• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

GVFootyfan said:
Here is some news hot off the press guys. See how this pans out. Tatura are chasing some Bullants players as well as all the rest. Rumour has it they are just about to sign Laurence Furlan and Paul Scanlon. Scanlon (or Chewy) is a very good player (onballer) and will be one of the best onballers in GVFL if he commits to Tat. Furlan on the other hand believes he is better than he really is. He is a s h i t bloke too. He done a Wayne Carey at the Bullants with a mates girlfriend which split the club. If I was Tatura I would stay well away from him.

False Rumours are everywhere at the moment!!! That won't happen 100%! How do you know these blokes and stories about them GVFootyfan???

hank1 said:
yeah heard those stories mid-year, but believe your right with Mensch deciding to take the family back to Geelong. Will be interesting to see whether Trewhella and Kayler-Thompson still fly to the swans nest.

Kayler Thomson and Trewhella are originally from Geelong...it's believed they will be part of what I'm trademarking here as "Roman's Empire" at Princess Park.

the Shepparton council has specified that the cricket season starts on the 1st October, from then the Cricket association has the rights to Deakin.

So the GV will need to get permission to use the ground for Grand Final day.

As i said, i'm sure it won't be an issue, but at this stage, Draft 1 of the 2006 GV draw is waiting on the 100% confirmation from the SCA to use Deakin.

For those with short memories, the 2000 GF was played with little hassle on October 1...

Flat Track Bully said:
Kayler Thomson and Trewhella are originally from Geelong...it's believed they will be part of what I'm trademarking here as "Roman's Empire" at Princess Park.

the Shepparton council has specified that the cricket season starts on the 1st October, from then the Cricket association has the rights to Deakin.

So the GV will need to get permission to use the ground for Grand Final day.

As i said, i'm sure it won't be an issue, but at this stage, Draft 1 of the 2006 GV draw is waiting on the 100% confirmation from the SCA to use Deakin.

For those with short memories, the 2000 GF was played with little hassle on October 1...

Good stuff FTB...there you go, should be no problems with the draw then.

What does everyone think of their draw?

Rumour has it Rochy are spending a bit of $$ next year. According to my source who spoke to Dylan Cuttris and Adrian Pappin, they are out to get some stock - not sure if they are targeting locals like Tim Rass, etc, but apparently they are preparing for another GVFL assult. And are going to spend to get what they need.

Look out for the Tige's in 2006 the word is. Can you confirm these rumours Rowey?

A bit more food for thought...Daniel Sage could be on the move. Montmerency are on his tail, as well as the Northern Bullants. Not 100% if he will go, but according to my source, he is seriously thinking about heading back to the big smoke for another crack.

After the game he played in the Granny, its fair enough, although over shadowed by Claytons 403 posessions, Sage was 2nd BOG. Big loss for the maggies though.

footyman said:
Karl Norman to Mooroopna in the Shepp News today - thoughts?

Ummm thats good.....would be a plethora of pingers hanging around in the shepp area, by the way I vote Shepp as the worst town in Victoria!

Wizz said:
But even if i could i reckon it might be a tough ask mate as you get way to much free time and may interrupt my weekend sessions.
ha ha. exactly the sort of thing I was hoping to here from ya mate. do ya think noods will play next year?? could just see him playing and later becoming president and treasurer of a club ha ha.

Wizz said:
nah mate, ha ha dont think so. It wasnt that bad anyway but it was always a good trip up to Seymour in those days, especially the trip home.
yeah bloody oath. my memories of those days are tommy dempsey continually ruining the day for everyone by having beers in the back seat and ********ing everywhere. bloody hell tommy!! bazz always had to stop the bus to see what all the fuss was about and there tommy would be carrying on like a clown. you didn't need beers to have an enjoyable bus trip to seymour - the 100 point pasting we used to cop was enough in itself - but you couldn't tell tommy that!!

fat back pocket said:
Rumour has it Rochy are spending a bit of $$ next year. According to my source who spoke to Dylan Cuttris and Adrian Pappin, they are out to get some stock - not sure if they are targeting locals like Tim Rass, etc, but apparently they are preparing for another GVFL assult. And are going to spend to get what they need.
this source obviously is connected with the north melbourne cricket club...

yeah rochy will definitely be chasing some players. we will need to. we won't get timmy though I am afraid. he has already committed to a club with 2 other mates, might be a bit premature to say where though.

jmain14 said:

yeah rochy will definitely be chasing some players. we will need to. we won't get timmy though I am afraid. he has already committed to a club with 2 other mates, might be a bit premature to say where though.

Dont know if this has been posted already cos havent looked through the pages for a while but Jezza Campbell has been appointed Blackburns Coach.
Would he still be playing? Doubt it.......

ECHUCABOY said:
Dont know if this has been posted already cos havent looked through the pages for a while but Jezza Campbell has been appointed Blackburns Coach.
Would he still be playing? Doubt it.......
yeah mate, he will be playing coach. he is only 27. will you be running around in the eastern league again echuca boy??

jmain14 said:

Ah well. I'm sure they will recruit well, Rochy have a name for being consistantly good.

Do you know whether they will attack melbourne based people, or try and get blokes from Bendigo, and other regional centres? Even try and recruit some players from within the GV?

Big news on Norman...Mooroopna will be in the finals race. Have they recruited anyone else yet? Or are there rumours of anyone else heading to the cats?

fat back pocket said:
Big news on Norman...Mooroopna will be in the finals race. Have they recruited anyone else yet? Or are there rumours of anyone else heading to the cats?

Well as i have said earlier, they have attained norman, nick aloi and along with the Peter White connection at Tongala, they are putting some time into Geoff Conally. In playing with him for the last two years i think he would be the second best defender in the league behind anderson at seymour. If maroopna get him their defense would be pretty solid with hall playing at CHB, vandameer still playing on and conally.

fat back pocket said:
Do you know whether they will attack melbourne based people, or try and get blokes from Bendigo, and other regional centres? Even try and recruit some players from within the GV?
anthony franchina is a name being touted around, as was the case this time last year. other than him I couldn't see rochy targetting many other melb based players but I wouldn't really know. most of the emphasis is on the bendigo based people I think, lenny schmidt plays a pretty big part in hopefully attracting a few big scalps from there.

Travvy43 said:
Well as i have said earlier, they have attained norman, nick aloi and along with the Peter White connection at Tongala, they are putting some time into Geoff Conally. In playing with him for the last two years i think he would be the second best defender in the league behind anderson at seymour. If maroopna get him their defense would be pretty solid with hall playing at CHB, vandameer still playing on and conally.
big call on connally there travvy. I guess you'd know best seeing you have played with him each week over the past 2 seasons. he played in the interleague side, imo he looked a bit out of his depth that day. I suppose he took the best forward each week in a stuggling side and always seemed to hold his own so he has to be admired for that.

fat back pocket said:
Good stuff FTB...there you go, should be no problems with the draw then.

What does everyone think of their draw?

Look out for the Tige's in 2006 the word is. Can you confirm these rumours Rowey?

I've heard a few things, but nothing in concrete. I know they have appointed a recruiting manager which would be the first time in a few years and they are mainly targetting former locals that are playing in the area.

In my opinion, they need to chase some big blokes. Rochy have always had some very handy midfielders, but really need some tall, aggressive players if they are to take the next step.

Jeremy Campbell was contacted, but he has taken the Blackburn job which is fair enough since he lives/works in Melbourne.

The only big name I've heard is Mark Brown who is now living in Echuca and is pretty good mates with Daniel Schmidt.

I think in the next couple of weeks you will see a few clubs announcing 4-5 signigs. Its getting to the stage where the clubs down the bottom for 2005 will need to start announcing to the public that there intentions in 2006 are alot stronger.

cheers

tige19 said:
I think in the next couple of weeks you will see a few clubs announcing 4-5 signigs. Its getting to the stage where the clubs down the bottom for 2005 will need to start announcing to the public that there intentions in 2006 are alot stronger.

cheers

Country clubs are no different to AFL clubs, get some big signings, and those who support the club, but haven't in the past because they haven't been as good get back on board if they know that their team has a chance at being successful.

Happens at every club, people want to be involved with success, and if you can market it, do it.

fat back pocket said:
A bit more food for thought...Daniel Sage could be on the move. Montmerency are on his tail, as well as the Northern Bullants. Not 100% if he will go, but according to my source, he is seriously thinking about heading back to the big smoke for another crack.

After the game he played in the Granny, its fair enough, although over shadowed by Claytons 403 posessions, Sage was 2nd BOG. Big loss for the maggies though.

Won't happen FBP!!! Don't know where you are getting your info from but maybe the local cop shop is talking crap!!! Would be fair enough for other clubs to chase sagey but he won't be going anywhere!!! He LOVES IT at Euroa!!!

GVFLFAN said:
Won't happen FBP!!! Don't know where you are getting your info from but maybe the local cop shop is talking crap!!! Would be fair enough for other clubs to chase sagey but he won't be going anywhere!!! He LOVES IT at Euroa!!!

Ok, well, there wasn't too much talk about him definitely staying. All i know is that there was a lot of talk of him going back to melbourne. Only time will tell i suppose.

fat back pocket said:
Ok, well, there wasn't too much talk about him definitely staying. All i know is that there was a lot of talk of him going back to melbourne. Only time will tell i suppose.

I think you may have your wires crossed a bit champ becasue he is thinking of moving back to melbourne to live but will still be playing at Euroa next year!!! There is a tight knit group of mates playing at Euroa, melbourne and local players, and he won't leave now with unfinished business!!!I have stated in previous posts that we will only lose 1 player and that is happy harper!!! No one else at this stage and not likely to be but as you know so much about our footy club i am sure you will be able to inform us all if there is whether it be true or false!!! Very likely false!!!

GVFLFAN said:
I think you may have your wires crossed a bit champ becasue he is thinking of moving back to melbourne to live but will still be playing at Euroa next year!!! There is a tight knit group of mates playing at Euroa, melbourne and local players, and he won't leave now with unfinished business!!!I have stated in previous posts that we will only lose 1 player and that is happy harper!!! No one else at this stage and not likely to be but as you know so much about our footy club i am sure you will be able to inform us all if there is whether it be true or false!!! Very likely false!!!

maybe its false. But i can tell you i got it straight from the horses mouth!!! And this was over the weekend. So...yeah.