Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

HJ32 said:
Saad's last quarter was nothing short of brilliant. He'd played a pretty good first 3 quarters, particularly the first where he set up 4 shots at goal for his team. But the last was just sensational. He kicked 4 himself including a ripper on the run where he led out infront of 2 mansfield players and spun around from 40 out. That however, was overshadowed by the massive one hander he took with 10 mins to go.

Mansfield had a super crack and led at 1/2 time but you could sense that the Lions were well below their best and in the third term fellas such as Colbert, Hooper, B Liddell, Douglas and Scanlon took control of the game.

will be a good prelim this weekend. But book your seat at Deakin to see the Saad show continue on.

BTW: Who is that big red headed kid for Mansfield? has a massive future ahead of him as a ruckman.

His name is ANDY BROWNE.

He's 16 and has dominated the under 18's all year.

He came in a few weeks ago to replace Mark Jones, when he did his shoulder.

Played under 16's Vic Country and is on the Bushies 16's list.

Will step up to the 18's list next year based on his peformances.

Spoke to Matt Trewhella last night and he reckons Browny was awesome.

Not a bad effort for a 16-year-old kid to play so well in a big final with only about four senior games under his belt.

What were the crowds like over the weekend at the two games? Couldn't make either game...

g'day lads does anyone know how to start a new thread. i want to start a 2nds gvfl thread

pete_mitchell said:
What were the crowds like over the weekend at the two games? Couldn't make either game...

thats funny. could have sworn i saw you running around in one of the sunday games? :cool:

On-Baller said:
g'day lads does anyone know how to start a new thread. i want to start a 2nds gvfl thread
No need to mate. We can just keep all the GVFL talk in this one thread. Simple.

Yeah keep the GVFL talk all to one thread.

Great day for football at Tatura yesty, Seymour two's started well and with a first class effort looked unstoppable. Scoring options aplenty, runners galore are pleasing signs for coach Benny Davey. Thought Adam McBrien was by far Euroa's best, terrific job in keeping Lions skipper Big Pappa relatively quiet.

What a contest the main game was, the young Mansfield side ran like buggery to lead by a kick and a bit at half time before Seymour stepped it up to boot 9 goals to 2 in the second half.

Saad's first quarter was terrific had a hand in 3-4 goals I reckon, and what about that last term, a ripper snap, another mark of the year contender and after many thought young Trenny did well the great man ended with 7 of the best.

Trent Hotton was sensational as usual, Storer was good, and youngster Sheahan and Browne were impressive.

Unlike the two's this one is far from over . . .

lion's_roar said:
His name is ANDY BROWNE.

He's 16 and has dominated the under 18's all year.

He came in a few weeks ago to replace Mark Jones, when he did his shoulder.

Played under 16's Vic Country and is on the Bushies 16's list.

Will step up to the 18's list next year based on his peformances.

Spoke to Matt Trewhella last night and he reckons Browny was awesome.

Not a bad effort for a 16-year-old kid to play so well in a big final with only about four senior games under his belt.

Pretty sure it was this kid that SAAD X 2 took the grab over. Will be a learning curve for him but he did play an awesome game. Took many a grab when drifting back and also looked very dangerous when he went forward. With a bit more maturity and experience he will be very good. Believe SAAD told his opponent that he had something for him at the end of the 3/4 time break. He certainly knows how to take them. Think Mansfield will have the goods next week to have another crack in a fortnight. Could be the danger finishing in that 3rd spot on the ladder. No injuries to Seymour is a hell of a bonus with a couple due back. Will be a cracker regardless of who gets there.

Doona2 said:

Unlike the two's this one is far from over . . .

Doona, can I put it to you that United's seniors getting rolled on Satdy might mean the Scooby Doos is perhaps not the Lions benefit you may think it is?

GVFootyfan said:
Pretty sure it was this kid that SAAD X 2 took the grab over. Will be a learning curve for him but he did play an awesome game. Took many a grab when drifting back and also looked very dangerous when he went forward. With a bit more maturity and experience he will be very good. Believe SAAD told his opponent that he had something for him at the end of the 3/4 time break. He certainly knows how to take them. Think Mansfield will have the goods next week to have another crack in a fortnight. Could be the danger finishing in that 3rd spot on the ladder. No injuries to Seymour is a hell of a bonus with a couple due back. Will be a cracker regardless of who gets there.

Watched the game yesterday and was very impressed with the Seymour outfit. Seemed to start slow, but looked always in control - especially with so many more scoring shots. Do not think Mansfield or Benalla will be anywhere near good enough to topple that side, especially with a week off and no more apparent injuries. Can anyone tell me if Bailey and Haberman will be back for the big one?

Shehan is an excellent player - and at such a young has has a very brihght future.

Also thought that young Browne was quite good, but he had an easy role - taking the centre tap then pushing back to be a loose man in defense. Maybe they were protecting him a little bit because of his youth?

lion's_roar said:
I said it on this thread a few weeks back and i'll say it again, so it looks like i know what i am talking about...

The AFL looks set to introduce a new claus for rookies, allowing one player per club over the age of 23 to be listed as a rookie ... a bit like a mature age student at UNI, who took a while to find themselves and want they wanted to do ..aka The Facta (sorry mate)

If this goes ahead and its by no means set in stone, you would have to say the ARCH would be a masive chance.

Those of us who have been watching him go around in the GV would know how good he is.

In Footy Boss' defence he has only seen one season of Archard and lets face it 2005 wasn't his best.

I for one would love to see him on any list .. especially the bulldogs.

Played a pretty solid game against Port Adelaide in Elimination Final(has been listed in best players in most games(18 out of 19 H&A)).

Would have collected about 30 possessions including 2 goals despite being tagged by Matty Lokan(ex Collingwood).

Equal 2nd favourite for Magarey Medal($4.00) behind Jeremy Clayton($2.50) who won it last year.

ef_19-9-6_72_sm.jpg

Archard & McGlone

Xander said:
Watched the game yesterday and was very impressed with the Seymour outfit. Seemed to start slow, but looked always in control - especially with so many more scoring shots. Do not think Mansfield or Benalla will be anywhere near good enough to topple that side, especially with a week off and no more apparent injuries. Can anyone tell me if Bailey and Haberman will be back for the big one?

Shehan is an excellent player - and at such a young has has a very brihght future.

Also thought that young Browne was quite good, but he had an easy role - taking the centre tap then pushing back to be a loose man in defense. Maybe they were protecting him a little bit because of his youth?
Probably due to the fact Hotton is very strong so can muscle his opponents out of the contest around the ground while the kid has to bulk up a bit.
I think they even use the same tactic when Jones plays.
You won't often see 2 u/16 kids of that quality playing at the same club.

Will Martinello got smashed (punched in the face) on the weekend did he not?? Said somethign in the paper about someone being reported for striking him.

Can Shop said:
Will Martinello got smashed (punched in the face) on the weekend did he not?? Said somethign in the paper about someone being reported for striking him.

1/ Looking at Will last night he looked fine...not like someone who had been smashed.

2/United will argue it was a forearm to the head, as Dizzy Gillespie has one almighty bruise as a result

Also, how did Shane Clayton miss a spot in the GVFL team of the year?

Flat Track Bully said:
1/ Looking at Will last night he looked fine...not like someone who had been smashed.

2/United will argue it was a forearm to the head, as Dizzy Gillespie has one almighty bruise as a result

Also, how did Shane Clayton miss a spot in the GVFL team of the year?]QUOTE]

Bloody media!!! ... who gave them the job of selecting it. LOL.

In all seriousness though, I was one of the selectors and i had him on a half forward flank, as did a few of the others.

The problem is they give it to all media in the region, including the little papers who may never see a game and wouldn't be able to name any players outside their own town.

Leave it to the one who see all the games .. Steve King, ROb Harris, Wes Cusworth, Graeme Byrnes, Johny Ryan ... and maybe give Doona a crack at it!!:D

TuskenRaider said:
No need to mate. We can just keep all the GVFL talk in this one thread. Simple.
mate there is a thirds thread and you never see talk about the seconds. does anyone know daniel symes whos plays seconds at benalla a very dirty player

On-Baller said:
mate there is a thirds thread and you never see talk about the seconds. does anyone know daniel symes whos plays seconds at benalla a very dirty player
I know there is a thirds thread, but it's easier to keep one thread for the senior list talk. If you read back through this thread you will see there is plenty of talk about the 2s and it works quite well.

On-Baller said:

Would his number be 31 for the saints??? I think he is normally in and out of the seniors. Flat track bully should be able to tell your more

roaring tiger said:
I see on the Mildura thread that E Bowen from Rochy is going to Wentworth? Any truth in those rumours? I heard he was only going to spend the one year at rochy anyway and then go back to the bendigo bombers?

From what ive heard around the traps at Rochy is that all Bendigo based players will stay at rochy for another year at least. Bowen still wants to play VFL footy but needed a year or two to get his body right. Would be very surprised even if he was to leave he wouldn't go that far north.

TuskenRaider said:
I know there is a thirds thread, but it's easier to keep one thread for the senior list talk. If you read back through this thread you will see there is plenty of talk about the 2s and it works quite well.

Absolutely. And I wouldn't mind betting most of the people that contribute to this thread are actually Ressies players!

Doona2 said:

Great day for football at Tatura yesty, Seymour two's started well and with a first class effort looked unstoppable. Scoring options aplenty, runners galore are pleasing signs for coach Benny Davey. Thought Adam McBrien was by far Euroa's best, terrific job in keeping Lions skipper Big Pappa relatively quiet.
The Seymour twos were just way to strong in the end. Their 1st half is the best reserves footy I have seen from any side at that level. they ran the lines very well and there skills were spot on. Their kicking for goal was also of top notch. They kicked 15.3 in the 1st half. To our boys credit we outscored them in the 2nd half and can only take that as a positive out of the day. Back to the drawing board this week and hopefully win to get another shot at the lions.

Cant really put anyone in our best players after that performance Doona.

Xander said:
As I have said many times before on this thread, if I were Seymour i wouldnt be hoping for Bailey to play. He is the most injury prone player going around and they really dont need him to win the flag. They proved that last year. As for habers Im sure you will see him run out onto Deakin for the main game in 2 weeks time. He will wear the helmet again similar to last year. I thinkthey will win the grand final very easily.

Rushy Tiger said:
From what ive heard around the traps at Rochy is that all Bendigo based players will stay at rochy for another year at least. Bowen still wants to play VFL footy but needed a year or two to get his body right. Would be very surprised even if he was to leave he wouldn't go that far north.

Has Rochy had their B&F yet?