Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

Just checked the results thats an amazing effort by Kelly, how long since he's played footy at any level prior to a few 2nds games with the Eagles thru this year?

On another topic Im confused about the reserves fixture. Seymour finished 3rd and Im assuming that means a double chance, wins its final yesterday but according to the gv website it plays a sudden death final next week whilst Mansfield who finished 5th now have a double chance and go directly to the GF if they win next week against Rochester :confused:. . . . . is this correct???

unless the gv website has it wrong..which i reakon they do!

G/Final -Sey v Mans.
Premier - Seymour.
Morrisson - Josh Finn (Ky)
Wilf Cox - Paul Scanlon (Sey)

Get the feeling that a couple of united players might be a little mentally scarred after the lions 2nd half dominace yesterday. Things got a bit tougher for them after they lost their ruckman (Sutherland i think it is ) pretty early in the game.

Looking good, doing a custom air brush job on it today then shes ready to go.

Probably call through Euroa the Thursday night before the granny after I swing by Melb to pick React! up.

React! will be sitting on the esky in the driveway......ready and raring to go!

Morphous, I'm still around mate but a new job means a new workload which means less time on this site. Glad to see you are still flying the flag and havent forgotten old React!

Great job to the swans today....smashing the opposition! Must say, the carrier pigeon delivered a message to metro Melbourne the other night saying that the swannies were ready to go BANG.....and go BANG they did!

From today's Shepp News:

Tigers look to future

David Williams will not coach Rochester next season.
The 16-year veteran confirmed yesterday this season would be his last at the helm of the Tigers, leaving several clubs across the region including fellow Goulburn Valley Football League club Kyabram champing at the bit to snap up his services.
Williams would not be drawn on his future yesterday, but said his successful era with the Tigers was coming to a close, despite the senior coaching job being open to all applicants.
"No, definitely not," Williams said about the possibility of going for the job again.
Club president Barry Powles confirmed the committee made a decision four weeks ago to open all coaching positions and informed Williams of that decision, but stressed he hadn't been forced out.
"Everyone in this club has the utmost respect for Dave Williams for what he's done for the club," Powles said.
"There is no indication of sacking.
"We're not only looking for a fresh look in the coaching area, I'm stepping down as president because we believe it's got a little stale."
Powles said he was confident of attracting a number of quality individuals on and off the field to carry on the club's success.
"If you look at our committee, 90 per cent of us are up around 50 years old, so we need to attract a younger group of people," he said.
"We're a pretty wellknown club for what we've achieved."
Kyabram president Peter Croxford confirmed the Bombers were in discussions with Williams.
"We're more than happy to go with the three boys (current cocoaches Paul Burnett, Josh Finn and Paul Newman), but they want us to canvas what's out there," Croxford said.
"Dave is a proven coach with terrific coaching skills and 100-odd AFL games before that and to stay at a club for 16 years speaks for itself."
Croxford said the club was hopeful of making a decision by the end of next week.

No matter how you sugar coat it, that's a sacking.

Just checked the results thats an amazing effort by Kelly, how long since he's played footy at any level prior to a few 2nds games with the Eagles thru this year?

On another topic Im confused about the reserves fixture. Seymour finished 3rd and Im assuming that means a double chance, wins its final yesterday but according to the gv website it plays a sudden death final next week whilst Mansfield who finished 5th now have a double chance and go directly to the GF if they win next week against Rochester :confused:. . . . . is this correct???

Yeah, Seymour will now have a double chance after winning on Satdy.
They will play the winner of first Vs second (was that Rochy?) where the reward is a spot in the granny.
Mansfield will play the loser of 1 vs 2 (Echuca?) in a cut-throat final

Only first and second get a guaranteed double chance, but 3rd is gifted a double chance if they win in week 1.
It's the one major flaw in the GV's final 6 system.

Or as the Seymour Unders found out, you can finish 5th and get a double chance...that is the highlight of the piss poor way the finals are done.

If they continue the top 6, what other way would people suggest to run it?

I reckon: 1 v 6, 2 v 5, 3 v 4

Two highest winners play in 2nd semi, lowest winner vs highest loser in 1st semi.

Would mean 5th still has the chance to make a 2nd semi, but it would mean beating 2nd, rather than 4th placed side. And entire top 3 losing.

Also, Lions have all 3 sides in 2nd semi...good effort.

No matter how you sugar coat it, that's a sacking.

Fair point. It has set up the club for sweeping changes, but it really does depend on if the club gets some new younger people involved.

I ventured down to the game against Echuca and there is no doubt the club under-achieved this year. However, if they can keep everyone together, there is a pretty solid future there. I've heard a couple are leaving due to work and travel, but it sounds like most of them will be there next year.

Dirty gave a brilliant speech after the game and appeared to be a bit teary as he left. He went through all the players and told them how to work on their games, and then told Bowen he should stay (which I've heard he will).

It will be interesting to see which direction they go. I heard Simon McCarty's name bandied around as coach, but there was nothing concrete.

Also, a great job by the ressies so far. It was a complete turn around from the week before when they comprehensively got beaten.

Fair point. It has set up the club for sweeping changes, but it really does depend on if the club gets some new younger people involved.

I ventured down to the game against Echuca and there is no doubt the club under-achieved this year. However, if they can keep everyone together, there is a pretty solid future there. I've heard a couple are leaving due to work and travel, but it sounds like most of them will be there next year.

Dirty gave a brilliant speech after the game and appeared to be a bit teary as he left. He went through all the players and told them how to work on their games, and then told Bowen he should stay (which I've heard he will).

It will be interesting to see which direction they go. I heard Simon McCarty's name bandied around as coach, but there was nothing concrete.

Also, a great job by the ressies so far. It was a complete turn around from the week before when they comprehensively got beaten.

Simon would be ideal, tick from me.

Also agree with Speed in that the committee needs some young energy. Same blokes been doing it for ages.

If only you lived closer bradrowe#32...

Or as the Seymour Unders found out, you can finish 5th and get a double chance...that is the highlight of the piss poor way the finals are done.

If they continue the top 6, what other way would people suggest to run it?

I reckon: 1 v 6, 2 v 5, 3 v 4

Two highest winners play in 2nd semi, lowest winner vs highest loser in 1st semi.

Would mean 5th still has the chance to make a 2nd semi, but it would mean beating 2nd, rather than 4th placed side. And entire top 3 losing.

Also, Lions have all 3 sides in 2nd semi...good effort.

Quite a few leagues (I think the Murray League is one of them) that run a Top 6 do it this way:
3 plays 6 and 4 plays 5 in the first week. 1 and 2 have the weekend off.
In week two, 1 plays 2 with the reward being another week off and spot in the granny.
The winners of the first two finals play off for the right to play the loser of 1 vs 2 in the prelim final.

Much more incentive to finish Top 2 under this format and nowhere near as advantageous to finish 3rd.

Simon would be ideal, tick from me.

Also agree with Speed in that the committee needs some young energy. Same blokes been doing it for ages.

If only you lived closer bradrowe#32...
Is Simon McCarty a local who has playd for Rochy most of his carrer? If so, what do the Rochy guys on this thread think of appointing another local or would you prefer an outsider who could maybe bring in big name recruits - similar to the Seymour/Euroa/Swans set ups of the past few years - Probably the best way to return to the top. But I guess it all comes down to $$$ and I'm not sure of the money situation at Rochy.

Onto the Rochy 2's win - I am shocked by the turnaround in the space of a week. Echuca wins the 1st one by 6-7 goals and Rochy wins the next week by a similar amount....I guess the 1's players returning made a huge difference.

Very surprised to see the Swannies smack Echuca off the park, I expected a much closer game as their last 2 games were pretty cose.

But the biggest shock for me was not only Mansfield's huge win over Euroa, but the 2 players who kicked 18 goals b/ween them - Boshevski (10) and Kelly(8). I am just baffled! Havn't heard of Boshevski before, but how can a slow, over 40yo overweight, unfit bloke kick so many against a Euroa team with plenty of tall options!!!

And a few surprises in 3rds too. Aha! Finals footy, u gotta love it!!!

Is Simon McCarty a local who has playd for Rochy most of his carrer? If so, what do the Rochy guys on this thread think of appointing another local or would you prefer an outsider who could maybe bring in big name recruits - similar to the Seymour/Euroa/Swans set ups of the past few years - Probably the best way to return to the top. But I guess it all comes down to $$$ and I'm not sure of the money situation at Rochy.

You bet your ass. Born and bred Rochy and played 300+ games for the club, though he's been at Echuca United the last few years.

Just from a supporters perspective, I think we need a bloke who the players will have a huge amount of respect for. Someone with AFL experience or a legend of the club like Simon or even a Jeremy Campbell (though I don't think he'd take it on).

He was a hard man Dirty and lots of guys who came to the club couldn't handle him and left. One of the keys to his success IMO.

Quite a few leagues (I think the Murray League is one of them) that run a Top 6 do it this way:
In week two, 1 plays 2 with the reward being another week off and spot in the granny.
The winners of the first two finals play off for the right to play the loser of 1 vs 2 in the prelim final.

Much more incentive to finish Top 2 under this format and nowhere near as advantageous to finish 3rd.

good system, gv should definately think about a change

Kelly hasn't played for about seven years I think

ALSO

Finals ficture for this week is as follows:
Straight from a GV email.
Website is wrong.

Saturday 15/9 at MOOROOPNA

Seniors
Shepp United v Mansfield
H, B A, W
Reserves
Echuca v Mansfield
H, G A, W
Under 18
Tatura v Shepparton
H, B A, W

Sunday 16/9 at DEAKIN RESERVE

Seniors
Seymour v Shepp Swans
UNITED , W SHEPP, R
Reserves
Rochester v Seymour
SHEPP, B UNITED, W
Under 18
Echuca v Seymour
SHEPP, G UNITED, W

The problem with this system is the lack of finals played. For a side to play off in the grand final after winning only one final doesn't seem quite right. Then again, no matter which way you put it a final six doesnt seem to work. Maybe it is time to try a top five or seven. Is there such thing as a top seven?

i've got a top seven long wait over...but that's only if we're no longer talking about footy...BOO YAH!!

Very surprised to see the Swannies smack Echuca off the park, I expected a much closer game as their last 2 games were pretty cose.

But the biggest shock for me was not only Mansfield's huge win over Euroa, but the 2 players who kicked 18 goals b/ween them - Boshevski (10) and Kelly(8). I am just baffled! Havn't heard of Boshevski before, but how can a slow, over 40yo overweight, unfit bloke kick so many against a Euroa team with plenty of tall options!!!

And a few surprises in 3rds too. Aha! Finals footy, u gotta love it!!!

Wasnt surprised at all with Swans/Echuca result. Swans will play off in the grand final against Seymour with Seymour to make it 3 in a row.

As for the Euroa/Mansfield game, it was quite a big shock with the margin being that great and could have been more if Mansfield had of kicked straight.

Boshevski got cut from the Bushrangers list at the start of the year, but Im sure after that performance, will be back on the radar for next year. He was just to quick off the mark for all Euroa backman and he has a great set of hands. He didnt miss either, from his 12 kicks he kicked 10.1. Amazing effort.

As for Craig Kelly kicking 8, what an effort for a bloke that is 41 years of age. Made some Euroa players look silly, he used all of this smarts to out postion his opponent and he was way to strong for them. But in reality, its an embarrassment on the league if a bloke like that is kicking 8, in what is supposed to be one of the best country leagues in the state.

I've never heard anyone say a bad word about the McIntyre Final 5 system and that format allows for the top team to get through to the granny on the back of one win (its first final is the 2nd semi and if it wins that it is through to the GF).

I reckon a 2nd semi final should be between the top 2 teams. Not the top and third that the current system offers. It can be better to finish 3rd in this system. The alternative top 6 mentioned on here today sounds better for mine.

What about this system
Week 1
QF1 1 v 4
QF2 2 v 3
EF 5 v 6

Week 2
2nd Semi - Winners of QF 1 & 2
1st Semi - Highest Loser of QF 1 & 2 v Winner of EF

Week 3
Prelim Final - Loser of 2nd Semi v Winner of 1st Semi

Week 4
Grand Final - Winner 2nd Semi v Winner Prelim

Points to consider
1st to 4th have opportunity of a double chance, but only 1st gauranteed double chance in first week, if 4th beats 1st and 2nd lose they can go straight out in first week which would be this systems major flaw.
System would work well and be more rewarding for all sides as long as 1st beats 4th in first week.

React! will be sitting on the esky in the driveway......ready and raring to go!

Morphous, I'm still around mate but a new job means a new workload which means less time on this site. Glad to see you are still flying the flag and havent forgotten old React!

Great job to the swans today....smashing the opposition! Must say, the carrier pigeon delivered a message to metro Melbourne the other night saying that the swannies were ready to go BANG.....and go BANG they did!

Just got off the phone with CUB React!, they're sponsoring us all the beer we need for the bus, gameday and after party!!