• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

Having talked to a fair few O&M blokes that didn't play there concern was playing so many games in a weekend, its just like that AFL's lightning cup, that was a glorified piece of crap.

Hopefully the higher ups will realise that its not working and change back to the old format or work something out.

daisy_train said:
Having talked to a fair few O&M blokes that didn't play there concern was playing so many games in a weekend, its just like that AFL's lightning cup, that was a glorified piece of crap.

Hopefully the higher ups will realise that its not working and change back to the old format or work something out.
It has to be promoted more,glorified, make players want to take part. All leagues need to look at where there money is spent. Up here it is spent on new blazers and accomodation for the hangers on(admin. See league photo's).

daisy_train said:

The lightening premiership in 1996 was only an extra money-spinner during the centenary year, not necessarily a glorified piece of crap. However, I do agree the current I/L system is flawed.

numba4 said:
Oh of course that works for everybody, i would love to see a battle with full strength sides, but i was seriously disapointed with the amount of GV players that didnt want to do it. About 10-15 Players would be changed

When Mark Harrap's in your interleague squad, you have serious concerns. A good player, but when the O and M blokes who had played against him when at Corowa-Rutherglen came up against him they would have been rubbing their hands together.

Better ruckman...Porter, Jones, Schottner, Kirby, Brennan, Cowman (hurts to say), Sutherland, Van Schaik, Saunders, Clarke...any I've missed?

Flat Track Bully said:
When Mark Harrap's in your interleague squad, you have serious concerns. A good player, but when the O and M blokes who had played against him when at Corowa-Rutherglen came up against him they would have been rubbing their hands together.

Better ruckman...Porter, Jones, Schottner, Kirby, Brennan, Cowman (hurts to say), Sutherland, Van Schaik, Saunders, Clarke...any I've missed?
Janz, Bailey better than Jones, Brennan, Cowman???, Van Schaik, Saunders!!! Thought they should get a mention before those over rated players!!!

Flat Track Bully said:

Also agree that Mark Harrap is the worst player ever to pull on a GV Guernsey:thumbsdown: :thumbsdown:

PLAYER69 said:
Also agree that Mark Harrap is the worst player ever to pull on a GV Guernsey:thumbsdown: :thumbsdown:

$hit I hope this Harrap fella is part of the select few who aint reading Big Footy!!!

PLAYER69 said:
Janz, Bailey better than Jones, Brennan, Cowman???, Van Schaik, Saunders!!! Thought they should get a mention before those over rated players!!!
sorry p69, this post isn't very clear. which players are you suggesting are overrated??

FTB & P69
Have you ever rucked against any of these blokes?
you've mentioned all these names who can play the game but where were they on the weekend? Harrap is a acception tap ruckman whos come back from 2 knee reco and is finally getting fit. Hes playing good footy for shepp hence why he was included by the GVFL coaching staff. They must think he can play!!
Why say Porter, Jones, Cowman?? these guys are injured.... didnt brennan play?
You are judging the others on their name. Their form to date hasnt been good enough be included.

"Abuse those blokes who didnt play not the blokes who did! These players derserve respect cos they did. They didnt make up excuess, they didnt say they couldnt be bothered. These guy have got the heart to represent the GV. These people cared and dont deserved this crap from arm chair critics!!!!:mad:

Is Eric Bottom out there?
I wonder how he is feeling about the GV almost being relegated.
Perhaps he could also come clean on the missing Ash-Wilson Trophy.

Also other ruckmans are Shane Schottner (not sure if he is still around though) and Karl Norman

Given Karl Norman didn't play for Mooroopna the week previously, I'd suspect he was injured.

#1 COACH said:
FTB & P69
you've mentioned all these names who can play the game but where were they on the weekend? Harrap is a acception tap ruckman whos come back from 2 knee reco and is finally getting fit. Hes playing good footy for shepp hence why he was included by the GVFL coaching staff. They must think he can play!!
You are judging the others on their name. Their form to date hasnt been good enough be included.

"Abuse those blokes who didnt play not the blokes who did! These players derserve respect cos they did. They didnt make up excuess, they didnt say they couldnt be bothered. These guy have got the heart to represent the GV. These people cared and dont deserved this crap from arm chair critics!!!!:mad:

1/ I don't believe I abused Marc at all...I know him well enough that even he would admit there are better ruckman in the competition than him. I reckon he would have been about 10th choice if not for the others.

2/ Brennan was injured, carrying a hamstring.

3/ The format is heck e d anyway. The last real country championship was played in 2003. As I've said before, it's Micky Mouse...a cop out from the VCFL and those who agreed to it.

#1 COACH said:
FTB & P69

well said. however, I would say that some players were legitimately injured and couldn't play as a result. other muppets like heath aitken and chris mccarty probably consider themselves too good for inters and make up random excuses to get out of it.

Flat Track Bully said:
Was he injured, or was he dropped for disciplinary reasons.

Honestly dont know. Though given he's on the record as saying that his getting in trouble was a real wake up call for him, I'd doubt discipline would have been an issue.

Ballarat wins the division 1 championships when they were supposed to be playing in Division 2 but only came up because Geelong pulled out.. Then the GVFL who won the comp last year has to win their final game to not be relegated.. Is this a joke? The whole system seems stuffed to me! Bring back the full game and if the so called marque players don't play then fine them!

Doozy_Man said:
Ballarat wins the division 1 championships when they were supposed to be playing in Division 2 but only came up because Geelong pulled out.. Then the GVFL who won the comp last year has to win their final game to not be relegated.. Is this a joke? The whole system seems stuffed to me! Bring back the full game and if the so called marque players don't play then fine them!

Good point, it is a hard thing to judge. I've spoken to a couple of players who were selected in the squad that are on a quid at their respective clubs and don't want to let their club down by chance of incurring an injury in the league games. Do they get paid enough money for interleague games? Do they get paid at all? Many players can easily get away with saying that they have a niggly injury when the selection process arrives. How do you adjudicate this?

Flat Track Bully said:
1/ I don't believe I abused Marc at all...I know him well enough that even he would admit there are better ruckman in the competition than him. I reckon he would have been about 10th choice if not for the others.

2/ Brennan was injured, carrying a hamstring.

3/ The format is heck e d anyway. The last real country championship was played in 2003. As I've said before, it's Micky Mouse...a cop out from the VCFL and those who agreed to it.

As having played against the Harrop this year, he played very well against us and by all reports has been pretty consistent during the the other 3 weeks of the season so far. He obviously deserved his spot otherwise they would not have choosen him in the squad, so he must have been doing something right?? maybe you should have a go at the coaching staff of the Golburn Valley for picking him, if you think he is that bad of a ruckmam

I watched the GV play Ovens and Murray and I would of had Marc Harrap in the best few players for the GV. Him and Lee Warnett were about the only 2 players to have a crack for GV in what was a pathetic display! Didn't see the other 2 games but I thought Harrap deserved his opportunity and made the most of the limited opportunities he was given. S h i t form by those people to get on here and get stuck into him without even watching any of the carnival!

half time lollies said:
I watched the GV play Ovens and Murray and I would of had Marc Harrap in the best few players for the GV. Him and Lee Warnett were about the only 2 players to have a crack for GV in what was a pathetic display! Didn't see the other 2 games but I thought Harrap deserved his opportunity and made the most of the limited opportunities he was given. S h i t form by those people to get on here and get stuck into him without even watching any of the carnival!

well said lollies, people get on here and bagg the :D:D:D:D out of players, when in actual fact they didn't even see that person play. i was at the carnival on the weekend and i too think he acyually held his own out on the field, with the limited time he did get. and knowing marc im sure he was 100% commited to the side and the gv jumper he was wearing..

Nozzer said:
Given Karl Norman didn't play for Mooroopna the week previously, I'd suspect he was injured.

Norman played against Mansfield but wasnt named in the paper

daisy_train said:

i agree with ya didnt even bother to go watch it. not real footy at all.

half time lollies said:
Hey Tige, you still out there? Heard you hadn't been seen at Tat for a couple of weeks then I had a look on the transfers list and what a surprise you have put a clearance to join Westmeadows. You certainly don't stay in the 1 place for long do you?? How come you are abandoning Tat when as you said they were such a 'good bunch of blokes'??
assume thats downey from tatura? was talking to a mate at work today said him and the club had a falling out. wiill find out exaclty on the weekend if his lining up nor not.

GeeVee said:
assume thats downey from tatura? was talking to a mate at work today said him and the club had a falling out. wiill find out exaclty on the weekend if his lining up nor not.

GV Website has him cleared back from Westmeadows today would assume he playing on the weekend then