Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

That was me. And yes it was embarrassing. But not quite as embarrassing as the way I played!!! The cheer squad are an enthusiastic bunch but I think they went a bit overboard with the sticky tape at eye level as I coped the best closeline in my 8 years of GV footy. Even worse was the fact that Sheepy Cockerell came through behind me and gave me a solid hip and shoulder. All I could hear as I got up was about 100 people laughing at my misfortune. From now on I will be running through the banner last. Lucky FootyBoss and his boys didnt see it.

Inness#15 said:
That was me. And yes it was embarrassing. But not quite as embarrassing as the way I played!!! The cheer squad are an enthusiastic bunch but I think they went a bit overboard with the sticky tape at eye level as I coped the best closeline in my 8 years of GV footy. Even worse was the fact that Sheepy Cockerell came through behind me and gave me a solid hip and shoulder. All I could hear as I got up was about 100 people laughing at my misfortune. From now on I will be running through the banner last. Lucky FootyBoss and his boys didnt see it.
Very lucky I didnt see it Robbie. I would have been getting stuck into on the field otherwise. Thats why I ran through our banner last, but I almost tripped over one of the little kids near by.

How are the celebrations going? Still kicking no doubt.

Sidey_87 said:
Bigger i reckon.
There was no way none this years crowd was bigger. Last year the scoreboard side of the ground was completly chockers. This year you could move around there quite easily.

FOOTYBOSS said:
There was no way none this years crowd was bigger. Last year the scoreboard side of the ground was completly chockers. This year you could move around there quite easily.

they allowed cars to park round there last year which clogged it up abit more tho, not so this year.

fuzzyswan said:
they allowed cars to park round there last year which clogged it up abit more tho, not so this year.
Are you sure about that fuzzy? I've never seen cars parked around there at the GF other than maybe the odd car that's been used to tow a trailer or something for a beer/food stall. Certainly there's no cars parked where you could actually sit in it and watch the footy like in a H&A game.

Grandale said:
Mark Pilling is not The Timid Turkey and he takes offence to anyone suggesting he is.
He sure does love his trackside racing though.
Heard Mark is leaving kings park any truth

jmain14 said:
can someone from rochy bring a bit of sanity into proceedings here... has something happened in the past year re. the dirtbag that I am not aware of?? even IF he and the club were to part ways there ain't a chance in hell that he'd venture shepp way is there??

G'day mate, long time no chat.

As far as I can tell, there hasn't been a major falling out between the committee and Dirty. I know that Dirty is having a testimonial on Saturday, which may indicate that he is hanging up the clipboard.

But I have heard that he wants to go on because of the good crop of youngsters and the return of some key players next year. There is talk of getting an experienced assistant coach to help do some of the work.

I reckon we'll know which one on the weekend.

Travvy43 said:
I hear the swans are very close to making their final decision. I beleive it is down to two, one is meka but i dont know who the other ones is.

Admson to Ecuca is one i have not heard, i thought he was going bendigo way.

I've heard Adamson is certain to go to Kangaroo Flat.

speedster said:
Heard Mark is leaving kings park any truth

No idea, but the coach is. It's official; S J Daniel will not be coaching Seymour next year. Claims he's having a season off.
Put that in yer paper Shepp News!

TuskenRaider said:
Are you sure about that fuzzy? I've never seen cars parked around there at the GF other than maybe the odd car that's been used to tow a trailer or something for a beer/food stall. Certainly there's no cars parked where you could actually sit in it and watch the footy like in a H&A game.

fairly sure, know aunty maureen got a park in by the fence last year in the pocket where saad took that huge mark. was dirty this year after she parked in the ground at about 7 o'clock gf morning and got a call an hour later to move it. :thumbsu:

fuzzyswan said:
fairly sure, know aunty maureen got a park in by the fence last year in the pocket where saad took that huge mark. was dirty this year after she parked in the ground at about 7 o'clock gf morning and got a call an hour later to move it. :thumbsu:
Just goes to show your talking sh it now buddy. The huge mark you are talking of was taken in front of the Shep United changerooms and social club.

Shannon Gibson will be leaving Euroa and will be playing for Watsonia in the diamond valley football league, division 2.

The two people I have heard are in the running for the swans role is Perry Meka and Peter White.

Did hear on the radio over the weekend that Trav Ryan has put in for the Euroa job and is very keen to get it. He rates it a cream job with current under achieving list and is hopeful of bringing a few players with him if he got the gig. Namely Aaron Willoughby. Will be very interesting to see who they appoint.

LOBSTER said:
Did hear on the radio over the weekend that Trav Ryan has put in for the Euroa job and is very keen to get it. He rates it a cream job with current under achieving list and is hopeful of bringing a few players with him if he got the gig. Namely Aaron Willoughby. Will be very interesting to see who they appoint.

Euroa would be a great job to get I reckon

FOOTYBOSS said:
Just goes to show your talking sh it now buddy. The huge mark you are talking of was taken in front of the Shep United changerooms and social club.

mate, i think that its pretty obvious that i was talking about that end of the ground. what would i possibly have to gain by making this up? there weren't cars all the way around last year, but there werent any at all this year. anyway, it doesnt really matter, i agree that there seemed to be a bigger crowd last year. let's move on.

Grandale said:
No idea, but the coach is. It's official; S J Daniel will not be coaching Seymour next year. Claims he's having a season off.
Put that in yer paper Shepp News!
Any Pictures of you speaking to Peter Jagoe the Hat Milner we can publish as well grannie

bradrowe#32 said:
G'day mate, long time no chat.

As far as I can tell, there hasn't been a major falling out between the committee and Dirty. I know that Dirty is having a testimonial on Saturday, which may indicate that he is hanging up the clipboard.

But I have heard that he wants to go on because of the good crop of youngsters and the return of some key players next year. There is talk of getting an experienced assistant coach to help do some of the work.

I reckon we'll know which one on the weekend.
cheers mate, keep us informed. are you heading along to the testimonial??

also, will you be staying at the cattery next year??

Flat Track Bully said:
Peter White to coach Swans in 2007

Swans go White hot
October 6 2006
Shepparton News

Peter White will coach Shepparton Swans next season as part of a lucrative deal which will take him to Princess Park.

White verbally agreed to the open-ended job on Wednesday night, leaving other applicants in his wake.

He is expected to sign on the dotted line next week but will waste no time in stamping his direction on the club.

"It's a very good list so I'm looking forward to it," White said yesterday.

"We have a meeting on Monday to look at different players."

Assistant coach at Mooroopna this season, White said it was always his intention to climb the ladder back up to senior coaching after stints in the top job at Tongala and Kyabram, where he coached the Bombers to a premiership in 1996.

"I still wanted to stay involved in coaching so I thought I'd have a dip," he said.

"I used the opportunity at Mooroopna to keep my name in the mix and it was good to work with them, refreshing."

Replacing player Jarrod Sutherland - who has led the Swans during the past two seasons and will stay on in a playing role - White said he hoped to combine his knowledge with that already at the club.

"After a number of years (coaching) I think I can bring fresh ideas," he said.

"And I look forward to working with Jarrod and getting some of his input."

Club president Robin Knaggs also announced former Euroa and Congupna coach Gary `Nipper' Harvey as assistant and Phil Nicholson as coach of the under-17s.

"They are both quality coaches and will both be an asset to us," Knaggs said.

"We're looking forward to next year already."

Samtrish said:
Any Pictures of you speaking to Peter Jagoe the Hat Milner we can publish as well grannie

LOL that Samtrish. He's a different sort of character is Jaigs. No doubt Benalla would rarely have seen the likes of him.
Unsure if he's any relation to the former SFC Scooby Doos' coach.

Daniel quits
October 6 2006
Shepparton News

Dual Seymour premiership coach Steve Daniel has pulled the pin less than a week after taking the club to back-to back flags.

Daniel told The News yesterday he had spoken with Lions president Paul Cox and senior club officials to notify them of his decision.

"I've been there three years and I always wanted to go out on a good note," Daniel said.

"And what better way than with two flags?

"It's really time for someone else to come in and hopefully take them on to a third."

Amid speculation he was on the verge of signing with Ovens and Murray club Wangaratta, Daniel confirmed he would not be seeking appointment at any suburban or country level club and remains uncertain about his football future.

"I've knocked back everyone that's asked me," Daniel, who is believed to have been pursued by a dozen clubs across the state, said.

"All I've done is promise Seymour that I won't coach anywhere else.

"I just decided in the end, that if I was going to coach at that level I would coach Seymour."

On top of biweekly coaching duties at Seymour, Daniel also coached in Melbourne with Greenvale's under-12 side twice a week, and the Goulburn Valley Football League's interleague team this season.

The busy schedule has left him feeling burnt out.

"I knew if we won it again there would be pressure to go around by the playing group, but if I'm not 100 per cent committed to it, I don't do it,' he said.

"I didn't want to go in to next season at 80 or 90 per cent."

Daniel becomes the sixth senior GVFL coach who won't go round in 2007.

Assistant coach Bernie Haberman and Joe "The General" Amad are favourites to replace Daniel.

http://www.seymourfc.vcfl.com.au/newsitem.asp?id=26408&orgID=702&Oname=Seymour&O1c=6&O10c=12