Re: Official GVFL thread

Time in charge is over

By Christie Peucker
September 13 2006
Shepparton News

Shepparton Swans coach Jarrod Sutherland has handed in his resignation after two seasons with the Goulburn Valley Football League club.

Sutherland broke the news to his players after their eight-point loss to Mansfield in Saturday's elimination final.

The club held discussions with the ruckman about continuing as coach several weeks ago, but Sutherland said other commitments had forced him to prioritise.

"I've got my own crane hire business and a young family," Sutherland said.

"With time constraints, you can't really do them all.

"I had to make a sacrifice and one had to go, so the club is now looking for a new coach."

Despite relinquishing the top job, Sutherland said he was committed to the Swans in a playing capacity.

"I'll be back at the Swans next year," he said.

"We'll see how the body goes, but my playing will probably benefit from not coaching."

Sutherland said the club was still undecided on a coach for next season.

Since taking the reins at the end of 2004, Sutherland has had moderate success finishing 10th last year and a much improved sixth this year after signing a much-talked about bag of recruits.

Doona2 said:
Time in charge is over

By Christie Peucker
September 13 2006
Shepparton News

Shepparton Swans coach Jarrod Sutherland has handed in his resignation after two seasons with the Goulburn Valley Football League club.

Sutherland broke the news to his players after their eight-point loss to Mansfield in Saturday's elimination final.

The club held discussions with the ruckman about continuing as coach several weeks ago, but Sutherland said other commitments had forced him to prioritise.

"I had to make a sacrifice and one had to go, so the club is now looking for a new coach."

Despite relinquishing the top job, Sutherland said he was committed to the Swans in a playing capacity.

"We'll see how the body goes, but my playing will probably benefit from not coaching."

Since taking the reins at the end of 2004, Sutherland has had moderate success finishing 10th last year and a much improved sixth this year after signing a much-talked about bag of recruits.

Swans would be a better club without this dog. As for wanting to have him play in your team, i'd rathernot play than play with him. he gives gvfl footy a bad rep. he is nothing but a sniping dog and he will seriously injure somone one day.

FOOTYBOSS said:
Archard probably wont even get a game for them to be honest. Quite a difference in footy levels gvfl to sanfl. Will be interesting to see how he goes.

I was just scrolling back and read this.

Either the Boss has overestimated the level of the SANFL footy here or underestimated the talent of Archard. He is in the top five for odds to win the SANFL league medal, top 10 for stats in the league, and on the weekend he chalked up a lazy 39 touches and three goals to get South Adelaide into their first finals series for a number of years.

Doona2 said:
Time in charge is over

By Christie Peucker
September 13 2006
Shepparton News

Well i got that won right !

And my new one is Mellington and the Bears arnt seeing eye to eye , and Swans offerd the Seymour coach 40 big ones and he told them not a chance in hell .

BIGirish said:
Swans would be a better club without this dog. As for wanting to have him play in your team, i'd rathernot play than play with him. he gives gvfl footy a bad rep. he is nothing but a sniping dog and he will seriously injure somone one day.

Have to agree to disagree on that one mate.

I'd love to have a ruckman who has won multiple club best and fairests in the Ovens and Murray, Goulburn Valley and Murray leagues, a Morrison Medal, couple of runner ups in the O&M medal and represented the above leagues on numerous occassions.

Travvy43 said:

Either the Boss has overestimated the level of the SANFL footy here or underestimated the talent of Archard. He is in the top five for odds to win the SANFL league medal, top 10 for stats in the league, and on the weekend he chalked up a lazy 39 touches and three goals to get South Adelaide into their first finals series for a number of years.

Watched the game last night on ABC2, gets good wraps from the commentators. Obviously made a massive impression this year.

Anyone think he could possibly be put on a rookie list? Or even get drafted? Is it too late do you think?

Duff Man said:
Well i got that won right !

And my new one is Mellington and the Bears arnt seeing eye to eye , and Swans offerd the Seymour coach 40 big ones and he told them not a chance in hell .

Duffy have come through with the goods on Sutherland , Mellington and the Bears is a big call. And the 40 big ones was over 2 years not one? :thumbsu:

No Heart said:
Duffy have come through with the goods on Sutherland , Mellington and the Bears is a big call. And the 40 big ones was over 2 years not one? :thumbsu:

I will back my info on Mellington and the bears, same bloke told me about Sutherland being told to leave ? And as for the 40 big ones , who really cares if its one or two years im just sharing info with everyone on here on what ive heard. :thumbsu:

Yes spot on with the Mellington Shepp mail, all over. Another job that Ryan may look at, and mail is they have already spoken to him.
Also Rawlings should be on everyones short list who hasnt got a coach, would be awesome in any league outside of AFL and listened to him talk on Sport 927 a couple of weeks ago, came across very well and is passionate about wanting to coach.

showy#1 said:
pretty tough bagging out seymour players when you cant even reveal your proper name you weak f..k

i'm just a poo speaker on big footy

I see on the Mildura thread that E Bowen from Rochy is going to Wentworth? Any truth in those rumours? I heard he was only going to spend the one year at rochy anyway and then go back to the bendigo bombers?

pete_mitchell said:
Watched the game last night on ABC2, gets good wraps from the commentators. Obviously made a massive impression this year.

Anyone think he could possibly be put on a rookie list? Or even get drafted? Is it too late do you think?
Too late.

Travvy43 said:

Yes I have really underestimated the talents of Rhys Archard. He has done extremely well this year. Well done to him. I was only going off what I have seen when we have played Echuca and he never really did much against us.

I was in Adelaide recently and there was a lot of hype around how well he is doing.

He should still stay in sanfl as its a better comp then the gvfl.

hank1 said:
Yes spot on with the Mellington Shepp mail, all over. Another job that Ryan may look at, and mail is they have already spoken to him.
Also Rawlings should be on everyones short list who hasnt got a coach, would be awesome in any league outside of AFL and listened to him talk on Sport 927 a couple of weeks ago, came across very well and is passionate about wanting to coach.

Read in the paper he is a shot at getting an assistant coaching job at the roo's if a coaching re-arrangement goes ahead.

You wouldn't think he would do that just yet. He can offer so much as a player still. He's only 28 or 29. would be a massive recruit. Dare say he'd have some pull on players as well, seemed to be very well liked around the footy circles.

pete_mitchell said:
Read in the paper he is a shot at getting an assistant coaching job at the roo's if a coaching re-arrangement goes ahead.

You wouldn't think he would do that just yet. He can offer so much as a player still. He's only 28 or 29. would be a massive recruit. Dare say he'd have some pull on players as well, seemed to be very well liked around the footy circles.
If he's keen to get into coaching, he'd surely rather retire and get a job as an assistant at an AFL club rather than coach and play in a metro or country league. If he was offered an AFL job, I would highly doubt he would turn it down just to keep playing at a lower level.

Sorry to disappoint those who had "mail" suggesting otherwise but . . .

Mellington to lead Bears again

By Christie Peucker
September 14 2006
Shepparton News

Shepparton coach Anthony Mellington will continue in the Bears' top job for another year.

Bears president Gary Holland confirmed Mellington had officially accepted the position yesterday afternoon.

The appointment follows a week of speculation that Mellington and the club were struggling to come to an agreement.

The News believes the sticking point centred around the capacity of the club's finances for next season.

Holland would not be drawn on the speculation and said the club was looking forward to a successful 2007 with Mellington at the helm.

"There were certainly things in his contract that needed to be negotiated, but they have been," Holland said.

"It was never a performance issue.

"It's pretty easy to see what he's brought to the team."

Mellington's continuation will be the second of a two-year contract as a playing coach with the club.

This season the Bears were widely regarded as having exceeded expectations, but finished without a finals berth in eighth position.

"I think we came a fair way this year," Mellington said.

"Next year it will be a matter of fine-tuning a few more of our skills and getting a couple more players to bolster our stocks."

Thirds coach Mark Metcalfe has also been reappointed and Holland said the club was confident of securing the service of reserves coach David Southwell for next year.

Geez 12 hours has gone by and nobody has posted - whats going on :mad:

For what its worth I will whack me tips in . . .

1st semi-final (Saturday at Seymour)
1sts - Benalla v Shepparton United
2nds - Shepparton United v Mooroopna
3rds - Kyabram v Echuca

2nd Semi-finals (Sunday at Tatura)
1sts - Seymour v Mansfield
2nds - Seymour v Euroa
3rds - Shepparton v Mansfield

Doona2 said:
Sorry to disappoint those who had "mail" suggesting otherwise but . . .

Mellington to lead Bears again

By Christie Peucker
September 14 2006
Shepparton News

Shepparton coach Anthony Mellington will continue in the Bears' top job for another year.

Bears president Gary Holland confirmed Mellington had officially accepted the position yesterday afternoon.

The appointment follows a week of speculation that Mellington and the club were struggling to come to an agreement.

The News believes the sticking point centred around the capacity of the club's finances for next season.

Holland would not be drawn on the speculation and said the club was looking forward to a successful 2007 with Mellington at the helm.

"There were certainly things in his contract that needed to be negotiated, but they have been," Holland said.

"It was never a performance issue.

"It's pretty easy to see what he's brought to the team."

Mellington's continuation will be the second of a two-year contract as a playing coach with the club.

This season the Bears were widely regarded as having exceeded expectations, but finished without a finals berth in eighth position.

"I think we came a fair way this year," Mellington said.

"Next year it will be a matter of fine-tuning a few more of our skills and getting a couple more players to bolster our stocks."

Thirds coach Mark Metcalfe has also been reappointed and Holland said the club was confident of securing the service of reserves coach David Southwell for next year.
Can someone tell me how southy's going as a coach?

Can Shop said:
Sad news about steve hazleman, a great player to watch.

What was the verdict on Hazleman? Reco? What about sam dawes, word is he hurt his ankle pretty bad sunday and got a jab...came out and did pretty well, but does anyone know how he pulled up on monday? Will he play this week?

any other injury news?

Who do people think will win the 4 senior games (seniors and reserves?)
reckon Benalla might get up over United with no Hazleman there Doony.

Dawes has been names. Verdict with hazleman is that he has done his left knee ACL and medial will miss another 12 months with a full knee reco.

Doona2 said:
Geez 12 hours has gone by and nobody has posted - whats going on :mad:

For what its worth I will whack me tips in . . .

1st semi-final (Saturday at Seymour)
1sts - Benalla v Shepparton United
2nds - Shepparton United v Mooroopna
3rds - Kyabram v Echuca

2nd Semi-finals (Sunday at Tatura)
1sts - Seymour v Mansfield
2nds - Seymour v Euroa
3rds - Shepparton v Mansfield

Note: jumping off United after hearing of Hazelman's injury

Doona2 said:
Note: jumping off United after hearing of Hazelman's injury

Come on Doona! Gotta keep the faith mate. They might be spurred on to do it for the coach. He's a pretty inspiring character.