• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

Hows retirement treating you Boss? any thoughts of a comeback?

Its the best. Not having to worry about getting to training after work. Instead of running 1km time trials and kicking footys in 30+ degree heat, I have been watching tv, eating a heap and drinking heaps. I love it, but i have been for the occasional run around the tan and struggled big time. Thoughts of a comeback might happen in New Year, but it wont be at Euroa.

Few ins and outs at Rochy. Nick Knight has signed as Assistant Coach at Colbinabin, following the missus there. May have missed the boat with all of Colbos departures. Adrian Pappin signed at Lockington. On the positive side, former Bushrangers captain and Port Melbourne player Brad Collins from Numurkah signed on Wednesday night along with Jake Perry from Rushworth. They also had ruckman Joel West train as well.

Just wondering how united was shaping for this year.. they seemed to have lost a few and not picked up anyone yet just reading the papers.. which would be disappointing they seemed to be building some momentum last year.. it seems the exodus out of the other end of deakin has taken the spotlight off them so far..

Its the best. Not having to worry about getting to training after work. Instead of running 1km time trials and kicking footys in 30+ degree heat, I have been watching tv, eating a heap and drinking heaps. I love it, but i have been for the occasional run around the tan and struggled big time. Thoughts of a comeback might happen in New Year, but it wont be at Euroa.
what about your old stomping ground epping.....they need a chop out in divvy 2

Has anyone seen the lastest 'Inside Football.' They reckon Saad is training with Collingwood's VFL team.

A lot of backlines will be happier if he plays there.

Few ins and outs at Rochy. Nick Knight has signed as Assistant Coach at Colbinabin, following the missus there. May have missed the boat with all of Colbos departures. Adrian Pappin signed at Lockington. On the positive side, former Bushrangers captain and Port Melbourne player Brad Collins from Numurkah signed on Wednesday night along with Jake Perry from Rushworth. They also had ruckman Joel West train as well.

Brad Collins is an out and out gun, great get for the tigers, assume Mark Brown is definately right to go as well then.

Big news out of Ky, Paul Licuria and James Clement may be on the cards

hank1 where did u hear that from i heard seymour were lookin at licuria and clement i am from ky and we will take them no worries haha

Yes I heard Seymour also with Haberman being the Physio at Collingwood but they didnt have the kanga for them. Came from someone working at the Riv Herald in Echuca

Whats Nick Knights background in football ?

Local Rochy lad who played all his juniors there then played for South Bendigo in the BFL for 1 year in 2006 and moved back to Rochy last year. Finished high up in b&f at south, very respected player. The rumours about him going to Colbo have been around for a couple of seasions now.

I believe Joel West has signed for rochy, ex-pio and kamarooka resident, good footballer, poor bloke.

Just wondering how united was shaping for this year.. they seemed to have lost a few and not picked up anyone yet just reading the papers.. which would be disappointing they seemed to be building some momentum last year.. it seems the exodus out of the other end of deakin has taken the spotlight off them so far..

yeh united have lost sutherland, hueston, mcclarty, moore, koulass, hatherill, cook, and most likely barlow and normington, so they will have to recruit well to be up there again

Did the 20-20 game happen at Ky last night? I heard that to run the lights up to cricket standard at $1000 per hour. Surely this is an exaggeration... how much do lights cost to run?

yeah the 20-20 game went ahead, still pulled a big crowd considering the terrible weather, lights were fantastic, could be a huge money spinner, I thought someone said they cost $100 an hour to run, they collected a gold coin donation for this.
Good game Fire Brigade won again thanks to Big Gary Lyon smackin Adam Yze for a couple of big sixes. Pubes and Stink Newman once again dominated and I think one of the Parson boys got a hatrick for KY. (Bout 6 of em)

Would be a good idea to host a night pre season comp though.

Did the 20-20 game happen at Ky last night? I heard that to run the lights up to cricket standard at $1000 per hour. Surely this is an exaggeration... how much do lights cost to run?

they have different settings for training, footy and cricket. The cost bandied around for a football game was $600. So for 2 and a half hours of cricket $1000 could be pretty close but certainly not per hour.

yeh united have lost sutherland, hueston, mcclarty, moore, koulass, hatherill, cook, and most likely barlow and normington, so they will have to recruit well to be up there again

Dont forget X captain Briggs.... What are united doing that is driving all these players away????

I don't think they are driving them away. Just happens that some years are worse then others. Sutherland wanted to go home after being away for a few years. Hueston lives in Echuca and wanted to coach. Cook, nearly left at the start of the year and will really struggle to get a senior game with the younger blokes coming in. He is pretty one dimensional. Moore, should stay and have one real crack by getting fit but the lure of cash was too much. Hatherill is moving from the area for family reasons. Briggs is disappointing, captain last season apparently keen to play as a forward. He should difinetly be staying. You can also add Davies who I believe is leaving the area with his family. Still there is a lot of top kids coming through who will get their chance and hopefully the recruiters will also pull one or four out of a hat before the season commences. Mclarty is travelling in WA and Koulass is taking up a coaching opportunity.

Wheres davies gone to play??

Has anyone heard how Kyabram and Tatura are going with regard to new recruits for 2008. It seems there is a lot more players in general leaving the area and not as many coming in.. I would have thought they would have been 2 clubs looking to top up with a few players and climb up the ladder a bit.. What clubs should be expected to slide down the ladder based on player movments..

Can anyone confirm if Saad Saad is training at Collingwood VFL?

He is training at Collingwood according to Fridays Shepp News. From what i read i think he's going to make a decision in the next couple of weeks. Saturdays just won't be the same at the Den if he goes :thumbsdown: