Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

hank1 said:
Sorry mate will elaborate for you, since 98 is 9years including this year and I assumed he would have done it for nothing atleast 1 year before then (more than likely more) so that is $20,000 a year for 10 years, I would think most major league clubs would take David Williams for that. Also wasnt always non-playing, played until 2001 so there is a minimum 4 years as playing coach thrown in. So thats how I came up with atleast $200,000.

Cheers

Is Dirty pretty well off financially?? Business or something??

All in all a great effort:thumbsu:

IMO Rochy would be up $hits creek without a paddle if he wasn't around!

tige19 said:
Ive heard massive raps on Tossol, if ahyone has heard him from the sidelines or the huddle can they give us an idea of what makes him so good???

Tige, heard Tossols half time address at the Mansfield v Benalla semi final when Benalla were showing a s h i t load of heart to have themselves in front at half time.

Thought tossol was ok, his players weren't playing well and deserved a spray considering the tallent in their squad. But from what i saw that day, doesn't seem like a bloke who could give a good spray when required to pump the boys up (when its deserved)...which doesn't mean he isn't a good coach, but I would assume Dirty would be able to give blokes the angry spray to fire them up?

Tossols 3/4 time address was pretty tamed, he gave good instruction, analysed the game pretty good, his team ended up running over Benalla in the end.

Should be interesting this year, people will be able to see how good tossol is when he doesn't have the squad of players like Euroa and Seymour. If he can get the most out of his players and get them too the finals, you'd have to give him a fair bit of credit?

SJ Daniel gave the boys a massive spray at 3/4 time vs Rochy before the finals, and was probably the best spray i've seen from a coach. Didn't stuff up at all, great spray, which then fired his team up to run away comfortable winners after Rochy showed a fair bit in the 3rd to get right back in it.

ilovetogetblind said:
GV Footy heck wit!

You couldn't have played in too many high intensity games if you are having a cry about a few half time words said between teams, in a final.

Look back at previous postings from BYSTANDER and replies from myself and Rowey regarding this. It wasn't Dirty hurling abuse! It was two Rochy boys, one present and one former player who were having a crack at Luke Jackson after he s h!!t himself just before half time.

Also, from memory, didn't Sudsy brake Saad's jaw? If Dirty did say something (if) how bad could it have been to compare a few words at half time to braking someones jaw?

Finally, only an ignorant c o c k suck er would not put David Williams in the top five coaches in the league. People would see your top five and think, gee, its a bit ironic he calls himself a GV Footy Fan and knows f' all about the GV.

Look forward to your reply.

Slim - yes he does coach for free.

love to get blind, saddies jaw wasnt broken in that game were sutherland sniped him. just lettin ya no.

gta3 said:
isn't doona coaching seymour thirds? doona should be coaching Assumption collage i reckon

hahaha Ray Carrol will be at Assumption till he dies, i did hear a roumer that this is his last couple of yrs at the college, so doon u might be in!!!

Junkie said:
Is Dirty pretty well off financially?? Business or something??

All in all a great effort:thumbsu:

IMO Rochy would be up $hits creek without a paddle if he wasn't around!

He owned the Rochy Hotel through the 90's, he now owns and runs Rochester Tyres and Batteries which is a fairly big business.
Dirty is Rochy through and through and that is why he does it for nothing. Another thing that is probably lost on most is that by the coach taking this stance, IMO a lot of great Rochester players have played at the club for a lot less than there market value (even well below what you would expect for a one club player) because the bloke up the front leading them is doing it for nothing.

Tank McPhee, Chris McCarty, Simon McCarty, Tim Rass, Steve Rass, Heath Aitken, Dean Moon, Jeremy Campbell, Nathan Roulston, Tim Cottam, Brenton Gray etc., all to differing lengths have/are playing for stuff all IMO. All GV reps and/or B&F winners.

hank1 said:
He owned the Rochy Hotel through the 90's, he now owns and runs Rochester Tyres and Batteries which is a fairly big business.
Dirty is Rochy through and through and that is why he does it for nothing. Another thing that is probably lost on most is that by the coach taking this stance, IMO a lot of great Rochester players have played at the club for a lot less than there market value (even well below what you would expect for a one club player) because the bloke up the front leading them is doing it for nothing.

Tank McPhee, Chris McCarty, Simon McCarty, Tim Rass, Steve Rass, Heath Aitken, Dean Moon, Jeremy Campbell, Nathan Roulston, Tim Cottam, Brenton Gray etc., all to differing lengths have/are playing for stuff all IMO. All GV reps and/or B&F winners.
fantastic call hank. spot on the money as usual. could add a few other players to that list too I'd reckon.

Fish8 said:
Rising stars of this year.

Echuca - Chris Casey
Seymour - Jake Anderson
Shepparton - Rhys O Sullivan, Paul Kenelley, Geremie Ganino
Rochy - Letcher, Hann

yeh sounds alright, i reckon there mite b a couple more though

Shepp utd- Shane Sali
Shepp Swans- Cam Birch,Matt Hebbard
Benalla - james martinello, james saker(violet town)
Mansfield- dan roy
Seymour- dom russo

Great stuff to read about david williams going rate as a coach. Many less credentialed and ego driven coaches could take a leaf out of his book. From my expereinces he was a terrific coach and had the ability to really bring a team together with strong levels of unity and comraderie. Also a very good tactician too.

Have to agree that both Tossol and Daniel are good coaches too and their record indicates this - these three guys are at the top of the heap as coaches in the GV and in country footy as a whole.:thumbsu:

uncletoby said:
hahaha Ray Carrol will be at Assumption till he dies, i did hear a roumer that this is his last couple of yrs at the college, so doon u might be in!!!

Dunno who stated this lads, I think very highly of Ray Carroll has been a wonderful family friend for a long time and Im sure someone is just taking the pi$$

fat back pocket said:
Tige, heard Tossols half time address at the Mansfield v Benalla semi final when Benalla were showing a s h i t load of heart to have themselves in front at half time.

Thought tossol was ok, his players weren't playing well and deserved a spray considering the tallent in their squad. But from what i saw that day, doesn't seem like a bloke who could give a good spray when required to pump the boys up (when its deserved)...which doesn't mean he isn't a good coach, but I would assume Dirty would be able to give blokes the angry spray to fire them up?

Tossols 3/4 time address was pretty tamed, he gave good instruction, analysed the game pretty good, his team ended up running over Benalla in the end.

Should be interesting this year, people will be able to see how good tossol is when he doesn't have the squad of players like Euroa and Seymour. If he can get the most out of his players and get them too the finals, you'd have to give him a fair bit of credit?
Mansfield did win that match didn't they? So maybe he said something that made the players take note. I'm not too sure how you could judge his ability to "give a spray" based on listening to a couple of talks. And you can bet he'll give the odd one when needed, and he may do it at training as well.

Coaches that go off the deep end all the time lose alot of impact when they need it. Balance is what's required.

fat back pocket said:
I was a witness to a Ripley's Believe it or not... on the weekend, our good BF friend Grandale held onto two bullet like catches at 2nd slip to help the maroons snare an outright victory.

It was an incredible sight which is sure to never happen again.

Poor ol' Grandale has copped a bum rap for a fella that's put down just one slips catch this season - and in a game that the Mighty Maroons won outright anyway.

Say, fellow BigFooty readers, while we're on cricket i have some news some of you might be interested in.
The quickest of the quick - Jeffrey "Thommo" Thomson - will be appearing at the Seymour Cricket Club this Friday.
Just $15 to get in, which gets you bar snacks and drinks at cheap bar prices, and the night kicks off at 7pm.
Hope to see y'all there.

Grandale said:
Poor ol' Grandale has copped a bum rap for a fella that's put down just one slips catch this season - and in a game that the Mighty Maroons won outright anyway.

Say, fellow BigFooty readers, while we're on cricket i have some news some of you might be interested in.
The quickest of the quick - Jeffrey "Thommo" Thomson - will be appearing at the Seymour Cricket Club this Friday.
Just $15 to get in, which gets you bar snacks and drinks at cheap bar prices, and the night kicks off at 7pm.
Hope to see y'all there.

Thommo appeared in a rochy pub earlier this year, and from all reports it was a very good night. Apparently he spoke as if he rates himself very highly, but that could just be his sence of humour I spose. Should be a good night!

hank1 said:

What about Jeff Anderson, who plays at Seymour. I've heard that he currently plays for nothing! This is from a 2 time Vic Country Rep, Gv rep, best & fairest. Not too many clubs could boast that i'd imagine???? Any seymour people that can back that statement up?

Doona2 said:
Dunno who stated this lads, I think very highly of Ray Carroll has been a wonderful family friend for a long time and Im sure someone is just taking the pi$$
How did you go the big bucks weekend last week Doona? Heard it was a very funny trip.

Also heard that Ramsay is no certainy to play this year after his kneww reco. last year. Also can anyone from Seymour confirm that Paul Scanlon has definately agreed to terms. Someone mentioned it in the pub on saturday but I was to busy watching races and drinking to actually listen to the full story. Will be a good replacement for Jackson if true.

Echuca have snared a second recruit from Sturt with a clearance being lodged for a Brett Howman (see GVFL transfers page). Not sure what he go's like but Echuca should be a better side than last year considering their inclusions!

Xander said:
What about Jeff Anderson, who plays at Seymour. I've heard that he currently plays for nothing! This is from a 2 time Vic Country Rep, Gv rep, best & fairest. Not too many clubs could boast that i'd imagine???? Any seymour people that can back that statement up?

Xander you are correct in that joffa anderson doesnt get paid to play at the club, from what i have found out the club wanted to pay him petrol money, because he lives in melb but he wouldnt even except that, thats just what ive hured some other boys, might be able to elaberate on that a little more.

Zippa said:
yeh sounds alright, i reckon there mite b a couple more though

Shepp utd- Shane Sali
Shepp Swans- Cam Birch,Matt Hebbard
Benalla - james martinello, james saker(violet town)
Mansfield- dan roy
Seymour- dom russo

i think that shane sali is underated, ive seen him play some pritty good footy, also with Matt Hebbard he can read the ball and is pritty quick around the ground, Dom Russo went pritty will last season and was a little stiff not to get a couple more 1's games under his belt, better luck this year. James Martinello does he have another year in the 3's i thought he did, he is another gun and should get a run in the Benalla 1's.

at school today (which is assumption) i saw doona up talking to ray carrol. i think it about a job as a coach at assumption. Hey doon is ray going to train you up or something