• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Ill have a little each way on the shepp swans, early leader in the morrison would have 2 be Matt McCarty or Elliot Bowen and Echuca would have to be one of the best grounds at the moment in top nick.

Re: Official GVFL thread

the eye said:
Mate how can you say that Seymour is not playing well when they have won 4 on the trot, 2 of those against quailty sides in Euroa & Benalla, and without there side at full strength.
They are lucky to be 4-0. Could easily have been 2-2 or 1-3. Have heard they have been cruising along - havnt clicked yet, no passion and have hardly played 4 good quarters a game. They are giving steve d a heart attack nearly every game.
But they are still getting over the line which is a sign of a champion team, they just don't run away with the game they way they should - that is what I have heard and read here and in shepp news anyway.

GeeVee said:
what GV grounds in the best condition at the moment do you think fellas? best playing surface?

Mansfield would have to be one of the best grounds going around, yes, on a slight slope and a lot smaller than most grounds but was in sensational condition when i was there i round 4

thereoffandracing said:
Mansfield would have to be one of the best grounds going around, yes, on a slight slope and a lot smaller than most grounds but was in sensational condition when i was there i round 4

Everyone please tell me the one who is racing is being sarcastic. I remember a game a couple of years ago where it was impossible to see any grass because of the mud on the ground. Have Mansfield laid new turf or is it just a shocker of a ground when wet.

Good to hear Vic Park is in good shape. I suppose planting grass thats suitable for both summer and winter has worked.........

The grass that used to be on it died in Winter and grew in summer, made sense to replant!:rolleyes:

ECHUCABOY said:
Everyone please tell me the one who is racing is being sarcastic. I remember a game a couple of years ago where it was impossible to see any grass because of the mud on the ground. Have Mansfield laid new turf or is it just a shocker of a ground when wet.

Good to hear Vic Park is in good shape. I suppose planting grass thats suitable for both summer and winter has worked.........

The grass that used to be on it died in Winter and grew in summer, made sense to replant!:rolleyes:

i'm with you echuca boy. mansfield would of had to replant grass there as it wouldn't feature in some of the best grounds in the GV. more to the point it slopes, you can only see half a players body if watching from the bench looking over to the opposite wing. in summing up mansfields groung is s h i t!!!

And if I recall, the visitors change rooms are actually the change rooms of the pool next door.

GV Grounds? Right now The D's looking a treat. Echuca's is good. Last I saw, the Cattery's not too bad.

Chance said:
They are lucky to be 4-0. Could easily have been 2-2 or 1-3. Have heard they have been cruising along - havnt clicked yet, no passion and have hardly played 4 good quarters a game. They are giving steve d a heart attack nearly every game.
But they are still getting over the line which is a sign of a champion team, they just don't run away with the game they way they should - that is what I have heard and read here and in shepp news anyway.

OK firstly seeing how everyone in big footy land was aware of my alias "fat back pocket" and the fact i have added an extra 5kg to my already monsterous 'rig', it's time to put things out in the open-

Anyway gambler, how can a side show no passion to continually come from behind in the last quater?? Seems like a team bursting with passion for their jumper to me- Speaking of bursting a jumper that reminds me- i better order a larger jumper, my guns can no longer fit into the number 31...

Peterson#31 said:
OK firstly seeing how everyone in big footy land was aware of my alias "fat back pocket" and the fact i have added an extra 5kg to my already monsterous 'rig', it's time to put things out in the open-

Anyway gambler, how can a side show no passion to continually come from behind in the last quater?? Seems like a team bursting with passion for their jumper to me- Speaking of bursting a jumper that reminds me- i better order a larger jumper, my guns can no longer fit into the number 31...

Welcome back Stuie I have a Yea #31 that you are free to have but it may be too big :thumbsu:

hi people. just got some good word from a very realiable source that one of tats new recruits and one of there top players wont be lining up in the senior side tommorow. as has been said a few pages back about one of the melbourne guys getting cleared to an essendon league side last week after a so called falling out i can now be certain that there has yet been another rift and that player has been disciplined and will play reserves football tommorow.apparantley player A has no option but to play tommoro in the reserves as there is rules of something or another sanctioning him to do as told by the club or risk not playing football at any level/league again this season.
my thoughts would be why is a club in taturas situation putting knives to the head of a player they obviously wanted at the club. the kid must have done something terribly wrong.anyone who is at the tat vs seymour match might be able to confirm some of this as its a bit of he say she say at the moment.
anyway by the looks of the season so far my pre season prediction has been a fair bit off i still think benalla with a full side will be the hardest to knock over especially with symes and porter back up and ready to fire.

anyway fellas i hope to get up to a game soon. it would be good to have a few beers with some of you if there is an opportunity so when the chance comes i might put it out there and if any of you guys are at a game i will catch up.

Peterson#31 said:

Look boys, everyone knows who Fat Back Pocket is, touche' to the bright spark who thought playing me would be a fun thing to do on big footy.

Boys, i guarantee you all that Peterson#31 is not the Fat Back Pocket. So any rubbish posted is from the smart a r s e with too much time on their hands is not from me.

Regards
FBP.

Notable in's for the Lions tomorrow...Inness and Brockway.

fat back pocket said:
Look boys, everyone knows who Fat Back Pocket is, touche' to the bright spark who thought playing me would be a fun thing to do on big footy.

Boys, i guarantee you all that Peterson#31 is not the Fat Back Pocket. So any rubbish posted is from the smart a r s e with too much time on their hands is not from me.

Regards
FBP.

Notable in's for the Lions tomorrow...Inness and Brockway.

Took longer than I thought, was awaiting this post from the one and only FBP :thumbsu:

True that Inness is in? Might change my plans for the day

GeeVee said:
what GV grounds in the best condition at the moment do you think fellas? best playing surface?

Interested to know what Benalla and Ky think of the refurbished Kings Park in comparison with years gone by.

Peterson#31 said:

Welcome back Chubby Wubby. IT hasn't been the same without you.
Keep up the good work.
PS: We'd have to be due for another mark from the GV Grand Final on Almost Footy Legends wouldn't we...it's been over a month now.

Saw one of the best efforts yesterday from a football team that showed passion, that some people [ Chance] thought the lions wernt playing with. A 3 goal win over Tatura, how can that show passion chance i hear you say.The lions lost 4 players on the friday afternoon and early saturday morning to take to the field against tat, with the likes of , B Liddel , A Reid , J Amad, P Scanlon, R Douglas, J Anderson, P King, and P Ratray all missing the game against the Bullbogs.Then to make things worse M Thomson broke his hand in the first 5 minutes, Pemberton done his knee 10 minutes later, Vanreit done his ankle and then finally D Russo was knocked out by a great hip and shoulder that had the lions with 17 fit players on the ground at the 20 minute mark of the second qtr. AND THEY HANG ON TO SHOW PASSION FOR THE JUMPER [CHANCE] AND WIN THE GAME ???????????????????????????????????????

[ But now i think there stuffed with injuries]

Euroa 15.12 (102) v Shepparton Swans 25.12 (162)
Echuca 10.8 (68) v Mansfield 11.8 (74)
Mooroopna 14.12 (96) v Benalla 11.13 (79)
Shepparton 15.14 (104) v Kyabram 14.5 (89)
Rochester 11.12 (78) v Shepparton United 11.13 (79)
Tatura 12.9 (81) v Seymour 16.14 (110)

Massive win for the Shepp Swans, and Mansfield's win on the long road trip deserves a mention too.

Musta been some feeling in the curtain raiser at Tatura as Im led to believe that two of Big Footy's more prominent figures clashed with each other.

The original Fat Bock Pocket (not Peterson#31) and Tige19 were both given time in the sin bin after crossing paths, I think maybe FBP even may have been "binned" twice.

And what's this discipline reason we're hearing with one of Tat's new recruits playing two's - sure it wasn't form as he is yet to be named in the best and wasn't in the ressies either?

Doona did the player in question play reserves football yesterday? i know a fair few people who played with the guy at coburg 1 of which is a very good mate of his and thats who told me on thursday that he would be playing 2s due to a lack of communication and clash of opinions with someone at the club which happend the morning of the euroa game a few weeks back. im not directly involved but i would be very certain that my source is on the money with the information, also highly doubt its a form issue as i know the kid can play and has played some very good football at vfl level along with about 50 other players running around in the gv. i would prefer players and clubs for the matter to be making noises for the right things not negative things. doona just a question.... you obviously watched the game, when the guy played weather that be seniors or as it sounds like reserves was his attitude towards the match ok? you can tell alot from player when they play if they want to be there or not.

on the other things, swans had a great win wish i could have been there to see the veale deal take a few grabs, he has a great build for footy and seems to be coming along nicely for coach sutherland and the swans. also benalla being rolled again by a rampaging moroopana, the cats look like they could be the real deal and come september time they might be one of the favourites. seymour sound like they are on track although a 4 goal win against a bottom side isnt anything to sprook about, although the gv this year seems very even with any team bottom or top being able to beat one another. shepp bears are improving, should provide stiff competetion and be a danger to the top sides.

lastly, ant speccies from the master man saad saad? loved watching him at the bullants, i have to get up to see one of his games in the coming weeks.

No Heart said:
Saw one of the best efforts yesterday from a football team that showed passion, that some people [ Chance] thought the lions wernt playing with. A 3 goal win over Tatura, how can that show passion chance i hear you say.The lions lost 4 players on the friday afternoon and early saturday morning to take to the field against tat, with the likes of , B Liddel , A Reid , J Amad, P Scanlon, R Douglas, J Anderson, P King, and P Ratray all missing the game against the Bullbogs.Then to make things worse M Thomson broke his hand in the first 5 minutes, Pemberton done his knee 10 minutes later, Vanreit done his ankle and then finally D Russo was knocked out by a great hip and shoulder that had the lions with 17 fit players on the ground at the 20 minute mark of the second qtr. AND THEY HANG ON TO SHOW PASSION FOR THE JUMPER [CHANCE] AND WIN THE GAME ???????????????????????????????????????

[ But now i think there stuffed with injuries]

Well i saw a diffrent game yesterday [ Euroa v Swans ] and as much as i hate to say it i think the maggies have lost there passion. That was the worst ive seen them play in years and they better get it together fairly quickly because we have to play Mansfeild at Mansfeild then Benalla, Dont want to take anything away from the swans but lets see what happens next time around.

cookie33 said:
Doona did the player in question play reserves football yesterday? i know a fair few people who played with the guy at coburg 1 of which is a very good mate of his and thats who told me on thursday that he would be playing 2s due to a lack of communication and clash of opinions with someone at the club which happend the morning of the euroa game a few weeks back. im not directly involved but i would be very certain that my source is on the money with the information, also highly doubt its a form issue as i know the kid can play and has played some very good football at vfl level along with about 50 other players running around in the gv. i would prefer players and clubs for the matter to be making noises for the right things not negative things. doona just a question.... you obviously watched the game, when the guy played weather that be seniors or as it sounds like reserves was his attitude towards the match ok? you can tell alot from player when they play if they want to be there or not.

on the other things, swans had a great win wish i could have been there to see the veale deal take a few grabs, he has a great build for footy and seems to be coming along nicely for coach sutherland and the swans. also benalla being rolled again by a rampaging moroopana, the cats look like they could be the real deal and come september time they might be one of the favourites. seymour sound like they are on track although a 4 goal win against a bottom side isnt anything to sprook about, although the gv this year seems very even with any team bottom or top being able to beat one another. shepp bears are improving, should provide stiff competetion and be a danger to the top sides.

lastly, ant speccies from the master man saad saad? loved watching him at the bullants, i have to get up to see one of his games in the coming weeks.

Cookie the player Tige 19 [ Shanon Downey ] played in the ressies yesterday and it was because he has been struggling. a few of the tat boys where filling me in on the gossip [ not a popular bloke up there at the moment] and he couldnt get a kick in the ressies either, but he did cop a ripper upper cup from one Fat Back Pocket that had both players sent of the ground. IT was better than Mundine and green[ Fat Back Pocket won on points ] Tige 19 was last seen licking his lips on the pine in the twos.

Can anybody tell me how the thirds boys playing seniors are going

Off top of my head

Butler (Tatura)
Warnett (Mooroopna)
McIntyre (Shepp B)
Sofi (Shepp B)
Cullinan (Shepp B)
Aumman (Benalla)

Any others? How do they go?

Duff Man said:
Well i saw a diffrent game yesterday [ Euroa v Swans ] and as much as i hate to say it i think the maggies have lost there passion. That was the worst ive seen them play in years and they better get it together fairly quickly because we have to play Mansfeild at Mansfeild then Benalla, Dont want to take anything away from the swans but lets see what happens next time around.

Duff Man, how can u say that thats the worst game youve seen euroa play in years... theyve only been good for 1 and a bit! before that they were terrible for 10. but your spot on with their passion. that showed even last week when bamford did the "disappearing act" at albury with the gvfl side. pretty poor effort i reckon.

Played at Kings Park a few weeks ago. The surface is 100 times better than it was last year. They have done a good job.

anyone have any news on the injury front at Benalla, seems to be they are stuggling without there big guns Porter and Symes and i heard a rumour Shiels may have injured his knee on the weekend

Duff Man said:
Hey duff man 10 gls down to swans! No passion? Is my tenner in trouble? Or is there a lot more injuries down at the memorial than i'm seeing on this site?