• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

bazlurhmann said:
look out for a young fella by the name of lachy watts in the senoir ranks at the lions in the future. he is super fit and has excellent skills on both sides of his body. he also reads the play very well.

Gun player, suprised he didnt make the GV interleague side..... one of the best young kids comin threw!!! can anyone tell me how they interleage sides went....? both seniors and 18s, who were the real stand outs n who struggled a bit...? didnt really hear much bout it..!!

FOOTYBOSS said:
Well Im just doing my pre-season for my trip to Europe which is 2 weeks time. have to get plenty of drinking practice in.

From all reports, your drinking is as good as your football and that is terrible.

Had a run with Tatura last night with Willa and we had a bit of a scratch match which was good fun.

We are short on about 3 really good players but with the side at the moment will be very competetive. Purcy looks like the Hulk and is jumping and grabbing everything, could turn a game on its head. Linc is looking great and Kirbs is also fit and the KDFL boys are looking really good to.

A massive suprise this season will be Bryce Wellington, he has a super build and a massive leap, wouldnt be far of Interleague status if he goes alright. Hopefully they tie up Mcdonald soon so he will be a huge asset. Still a good 3 or 4 players away from the top 4 but alot better than they where last year.

cheers

PUP16 said:
Gun player, suprised he didnt make the GV interleague side..... one of the best young kids comin threw!!! can anyone tell me how they interleage sides went....? both seniors and 18s, who were the real stand outs n who struggled a bit...? didnt really hear much bout it..!!

Gun player. obviously a mate of the young "son of Sam" there PUP16. Be careful when you pump up a young fella on Big Footy . . . . we'd hate for him not to back it up and then have the experts of GV footy pay him out down the track and then we'd be questioning your credibility as a Big Footy source we can trust!!!

Doona2 said:
Gun player. obviously a mate of the young "son of Sam" there PUP16. Be careful when you pump up a young fella on Big Footy . . . . we'd hate for him not to back it up and then have the experts of GV footy pay him out down the track and then we'd be questioning your credibility as a Big Footy source we can trust!!!

Nah not a mate doona, dont know him personally, saw him play against shepp swans at shepp on a pretty wet day.... showed good skills in the wet n was very good at stopages, but thats only going by 1 game and it was th 3's, did he play any senior footy last year?? keen to know how he's traveling to date.....

well considering we rolled them for 54 it didnt i could have had a few more with thommo on friday night. the only thing that stoped us from winning on the first day was that extreme downpour we got just before tea.

Grandale said:
Anyway, re the Saad boys, I know nothing about Johar playing for Seymour. Can confirm Sammy will be lining up with us this year, though.
Also, a little podgy defender told me at cricket training last night that after much consternation thanks to some amazing offers from clubs all over the country, Saad Saad committed to the Lions on Wednesday night.

The little podgy defender can also confirm that Sammy Saad will NOT be playing for seymour.

Straight from me man...the high-flying superstar they call Saad...Saad. Saad saad Saad.

Saad.

tige19 said:
We are short on about 3 really good players but with the side at the moment will be very competetive. Purcy looks like the Hulk and is jumping and grabbing everything, could turn a game on its head. Linc is looking great and Kirbs is also fit and the KDFL boys are looking really good to.

cheers

Hey tige, I was just wondering which KDL boys you had recruited and if they'd been cleared yet? I had a mate go and watch one of the intra-clubs that Tat had, and was very impressed with McDonald - said he was jumping all over Kirbs!

Also, how is Rushy lad, Ryan Raglus going? Likely to play many one's games?

See Shane Sali was getting pumped up on here.......Last time I seen him play he went over and listened to what his Old man had to say while everyone else was listening to the coach.

Couldn't play a couple of years ago, must be on the improve??

Chris Casey will slaughter sides this year, only person I know to have brown hair and red pubes, quite disturbing really

More Bombers firepower

February 27 2006
Shepparton News

The news just gets better at Echuca where the Murray Bombers have announced the signing of their second highly credentialled recruit in the space of a week.

After heralding the arrival of Stephen White just days ago, Echuca has unveiled the signature of 1996 Hawthorn draftee and fellow 2002 Sturt premiership player Brett Howman.

Despite missing the entire 2005 season with a back ailment the 188 cm centrehalf-back has completed a full pre-season with Sturt and is ready to resume his love affair with the game.

"It's very exciting," Echuca playing coach Dylan Butler said in announcing the coup.

"Howman's signing overcomes the problem of last year where we lacked height and forced our midfield to rove to opposition ruckmen.

"Over the last couple of years we've had to play some young guys in positions that they weren't ready for.

"The recruitment of some big men means some of the young guys will be able to play their natural game rather than being rushed into too big a role."

Howman was drafted by Hawthorn (pick 73) from the NSW-ACT Rams in 1996, the same year that Brisbane selected Euroa's Rory Hilton at number three.

He failed to play a senior game for Hawthorn before winding up at Sturt to become a part of the TwoBlues drought-breaking premiership win of 2002.

The acquisition of Howman will stiffen up the Bombers' spine - particularly given their bevy of recruits of the ilk of Josh Maddox and John Halloran, along with the return of Brad Smith - while offsetting the loss of mid-field dynamo Rhys Archard.

Echuca begins its season against Rochester on April 15

FootyFreak69 said:
can anyone give me much info on how euroa are going?? are hilton and clayton there??

FF69. Haven't seen Hilton, or heard how he's travelling - but have seen the euroa boys at training down in Melbourne. All of them were looking in sensational condition and were training with plenty of intensity and purpose. I don't think a ball hit the ground and I certainly got the impression that they are keen to atone for last year. Both Shane and Mark Clayton are at Euroa and are looking like having big years. Hyatt, Jansz, Grainger, McBrien (who gets some harsh treatment on bigfooty, and in my opinion is underated, and will be a loss when he heads OS) and Gibbo all looked fitter than they did last year and new recruit Clarke was moving well at training and will def be in top 2-3 big men in the comp.

At this stage I'd reckon Euroa, Benalla and Seymour would easily be the top 3 with a fair bit of daylight to whoevers fourth. Would like to see Euroa win the big one, but reckon Seymour coach Stevie D could be the difference - seems to have a lot more experience, flair and knowledge than Gleeson..

Tige not sure what you're on about but heard tat isn't looking to good. ANyway you can keep updating us if you want but not many read it sorry

Gozling said:
Tige not sure what you're on about but heard tat isn't looking to good. ANyway you can keep updating us if you want but not many read it sorry
I don't think Tige's written anything where he's said they're going to be world beaters, just a fair improvement on last year. He's just reported a bit of info from training is all.

Gozling said:

Well considering he plays for Tat he probably knows what his on about, he also said they are a few players off looking good.

I'm sure many have read Tiges posts about Tatura and their recruitment. Why dont you tell us about how your side is looking and your recruitment? What side is yours Gozling, it would be interesting to note.

Surely Echuca are going to be very competitive with these two signings, plus picking up maddox, casey and Smith. Be interesting to know what sort of coin these guys are on.....

Hey specky magee,whats the go with the fat ones down at the lake?Its just that theyre my personal preference anyway!! Nothin better than slotting 2 from the pocket,then belting down 12-15 pots of draught,then going on the hunt for a ,errr... portly sized woman! Where else apart from the lake do these types congregate?

Kick It To Me!! said:
Hey specky magee,whats the go with the fat ones down at the lake?Its just that theyre my personal preference anyway!! Nothin better than slotting 2 from the pocket,then belting down 12-15 pots of draught,then going on the hunt for a ,errr... portly sized woman! Where else apart from the lake do these types congregate?
:D

They always have a lot of love to give.

ilovetogetblind said:
GV Footy heck wit!

You couldn't have played in too many high intensity games if you are having a cry about a few half time words said between teams, in a final.

Look back at previous postings from BYSTANDER and replies from myself and Rowey regarding this. It wasn't Dirty hurling abuse! It was two Rochy boys, one present and one former player who were having a crack at Luke Jackson after he s h!!t himself just before half time.

Also, from memory, didn't Sudsy brake Saad's jaw? If Dirty did say something (if) how bad could it have been to compare a few words at half time to braking someones jaw?

Finally, only an ignorant c o c k suck er would not put David Williams in the top five coaches in the league. People would see your top five and think, gee, its a bit ironic he calls himself a GV Footy Fan and knows f' all about the GV.

Look forward to your reply.

Who fisted you in the anus you dog starver. From what I recall about this thread it is about people having an opinion. I was there and all Dirty did was lower his colours IMO. It was not players coming off the field that were trying to incite an incident, but Dirty himself. The Seymour bench showed they were a more professional unit by not getting involved.
And on the subject of ignorant c o c k suckers, as I stated before it is my opinion who I think are the best 5 coaches not yours EINSTEIN. Good on Dave Williams for doing what he has done for Rochy. I commend the fellow on his committment to the cause, but I just think the 5 I have picked out are better.
I will wait until the carny gets back in town for you to make your next comment, but the next time you post can you make sure your boyfriend is not bashing his arm up your coit.

Cheers:thumbsu:

GVFootyfan said:
Who fisted you in the anus you dog starver. From what I recall about this thread it is about people having an opinion. I was there and all Dirty did was lower his colours IMO. It was not players coming off the field that were trying to incite an incident, but Dirty himself. The Seymour bench showed they were a more professional unit by not getting involved.And on the subject of ignorant c o c k suckers, as I stated before it is my opinion who I think are the best 5 coaches not yours EINSTEIN. Good on Dave Williams for doing what he has done for Rochy. I commend the fellow on his committment to the cause, but I just think the 5 I have picked out are better.
I will wait until the carny gets back in town for you to make your next comment, but the next time you post can you make sure your boyfriend is not bashing his arm up your coit.

Or Sh it scared.............?

GVFootyfan said:
Who fisted you in the anus you dog starver. From what I recall about this thread it is about people having an opinion. I was there and all Dirty did was lower his colours IMO. It was not players coming off the field that were trying to incite an incident, but Dirty himself. The Seymour bench showed they were a more professional unit by not getting involved.
And on the subject of ignorant c o c k suckers, as I stated before it is my opinion who I think are the best 5 coaches not yours EINSTEIN. Good on Dave Williams for doing what he has done for Rochy. I commend the fellow on his committment to the cause, but I just think the 5 I have picked out are better.
I will wait until the carny gets back in town for you to make your next comment

The show did just pass through Rochester, so thought I would take the time to reply.

"Dog starver".... very intelligent. You must have moved to Seymour instead of being born there.

I agree with you... this thread is to share opinions...

Mine being you must be a dumb c u n t

We obviously disagree about the half time event, but I don't know how you can think Hall or Adamson are better coaches. Hall had a lot of talent in his team last year for a pretty ordinary performance... but as you said, thats your opinion.

Anyway, other people on this thread have better things to read about

Seen on transfers that Dave Mcdonalds is in progress so it looks as though Tat have convinced him to sign on. Been told he was a gun a few years back but i wouldnt really know. Anyone who has seen him play could they comment??

cheers

GVFootyfan said:
ilovetogetblind said:
GV Footy heck wit!

You couldn't have played in too many high intensity games if you are having a cry about a few half time words said between teams, in a final.

Look back at previous postings from BYSTANDER and replies from myself and Rowey regarding this. It wasn't Dirty hurling abuse! It was two Rochy boys, one present and one former player who were having a crack at Luke Jackson after he s h!!t himself just before half time.

Also, from memory, didn't Sudsy brake Saad's jaw? If Dirty did say something (if) how bad could it have been to compare a few words at half time to braking someones jaw?

Finally, only an ignorant c o c k suck er would not put David Williams in the top five coaches in the league. People would see your top five and think, gee, its a bit ironic he calls himself a GV Footy Fan and knows f' all about the GV.

Look forward to your reply.

Classy.

T.Perry said:
FF69. Haven't seen Hilton, or heard how he's travelling - but have seen the euroa boys at training down in Melbourne. All of them were looking in sensational condition and were training with plenty of intensity and purpose. I don't think a ball hit the ground and I certainly got the impression that they are keen to atone for last year. Both Shane and Mark Clayton are at Euroa and are looking like having big years. Hyatt, Jansz, Grainger, McBrien (who gets some harsh treatment on bigfooty, and in my opinion is underated, and will be a loss when he heads OS) and Gibbo all looked fitter than they did last year and new recruit Clarke was moving well at training and will def be in top 2-3 big men in the comp.

At this stage I'd reckon Euroa, Benalla and Seymour would easily be the top 3 with a fair bit of daylight to whoevers fourth. Would like to see Euroa win the big one, but reckon Seymour coach Stevie D could be the difference - seems to have a lot more experience, flair and knowledge than Gleeson..

I think you are spot on T Perry, those teams will be i think the teams to beat in season 06. Also i would like to see a side win the flag that has not done so for a while, [ Euroa or Benalla ] and totally agree with your comments about seymours coach S Daniel , Ive heard and seen him now a number of times and everytime ive come away thinking this bloke is won of the best coaches Ive seen operate, [as Ive said before too I also rate D Williams ]. Is Clarke as good as Kirby and Schottner ? and you didnt talk about sage, is he still playing at Euroa [great player] .

Thanks Duff