• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

fat back pocket said:
And what a warm cuddle it was too...see at least I'm not a loner like you, I'm not a bloke who jumps on the band wagon of success. I'm finding more and more about who you are you raging Homo!

Maybe you should change your name to "Magnet Pusher...but offers nothing else".

That would be a great description of you, would it not?
That makes me sad to think a cuddle from a man makes you feel wanted. Oh well it takes all types to make the world go round. Great username that also, maybe I will change.

GVFootyfan said:
That makes me sad to think a cuddle from a man makes you feel wanted. Oh well it takes all types to make the world go round. Great username that also, maybe I will change.

I think you should, it is so true isn't it???

GVFootyfan said:
Looks like Duff Man has jumped the fence to give FBP a cuddle.
GVFootyfan said:
Whats your problem f**k wit?

Judging by the time you posted that pathetic quote, maybe your problem is the fact that you do not have a life. Either that, or you've just got home after working your very responsible job at Luna Park, where you man the dodgem car ride.

Did you spend a bit too much time last night hanging off the back of the dodgems, or are you just hyper from eating too many toffee apples.

F u k'n carni folk. :rolleyes:

Duff Man said:
GVFootyfan said:

Judging by the time you posted that pathetic quote, maybe your problem is the fact that you do not have a life. Either that, or you've just got home after working your very responsible job at Luna Park, where you man the dodgem car ride.

Did you spend a bit too much time last night hanging off the back of the dodgems, or are you just hyper from eating too many toffee apples.

Carni's...ah, gotta love'm. Great post Duff Man. he he.

Duff Man said:
GVFootyfan said:

Hey Duff Man, I saw your twin the other day. I thought it was you. I even shouted your name but it just kept fingering its a r s e and eating its banana.

jmain14 said:
jezz and timmy's record at that poor excuse of a ground isn't too bad I guess - if they had of been playing for rochy in the more recent times it mightn't look so flash though. rochy always used to go to mansfield and pump the $h!t out of them - how times have changed in the past couple of years!!

yeah I agree it wouldn't really bother jezz (aka lingy) playing on the smaller type grounds, however timmy's game may suffer a little. as for mcmahon, from what I remember he relies a hell of a lot on run and space - something he may not get much of at home games next year. then again, I don't think I have seen him play since his pioneers and kangaroos days so I really wouldn't have a clue.

Congrats on passing the magical 1,000 mark. :thumbsu:

fat back pocket said:
Duff Man said:

Carni's...ah, gotta love'm. Great post Duff Man. he he.

yeah nothing wrong with carni's at all. we had a few of them at rochy a while back - lester and victor eade spring to mind. victor was best known for his quote back in the under 16 days which went 'him, him the one ump. number 17. he's being doing it all day.' - it was a case of victor putting his best efforts forward into getting a bloke from tatura sent off after he had decked his son lester in the play. fair enough if he said it just once as he could've been excused for getting caught up in the heat of the moment but the clown was in the umpies ear for the rest of the day from the moment on. for the record, that number 17 wasn't sent off and he went on to become one of their best players in their 120-odd point thrashing over us. we weren't much of a side that year!!

This thread has nosed dived into depths almost unreachable with the pathetic dribble some (note SOME) of you tossas are posting.

From the start of the year we had some great people posting, there where some great debates and great discussion however more recentley the posting has turned into Primary School like bitching.

90% of the blokes on here are great to have a talk with, they have educated opinions which most of us appreciate and contribute in, unfortuantley there is that 10% of overweight, big mouthed donkeys that continue to bring down the good on this board.

If anyone else besides my self is getting sick of the crap that goes on in the GV thread, shout out and ill have the fat geeks moved on ;) .

Cheers to ECHUCABOY,Travvy,Jmain,Doona,BradRowe who are probably the original blokes on the board and actually talk some sense.

tige19 said:
Cheers to ECHUCABOY,Travvy,Jmain,Doona,BradRowe who are probably the original blokes on the board and actually talk some sense.
yes I'd have to admit that I'd be right up there in relation to talking the most sense throughout this thread.

tige19 said:
This thread has nosed dived into depths almost unreachable with the pathetic dribble some (note SOME) of you tossas are posting.

From the start of the year we had some great people posting, there where some great debates and great discussion however more recentley the posting has turned into Primary School like bitching.

90% of the blokes on here are great to have a talk with, they have educated opinions which most of us appreciate and contribute in, unfortuantley there is that 10% of overweight, big mouthed donkeys that continue to bring down the good on this board.

If anyone else besides my self is getting sick of the crap that goes on in the GV thread, shout out and ill have the fat geeks moved on ;) .

Come on Shannon, that was a bit harsh. THere has been a lot of good things posted by many others than those listed.

tige19 said:

No doubt I'm one of the 10% you're referring to tige, and I'm happy to talk footy and have a bit of fun along the way. But I'm not gonna cop any s h i t from others without slinging it right back at them.

If my memory serves me correctly, you were happy to call me a loser in recent weeks, so you cant expect not to get any bites if your going to throw the bait out there.

Anyway, I agree with your comments 100% and think it would be better if we can try and stick to footy - but its also good to stir the pot a little as we go.

jmain14 said:
fat back pocket said:
yeah nothing wrong with carni's at all. we had a few of them at rochy a while back - lester and victor eade spring to mind. victor was best known for his quote back in the under 16 days which went 'him, him the one ump. number 17. he's being doing it all day.' - it was a case of victor putting his best efforts forward into getting a bloke from tatura sent off after he had decked his son lester in the play. fair enough if he said it just once as he could've been excused for getting caught up in the heat of the moment but the clown was in the umpies ear for the rest of the day from the moment on. for the record, that number 17 wasn't sent off and he went on to become one of their best players in their 120-odd point thrashing over us. we weren't much of a side that year!!

Haha, I miss the carnies.

Lester had the best nickname ever: 'Showbags'.

tige19 said:

Thanks tige19 an honour to be names in such high company!!! C'mon lads back to the footy hey.

Duff Man said:
No doubt I'm one of the 10% you're referring to tige, and I'm happy to talk footy and have a bit of fun along the way. But I'm not gonna cop any s h i t from others without slinging it right back at them.

If my memory serves me correctly, you were happy to call me a loser in recent weeks, so you cant expect not to get any bites if your going to throw the bait out there.

Anyway, I agree with your comments 100% and think it would be better if we can try and stick to footy - but its also good to stir the pot a little as we go.

Agreed dude, and i cant recall calling you a loser however i do say many things which i dont remember.

As a matter of a fact i wasnt actually directing any comments or the 10% to you, considering there are about 15 people who reguarly post on here my comments where directed mainly at GVfoortyfan and another bloke.

FBP i dont mind you mate, i like your posts, there very biased towards Seymour but still very entertaining.

I like to give $hit as well but its good to hear more footy, less cricker and less sooking. Id prefer to give insults and listen to them when its footy related that when its just dribble for nothing.

Anyhow each to there own, if you blokes like to listen to eachother ramble on about crap thats fantastic but try and keep it out of here.

cheers lads

Doona2 said:
Thanks tige19 an honour to be names in such high company!!! C'mon lads back to the footy hey.

Hmmm, don't really have much at the moment Doona.

There was an article in Shepp. News about the draw being tweaked a bit. I don't have it in front of me, but I think Tatura requested something and Rochester wanted one of their last two games to be at home.

I believe the updated draw will come out early next week.

Also, Rochester have advertised for a weights coach, reserves coach and thirds coach.

Not sure about the weights coach. I assume that this person will be a general fitness person that helps players develop a progam and makes sure they stick to it. In theory, it's not a bad idea because the club has a fair few young blokes, so it's good to build them up. Also, it free David Williams to concentrate more on the match day things.

Doona2 said:

No probs mate......

spot on about getting things back onto the footy.

Hows things going with benallla over the off season. Plenty has been talked about other clubs although they have been the sleeping giants. Anyone know of any movements with them, is jock still coaching, will stevo play on, will symes knock back generous offers to stay with them???

Travvy43 said:
spot on about getting things back onto the footy.

Hows things going with benallla over the off season. Plenty has been talked about other clubs although they have been the sleeping giants. Anyone know of any movements with them, is jock still coaching, will stevo play on, will symes knock back generous offers to stay with them???

Travvy, Jock will coach again, Stevo as far as im aware will have 1 more season with the Saints and Ricky Symes i would assume will stay as his employment and life is in Benalla.

I only know of Adam Cosham who is heading to Port Melbourne from Benalla but other than him i dont think they would lose any players, there a pretty tight nit group of mates.

tige19 said:

Yeap looks that way still seems a few Euroa people are still seething about the GF result and the Seymour fellas letting them know about it.

Doona2 said:
Have a mate who plays VFL (North Ballarat) and know a bit about his club, but Im not privvy to the difference in pay from VFL to GVFL. Could anyone shed some light as to whether GVFL clubs match or better VFL clubs in regards to match payments.

Doona 2 there isnt too much diffrence in payments from the VFL to the GVFL , In the VFL high priced players are on about 7 - 1,000 a game and your border line players are about 3 - $600 but the diffrence is you get taxed in the VFL, and you dont of course playing in the GVFL . So if your earning $800 in the VFL your only taking home $500, where you earn $500 in the GVFL you take that home.So a lot of the boys coming out of the VFL would probably get a little bit more than what they where in the VFL . [ Borderline players] .

Grandale for some reason I like Distinction but that all could change by tuesday.

Tige got any of those hot tips or keepin them to yourself again!! :D

Im going for a few outsides 2moz, Im likeing, Insanami, Dea, Raid the Royals, Fields of Omagh, and cant go past pendragon. Im ganna have a dip at a few roughies cos I cant afford to outlay the big bucks on favourites!

And wouldnt be suprised if danger looms does something................ ;)

Anyways could be a really good day for me or a shocker!

Back to footy, word has it that Echuca are chasing up 7 or 8 blokes but still are highly against what seymour euroa etc. did last year and what other clubs, including echuca have done in the past. Go to the GVFL website click on the Echuca link and have a little browse through there policies etc. very interesting reading, ill post a little of it......

Introduction

The Echuca Football & Netball Club has a proud tradition that spans two centuries and is decorated with success. With a belief in the ability of the local youth and the confidence in the recruited experience, the club has been able to develop a formula that has seen much local success as well as many local players entering the higher echelons of the game; with thirteen Echuca players being drafted or signed to AFL (VFL) clubs in the modern era.

The 2005 senior GVFL Grand Final was a great game of football. Yet it had an undercurrent we must be careful not to be swept up in. Utilising the chequebook recruiting mentality does very little for the development of the ?local club?. There is a balance that needs to exist between on field success and the longevity of the local club environment. Of course the on field success is the quest; but there is very little to gain if the ?club? is the casualty in the search for the ?holy grail?. I believe it also worth reflecting on why so many Swans supporters waited for over 70 years for the premiership cup, if it is the only measure of success. For most of the past five years I believe the Echuca Football & Netball Club has nearly got the formula right.

This formula is better scrutinised by the senior football side?s twenty two finals appearances in the thirty years of their GVFL involvement. With greatest success being in the new millennium capturing back to back premierships in 2001 & 2002, followed by runners-up in 2003 and a finals campaign again in 2004; where all three grades of football competed and three of the four grades of netball were also in the finals action. The picture on field took a different shape in 2005; with both the senior and under 18 football sides off the mark for finals action. All but the under 17 netballers had a less than successful finals series. Although gallant in defeat, the young side fell short by one goal.

ECHUCABOY said:
Tige got any of those hot tips or keepin them to yourself again!! :D

QUOTE]

Dude back Headturner. That is my tip and i assure you it will out stay Pendragon, have a read.

Summary

The last two years Derby Winners have been Plastered (115) and Elvstroem (114). Plastered beat Cox Plate winner Savabeel and Elvstroem beat fellow blue blood Kempinsky, who streeted the rest. Given the quality of those two horses mentioned and the apparent lack of depth in this field it can be safely stated that any horse who can rate 114 in this race will win it. In fact, in our opinion a 112 might be good enough, which is what we’ve set the race on. Here’s the table:

No. Horse Barrier Last 3 ratings Expected Peak Expertform Assessed Rating To win, needs to rate at least Expertform Assessed Price
1 PENDRAGON 15 110-111-112 112 111 112 $9.0
2 DANGER LOOMS 4 105-102-103 112 109 112 $50.2
3 DUELLED 2 105-110-110 110 110 112 $17.0
4 HEADTURNER 8 109-112-110 114 114 112 $2.5
5 GALLANT GURU 5 106-107-107 112 112 112 $5.0
6 REPLICATOR 3 103-110-108 110 109 112 $51.0
7 POWER OF DESTINY 16 106-103-88 111 106 112 $250.0
8 MANTON 12 106-110-110 110 110 112 $21.0
9 BENICIO 11 98-107-106 110 110 112 $10.0
10 POINT MADE 7 105-98-102 111 111 112 $13.0
11 MAJORCA 6 101-106-98 106 106 112 $250.0
12 SHOTGUN SAXON 14 107-98-102 112 107 112 $250.0
13 PORTLAND SPIRIT 10 101-102-106 106 106 112 $250.0
14 ESCAPE ARTIST 9 92-94-101 104 104 112 $250.0
15 ON THE MAP 1 102-102-99 102 102 112 $250.0
16 ON THE KNOCKER 13 93-94-93 99 99 112 $250.0

SUMMARY

HEADTURNER is the only horse in this race who has an expected peak above 112, and the only horse who we can reasonably see rating above 112. In the view of the Expertform rating’s, he is certain to do at least 112 and is more likely to find a peak of 114.

Consider the reasons why: Three starts ago, at MV over an unsuitable 1500m he ran a strong closing 2nd, rating 109. That was at an unsuitable track over an unsuitable trip. He was blocked in rounding the bend and only had the small MV straight in which to wind up. A 5 point level above that is 114. Next start, at Flemington, he ran a new best of 112, finishing too powerfully over 1800m to win. In that race, he ran his final 400m in 22.89, more than half a second faster than the next quickest final 400 in the race, a 23.42. It was the run of a horse who would have won by further had it been a race over further. It was the run of a horse not yet at his peak. Horse’s peak when they’re spent on the line, no energy left to rate with. Headturner was not spent rating 112 that day, meaning his expected peak is higher than 112.

Next start, and the reason for him being 2nd favourite behind Pendragon this Saturday, Headturner ran 2nd to Pendragon, beaten a short half head, at Caulfield over 2000m, rating 110. In that race he tracked Pendragon the whole way, gave him 2.5L straightening in a slow pace and just failed to run him down. This time, Headturner broke 23 for his final 400m, running it in 22.36 while Pendragon ran 22.59. Headturner ran his final 200 in 11.25 compared to Pendragon’s 11.45. The slow pace makes those sectionals a little flattering for both horses but the slow pace is also the reason Pendragon was able to hold Headturner out, and even then only just. The extra ground will suit Headturner more than Pendragon. He is a natural, strong stayer. If he finds a peak rating of 114, he will win the Derby. We conservatively rate him a $2.50 chance.

Third selection is the favourite PENDRAGON. We have mentioned his run in last start where he beat Headturner and the sectionals they ran above. This time, he won’t get it quite so easy. He has drawn very badly in 15 and will either have to lead or go back. If he goes back then he will be giving Headturner a start, which will make it very hard for him to win. He is a high class galloper however who in his last 3 runs has rated 112-111-110 and therefore could very well make a 117 horse as a 4yo, which will make him a regular in the Group 1’s. However, he is not a 117 horse yet and will not rate 117 in this Derby. To say he could rate 117 already would be to say he is 1.5 lengths superior to how Elvstroem was at the same time. That is plainly not true. The best he can do in it is 112, which although makes him a chance certainly does not make him a $2.70 chance, which he is currently in the market. However, for the reasons stated above this horse is a query at the 2500m. He might have no problem with it, but at Caulfield he was not as strong as Headturner on the line and even the 4th horse Point Made was running a faster final 200 than him. He is a definite query to last the trip, which is why we have given him 111 instead of 112 and rated him a $9.0 chance.

Thats why i wont back Pendragon mate, serioulsy get on Headturner, these guys are spot on.

cheers