Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

head67 said:
Just that magic the omision of storer and even perhaps Knowles is what made the team lack credibillity.
Doesn't necessarily make it lack credibility. There are others from the earlier period who weren't selected in the side that would compare favourably with the two you've named.

The only solution to that kind of problem is to never have such teams done officially. They are only done as a fundraiser/reunion anyway, but do make for a great night/weekend. Maybe it's better for supporters to debate and draw up their own sides. You are always going to have disappointed people.

Rushy Tiger said:
Must agree here Duff Man. Has a big case of the little man syndrome as well. Seymour would be very disappointed in him if he is their apparently only crumbing forward as POSTMAN has led us to believe

Unlike in your league Rushy Tiger, the top players in the GV generally have a bit of versatility about them and don't spend all their time in one place.
While most consider him a forward, the Gerbil's actually spent quite a bit of time in the past couple of season in the backline and, believe it or not, started on the wing in last year's grand final.
I must admit I was a little bit surprised to hear he'd only kicked 12 goals for the year but, also in the GV, we don't judge players solely on goal returns. You won't find many "crumbing forwards" that work as hard defensively as what he does.
The fact that Gerard grates on opposition clubs so much indicates to me that the Lions are a better side with him in the team.

head67 said:
Just that magic the omision of storer and even perhaps Knowles is what made the team lack credibillity.

I dont know about storer but from what ive heard a few people were abit shocked about Knowles being left out

Well done to Seymour in gettin both the Seniors and the seconds into the big one, will Daniels hang round if they win back to back??? i have been informed he looks set to leave at the end of this year. Also heard that if Amad coaches there will be a number of players go elsewhere.

yeah i agree that pemberton should be the unlucky one, hasn't had a great year and i think the other 2 deserve to be there more.

i know i'm a bit late to comment on the gv side of the year but how did scanlon from seymour miss out, i know he missed a few games but surely should have got a spot. Just racks up getting the ball and has had a fantastic year. pilling was also very lucky to get a guernsey, has had a good year but not great.

jazzy said:
i know i'm a bit late to comment on the gv side of the year but how did scanlon from seymour miss out, i know he missed a few games but surely should have got a spot. Just racks up getting the ball and has had a fantastic year. pilling was also very lucky to get a guernsey, has had a good year but not great.

seem to be a bit biased there Jazzy, agree that Clayton should of got in, but you cant have half the Seymour side in the GVFL team.

The_timid_turkey said:
Well done to Seymour in gettin both the Seniors and the seconds into the big one, will Daniels hang round if they win back to back??? i have been informed he looks set to leave at the end of this year. Also heard that if Amad coaches there will be a number of players go elsewhere.
Doesnt anyone like Amad at the club?

The_timid_turkey said:

Cant say Ive heard that timid one, surely you're not trying to unsettle things in the Den a week out from the biggest day on the GV calendar - or were ya just trying to make a lasting impression with you first post on the GV thread

The_timid_turkey said:
I have been told by Steve daniels himself he wouldnt be coaching next year, but Im sure if they win in 2 weeks time things may change. Who would want to go for a 3 peat. I think your commenst about Joey are way off mate. From all reports he is very respected at Seymour, why wouldnt he be with all the flags he has won at Northcote Park during his time.

hey can shop or sidey, which players are eligiable to drop back to the reserves this week. Ive heard about 6 players from last weeks senior team. is this true.

The_timid_turkey said:

Not sure where you got your info from...heard nothing of the sort. Joey Amad would be a great coach and is loved around the club.

Might be a case of some people not liking the truth, joey calls a spade a spade, and because of that would be a very good coach.

Everyone at the club is just focusing on sunday 1st oct. What happens after that is anyones guess.

Doona2 said:
Cant say Ive heard that timid one, surely you're not trying to unsettle things in the Den a week out from the biggest day on the GV calendar - or were ya just trying to make a lasting impression with you first post on the GV thread
Just a rumour i picked up mate, i wish the lions all the best in their assault on the premiership, as i have a few mates running around in the seymour twos

FOOTYBOSS said:
I have been told by Steve daniels himself he wouldnt be coaching next year, but Im sure if they win in 2 weeks time things may change. Who would want to go for a 3 peat. I think your commenst about Joey are way off mate. From all reports he is very respected at Seymour, why wouldnt he be with all the flags he has won at Northcote Park during his time.

hey can shop or sidey, which players are eligiable to drop back to the reserves this week. Ive heard about 6 players from last weeks senior team. is this true.
Just what i heard mate

LOBSTER said:
Doesnt anyone like Amad at the club?
Not really sure mate, i was at the footy sunday talking to a couple of chaps who expressed their opinions on Amad. i have no direct involvment with the Seymour FC so i couldnt tel ya, dont no him personally.

The_timid_turkey said:

Has been a great effort turkey, Coxy should get all the credit. He recruited SJ to the club 2 years back in his grand plan that he had , and two years down the track we have a flag and both sides are in another Grand Final. The whole club has just changed its culture, We all hope we can go back to back and SJ would stay for a 4th year , but as Footyboss said hes made it pretty clear hes moving on . And Joey would make a good coach as would Habers, as the fat back pocket said joey calls a spade a spade and one or two mighten like that. But he is very, very popular let me say that.

FOOTYBOSS said:
Brendan Briggs, Jonse Palmer and maybe Grant Mclarty.
Think that's it.

Sidey_87 said:
Think that's it.

Heard they lose the bald guy, not sure of his name. And i saw Meka played, he too isn't qualified?

So lose two, get 3, so make 1 up...the quality of the make ups are the question.

How do you think you'll go boss? Reckon you have what it takes.

See you matched the Lions in the second half last week. Just the slow start seems to have cost you?

Sidey, is the united team this week vastly different to the one Euroa knocked off about 3 weeks out from finals?

Heard on the grape vine there were still a few united guys carrying niggles?

Sidey_87 said:
Think that's it.
Lose Smith & Meka
Gain Briggs Palmer McLarty Guilmartin Vidler & Maunder.
Unsure if the senior blokes will drop back and play there were woried about dropping back so find out at selection

Can Shop said:
Lose Smith & Meka
Unsure if the senior blokes will drop back and play there were woried about dropping back so find out at selection

there was a rumour circulating that Mclarty only actually ran out onto the ground in 2 games in the ressies. And the other 4 he actually played seniors that day also...i thought there was a ruling that you could only play one game per day? (seniors that is)

Or is that just finals where that is the case?

If he were injured and not playing seniors, all fair. But otherwise, should be rules against doing that...especially when the depth of reserves footy is so low. You play the bottom sides, you can afford to play with the bare 18 and name 4 senior players on the bench to qualify them. You'd get 6 of those games a year easy.

Is this correct sidey?

Can Shop said:
Lose Smith & Meka

What about bamford? I see he snagged 9 goals twice throughout the season but you guys dropped him for the first final:confused:

Whats with that? Surely if he can snag a bag like that twice it aint a fluke and he's worth a run come finals?

Just Wondering If any other clubs have had there best & Fairest counts yet?? I'm pretty sure the shepp bears count will ocme down between mellington and O'Brien

pete_mitchell said:
Heard they lose the bald guy, not sure of his name. And i saw Meka played, he too isn't qualified?

So lose two, get 3, so make 1 up...the quality of the make ups are the question.

How do you think you'll go boss? Reckon you have what it takes.

See you matched the Lions in the second half last week. Just the slow start seems to have cost you?

Sidey, is the united team this week vastly different to the one Euroa knocked off about 3 weeks out from finals?

Heard on the grape vine there were still a few united guys carrying niggles?
I think you will see us put up a better performance then last week, yes we did match the lions in the 2nd half but the game was already over by then. We have a slightly better team running around this week compared to last week.

I think you will find in most teams at this time of year, most players that are playing are carrying niggling injuries into games. Very rare for everyone to be fresh and fit.