• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

journeyman said:

The Shepp Swans offer is not based around money entirely. They are trying to get him a job with the marketing/advertising department at the Shepp News.

I think the president Knaggs and Cheryl Hunter have pretty strong links with McPherson Media. Apparently if they get him the job he will play at Swans.

Also, I think the talk of Benny Anderson signing is very premature. He's only been working in the mines in WA for a couple of weeks. He's no definite to go back at the moment.

Shouldnt be that difficult pretty high turnover in the old print media advertising game.

Doona2 said:
Shouldnt be that difficult pretty high turnover in the old print media advertising game.

A Bowen, Anderson, McPhee forward line could be a pretty potent set up for the tiges. Even if that doesn't work out Bowen has proven himself as a very good backman. Did the job on Singh when Rochy played Mooroopna at home.

Rushy Tiger said:
A Bowen, Anderson, McPhee forward line could be a pretty potent set up for the tiges. Even if that doesn't work out Bowen has proven himself as a very good backman. Did the job on Singh when Rochy played Mooroopna at home.
Tank McPhee still playing again next year?

How old would he be now, he's a freak. Looks like he'll keep going to 400 games!

TuskenRaider said:
Tank McPhee still playing again next year?

How old would he be now, he's a freak. Looks like he'll keep going to 400 games!

Mid 30''s i think. The bloke is amazing, had a great year last year and still puts most of the young blokes to shame. Always gets a good defender and is unreal bloke in general. Wouldn't be that far off 400, will play forever.

Tatura appoints new coach

November 2 2006
Shepparton News

Tatura has appointed former Norwood SANFL player Malcolm Noble as coach for the next two seasons.
Noble, who spent 2003 as assistant coach of West Adelaide, under former Adelaide and Hawthorn ruckman Sean Rehn, played more than 90 games with the Redlegs, alongside SANFL legends Garry McIntosh and Michael Aish.
He replaces Travis Ryan, who guided the Bulldogs for the past two seasons, in the top job.

Urple said:
Tatura appoints new coach

November 2 2006
Shepparton News

Tatura has appointed former Norwood SANFL player Malcolm Noble as coach for the next two seasons.
Noble, who spent 2003 as assistant coach of West Adelaide, under former Adelaide and Hawthorn ruckman Sean Rehn, played more than 90 games with the Redlegs, alongside SANFL legends Garry McIntosh and Michael Aish.
He replaces Travis Ryan, who guided the Bulldogs for the past two seasons, in the top job.

The Dogs obviosly searched far and wide for a Coach and sounds like they've got one with good credentials. Interesting to see if he brings a few with because the The Tat kennel at the moment resembles those of the Meadows after Race 10 pretty bare!!

Doona2 said:
Ta mate, was told last night it was an AFL assistant time will tell.

Regarding North Ballrats Coach for 2007, Gerald Fitzgerald is back with the roosters. Gv's steve daniels missed the boat.

Travvy43 said:
Regarding North Ballrats Coach for 2007, Gerald Fitzgerald is back with the roosters. Gv's steve daniels missed the boat.

Fitzy's back yeah spoke to a mate over there at lunchtime, wonder if any of the candidates consider the Rebels TAC coaching job now then?

Believe it came down to a final 3-4 candidates and Steve was still in the mix.

King_Of_Ling said:
Does anyone know when most teams will be starting pre-season training??
I propose that pre-season training should be banned until the last week of January. No, seriously.

Round One - April 7
Echuca V Shepp Swans
Mansfield V Euroa
Split - April 14
Shepp United V Benalla
Rochester V Kyabram
Mooroopna V Shepparton
Seymour V Tatura

Round Two – April 21
Euroa V Echuca
Benalla V Mansfield
Kyabram V Shepp United
Shepparton V Rochester
Tatura V Mooroopna
Shepp Swans V Seymour

Round Three - April 28
Echuca V Benalla
Mansfield V Kyabram
Shepp United V Shepparton (s)
Rochester V Tatura
Mooroopna V Seymour
Euroa V Shepp Swans

Round Four - May 5
Kyabram V Echuca (s)
Shepparton V Mansfield
Tatura V Shepp United
Seymour V Rochester
Shepp Swans V Mooroopna (s)
Benalla V Euroa

Round Five – May 12
Echuca V Shepparton
Mansfield V Tatura
Shepp United V Seymour
Rochester V Mooroopna
Euroa V Kyabram
Benalla V Shepp Swans

Round Six - May 19
Tatura V Echuca
Seymour V Mansfield
Mooroopna V Shepp United
Shepp Swans V Rochester
Shepparton V Euroa
Kyabram V Benalla

Inter League – 26 Ovens and Murray v GVFL

Round Seven – June 2
Echuca V Seymour
Mansfield V Mooroopna
Shepp United V Rochester
Euroa V Tatura
Benalla V Shepparton
Kyabram V Shepp Swans

Round Eight – June 9
Mooroopna V Echuca
Rochester V Mansfield
Shepp Swans V Shepp United
Seymour V Euroa
Tatura V Benalla
Shepparton V Kyabram

Round Nine – June 16
Echuca V Rochester
Mansfield V Shepp United
Euroa V Mooroopna
Benalla V Seymour
Kyabram V Tatura
Shepparton V Shepp Swans

Round Ten – June 23
Shepp United V Echuca
Mansfield V Shepp Swans
Rochester V Euroa
Split – June 30
Mooroopna V Benalla
Seymour V Kyabram
Tatura V Shepparton

Round Eleven – July 7
Echuca V Mansfield
Euroa V Shepp United
Benalla V Rochester
Kyabram V Mooroopna
Shepparton V Seymour
Shepp Swans V Tatura

Round Twelve – July 14
Shepp Swans V Echuca
Euroa V Mansfield
Benalla V Shepp United
Kyabram V Rochester
Shepparton V Mooroopna
Tatura V Seymour

Round Thirteen – July 21
Echuca V Euroa
Mansfield V Benalla
Shepp United V Kyabram
Rochester V Shepparton
Mooroopna V Tatura
Seymour V Shepp Swans

Round Fourteen – July 28
Benalla V Echuca
Kyabram V Mansfield
Shepparton V Shepp United (s)
Tatura V Rochester
Seymour V Mooroopna
Shepp Swans V Euroa

Round Fifteen – August 4
Echuca V Kyabram (s)
Mansfield V Shepparton
Shepp United V Tatura
Split – August 11
Rochester V Seymour
Mooroopna V Shepp Swans (s)
Euroa V Benalla

Round Sixteen – August 18
Shepparton V Echuca
Tatura V Mansfield
Seymour V Shepp United
Mooroopna V Rochester
Kyabram V Euroa
Shepp Swans V Benalla

Round Seventeen – August 25
Echuca V Tatura
Mansfield V Seymour
Shepp United V Mooroopna
Rochester V Shepp Swans
Euroa V Shepparton
Benalla V Kyabram

Round Eighteen – September 1
Rochester V Echuca
Shepp United V Mansfield
Mooroopna V Euroa
Seymour V Benalla
Tatura V Kyabram
Shepp Swans V Shepparton

Sept 8/9 Elim Qual Finals

Sept 15/16 Semi Finals

Sept 23 Prelim Final

Sept 30 Grand Final

Anyone got any tips?

Long way from the mark sorry to say jim carter and krakour barrell - my mail came from a source not tied to the GV Magpies, but from my former media circles. Still no one has confrimed or denied this rumour???

Why the sudden interest in my coaching appointment, who I have spoke to and more importantly haven't spoke to in Millsy's case. Was all keen to have a crack at him until that send off Grand Final day, in light of recent public perception Im not keen to attract thugs ;)
Ur a funny one doona!! U seem to offer an opinion on almost every footy topic, but when it comes to u and ur new coaching gig, u run a mile the other way!! I dont blame u! Ur keeping things close to ur chest and playing it smart!! But any 2 year old can tell u will be going after as many locals as u can for a crack at the flag. What coach wouldnt?!! Nothing wrong with telling us who's on ur wish list!!

Got it one Chance, am in the process of touching base with every local Broady bloke including those not playing with the Roos in a bid to get as many locals as possible back to the club.

My wish list is to put the finishing touches on our coaching dept. within the next fortnight, already have my C.O.S, runner, stats bloke and team manager committed, and now am waiting to sign our 2nd playing assistant coach.

I dont take rejection too kindly, which is why Im keeping quiet as everyone has kncoked me back :eek: Once we're satisfied with things I promise you'll be the first to know :thumbsu:

Just a bit of goss on Shepp United ..

Heard they are talking to three ex-AFL players in regards to the coaching job ..two who have been delisted and one that's an AFL premiership player.

Would reckon one of the delisted ones is Justin Davies.

Also heard Richard Warburton could coach them, but i reckon that might be off the mark.

Heard they are talking to three ex-AFL players in regards to the coaching job ..two who have been delisted and one that's an AFL premiership player.

Also heard Richard Warburton could coach them, but i reckon that might be off the mark.

Good work, if that's true

Got it one Chance, am in the process of touching base with every local Broady bloke including those not playing with the Roos in a bid to get as many locals as possible back to the club.

My wish list is to put the finishing touches on our coaching dept. within the next fortnight, already have my C.O.S, runner, stats bloke and team manager committed, and now am waiting to sign our 2nd playing assistant coach.

I dont take rejection too kindly, which is why Im keeping quiet as everyone has kncoked me back :eek: Once we're satisfied with things I promise you'll be the first to know :thumbsu:

It would be true to say that on your wish list would be robbie douglas to play as he's from b'ford. have you approched him yet?

Lets say we're recruiting within our means. I speak with Robbie regularly as Ive followed his footy closely for years and play cricket with him, but he'd be mad to go back to minor league footy at his age when I reckon he should be trying out at a higher level (VFL club).

That said I doubt we could afford a TAC Cup/Vic Metro/2 x GV premiership player/Seymour B & F player in my wildest dreams!!!

might b the 2 clokes and there old man ahhaha