is coming....!
If selected Whip the crowd will be huge and not a dry eye in the house. As i've said before whip, "not before time". Go'n shout ya self a carton of reds mate, BIG prep.

Can anyone from ky tell us how the player is going that broke his leg on saturday? Looked pretty bad from what i saw, similar to the Nathan Brown one, except lots of blood so you would asume the bone broke the skin. Was a relief that his sock was covering it for his and everyone elses sake...

Junkie said:
Yeah the rumour is true. The boys you speak of are David Stringer (tireless competitor), Matthew Duggin (Good tall but can go nuts) and Tim Gilbert or Craig Trewitt (cant remember which one). All boys are handy players and even better blokes:thumbsu:

You forgot to mention Stephen 'Stiffy' Mann (the eleged inventor of the mullet & the dirty sanchez), Mathew 'Fanger' White (formerly Broughton, son of Cathy) and Greg Dowell (nuff said), all stars who would carve it up in any league... :rolleyes:

From memory didnt Tim Gilbert give himself the nickname "Danger"?...

No Heart said:
Great win by the cats, played really good footy and were just to good for the lions.
Massive win by the cats over you boys No Heart. they move the ball well and a very disciplined team arent they. I would assume they will be playing at Deakin on grand final day after looking at that result. That would almost be Steve Daniels biggest loss since being at the helm for the lions, wouldnt it?

Many more players to come back into the team from injury.

a.k.a. said:
Can anyone from ky tell us how the player is going that broke his leg on saturday? Looked pretty bad from what i saw, similar to the Nathan Brown one, except lots of blood so you would asume the bone broke the skin. Was a relief that his sock was covering it for his and everyone elses sake...

I beleive the player in question was Scott "Dirty" McCormack. It is beleived to be a case on par if not worse than the nathan brown injury. Getting back to playing footy i beleive is not on the agenda. The injury would leave him two years out of the game, by then he would be 29 and would not risk coming back not totally right.

Big loss for the kyabram footy club, i know he was the captain last year and i am not sure if he was this year, but an inspirational leader and a top bloke to boot.

I wish him a speedy recovery.

This overall leaves a massive hole in Kyabram's on-ball brigade. No Mccormack and no ciavola. Finn has played a lone hand int he guts so far this year however it may be time for some younger blokes to get a run through the midfield, kids like pell and Weirdon (when not on bushies dute) will only benefit from having a run in there.

a.k.a. said:
You forgot to mention Stephen 'Stiffy' Mann (the eleged inventor of the mullet & the dirty sanchez), Mathew 'Fanger' White (formerly Broughton, son of Cathy) and Greg Dowell (nuff said), all stars who would carve it up in any league... :rolleyes:

From memory didnt Tim Gilbert give himself the nickname "Danger"?...

Spot on A.K.A!!! I think this came after a few flawless display's with the 50m ark all to himself. Apologies to Stiffy, fang and Greg for failing to mention them in my earlier post../....

Good luck to Scott McCormack in his recovery, not something anyone should have to go through:(

I was at the Ky -v- Euroa match on Saturday and saw the injury involving Dirty Mac.... it was not pretty.
He is a good fella and I hope he has a speedy recovery.

Ky where actually travelling well right up until Dirty went down... it obviously had an effect on the side.

Good luck to Dirty and Ky for the rest of the year!

Travvy43 said:
I beleive the player in question was Scott "Dirty" McCormack. It is beleived to be a case on par if not worse than the nathan brown injury. Getting back to playing footy i beleive is not on the agenda. The injury would leave him two years out of the game, by then he would be 29 and would not risk coming back not totally right.

Big loss for the kyabram footy club, i know he was the captain last year and i am not sure if he was this year, but an inspirational leader and a top bloke to boot.

I wish him a speedy recovery.

This overall leaves a massive hole in Kyabram's on-ball brigade. No Mccormack and no ciavola. Finn has played a lone hand int he guts so far this year however it may be time for some younger blokes to get a run through the midfield, kids like pell and Weirdon (when not on bushies dute) will only benefit from having a run in there.

Thanks for the info, thats s h i t news - hate to see accidents like that happen.

LOBSTER said:
Massive win by the cats over you boys No Heart. they move the ball well and a very disciplined team arent they. I would assume they will be playing at Deakin on grand final day after looking at that result. That would almost be Steve Daniels biggest loss since being at the helm for the lions, wouldnt it?

Many more players to come back into the team from injury.
Yeah very good team LOBSTER and expect they will play a big part in finals action this year if they can play some consistent footy. Outplayed us virtually all over the ground but got beaten by Shep Bears the week before. There the sort of games they need to win to get that consistency im talking about.

Reckon it would be Daniels worst loss since being at the club. The only other real hammering i can recall was mansfield at mansfield but think that was about a 10 goal pumping. Got a few likely to come back straight after the bye or maybe a week later. Scanlon, Douglas, Pilling & Jake Anderson are all very close to getting back onto the park.

Not good news about Dirty McCormack - and best of luck with his recovery.

Hello everyone i was just wondering about your thoughts on benalla and do you think that they may go all the way this year. They have had a few injurys this year and have batled hard. Last week against rochester they had at least 8 of there senior players out. They are playin good footy and symes carnt be that far away. they have a lot of depth in young kids and there older senior players are good leaders. do you think they have what it takes?

Rumour has it that Marty McGrath is already on the move from Tat. Believe he is heading to Mt. Evelyn in the Yarra Valley league. Tige you might be able to shed some more light on this?

Junkie said:
Yeah the rumour is true. The boys you speak of are David Stringer (tireless competitor), Matthew Duggin (Good tall but can go nuts) and Tim Gilbert or Craig Trewitt (cant remember which one). All boys are handy players and even better blokes:thumbsu:
Are these guys in the 1's or 2's? Had a look at the team against Ky and none of them are in either team. Injured? Anyway I think the clearance deadline is June 30th? Interesting to see if Euroa clears them soon or waits for the deadline to pass?

any thoughts on rising stars for the year to date? not many 18 19 year olds who are really starring or am i wrong. obviously hard to adapt from under 18s to senior footy.

there are a couple of boys from benalla in will martiniello who just turned 16 and he was second best in his first game and another kid who is 17 and has been in the best the last two weeks he got best on last week in sam harris so there is some depth around benalla

there is a young kid from vt that lives in melbourne and prob would be playin seniors for benalla if benalla didnt pick up who they did in the pre season, that is scott woolcock, but benalla got two good ruck men so he thought he would go to sunbury to play this year and watch out for him in the future

Great to see the comp so close this year, and with 10 games remaning this is how i see it.

Seymour - Last years premiers have started well, won 7 lost 1 . Been able to cover injuries a lot better than other clubs, expect them to finish 1st or 2nd on the ladder 14 or 15 wins will get them there. When it gets to the buisness end im expecting them to be the team to beat?

Shepparton Swans - Big improvers and have earnt respect, at 6 and 2 what a great start to the year . I expect them to finish in the top 3, the only thing thats a concern for the swans is the coach, rumours are spreading that he has no idea.Will win 13 or 14 games.

Mooroopna - Could this be the year of the cat , at 6 and 2 and coming of a huge win over seymour , they have to be a show.Very important to finish in the top 3, must win 8 of the last 10 to do it, that would give them 14 and 4 and a big tilt at the flag.Go Cats

Benalla - At 5 and 3 and sitting 4th jock would be happy. Depth has been tested and they have hung in there with no Symes or Porter, will have to win 8-9 of the last 10 to finish in the top 3. Everyone up and going they can do it.

Mansfield - Lost a heap of players pre-season , but that has not stopped Mr Tossell and his boys from dropping of the pace, at 5 and 3 they only have to win 6-7 games of the last 10 and they will see finals action.

Shepparton United - At 4 and 4 and coming of a great win against shepp swans anythings possible,they keep flirting with there talent. Will be won of the teams that i think will drop out of the six to let Euroa in,will need to win 8 in the run home to play finals

Echuca - At 4 and 4 and hanging in there need a big run home to play finals, and with big games in the last two rounds against Mooroopna and Benalla i carnt see them having finals action, would have to win 8 out of the 10.

Euroa - Not the ideal start to the year, sitting 8th on the ladder with 4 wins and 4 losses, the magpies have work to do.I expect them to come back hard once they get players back and will make the 6, but a top 3 now seems out of reach . They would have to win all remaining games to achieve this, but if anyone can the maggies can.

Shepparton - The kids have been great and at 4 and 4 and a game out of the 6 Mel would be happy. Crunch time this week have to beat Euroa , and i carnt see it, no finals action for shepp.

Rochester - A team that never gives up and plays for the jumper week in week out, will miss the september action this year. 2 wins 6 losses

Kyabram - 1 and 7 Has been a bad start to the year, with in house rumblings things have gone of track

Tatura - 0 wins and 8 lossess just been on the wrong side of a win 5 times

Woow, great synopsis there Duff man...really flyin with that one man...yeah...

With the GV finals set up the way it is...and the eveness of the comp by the looks of things, if you finish in the top 5 are a chance of taking out the big one...

Finish 5th and 6th knocks off third and bang...right in the ball game with the double chance in the second semi.

Finishing 4th and 5th does require a hint of luck...but anything is possible.

Should be a grand 10 weeks in GV Footy...

Just wondering...has the Shepp Swans coach mastered the art of flying yet? Seems every week he is trying to fly...but can't...maybe he should extend his arms out rather than just flapping the elbows and running into people.

Quality win last week by the cats with big name players out...

Jeff Conally - quality defender, possibly the best defender they have
Shaun Robbins - No1 Ruckman out from suspension
Gary Learmonth - Hard running mind fielder, pulled up a little to sore to play vs lions
Trent Freer - Midfeilder to come back from broken wrist
Ash Hockey, Jarrow Harbrow - Under 18 players but are very good, vic country boys also obviously TAC Players to

Duff Man said:
Great to see the comp so close this year, and with 10 games remaning this is how i see it.

Seymour - Last years premiers have started well, won 7 lost 1 . Been able to cover injuries a lot better than other clubs, expect them to finish 1st or 2nd on the ladder 14 or 15 wins will get them there. When it gets to the buisness end im expecting them to be the team to beat?

Shepparton Swans - Big improvers and have earnt respect, at 6 and 2 what a great start to the year . I expect them to finish in the top 3, the only thing thats a concern for the swans is the coach, rumours are spreading that he has no idea.Will win 13 or 14 games.

Mooroopna - Could this be the year of the cat , at 6 and 2 and coming of a huge win over seymour , they have to be a show.Very important to finish in the top 3, must win 8 of the last 10 to do it, that would give them 14 and 4 and a big tilt at the flag.Go Cats

Benalla - At 5 and 3 and sitting 4th jock would be happy. Depth has been tested and they have hung in there with no Symes or Porter, will have to win 8-9 of the last 10 to finish in the top 3. Everyone up and going they can do it.

Mansfield - Lost a heap of players pre-season , but that has not stopped Mr Tossell and his boys from dropping of the pace, at 5 and 3 they only have to win 6-7 games of the last 10 and they will see finals action.

Shepparton United - At 4 and 4 and coming of a great win against shepp swans anythings possible,they keep flirting with there talent. Will be won of the teams that i think will drop out of the six to let Euroa in,will need to win 8 in the run home to play finals

Echuca - At 4 and 4 and hanging in there need a big run home to play finals, and with big games in the last two rounds against Mooroopna and Benalla i carnt see them having finals action, would have to win 8 out of the 10.

Euroa - Not the ideal start to the year, sitting 8th on the ladder with 4 wins and 4 losses, the magpies have work to do.I expect them to come back hard once they get players back and will make the 6, but a top 3 now seems out of reach . They would have to win all remaining games to achieve this, but if anyone can the maggies can.

Shepparton - The kids have been great and at 4 and 4 and a game out of the 6 Mel would be happy. Crunch time this week have to beat Euroa , and i carnt see it, no finals action for shepp.

Rochester - A team that never gives up and plays for the jumper week in week out, will miss the september action this year. 2 wins 6 losses

Kyabram - 1 and 7 Has been a bad start to the year, with in house rumblings things have gone of track

Tatura - 0 wins and 8 lossess just been on the wrong side of a win 5 times

Well done Duff , Shepp united might make it i reckon?

numba4 said:
Quality win last week by the cats with big name players out...

Jeff Conally - quality defender, possibly the best defender they have
Shaun Robbins - No1 Ruckman out from suspension
Gary Learmonth - Hard running mind fielder, pulled up a little to sore to play vs lions
Trent Freer - Midfeilder to come back from broken wrist
Ash Hockey, Jarrow Harbrow - Under 18 players but are very good, vic country boys also obviously TAC Players to

Totally agree numba4, Seymour where at full strength and with these players out for Mooroopna they should win the big one?

Chance said:
Are these guys in the 1's or 2's? Had a look at the team against Ky and none of them are in either team. Injured? Anyway I think the clearance deadline is June 30th? Interesting to see if Euroa clears them soon or waits for the deadline to pass?

All seven are playing on permits for Badaginnie South this week. The Badaginnie South team versus Boho for round 9 is as follows:

Backs: Dwayne Devaney, Stephen Mann, Jason Kirby
Half backs: Billy Hunt, Jean "Radar" Roberts, Eddie Tuckwell
Centres: Fanger White, David Stinger, Greg Patton
Half Forwards: Kevin Gilbert, Jason Moore, David Dillan
Forwards: Phil Cruise, Scot Gall, Greg Dowell,
Rucks: David "Podge" Linsen, Tim Gilbert, James Mawson
Interchange: Mathew Duggin, Shane Rawlings, Mike Day, Craig Trewitt

:rolleyes:

a.k.a. said:
All seven are playing on permits for Badaginnie South this week. The Badaginnie South team versus Boho for round 9 is as follows:

:D

Good line up:thumbsu:

a.k.a. said:

no Craig 'Black Fang' Lummas........Big suprise