Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

Seymour 46 Benalla 27

Massive upset on the cards in A grade netball, with the previously undefeated Shepp Swans trailing 28-36 in the 3rd quarter.

Kyabram have won A grade netball.
Shepp United won B grade.
Echuca won B reserve.
Kyabram won U17.

Kyabram won the thirds flag.

bradrowe#32 said:
Kyabram have won A grade netball.
Shepp United won B grade.
Echuca won B reserve.
Kyabram won U17.

Kyabram won the thirds flag.

Bit of misinformation there, Rowey? Or are you talking netball u/17 when you say "thirds"? Shepp took out the thirds in the footy with Callinan (? I think) best on (or medal winner at least).

Krakour Magic said:
Bit of misinformation there, Rowey? Or are you talking netball u/17 when you say "thirds"? Shepp took out the thirds in the footy with Callinan (? I think) best on (or medal winner at least).

Hmmm, I was a positive they said Kyabram won the U18's footy. Let's run with your info.

At 3/4 time, Seymour are up 22 points. They were up by 34 points before Benalla hit back late with 2 goals. It sounds like Benalla have had their chances, but just couldn't get the goals. Meanwhile, Seymour are making the best of their opportunities.

What was the story with the fight in the crowd at the end of the game guys that they were talking about on the radio?

Yeah there was a pretty big fight after the game, bit of soft cheek on the Benalla fans that were around that area as they didnt like it and retalliated pretty emotionally not only after the game but during the hole day, think they had enough and a big fight broke out, and then from there, as in all fights, the reason of the fight was forgot and people were sticking up for mates, family etc.. police came in bats were out capsicon spray was used and drifted over the hole area etc...

Yes, anyway getting back to the game, Seymour - 12.11.83 def. Benalla - 7.10.52. Congratulations to the Seymour Lions on going back-to-back in 2006.

On The Money said:
What was the story with the fight in the crowd at the end of the game guys that they were talking about on the radio?
It was on for young and old, a big scuffle broke out, one bloke had blood pouring from his mouth so I assume he copped a whack. There was a fair bit of yelling going on from a few people. While that was being dealt with by police and security, another blue erupted in the opposite pocket. That was where the capsicum spray was used. That little bar set up behind the goals with $3 cans no doubt encouraged plenty of drinking down there and things boiled over at the end of the game.

As for the game, I'll be keen to read what most of you fellas have to say cos I don't know much about GV footy.

Seymour seemed to be in control all day. Liked the games of Brent Colbert, Tim Hooper and Jake Anderson. As a team they were cleaner, they had numbers at the contest and they actually tackled properly and applied pressure there.

Benalla seemed to fall down badly across half forward. No other forward bar Mackenzie looked a goalkicking threat. Anthony Stevens was super for them, tackled hard and took a few really strong grabs. Ben Fahey did a top job on Saad Saad (although Saad's kicking was poor), Porter also very good in the ruck and around the ground.

Tim Hooper BOG.

Benalla were within 18 points early in the last qtr but couldn't get that next goal to really put Seymour under the pump.

footy_rulz said:
Yes, anyway getting back to the game, Seymour - 12.11.83 def. Benalla - 7.10.52. Congratulations to the Seymour Lions on going back-to-back in 2006.

Well there you go. I was listening on the radio all day (although I was rather distracted) and trying to give the game details for those not there. And I failed miserably!

Anyway, by the sounds of it, it wasn't that flash of a game. I got the impression that Benalla had a fair bit of the ball, but wasted easy shots. Seymour seemed to have more options to goal.

Paul Scanlon was another to do well for the lions and would've racked up 30+ touches.

The ruck duel between Shotty and Ports was great to watch. Ports played very well taking plenty of marks and Shotty was good at the ruck contests using his strength well. I though Ben Fahey did a fair job on Saad despite the great man not having the kicking boot on (although he did snag a ripper set shot from the boundary in the 1st q) and was carrying a bit of a calf injury i suspect.

Benalla had a real crack, but the Lions are a very well balanced team and did what they had to do.

Great to see the 2s win as well. Blokes who have played for the lions for years were finally rewarded for their loyalty to the club. Pliger, Boruch, Ruddy, Damo, Lanos, Sheepy, The Pappas, Roo and big footy serial pest FBP fully deserve to share in the club success.

HJ32 said:
Paul Scanlon was another to do well for the lions and would've racked up 30+ touches.

The ruck duel between Shotty and Ports was great to watch. Ports played very well taking plenty of marks and Shotty was good at the ruck contests using his strength well. I though Ben Fahey did a fair job on Saad despite the great man not having the kicking boot on (although he did snag a ripper set shot from the boundary in the 1st q) and was carrying a bit of a calf injury i suspect.

Benalla had a real crack, but the Lions are a very well balanced team and did what they had to do.

Great to see the 2s win as well. Blokes who have played for the lions for years were finally rewarded for their loyalty to the club. Pliger, Boruch, Ruddy, Damo, Lanos, Sheepy, The Pappas, Roo and big footy serial pest FBP fully deserve to share in the club success.

You mates with the big Benalla ruckman are you HJ?
Poor form from you, anyway, not coming back to the Mour and gassing on with said Ressies stalwarts and a couple of others who weren't lucky enough to play yesterday for whatever reason.
Looks like I'll have to have your share. Catch you at Station 26 after work.

seymour were to good all day really, and after about half way through the second quarter, benalla never looked like winning it. thought porter was best on IMO, took a number of big marks around the ground, thought schotty competed well with him in the ruck contests. hooper played a great game, thought scanlon and brendan played pearlers but they spent alot of time in front of where i wa sitting.

in the twos, euroa started well, capitalizing on a couple of seymour mistakes ( 2 goals from frees and the subsequent 50s in the opening term), but seymour always looked like winning it. didnt really think that there were any real standouts, seymour just put in a better team effort.

footyman said:
It was on for young and old, a big scuffle broke out, one bloke had blood pouring from his mouth so I assume he copped a whack. There was a fair bit of yelling going on from a few people. While that was being dealt with by police and security, another blue erupted in the opposite pocket. That was where the capsicum spray was used. That little bar set up behind the goals with $3 cans no doubt encouraged plenty of drinking down there and things boiled over at the end of the game.

As for the game, I'll be keen to read what most of you fellas have to say cos I don't know much about GV footy.

Seymour seemed to be in control all day. Liked the games of Brent Colbert, Tim Hooper and Jake Anderson. As a team they were cleaner, they had numbers at the contest and they actually tackled properly and applied pressure there.

Benalla seemed to fall down badly across half forward. No other forward bar Mackenzie looked a goalkicking threat. Anthony Stevens was super for them, tackled hard and took a few really strong grabs. Ben Fahey did a top job on Saad Saad (although Saad's kicking was poor), Porter also very good in the ruck and around the ground.

So was it a case of Seymour and Benalla supporters having a crack at each other or something else?

Mark Pilling is not The Timid Turkey and he takes offence to anyone suggesting he is.
He sure does love his trackside racing though.

Sidey_87 said:
Seymour by 31 - BOG Saad Saad with 7 goals
Seymour by 40 - BOG Dom Russo
Shepp Bears by 43 - BOG Matt Chapman

Good work Sidey-Can you please PM me this weeks lotto numbers?:) :)

On The Money said:
So was it a case of Seymour and Benalla supporters having a crack at each other or something else?

From where I was standing 40 mtrs away there was a heap of shep bears 3rds standing behind the benalla supporters. dont know for sure if they were involved though.

No Seymour people involved in what appeared and ugly end to a great day

Had a mate go over and watch the GV granny on Sunday.

He went to Deakin with great expectations on the pocket dynamo Saad Saad.

He came home disappointed with his efforts, said Saad did a couple of good things but was largely disappointing in that he dropped a few easy marks and things like that.

He said Fahey did a good job on him, though.

Any thoughts on this battle?

He also reckons the standard wasn't as good as it's cracked up to be ... He said the O and M games he seen during the year were far better.

I'm not and O and M follower so I'm not trying to promote a bout, just interested to hear thoughts on whether the game, and the Lions' pocket rocket, was up to scratch or not?

flagpie said:
Had a mate go over and watch the GV granny on Sunday.

He went to Deakin with great expectations on the pocket dynamo Saad Saad.

He came home disappointed with his efforts, said Saad did a couple of good things but was largely disappointing in that he dropped a few easy marks and things like that.

He said Fahey did a good job on him, though.

Any thoughts on this battle?

He also reckons the standard wasn't as good as it's cracked up to be ... He said the O and M games he seen during the year were far better.

I'm not and O and M follower so I'm not trying to promote a bout, just interested to hear thoughts on whether the game, and the Lions' pocket rocket, was up to scratch or not?

I wouldnt have much hesitation in selecting Seymour over Yarrawonga in a full tilt match. I saw the O&M granny and thought it was top notch however i doubt that Yarra have the engine to go with Seymour all day. Dont get me wrong you probably couldnt split the leagues but Seymour are a class above anything else in country Victoria.