Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

Not sure if its absolute sh!t mate, im sure many people will say Gezza was probably a little lucky to get a gig in the senior grand final last year. His form throughout the year was below par for a guy with his roll, and dom russo got 40+ possy's and kicked 5 goals in numerous twos games late in the season, but the coaches wanted to stick with what they had.

Your point is valid, at the end of the day, Gezza got a senior medal, Dom didn't. But if you saw a large portion of the Seymours seniors and reserves last year, which it sounds as if you didn't, you would take back what you said.

Dom Russo would have played Seniors at 10 other clubs last year. And im sure if you get to see him play, you will re-think your opinion of the little guy.

FBP

FBP last I heard you're living in WA these days. So when have you seen Dom play this year? Sure you saw him play ressies last year, but when have you seen him play seniors this year?
Big difference between senior and reserves footy.

Speaking of luck though. How the hell did Lockie Peterson get a game in the Seymour Reserves P'ship team?

Great side .. as i said i wasn't sure on a lot of people's ages when i named my side.

Didn't realise Van Reit, Pappin, Kirkman, ubergang and dundovic were that young.
I reckon Rocket might just be a little bit too old. I remember playing seniors with him in 2002 when I reckon he was in the last year of 3rds.

So are we going to have to wait untill thursday for the team to be announced or will it be earlier????

How are we boys??

Been along time between drinks for Echucaboy on this illustrious forum. How are the Echuca boys looking at the moment, seem to be travelling quite well, whats everyone's thoughts? Are they ganna make an impact in September and can the young freak Chris Casey be stopped??

How are we boys??

Been along time between drinks for Echucaboy on this illustrious forum. How are the Echuca boys looking at the moment, seem to be travelling quite well, whats everyone's thoughts? Are they ganna make an impact in September and can the young freak Chris Casey be stopped??

no! no one can stop that freak!

I reckon Rocket might just be a little bit too old. I remember playing seniors with him in 2002 when I reckon he was in the last year of 3rds.

Was speakin to rodney at uni today mate, said your are right he did play seniors in 2002 but was only 16 and informs me that he only turned 22 this year so can still be considered under 22

Whilst the competition standard may be a bit lower than the last couple of years, it's not simple maths at all to say a young bloke like Russo has only got a game because of that. Is it possible that he may have worked harder on his fitness, improved his football to find himself a spot in the side? Of course it is.

Remember, there were players on Brisbane's list that didn't play in their first flag but they made their way into the side the next year to play in the competition's best side.

They made their way into those sides when gaps appeared, jus as gaps have appeared on Seymours list.
UMMMMM lets see, Pilling V Russo. Gordon V Russo. Douglas V Russo.
And before you cr*p on and say hes a small man, I am making my point that "holes" have appeared... "IT IS SIMPLE MATHS"

They made their way into those sides when gaps appeared, jus as gaps have appeared on Seymours list.
And before you cr*p on and say hes a small man, I am making my point that "holes" have appeared... "IT IS SIMPLE MATHS"

Take it easy tiger and don't hop on here and make assumptions on what I may or may not say in reply to your response. No need for me to crap on, plenty of others on here do enough of that.

Of course gaps can and do appear in lists, but you are missing the point of my post entirely. Players can and do improve, other players form may wane.

Was speakin to rodney at uni today mate, said your are right he did play seniors in 2002 but was only 16 and informs me that he only turned 22 this year so can still be considered under 22

I stand corrected. You'd think he'd be a walk-up start for a spot in a GV under-22 side then.

I think anyone who watched the Seymour seniors and reserves last year would agree gezza was extremely lucky all year to keep his spot, surely 7 goals or thereabouts isn't enough output from a small forward in anyones book. Dom Russo would have that already this year and kicked 3 on the weekend.

I do agree also with the standard having slipped this year a little, but still so good standard of football being played. :thumbsu:

Ok ill have a crack at this side now.. which is just an interest thing, no inter-league matches or that.

B:Carrol (Unt) Pappin (Roch) Joyce(ben)
HB:Ubergang(swa) Trewhella (Mans) Looby(swa)
C:Van Reit (sey) Hann(roch) Anderson (Seymour)
HF:Crawford(tat) Chapman (Shep) Lanyon(tat/swa)
FF:Montgomery(Swan) Dundovic(Swan) roy(mans)
R:Kenneugh(Ech) Barlow (Unt) Priest(ben)
INT: Kirkman(swan/ky) Montague(roch) Hiscock(shep) Cutriss(roch)

probably wanting guys in that have been developed in this league for more for either a few years or most of their careers.
so guys like mick hare, tweedle ive left out..
and also guys who are between 18 and 22, so left out guys like martinello and shehan.
also guys like tonizzo,kirkby,Bovalino and james martinello who have left the league this season miss..
and nick allens to old
if ive left anyone out, shout it out, also unsure with ricky joyce and pappins age, think they are both 22 though.
i believe this sides lacking a decent CHF and promonent ruckman, chapmans prob only a forward flanker, Kirkby would been the ideal choice at CHF. Possibly Van Shaik if he was still around too..
Solid backline though!
how old is brett deledio?? he played for ky, if hes u22 surely hed be in there

FBP last I heard you're living in WA these days. So when have you seen Dom play this year? Sure you saw him play ressies last year, but when have you seen him play seniors this year?
Big difference between senior and reserves footy.

Speaking of luck though. How the hell did Lockie Peterson get a game in the Seymour Reserves P'ship team?

Mate, i've seen enough senior footy and senior players to know who is good enough and who is not. Dom is a very good player who works very hard. And when good mates of mine tell me he is going really well. And the radio commentators say he is going really well.

Plus last year he played about 4 or 5 games last year and was more than capable.

As for Lockie, why wouldn't he get a game? He is 6"3' who can fill any position, up forward, down back. Not to mention the fact that he did the hard yards over the past 3 years on and off the track.

Yeah, he was probably in the final 2 picked. But the captain and vice captain both wanted him in there, as did Ben Davey and the other coaching staff...so they must have thought he was good enough. Why don't you ask them. I didn't pick the side.

Who deserved a game infront of him?

What are you doing with yourself these days???

Ask yourself this question mate. Why did Gezza liddell leave? He still lives in seymour, works in Seymour. Maybe because he thought his position was under threat by Dom.

I do know he had a falling out with habers. Can't say what over. But maybe it was because habers thought Dom would take his spot? There is no point comparing Dom to any of the players above. its silly, you know it, as does everyone else. Compare Dom to Gezza liddell, Gezza has held his spot for a few years. But IMO, Dom would have had the small crumbing forward spot this year. Gezza probably new it, so took a good offer in the murray league.

Here is a list of the blokes (or birds) representing your forum in the Bigfooty Rregional Leagues Fantasy Football League (BRLFFFL)
The four teams competing are the the Central Sharks, Donkey Floggers, the North-Eastern Wolves and the Western Wallabies.

These folks are representing you lot at the liest level, and you all should be proud of their efforts. Many big leagues (Ballarat, West Gippsland La Trobe, Eastern FL, THE WHOLE OF SOUTH AUSTRALIA!) aren't represented at all, so these guys are making a hefty imprint on the virtual footballing community!! Maybe a quick visit to their match threads to talk 'em up and can their opponents wouldn't be out of order?

(If you are on this list, and there is a x in front of your name, this means you are yet to even read the private message I sent about picking a guernsey number. It means you probably aren't aware of the season in progress, and your club needs you!)
North-Eastern Wolves - Goulburn Valley FL - FOOTYBOSS
North-Eastern Wolves - Goulburn Valley FL - Johnny Tapp
x North-Eastern Wolves - Goulburn Valley FL - Zippa

Ask yourself this question mate. Why did Gezza liddell leave? He still lives in seymour, works in Seymour. Maybe because he thought his position was under threat by Dom.

I do know he had a falling out with habers. Can't say what over. But maybe it was because habers thought Dom would take his spot? There is no point comparing Dom to any of the players above. its silly, you know it, as does everyone else. Compare Dom to Gezza liddell, Gezza has held his spot for a few years. But IMO, Dom would have had the small crumbing forward spot this year. Gezza probably new it, so took a good offer in the murray league.

Youve always been a stool muncher.

If a two time premiership player came back to the club right now, namely Gezza, he would get a game, end of story.

You could play both in the same side.

Your only claim to fame was screaming you guts out at your team mates like a DH..

I'm disappointed about all this hype on Dom Russo.. i havnt seen him play much but i had the pleasure of tagging him 4 a half when rochy got pumped by seymour a few rounds ago and he had 1 disposal for a half and that was a goal that was a handball from saad in the goal square... so basically he got 1 gimmy and that was it....

Are you fair dinkum utility07?

First of all - Saad doesn't handball.
Secondly - dirty must think your a good tagger if you can shut Russo down.:rolleyes: Reckon he'd be more worried about the likes of Scanlon, Stevenson, Van Riet, Haberman or Liddel wouldn't he.

Geez...you must have picked up a few votes that day!

Are you fair dinkum utility07?

First of all - Saad doesn't handball.
Secondly - dirty must think your a good tagger if you can shut Russo down.:rolleyes: Reckon he'd be more worried about the likes of Scanlon, Stevenson, Van Riet, Haberman or Liddel wouldn't he.

Geez...you must have picked up a few votes that day!

without doubt dirt was worried about those other blokes more than russo. but russo is the type of player who can lurk and might get himself those cheap goals as a small forward if hes roming round the forward line without an opponent. i think utility probably meant to say he played on russo and dom didnt get a touch.

personaly i too beleive that there is too much hype on this kid, because at one end of the scale he is being talked up as the next big thing. and at the other end there is talk of whether he should even be playing senior footy. it sounds to me as if bias seymour people over rate him, whereas unbias spectators/opponents realise he's not much to talk about other than a handy 2's player.

Youve always been a stool muncher.

If a two time premiership player came back to the club right now, namely Gezza, he would get a game, end of story.

You could play both in the same side.

Your only claim to fame was screaming you guts out at your team mates like a DH..

Not sure if we were talking about my claim to fame. I wouldn't have any claims to any fame in the football circles. Scream my guts out at my team mates??? Not sure where you got that from?

I'm sure Mr Fox Hat could confirm Gezza was a little lucky considering Dom's form last year. He could probably confirm the reasons behind him leaving and his spat with Bernie Haberman.

stool eater???? good on ya champ.

FBP.

Ovens and Murray preliminary squad
Matt Fowler, Ayden Brown, Lee Schmidt, Kade Stevens, Daniel Maher, Brad Horn, Brendan Page, Jason Sheather, Dan Leslie, Adam Prior, David Steer, Josh Walker, Mark Doolan, Ben Cosgriff, Brett Doswell, Leigh Corcoran, Xavier Leslie, Paul Kirby, Brent Lewington, Matt Wollington, Matt Shir, Tim Hargreaves, Craig Ednie, Marcus McMillan, Scott Oswald, Lance Oswald, Dallas Gallagher, Kyle Archibald.

Goulburn Valley squad of 26

Ben Fahey (Benalla), Xavier Campbell, Colin Durie (Echuca, captain), Matthew Pascoe (Euroa), Paul Newman (Kyabram, vicecaptain), Steven Cox (Mooroopna), Tim Hooper, Jeff Anderson (vice-captain), Matt O'Keefe, Saad Saad, Paul Scanlon, Rodney Van Reit (Seymour), Nick Allan, Marc Harrap, Jeremy O'Brien, Glenn Joyce (Shepparton), Nathan Bell, Lochlan Veale, Lucas White, Tim Looby (Swans), Matt Forys, Justin Davies, Mick Barlow, Sam Dawes, Duane Hueston (Shepparton United), Tim Little (Tatura).