• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

Would it be a fair assesment to say Echuca beating Seymour was a massive upset? Euroa set themself up for there loss to Mooropona when they included the likes of Gilliland, Clarke and gibson straight back into the seniors. Surely these blokes werent match fit and it showed in the last quarter. In my opinion they woulda have been better off having a few weeks in the reserves and preparing for the rigours of senior footy again.

Euroa definatly had the class to beat Mooropona but made some silly desicions with selections and ultimalty paid the price. Keep your eye on Euroa as they are the sleeping giants of the comp.

spike dudley said:
Would it be a fair assesment to say Echuca beating Seymour was a massive upset? Euroa set themself up for there loss to Mooropona when they included the likes of Gilliland, Clarke and gibson straight back into the seniors. Surely these blokes werent match fit and it showed in the last quarter. In my opinion they woulda have been better off having a few weeks in the reserves and preparing for the rigours of senior footy again.

Euroa definatly had the class to beat Mooropona but made some silly desicions with selections and ultimalty paid the price. Keep your eye on Euroa as they are the sleeping giants of the comp.

When your up against a top side like moroopna you dont bring your top players in through the twos. You roll the dice because you know they've performed against the top sides before. Its not the time to be giving blokes a go, who aren't up to it or haven't proven themselves ahead of proven players.

spike dudley said:
Keep your eye on Euroa as they are the sleeping giants of the comp.

You had better wake them up spike coz there are a lot of sides fighting for finals spots!

Been hearing news over from Adelaide that young Archard is favourite to take out the medal. Not sure how true this is but a bloody fair effort if my spies are correct.

ANTJESS - Can you fill me in on how Benny Anderson is going over West?

Doozy_Man said:
Been hearing news over from Adelaide that young Archard is favourite to take out the medal. Not sure how true this is but a bloody fair effort if my spies are correct.

From what I hear Benny has had a fairly up and down season, has had a few injuries which resulted in him playing a few games in the 2's. He did however break back into the senior side a few weeks back, only to be reported/suspended for striking (Total accident according to his dad, he he). Was due to play again at the weekend but not sure how he went, I see the side lost by 4 goals.

Were strong rumours that big Benny would be back in the yellow & black in 07, but I also hear that he may have overseas ambitions.

ANT JESS said:
From what I hear Benny has had a fairly up and down season, has had a few injuries which resulted in him playing a few games in the 2's. He did however break back into the senior side a few weeks back, only to be reported/suspended for striking (Total accident according to his dad, he he). Was due to play again at the weekend but not sure how he went, I see the side lost by 4 goals.

Were strong rumours that big Benny would be back in the yellow & black in 07, but I also hear that he may have overseas ambitions.

Benny had a very good game on the weekend. One of his best for the season I think.

West Perth obviously hold him in pretty high regard as they bought him stright back into the league team after three weeks off. He's pretty important to West Perth's finals ambitions

Did anyone hear about Saad Saad getting cleaned up when leading out for a mark. Echuca's Halloran running back the other way and fair dinkum nailed him. Took Saad a good few minutes to get up, got fifty meters and took his shot from the goal line. kicked a mongral punt just left of the man on the mark was obviously still very dazed. Was a good effort to get up and have his kick as was a big hit.

That post was less interesting than sunday morning tv no left foot. something a little more interesting to those magpie fans is that one of our very finest not mentioning any names (BOSS) has been linked to discussions with a former club who are very keen to capture his services and anyone he can lure with him. will we see a mass exodus from the nest? only time will tell. STAY TUNED!!!!!

Doozy_Man said:

Not sure if he is a favourite to take out the medal however here is a list of the leading possession getters in this SANFL for those who are interested.

POSSESSIONS
PLAYER TEAM POSSESSIONS
Brett James Norwood 355
Jade Sheedy Sturt 347
Scott Borlace Norwood 326
James Gallagher Norwood 319
Ben Haynes West Adelaide 318
Scott McGlone South Adelaide 315
Rhys Archard South Adelaide 310
Stephen Kenna South Adelaide 308
Brett Backwell Glenelg 303
Matthew Slade Central District 300

Can someone who has more time on their hands than me run a finals projections spot . . .

Mooroopna - safe
Seymour - safe
Swans - should finish 3, 4 or 5
Benalla - should finish 3, 4 or 5

By my reckoning

MANSFIELD
UNITED
ECHUCA
EUROA
SHEPPARTON

Are fighting for the last two places and the Eagles have got a game up their sleeve.

I say Benalla is safe and not Mansfield because surely the Saints have too much firepower to be ignored. They'll write off the weekends performance I'd reckon.

If the Demons are to make it you'd think they'd have to win at least two of the big games are Shepp v United, Echuca v United, Euroa v United.
Bears are a chance but with games against Swans, Mansfield, Benalla and Seymour they'll find it tough.

Can someone work out the run home. For each team. And what will get you in the six 10 wins or 11 this year?

spike dudley said:

I think you will find spike that Gibson played in the reserves the week before against Shepparton, so he wasnt rushed back. Gilliland spent the whole summer playing in the Northern territory League, so to bring him straight back was justified as the lay off did him good then harm. He got to rest the body. Did well considering he kicked 3. As for Clarke, why wouldnt you bring your number 1 ruckman straight back in. Plus being such a big game you would always choose your stars rather then giving people a run to see if they are upto it. We just got outclassed by a very good team in the lst quarter, simple as that. It wasnt due to fitness.

tugga177 said:
That post was less interesting than sunday morning tv no left foot. something a little more interesting to those magpie fans is that one of our very finest not mentioning any names (BOSS) has been linked to discussions with a former club who are very keen to capture his services and anyone he can lure with him. will we see a mass exodus from the nest? only time will tell. STAY TUNED!!!!!

Apparently he was seen having dinner with the president of his former club last week...

no left foot said:
Did anyone hear about Saad Saad getting cleaned up when leading out for a mark. Echuca's Halloran running back the other way and fair dinkum nailed him. Took Saad a good few minutes to get up, got fifty meters and took his shot from the goal line. kicked a mongral punt just left of the man on the mark was obviously still very dazed. Was a good effort to get up and have his kick as was a big hit.

PPHH - Who cares no left foot? Obviously you play for Echuca as you can remember what happened step by step.

head67 said:
Apparently!! Seen this while going past ringing ya bell Jim? Or you heard this?

Yes thats what I said ya jacka rse. Nah sorry I've been given the sack from my bell ringing duties..

centreman said:
Can someone who has more time on their hands than me run a finals projections spot . . .

Mooroopna - safe
Seymour - safe
Swans - should finish 3, 4 or 5
Benalla - should finish 3, 4 or 5

By my reckoning

MANSFIELD
UNITED
ECHUCA
EUROA
SHEPPARTON

Are fighting for the last two places and the Eagles have got a game up their sleeve.

I say Benalla is safe and not Mansfield because surely the Saints have too much firepower to be ignored. They'll write off the weekends performance I'd reckon.

If the Demons are to make it you'd think they'd have to win at least two of the big games are Shepp v United, Echuca v United, Euroa v United.
Bears are a chance but with games against Swans, Mansfield, Benalla and Seymour they'll find it tough.

Can someone work out the run home. For each team. And what will get you in the six 10 wins or 11 this year?

I haven't got heaps of time on my hands either centremen, but happy to help out with the run home and someone else can have a crack at it.

Mansfield - Seymour (a), Benalla (h), Kyabram (a), Shepp (h), Mooroopna (a), Echuca (h), Euroa (a), United (h).

United - Kyabram (h), Shepp (h), Mooroopna (a), Echuca (h), Euroa (a), Rochy (h), Tatura (a), Mansfield (a).

Echuca - Euroa (a), Rochy (a), Tatura (h), United (a), Swans (h), Mansfield (a), Benalla (h), Mooroopna (a).

Stuff this. This is gonna take longer than I thought. Someone elses turn!

tugga177 said:
Lets just worry about getting through the remainder of this year please tugga before we talk about whos playing where next year. Its going to be a very tough last 8 weeks leading into finals without having to worry about that sort of bull s h i t going on.

hey echuca boy, seymour's heart can never be questioned. Their skills on saturday were very costly. time after time the kicked to a contest or coughed it up across half forward and lacked any real movement. Hopefully it was just a bad day and they will come out firing against the eagles on saturday

FOOTYBOSS said:
Lets just worry about getting through the remainder of this year please tugga before we talk about whos playing where next year. Its going to be a very tough last 8 weeks leading into finals without having to worry about that sort of bull s h i t going on.

Very true BOSS, too early to start talking about wats gunna happen in the off season. Let everyone focus on playin where they are adn i'm sure discussions will heat up as soon as the final 6 is worked out. If players want to leave a club, its their decision in the end. just let em go....

Euroa set themself up for there loss to Mooropona when they included the likes of Gilliland, Clarke and gibson straight back into the seniors. Surely these blokes werent match fit and it showed in the last quarter. In my opinion they woulda have been better off having a few weeks in the reserves and preparing for the rigours of senior footy again.

In saying this spike, who would you have put up? Or would you have left the team unchanged from the week before? Surely experience counts when a team like Euroa will need to do anything and everything in making the finals this year and playing players of that calaber would have added more depth to the side. Didn't Rory Hilton go straight back in also? would you have played him through the two's as well? cheers spike......

Well it looks like it might be an early finish for my beloved Rochester in 2006. Clearly, they are not in the same class as most of the teams in the league. That's just the way the cookie crumbles. They haven't missed the finals since 1996 (thanks for pointing that out, The Deledio News) and they really should've taken their opportunities to win flags when they were there.

However, it's not all doom and gloom. There are quite a few good youngsters that should become good players in the next few years.

bradrowe#32 said:
Well it looks like it might be an early finish for my beloved Rochester in 2006. Clearly, they are not in the same class as most of the teams in the league. That's just the way the cookie crumbles. They haven't missed the finals since 1996 (thanks for pointing that out, The Deledio News) and they really should've taken their opportunities to win flags when they were there.

However, it's not all doom and gloom. There are quite a few good youngsters that should become good players in the next few years.

First time since 96 is a great effort for any club let alone one that has such a small population.

Would 2006 and 96 be the only times Rochy hasn't made the finals since Williams started coaching?

You talk about the young blokes coming on but what are the chances of Anderson, McCarty x 2, Rasmussen x 2, Campbell and Watson returning?

journeyman said:
First time since 96 is a great effort for any club let alone one that has such a small population.

Would 2006 and 96 be the only times Rochy hasn't made the finals since Williams started coaching?

You talk about the young blokes coming on but what are the chances of Anderson, McCarty x 2, Rasmussen x 2, Campbell and Watson returning?

In response to your first question, I think it's only the 3rd time they haven't made it in his 17 year reign..

There's been a bit of talk already about the gun players you talk of, who may or may not return..From what I've heard Benny Anderson, Jeremy Campbell and Chris McCarty are all planning on extended periods overseas..there is also talk that Campbell might get dirty's gig next year, but I can't see it happening, one because like I said, he's likely to go os, and the other because he lives in Melb...Unsure exactly what the Rasmussen's are going to do in 07 - Ry is still retired, and doing a fantastic job of cooking the bbq's at training on Thursday nights, Steve now obviously has a lot of ties at Rushworth, but obviously does still have some at Rochy and only lives 500m from their ground...I'd imagine Tim will play wherever Steve does next year.. I also couldn't see Sime McCarty going back coz he works in Echuca and is prob getting 3-4 times the $ he'd get at Rochy...

But if 2-3 of those blokes did go back to Rochy in 07, word is it would be highly likely that Ash Watson would head back there, as well..

But, let's be honest, there's still 2-3 months left of this footy season and then another 3-5 months after that before we'll actually know what's going on..

T.Perry said:
In response to your first question, I think it's only the 3rd time they haven't made it in his 17 year reign..

There's been a bit of talk already about the gun players you talk of, who may or may not return..From what I've heard Benny Anderson, Jeremy Campbell and Chris McCarty are all planning on extended periods overseas..there is also talk that Campbell might get dirty's gig next year, but I can't see it happening, one because like I said, he's likely to go os, and the other because he lives in Melb...Unsure exactly what the Rasmussen's are going to do in 07 - Ry is still retired, and doing a fantastic job of cooking the bbq's at training on Thursday nights, Steve now obviously has a lot of ties at Rushworth, but obviously does still have some at Rochy and only lives 500m from their ground...I'd imagine Tim will play wherever Steve does next year.. I also couldn't see Sime McCarty going back coz he works in Echuca and is prob getting 3-4 times the $ he'd get at Rochy...

But if 2-3 of those blokes did go back to Rochy in 07, word is it would be highly likely that Ash Watson would head back there, as well..

But, let's be honest, there's still 2-3 months left of this footy season and then another 3-5 months after that before we'll actually know what's going on..

All very good points Mr Perry.

It will be good to sit back and take in the action. I think Seymour are still the team to beat. Euroa will surely come good again and the improvement of Shepp. Swans, Mooroopna and Benalla make it an interesting comp. I can't see any other team giving it a shake.

I've finally been able to have a crack at what the final six will look like. I've gone through the last 8 rounds and marked down who I think will win in each of those games. This is how it looks through my eyes:-

Mooroopna
Seymour
Swans
Euroa
Benalla
Mansfield

By my calculations, you would need 11 wins to be assured of a place in the final 6, however I'm trying to predict games with 8 rounds to go, so at the very least I reckon you would want 10 wins and a good percentage.

This would see United, Echuca & Bears missing out, and I think most of us would agree they are the likely candidates as the ladder stands at the moment.

I've got Euroa as the big movers (they are currently 8th), but they are getting back to full strength and I don't think they will lose too many games in the run home.