• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

TuskenRaider said:
Fair call re their ground Bradrowe, it's as good a reason as any. It'd be a fair old trek from Rochy to Mansfield too.

Yeah, it was a fair hike, but the bus trip home made it worth it:thumbsu:

Stephen White played over 100 games at Sturt and kicked over 300 goals. Mates with Xavier Campball an echuca lad who was back playing with the murray Bombers last year after a stint at Sturt.

Rowey: tall guy with red hair and knee brace

that would be Scott 'Cobbies' Bester

went OS for a while, met some bird in the states, came back but whereabouts not known. Last heard of footy involvement was at Strathmore in the EDFL. His old man was a legendary trainer for a few years at the lions den, who's looks were not dis-similar to Krusty the Clown :)

half time lollies said:
I believe 1 of these players you are talking about EB has lodged a clearance with the GVFL (see tranfers list). A bloke by the name of Stephen White who actually played at Wagga Tigers last year but prior to this was at Sturt. Don't know alot about him but if he's played SANFL footy must go alright!!
Stephen White did play SANFL, a man mountain. Played FF mainly and ruck, very strong, but a bit slow. Have not seen him since he left the SANFL, looked in reasonable condition then, but also looked the type to put a few kilo's easily. Even if he is a bit over his best weight will take a very strong defender to budge him. Don't have up to date data on him, but in 2003 was 27 years old, 195 cms, 100 kg, bit understated the weight, I think. Had played over 140 games and over 250 goals.

uncletoby said:
I think that harlf time lollies is stilla bit upset that his side didnt win the grandfinal, i carnt blame you.. but that is still no need to take it out on random ppl. That was a poor performance on your behalf, we may not be up to your exceptional level of posting(bah ha) but we dont spin crap all day long. Thats a good idea of starting a new poll of biggest heck w i t because from what i have seen so far you would be at the top of most ppls list. Just have a think before you speek next time, you might thank your self for it!!!

Ill give my votes to

Echuca
Seymour
Shepp United

And i think half time lollies is right.. Echuca boy and Uncletoby get my votes for biggest heck w i t s on this forum....

Doona , heard you had been seen down at the lions den watching trainig and in fact, had a long chat with the great sj. Could you be interested in getting onboard and learning a few things of the master. Is there any truth in this ???

Ahbroke Miandad........

You mention someone by the name of Durling!

Over in the WAFL we had a Luke Durling playing for East Fremantle this year.
I think he came over with Joel Sofi.

Is Luke Durling back over there this year in Victoria or still in the WAFL?

I see Simon Gordon has returned to Seymour from Healesville in the YVMDFL for 2006.

How do the Seymour guys think he will go? What position will he play? My opinion is that he is a bit overrated and certainly did not deliver during his previous two seasons with Healesville.

localfootyguru said:
I see Simon Gordon has returned to Seymour from Healesville in the YVMDFL for 2006.

How do the Seymour guys think he will go? What position will he play? My opinion is that he is a bit overrated and certainly did not deliver during his previous two seasons with Healesville.

Not 2 sure of the standard but he did kick 42 last yr.

I see there is a Gary Moorcroft playing for Silvan that kicked 43 for the yr, is it Moorcroft from Ess. ?

No Heart said:
Doona , heard you had been seen down at the lions den watching trainig and in fact, had a long chat with the great sj. Could you be interested in getting onboard and learning a few things of the master. Is there any truth in this ???

Words sure does spread because I heard something similar, Hearty...could big, bonnie Doona be in line for some early rises in 2006???
Say, No Heart, you seem to be in the know; any word on how the Lions camp to Portsea went over the weekend?

Rochy had a ''training'' camp over the weekend at Corop. Apparently some of the better performers were

- Speedy Powels (president) who didn't get any sleep on the Friday night, not bad for a 50+ year old, and
- Heath Aitken who found himself sound asleep at 5pm on Saturday afternoon after drinking with Tim Cottom all afternoon

CherryPie43 said:
Ahbroke Miandad........

You mention someone by the name of Durling!

Over in the WAFL we had a Luke Durling playing for East Fremantle this year.
I think he came over with Joel Sofi.

Is Luke Durling back over there this year in Victoria or still in the WAFL?

Luke Durling (better known for being Natalie's cousin) I think that is him as he was friends with Sofi, they might have played a year together at Shepp United..??

Not sure what he's doing this year.... did he play 1s or 2s over in WA?

Haha cheers Orange Boy, you must have big manly muscles.

Thanks for filling in the gaps half time lollies, haven't been home too Echuca for a while so haven't heard any detail.

Fish8 Interesting that you mentioned Vic Hamit............

THE OFFICIAL BIGFOOTY GVFL THREAD MOST HATED SIDE

Shepp Utd - 29
Shepp Bears- 18
Shepp Swans- 16
Echuca - 14
Mansfield - 13
Euroa - 6
Benalla - 5
Seymour - 4
Mooroopna - 4
Rochy - 1 :confused:

Echuca made a late run thanks to mainly the Rochy boys, but in the end it was the arrogant, ignorant, big headed, Soft doodled, front running, snipeing, squealing, crap haired and white booted Shepparton Clubs which took the cake.

ECHUCABOY said:

Thanks for filling in the gaps half time lollies, haven't been home too Echuca for a while so haven't heard any detail.

Shepp Utd - 29
Shepp Bears- 18
Shepp Swans- 16
Echuca - 14
Mansfield - 13
Euroa - 6
Benalla - 5
Seymour - 4
Mooroopna - 4

Echuca made a late run thanks to mainly the Rochy boys, but in the end it was the arrogant, ignorant, big headed, Soft doodled, front running, snipeing, squealing, crap haired and white booted Shepparton Clubs which took the cake.

Christ u need 2 get a life.

wheelbarrow said:
Christ u need 2 get a life.

Righto mate, just passing some time at work, ease up on the blasphemy I'm certain there are a fair few church goers on this thread.

Nothing of Vic Hamit fish.

ECHUCABOY said:

Shepp Utd - 29
Shepp Bears- 18
Shepp Swans- 16
Echuca - 14
Mansfield - 13
Euroa - 6
Benalla - 5
Seymour - 4
Mooroopna - 4

I can't believe Tat didn't make the list (neither did Ky) considering people are very quick to bag them and the Ryans'.

isn't doona coaching seymour thirds? doona should be coaching Assumption collage i reckon

gta3 said:
isn't doona coaching seymour thirds? doona should be coaching Assumption collage i reckon

Not coaching Lions 3's and I guess ur taking the pi$$ re: ur second comment

Grandale said:
Words sure does spread because I heard something similar, Hearty...could big, bonnie Doona be in line for some early rises in 2006???
Say, No Heart, you seem to be in the know; any word on how the Lions camp to Portsea went over the weekend?

Heard it was a great success again,boys had to be down there by 8 pm , Mark Williams [ assistant coach Melbourne and Sandringham back to back flags ] spoke to the boys about the up and coming season and what to expect from opposition sides this year. after that i heard the boys had to do a 2 km beach run in their teams carring a stretcher with one of the coaches on it [ this was im told about 11 pm ] got to bed about 12 30am then had to be up at 530 am to do the triathlon. Saturday was made up of beach and game activitys and finished im told about 6pm, and they all went to the portsea pub for tea and gas. P King won the tri , and R Douglas team won overall, have not heard yet about any stories at the pub ??

No Heart said:
Heard it was a great success again,boys had to be down there by 8 pm , Mark Williams [ assistant coach Melbourne and Sandringham back to back flags ] spoke to the boys about the up and coming season and what to expect from opposition sides this year. after that i heard the boys had to do a 2 km beach run in their teams carring a stretcher with one of the coaches on it [ this was im told about 11 pm ] got to bed about 12 30am then had to be up at 530 am to do the triathlon. Saturday was made up of beach and game activitys and finished im told about 6pm, and they all went to the portsea pub for tea and gas. P King won the tri , and R Douglas team won overall, have not heard yet about any stories at the pub ??

You didnt go No Heart, decided to stay and play cricket instead?