Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

Heard today from a good source that mooroopna has signed up a ruckman and centre half back. unsure of names sorry

Paul Hawke is the favorite to coach Benalla but certain committee members fancy their chances in enticing O&M legend Rob Walker - my mail suggests he will be hard to get.

Simon Gordon to return to Healesville is the mail I have recieved - perhaps someone from the Lions can confirm if true?

Ashley Thomson will be returning to Narrandera after his short and injury plagued return to Euroa with Narrandera also making a strong play for Mansfield's pocket dynamo Nathan Reynoldson - will be interesting to see where that goes.

Hey can anyone tell me how Lincoln Wellington is going over there? He used to play for my club. And who is he signed up to coach?

linco signed at numerka. they are in the murray footy league. he is taking his brother bryce with him who moved down to play with him at the start of last season.bryce was on good coin but really struggled!

Paul Hawke is the favorite to coach Benalla but certain committee members fancy their chances in enticing O&M legend Rob Walker - my mail suggests he will be hard to get.

Simon Gordon to return to Healesville is the mail I have recieved - perhaps someone from the Lions can confirm if true?

Ashley Thomson will be returning to Narrandera after his short and injury plagued return to Euroa with Narrandera also making a strong play for Mansfield's pocket dynamo Nathan Reynoldson - will be interesting to see where that goes.

goin off what i have heard in the last couple days brenton cooper will be the next coach of the saints!

Yes you may be right Tatybulldog about Cooper. ive heard some people from the Saints want him there and others dont so we will soon see i suppose. also heard that Cooper asked Steven Hazelman to be an assistant coach with him. but surely he would not burn his brother Brad if he coaches United.

can everyone give me a run down on how your teams are lookie for the up comin season..like players gone and players picked up....
i will start.

GONE- linc wellington and bryce wellington to numerka
lee warnett and jarrod pollard to tocumwal
tim lanyon to melbourne
brent loughnan to dookie
reece pollard, brett scarcella and trav thompson to Queensland
steve kirby to rushy
mark eaton over seas
damian jones to wadonga
tom flanigan to melbourne
aaron willoughby and shannon downy back to melbourne
michael roberts to tongala
andrew crawford to uni in melbourne
these are all blokes that played senior footy for the last few yrs. this will put a massive dent in our hopes for getting off the bottom of the ladder.
hopefully nobal can bring some new faces to the club.

can everyone give me a run down on how your teams are lookie for the up comin season..like players gone and players picked up....
i will start.

GONE- linc wellington and bryce wellington to numerka
lee warnett and jarrod pollard to tocumwal
tim lanyon to melbourne
brent loughnan to dookie
reece pollard, brett scarcella and trav thompson to Queensland
steve kirby to rushy
mark eaton over seas
damian jones to wadonga
tom flanigan to melbourne
aaron willoughby and shannon downy back to melbourne
michael roberts to tongala
andrew crawford to uni in melbourne
these are all blokes that played senior footy for the last few yrs. this will put a massive dent in our hopes for getting off the bottom of the ladder.
hopefully nobal can bring some new faces to the club.

Has Tatura been talking to anybody Tatybulldog. Wasn't the coach down on the weekend talking to a few blokes

Yes you may be right Tatybulldog about Cooper. ive heard some people from the Saints want him there and others dont so we will soon see i suppose. also heard that Cooper asked Steven Hazelman to be an assistant coach with him. but surely he would not burn his brother Brad if he coaches United.

Interesting about steve hazelman there. Centreman can you comment on this one as your closer to him then most posters.

i will start.

GONE- reece pollard, brett scarcella and trav thompson to Queensland

Do you know who Pollard, Scarcella and Thompson are playing for in Qld?

Can't believe he'd go to Benalla Can Shop - it would be a real slap in the face to United if he did

Yes thats what i thought... steve has been great for the Shepp United F/C taking them to new things last year....finals......but it will be intersesting what happens in the next couple of weeks when info comes out!!!!!!

Benny Davey not going again?

Apparently hasn't got the time. With five rug rats and all the work he missed this year because of his leg injury which had him on crutches for a couple of months, I believe he will be immersing himself in work 18 hours a day, seven days a week for the next 12 months so he can get his good mate Gerry O'Sullivan to put a couple of extra rooms on the "Mangalore Mansion".

So you know Hazelman do you centreman???? how sure are you of this not happening??

It might happen. I haven't asked anyone or spoken to anyone, but from what I know there's no certainty that Coops will even coach Benalla.

I reckon it's a good thing - but how good would it be to actually read "As mentioned by Footyboss on big footy etc etc"

Geez imagined getting paid to sit on big footy everyday . . . . forgot most of us already do :thumbsu:

In all fairness to Footyboss, the yarn would lose all credibility if you ran that line Doona. It would portray an image that whoever wrote the story is taking what is said on BF as gospel and I think we all know that isn't the case.
As Lion's Roar said, so long as all the relevant background checks are made BF can be invaluable for journos.

The Lions have pretty much come to terms with the fact Gordo won't be back next year. Now that he's won a flag with the Lions I think he's pretty content to play closer to home with a young family and all.

Apparently hasn't got the time. With five rug rats and all the work he missed this year because of his leg injury which had him on crutches for a couple of months, I believe he will be immersing himself in work 18 hours a day, seven days a week for the next 12 months so he can get his good mate Gerry O'Sullivan to put a couple of extra rooms on the "Mangalore Mansion".

So who are the front runners to replace Ben Davey then?

i will start.

GONE- reece pollard, brett scarcella and trav thompson to Queensland

Do you know who Pollard, Scarcella and Thompson are playing for in Qld?

they are playing for a second div side up there. cant remember what they are called though. sorry. i wil find out.