Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

Would have been a better decision to have gone to Werribee!

What do you base that assumption on RD ? I thought the chance to play at the highest level available to the player while he can is a large part of what footy is all about. Your always only one bad injury away from an early retirment

So isn't that why he would've been better at werribee? To get the chance at the highest level possible he can play at? As werribee is higher than swans...

Youve lost me!
What are you on about?

So isn't that why he would've been better at werribee? To get the chance at the highest level possible he can play at? As werribee is higher than swans...

Yeah sorry use are both right. I spoke before thinking. He should go to werribee if he has the chance. Just on the topic, would werribee two's (most likely start their id assume) beat swans ??

If he came r/up in the bushies b and f when they played in a GF and had no phone calls or contact before either of the drafts, he might have lost hope on playing at the highest level.

Also how many players get used up by VFL clubs and end up playing most of the years in the 2's.

I think most people would choose to play with their mates and family in a bid to win a premiership with their home club.

Besides, we had GVFL reps do pre seasons with AFL clubs.

We'll see how Mickey Barlow goes this year in the VFL

Yeah sorry use are both right. I spoke before thinking. He should go to werribee if he has the chance. Just on the topic, would werribee two's (most likely start their id assume) beat swans ??

and no i don't think werribee 2's would beat any of the top 4 sides from last year. as they are mostly filled with 18-21 year olds.

Would be some good matches though

and no i don't think werribee 2's would beat any of the top 4 sides from last year. as they are mostly filled with 18-21 year olds.

Would be some good matches though

Just heard the news, Seymour have signed robbie douglas. Apparently did the deal last night. Great for the d's.

In even greater news,(Greatest w***er) ofalltime has been inducted into the Bigfooty gold club.After reading you posts mate,it really is "offal" time whenever you hit the keypads.Keep up the good work champ,your dribble puts interest in our days.

Oooooh hit a nerve have we. You sook, time will tell who is right, CLAPPED OUT.

Welcome Matt laid out at Ky
Former Murray Bushrangers star Matt Deledio has turned down an offer to play in the VFL to stay with Kyabram for the upcoming season.
It's a major boost for the Goulburn Valley Football League club, which has already lost key senior players Josh Finn and Paul Burnett from last year.
But Deledio said it was an easy decision to stay with his home club.
``I had an offer from Werribee to play with them, but I'm deferring from uni this year, so I want to stay here and earn a bit of money and I really want to give something back to the club that has been so good to me,'' Deledio said.
``I haven't missed a training session yet and I'm really looking forward to the season.''
The 18-year-old was one of the standouts for the Bushrangers last year, playing 20 games and being among the best in the grand final loss to Calder Cannons.
Deledio was also given the option of playing another season with the TAC Cup team as a 19-year-old, but decided against it.
``I got the phone call and thought about it, I really enjoyed my year out there,'' he said.
``But there's a lot of travel involved and I'm keen to play senior footy.''
Kyabram president Peter Croxford said it was pleasing to keep the talented young footballer for another year.
``He's played all his junior footy with us, so it's great that he's going to have another year with us and give something back to the club,'' Croxford said.
``Last year he played some good senior footy for us when the Bushies had a bye, so we're hoping he has a big year.''
Croxford said there had been record numbers at the Bombers' pre-season training, but they were still looking for a couple of new players.
``We've been getting 40-plus at each training session, which is something that's never happened before,'' he said.

Lowe 'n' behold Brad's back at Cats
Michael Van Dorsser
McNamara medallist Brad Lowe will return to the Goulburn Valley Football League ranks with Mooroopna next season.
A premiership player with Ardmona, Lowe returns to the Cats after an eight-year absence.
He said he was looking to improve his standard of football by going up a level of competition.
``There is a good young group out at Mooroopna,'' Lowe said.
Admitting that his fitness was not up to scratch, Lowe said that he was on the way to getting the kilometres back into his legs.
``It (fitness) is going to be a slow process, but we will get there,'' Lowe said.
``We are training two nights a week and on top of cricket training two nights a week I will get there.''
The 26-year-old said it was a tough decision to leave his home Kyabram District league club after losing the grand final last season.
``It is my home club out there, but if I don't move now I never will,'' Lowe said.
Mooroopna coach Brad Campbell said that he was rapt with the return of Lowe.
``His (Lowe's) experience will be very valuable in a fairly young team,'' Campbell said.
``He is a natural leader on the football field and is respected by all the players.''

Hockey on move as chance with Bullants bites

Tom Biddington
Mooroopna young gun Ash Hockey is going to try his luck with VFL club Northern Bullants for the upcoming season.
The 18-year-old has committed to the Bullants for this season and is preparing to move down to Melbourne in the coming weeks.
Hockey, who was unlucky not be picked up by an AFL club in the draft, decided to have a crack in the state league at the request of Carlton.
Hockey had already spoken to other VFL clubs North Ballarat and Tasmania, while SANFL club Glenelg also showed interest, but in the end he thought the Bullants was the best option.
``David Teague (coach of the Bullants) rang me a month ago and said Brett Ratten was keen to get me down there,'' Hockey said.
``I was going to stay with Mooroopna, but this is a really good opportunity and I thought I'd have a crack and see how I go.''
The hard-running midfielder represented Victoria Country at the past two under-18 National Championships and attended the AFL Draft Camp at the Australian Institute of Sport in October.
Hockey was one of the Murray Bushrangers' leading players in the past couple of seasons and was one of the few standout performers in the TAC Cup Grand Final, amassing 29 possessions.
A back injury has curtailed his pre-season so far, but Hockey said that's feeling fine and he'll resume training on Monday.
``That's all good at the moment, so I'll start training with Mooroopna next week,'' he said.
``I'm just waiting on the Bullants to help find me a job in Melbourne and then I'll move down and stay at my brother's place in Tullamarine.''
But it's not all bad news for the Cats, who have retained fellow Murray Bushranger Tyson Warnett for this season.

I have heard that Euroa have lost a few Melbourne boys over the summer. Hyatt, King, M.Clayton, McBrien and Pascoe all gone. Is this true?

Welcome Matt laid out at Ky
Former Murray Bushrangers star Matt Deledio has turned down an offer to play in the VFL to stay with Kyabram for the upcoming season.
It's a major boost for the Goulburn Valley Football League club, which has already lost key senior players Josh Finn and Paul Burnett from last year.
But Deledio said it was an easy decision to stay with his home club.
``I had an offer from Werribee to play with them, but I'm deferring from uni this year, so I want to stay here and earn a bit of money and I really want to give something back to the club that has been so good to me,'' Deledio said.
``I haven't missed a training session yet and I'm really looking forward to the season.''
The 18-year-old was one of the standouts for the Bushrangers last year, playing 20 games and being among the best in the grand final loss to Calder Cannons.
Deledio was also given the option of playing another season with the TAC Cup team as a 19-year-old, but decided against it.
``I got the phone call and thought about it, I really enjoyed my year out there,'' he said.
``But there's a lot of travel involved and I'm keen to play senior footy.''
Kyabram president Peter Croxford said it was pleasing to keep the talented young footballer for another year.
``He's played all his junior footy with us, so it's great that he's going to have another year with us and give something back to the club,'' Croxford said.
``Last year he played some good senior footy for us when the Bushies had a bye, so we're hoping he has a big year.''
Croxford said there had been record numbers at the Bombers' pre-season training, but they were still looking for a couple of new players.
``We've been getting 40-plus at each training session, which is something that's never happened before,'' he said.

Lowe 'n' behold Brad's back at Cats
Michael Van Dorsser
McNamara medallist Brad Lowe will return to the Goulburn Valley Football League ranks with Mooroopna next season.
A premiership player with Ardmona, Lowe returns to the Cats after an eight-year absence.
He said he was looking to improve his standard of football by going up a level of competition.
``There is a good young group out at Mooroopna,'' Lowe said.
Admitting that his fitness was not up to scratch, Lowe said that he was on the way to getting the kilometres back into his legs.
``It (fitness) is going to be a slow process, but we will get there,'' Lowe said.
``We are training two nights a week and on top of cricket training two nights a week I will get there.''
The 26-year-old said it was a tough decision to leave his home Kyabram District league club after losing the grand final last season.
``It is my home club out there, but if I don't move now I never will,'' Lowe said.
Mooroopna coach Brad Campbell said that he was rapt with the return of Lowe.
``His (Lowe's) experience will be very valuable in a fairly young team,'' Campbell said.
``He is a natural leader on the football field and is respected by all the players.''

Hockey on move as chance with Bullants bites
Tom Biddington
Mooroopna young gun Ash Hockey is going to try his luck with VFL club Northern Bullants for the upcoming season.
The 18-year-old has committed to the Bullants for this season and is preparing to move down to Melbourne in the coming weeks.
Hockey, who was unlucky not be picked up by an AFL club in the draft, decided to have a crack in the state league at the request of Carlton.
Hockey had already spoken to other VFL clubs North Ballarat and Tasmania, while SANFL club Glenelg also showed interest, but in the end he thought the Bullants was the best option.
``David Teague (coach of the Bullants) rang me a month ago and said Brett Ratten was keen to get me down there,'' Hockey said.
``I was going to stay with Mooroopna, but this is a really good opportunity and I thought I'd have a crack and see how I go.''
The hard-running midfielder represented Victoria Country at the past two under-18 National Championships and attended the AFL Draft Camp at the Australian Institute of Sport in October.
Hockey was one of the Murray Bushrangers' leading players in the past couple of seasons and was one of the few standout performers in the TAC Cup Grand Final, amassing 29 possessions.
A back injury has curtailed his pre-season so far, but Hockey said that's feeling fine and he'll resume training on Monday.
``That's all good at the moment, so I'll start training with Mooroopna next week,'' he said.
``I'm just waiting on the Bullants to help find me a job in Melbourne and then I'll move down and stay at my brother's place in Tullamarine.''
But it's not all bad news for the Cats, who have retained fellow Murray Bushranger Tyson Warnett for this season.

Would just like to comment on the Matt Deledio article. Firstly, he was not a bushies star - he was a good, but average, player. Secondly, the bushies kids at werribee at the moment got invited to TRAIN with them for the time being so werribbe could see if they wanted them - Deledio was in the same boat, so its not as if he's knocked back a vfl offer to play in the GV. And i can say he wasnt a 'standout', that is totally unfair on the dozen or so players who had far more of an impact than himself. Dont know who wrote the article but the journo shouldnt be blowing the kids tyres up to much. This is not a stab at Deledio, he will be a good player in time, but I dont think he should be written up as god's gift to Ky and the GV, just because his last name is the same as his highly credentialled brother. Happy to hear others thoughts. :thumbsu:

Where did he finish in the bushies B and F??

totally agree. very overated player. will be just another good 18yr old in running around in the gv. if he didnt have the last name deledio he probably would never have been looked at for bushies. and i know several guys who got invited to train at werribee and its not like theyre "knocking back" an oppurtunity to play vfl if they dont get selected.

Who is Robbie Douglas???

Captain coach of the Broadford Cricket Club, apparently can play a bit too - I dont think ofalltime's mail is totally accurate, pretty sure he trained up there but I doubt he committed to the Lions for 2008 . . . . not before the Mighty HDFL Roos crunch some numbers anyway :eek:

Hasn't signed Doona.

Seymour approaching Cameron Gillet this week for 2008.

Lion star leaps at city offer
Triple Seymour premiership player Rodney Van Reit appears set to leave to the Lions for Melbourne suburban club Aberfeldie.
Van Reit, 22, said yesterday he was ready for a new challenge after 111 games with the club he began his senior career with.

A former Murray Bushrangers wingman, Van Reit has played a major part in the Lions success during the past three seasons and has represented the Goulburn Valley at interleague level.

``I've been studying in Melbourne for the past couple of years and I'm probably just a little tired of the travel back and forth every weekend,'' Van Reit said.

``I'm obviously a Seymour boy and I've played all my footy there, but I think a change at this stage of my career isn't a bad thing.

``I know a few of the blokes at Aberfeldie and they've tried to get me there for the past couple of seasons, but I'm excited about the move.''

Van Reit has consistently finished the top five of the Lions' best and fairest for the past three seasons and reached the 100-game milestone last season.

He will be reunited with former Bushrangers team-mate Mark Worthington, from Wangaratta, at Aberfeldie and will be a teammate of former Collingwood grand final ruckman Steve McKee. The club failed to make the Essendon District Football League finals last season.

Seymour coach Bernie Haberman said yesterday he was aware Van Reit was considering leaving the club and would attempt to keep him at the Lions.

Meanwhile, premiership defender Robbie Douglas _ who left the Lions last year for Port Douglas in the AFL Cairns competition _ is believed to be considering a return to Victoria.

Haberman said the club had spoke to Douglas informally, but was waiting on the star defender to decide if he would return to northern Queensland this year.

Lion star leaps at city offer
Triple Seymour premiership player Rodney Van Reit appears set to leave to the Lions for Melbourne suburban club Aberfeldie.
Van Reit, 22, said yesterday he was ready for a new challenge after 111 games with the club he began his senior career with.

A former Murray Bushrangers wingman, Van Reit has played a major part in the Lions success during the past three seasons and has represented the Goulburn Valley at interleague level.

``I've been studying in Melbourne for the past couple of years and I'm probably just a little tired of the travel back and forth every weekend,'' Van Reit said.

``I'm obviously a Seymour boy and I've played all my footy there, but I think a change at this stage of my career isn't a bad thing.

``I know a few of the blokes at Aberfeldie and they've tried to get me there for the past couple of seasons, but I'm excited about the move.''

Van Reit has consistently finished the top five of the Lions' best and fairest for the past three seasons and reached the 100-game milestone last season.

He will be reunited with former Bushrangers team-mate Mark Worthington, from Wangaratta, at Aberfeldie and will be a teammate of former Collingwood grand final ruckman Steve McKee. The club failed to make the Essendon District Football League finals last season.

Seymour coach Bernie Haberman said yesterday he was aware Van Reit was considering leaving the club and would attempt to keep him at the Lions.

Meanwhile, premiership defender Robbie Douglas _ who left the Lions last year for Port Douglas in the AFL Cairns competition _ is believed to be considering a return to Victoria.

Haberman said the club had spoke to Douglas informally, but was waiting on the star defender to decide if he would return to northern Queensland this year.

No signing from Robbie as yet. He will be a massive inclusion if he does stay, but as he said he doesnt even know what he is doing yet, so im not too sure how all these people know.

He has just been having a run with the lions, as it is a bit hard for him to get to the preseason sessions at port douglas.