• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

No Heart said:
Doona 2 there isnt too much diffrence in payments from the VFL to the GVFL , In the VFL high priced players are on about 7 - 1,000 a game and your border line players are about 3 - $600 but the diffrence is you get taxed in the VFL, and you dont of course playing in the GVFL . So if your earning $800 in the VFL your only taking home $500, where you earn $500 in the GVFL you take that home.So a lot of the boys coming out of the VFL would probably get a little bit more than what they where in the VFL . [ Borderline players] .
Good to see you're happy to talk footy again No Heart, and so am I mate so lets just get on with the bizz.

This is a good point you raise, and no doubt the reason we have seen an influx of ex VFL (and ex AFL) players in the GV this year. In fact if you look at most of the 'better' sides, they would all have at least a couple of these types lining up each week.

And why not....its a damn good standard, pays well, and is pretty clean when compared to some of the suburban leagues I've heard about.

Without a doubt you look at all the quality players that are running around in the competition now, it has to be one of the best leagues going around. Duff i see Darren Ogier to coach some where up your way, did go for the shepp job i .heard

Here's one that I heard today from what I would call a reliable source. Nick Miller (Shepp Bears) will be leaving them to play suburban footy next year. Two possible teams mentioned were Greensborough and Doncaster East, but he has quite a few mates down that way, so hasn't started to make any decision as yet.

I've seen this bloke play a couple of times this year, but really noticed him against Saad (Seymour) early on in the year, and then Bamford (Euroa) mid way through the season. Both times I reckon he came out on top or at least broke even, which is a fair effort when you consider the quality of the opposition.

Regular followers of Shepp Bears may be able to shine a bit more light here, but from what I've seen of him, the loss of Miller will weaken their backline considerably, especially when Hickmott has already been lost to them.

Will be a loss Man Duff if thats the case because you are right very good player, what else is going on up there?

No Heart said:
Without a doubt you look at all the quality players that are running around in the competition now, it has to be one of the best leagues going around. Duff i see Darren Ogier to coach some where up your way, did go for the shepp job i .heard
Darren Ogier is coaching Katamatite next year (Picola League). Paper mentioned he is ex-AFL player (Carlton, Swans, North I think?) and also was an assistant at Northern Bullants.

Thats a good pick up for their club, but in that league you could be Paul Roos and it wouldn't count for much if you didnt have the cattle on the field.

How far of the GVFL is that competition? I heard [i know ] he went for the bears job and it come down to him or Mellington, was it a case of in the end not wanting the job or didnt he get it. Just reading in another tread [rumours for the 06 season ] and yours and GV's mate tige 19 not happy with Balraj Singh, they believe hes just a money man,and i totally agree with what they where saying too surely you would take apay cut to help get the team to the finals. If they can keep the big fello and blakey and add , not far of the finals then you would think.

No Heart said:
How far of the GVFL is that competition? I heard [i know ] he went for the bears job and it come down to him or Mellington, was it a case of in the end not wanting the job or didnt he get it. Just reading in another tread [rumours for the 06 season ] and yours and GV's mate tige 19 not happy with Balraj Singh, they believe hes just a money man,and i totally agree with what they where saying too surely you would take apay cut to help get the team to the finals. If they can keep the big fello and blakey and add , not far of the finals then you would think.
Mate, Picola League is a big big drop from GVFL. The top few sides might have two or three blokes who could aspire to GVFL, but the rest are either too old, too lazy or simply not good enough.

I know that sounds bad, and I'm sure there's a lot of good players I'm not aware of. But my point is that it is a big step. To give you an example, one of Tonny's average players could be quite a good player in that comp.

Interesting to hear that Ogier was in the mix for Shepp Bears coaching role, but all I got up this way was the fact that they didnt want Hickmott back or they were almost guaranteed to lose about 8 regular senior players.

As for vee-jay (Singh) check out the other thread cause I've already had my say there.

Hey Echucaboy, have you heard anything about Durie? I heard a rumour yesterday that he might be on the go.

And of course, there is the annual Rhys Archard rumour. I assume he will stick around and terrorise the comp again.

QUOTE]

Dude back Headturner. That is my tip and i assure you it will out stay Pendragon, have a read.

[/QUOTE]

Happy to report that for the second week in a row I have come away from the races with more money than I went with. Lad Of The Manor was my only winner for the day (bar a little saver on Benicio) but if there was one I needed to win for the day. Banked on it in the quaddie, which I ended up getting.
Bring on Tuesday.

Grandale said:
QUOTE]

Dude back Headturner. That is my tip and i assure you it will out stay Pendragon, have a read.

Happy to report that for the second week in a row I have come away from the races with more money than I went with. Lad Of The Manor was my only winner for the day (bar a little saver on Benicio) but if there was one I needed to win for the day. Banked on it in the quaddie, which I ended up getting.
Bring on Tuesday.[/QUOTE]

Yes i sucked, gotta make up some ground cup day!! Missed the benicio leg of the quaddie, how much did it pay?

ECHUCABOY said:
Bring on Tuesday.

Yes i sucked, gotta make up some ground cup day!! Missed the benicio leg of the quaddie, how much did it pay?[/QUOTE]

Quaddy paid $2.5k.

But footy wise, heard on the weekend paul newman was offered a rookie list triakl with the Sydney Swans, turned it down. It looks like he will be lining up with Kyabram again next year.

Eagles fly coop

Mensch, Tranquilli, Hulme are out for season 2006

Written by STEVE KELLY, Mansfield Courier

DAVID Mensch heads the list of players who won’t be playing for the Mansfield Football Club in 2006.

Also departing are Andrew Tranquilli and Darren Hulme, who were valuable early this season, but missed out on showing their ability in the finals after both sustained hamstring injuries.

Mensch, who coached the Eagles to their first premiership in the Goulburn Valley Football League in 2004, will head off to his hometown of Geelong where he played his AFL career at the Cats.

centreman said:
Eagles fly coop

DAVID Mensch heads the list of players who won’t be playing for the Mansfield Football Club in 2006.

Also departing are Andrew Tranquilli and Darren Hulme, who were valuable early this season, but missed out on showing their ability in the finals after both sustained hamstring injuries.

Mensch, who coached the Eagles to their first premiership in the Goulburn Valley Football League in 2004, will head off to his hometown of Geelong where he played his AFL career at the Cats.
stiff $h!t eagles!! can't say I feel the slightest bit sorry for them.

ECHUCABOY said:
Yes i sucked, gotta make up some ground cup day!! Missed the benicio leg of the quaddie, how much did it pay?

Quad paid $2040 or something like that. Got half of that. Went in it with my brother so I then only got half of that, but it made up for all my earlier losses.

centreman said:
Eagles fly coop

Here's one for you. Saw Mensch at the races on Saturday with Dean Talbot, who this year coached Bell Park in the Geelong comp. Could he be lining up there?

Duff Man said:
Here's one that I heard today from what I would call a reliable source. Nick Miller (Shepp Bears) will be leaving them to play suburban footy next year. Two possible teams mentioned were Greensborough and Doncaster East, but he has quite a few mates down that way, so hasn't started to make any decision as yet.
I've seen this bloke play a couple of times this year, but really noticed him against Saad (Seymour) early on in the year, and then Bamford (Euroa) mid way through the season. Both times I reckon he came out on top or at least broke even, which is a fair effort when you consider the quality of the opposition.

Regular followers of Shepp Bears may be able to shine a bit more light here, but from what I've seen of him, the loss of Miller will weaken their backline considerably, especially when Hickmott has already been lost to them.

I think your on the money re: leaving Shepp but dunno about having quite a few mates down that way :eek: I think you might have dreamt that one up Duffman.....

Matt Trewhella has re-signed with Mansfield, as has Josh Walker despite nibbles from some O and M clubs.

Chris Atkin's is believed to be weighing up an offer from Wangaratta.

Lachlan Veale to be unveiled as a Shepp Swans recruit within the fortnight.

Aussie_dude said:
How much money do the top GVFL teams have to spend on players. Like 150-200K????

Thats a tough one there to answer Aussie dude because it comes down to a couple of things,1st you can only spend what your budget allows you to spend, and 2nd what the players are willing to play for.this is a very touchy subject and as much as we all read clubs are throwing money here there and everywhere it is not all ways the case. Dont be surprized if seymour 2005 premiers and euroa paid just as much money in 2005 as a couple of teams that finished of the pace ,its a known fact that most the bullant boys followed stevie d up to seymour and played for less money so they could all stay together and try and win a flag.Euroa is in the same boat again Clayton , janz , sage all they wanted to do was play in a good comp and play with there mates,Janzy had every club in melb chase him but at the end of the day it wasnt money that won, it was the chance to play in a great comp
with freinds.So if you can get the right people in the right high places they will bring the right players for the right money and then when you do all that, then you will be told by everyone around that your [throwing the money around] its a shame that clubs dont get the credit at times that they deserve,and im sure neither of the grandfinal teams spent $150,000.

Flat Track Bully said:
Matt Trewhella has re-signed with Mansfield, as has Josh Walker despite nibbles from some O and M clubs.

Chris Atkin's is believed to be weighing up an offer from Wangaratta.

Lachlan Veale to be unveiled as a Shepp Swans recruit within the fortnight.
Speaking of Shepp Swans, has anyone got any news on other signings they are likely to secure for next year.

There was heaps of talk about a month ago that they were securing some big names with the assistance of Crazy Johns, but nothing seems to have happened. Mensch was linked to the Swans early on, but he is heading back to Geelong and I heard that Trewhella was also linked - but now evidently staying with the Eagles. Another one that was linked was Kayler-Thomson?

At the time these were pretty strong rumours, but since then I would say that Mooroopna have probably been the most active in chasing players.

Junkie said:
I think your on the money re: leaving Shepp but dunno about having quite a few mates down that way :eek: I think you might have dreamt that one up Duffman.....
Your right Junkie - I don't know exactly how many mates he has (if any). Perhaps I should have said that he does know quite a few people involved with other footy clubs down there. If he does decide to leave Shepp, I reckon Mellington would also pass his name on to a few people as Miller would be a good pick up.

Duff Man said:

Think you've had a few too many duffs there duff man. Nick is a great player but you've given a pretty ordinairy example there. He played full back against euroa early in the year ( and took a ton of marks - solid all day ) against a variety of substitute full forwards when grainger was injured. Second time they played he ended up playing centre half forward for a fair portion of the game. Theres not a chance that miller would have played on a small half forward like bamford, whos at least 5 inches shorter than him - that would be a terrible match-up.

I have heard the same rumour as you that Nick is looking at his options in melbourne. It will be interesting to see if his long time "flat mate" simon lang will depart shep as well.

Short answer no... Long answer yes with a but....

a.k.a. said:
Think you've had a few too many duffs there duff man. Nick is a great player but you've given a pretty ordinairy example there. He played full back against euroa early in the year ( and took a ton of marks - solid all day ) against a variety of substitute full forwards when grainger was injured. Second time they played he ended up playing centre half forward for a fair portion of the game. Theres not a chance that miller would have played on a small half forward like bamford, whos at least 5 inches shorter than him - that would be a terrible match-up.

I have heard the same rumour as you that Nick is looking at his options in melbourne. It will be interesting to see if his long time "flat mate" simon lang will depart shep as well.

Short answer no... Long answer yes with a but....

If Miller did leave the Bears, would that hurt their chances much? As in, were him and Hickmott Shepp's 2 best defenders? If so, it'd be tough to have to replace both of them...esp if they could both play forward as well.

Another one that was linked was Kayler-Thomson?

JKT is staying in WA for another 2 years