Old Scholars

OHA- Has recruited some reserves Clarence players but is there team getting to old. Will the old legs keep up with the new pace of the game?

Fair dinkum, has the pace of the game picked up much at this level?

Any updates on how the teams are travelling with their pre season training?? I saw that richmond are beginning soon? late start for the blues.. anyone heard of any more recruits for channel? How many ex clarence reserves players have OHA picked up?? How ar DOSA travelling?? many on the track? Are they spashing the money around?? What about Channel?? will they be a forcd in 2010?? Uni appear to be travelling well.. solid sessions point to a fit and competitive team in 2010...

In other news...

I heard that Alex Gilmour has just gotten his automatic licence at age 23.. late start for the big fella.. i wish him well on the roads..

Joyce in the square for channel also stonjak,jackson from huonville Butters from Hobart and Adam Crane and mates from kingborough also Brendon Lorkin training with them thanks to the people at Tassal the sharks should be competitve, Joyce and Skegg from clarence to OHA not sure on dosa and the Blues could have some key players out of SFL joing them will have to see when they start training not sure on DOSA and Hutchins. Should be a even better comp uni looks the team to beat with 4 ex devils in there side

Any updates on how the teams are travelling with their pre season training?? What about Channel?? will they be a forcd in 2010??

Went down for a look on Wed, was pretty impressed with the numbers on the paddock for this time of the year, must have been a good 40 blokes of all shapes and jumper colours running around looking pretty fit and well drilled (with the exeption of the usual one or two lard asses plodding around in circles around the edges of the oval)

Played a practice game between themselves later, the way they played against each other was a lot better than some of the actual games that was played this season gone with players willing to chase and tackle hard and actually kicking the ball to someone on the lead rather than booting it up in the air and hoping for the best.

Went down for a look on Wed, was pretty impressed with the numbers on the paddock for this time of the year, must have been a good 40 blokes of all shapes and jumper colours running around looking pretty fit and well drilled (with the exeption of the usual one or two lard asses plodding around in circles around the edges of the oval)

Played a practice game between themselves later, the way they played against each other was a lot better than some of the actual games that was played this season gone with players willing to chase and tackle hard and actually kicking the ball to someone on the lead rather than booting it up in the air and hoping for the best.

Yep things are defently getting better, i think we have had nearly 50 differnt people on the track and most of them seem commited to playing this year.. So people may need to finally rock up to training for a game in reserves or even seniors for a change this year!

The ships has picked up some speed. Few Roos boys headed over by reports. M Thompson, N skeggs, joyce, orchard & drurry from central hawks.

Heard for a good source that the DOSA lads are absolutely disgusted with Patty Carrol for leaving the Roosters to play for cash at Huonville. The boys believe this is a weak act as all his best mates play at the roosters ! Apparently Patty's excuse was that he wanted to challenge himself at a higher standard.

Well Patrick, playing at bloody Huonville wont be much of a challenge champ, apparently they have been getting 10-15 at training. The standard isn't that good mate and the ground when wet will be just as bad as cadburys. Plus the travel as well, YUCK !

If you want to play some good football, how about you don't be piss weak and challenge yourself in the state league !! If not play with your mates as you would be wasting your time playing bush footy next year ! :mad:

Heard for a good source that the DOSA lads are absolutely disgusted with Patty Carrol for leaving the Roosters to play for cash at Huonville. The boys believe this is a weak act as all his best mates play at the roosters ! Apparently Patty's excuse was that he wanted to challenge himself at a higher standard.

Well Patrick, playing at bloody Huonville wont be much of a challenge champ, apparently they have been getting 10-15 at training. The standard isn't that good mate and the ground when wet will be just as bad as cadburys. Plus the travel as well, YUCK !

If you want to play some good football, how about you don't be piss weak and challenge yourself in the state league !! If not play with your mates as you would be wasting your time playing bush footy next year ! :mad:
Geez! Tell us what you really think.....:eek:

Thats a bit harsh Barry, Patty is probably a bit pissed and feeling a littlehard done by with all the coin being thrown at these young Glenorchy Reserves players ( and a couple of senior players from last year) that are yet to prove themselves. Patty is a very good solid footballer and to call him weak as piss for going to huonville and not having a crack at statewide is a blight on you champ.

Patty is a very good footballer thats why I said it mate, dosa can't afford to lose one of the leaders of the club. Plus I know a guy like Patty can have a big impact at a SWL as he is a very committed and disciplined player. So my opinion is that if he is going to leave the roosters, play with the big boys ! So budgetnews take my comment as constructive criticism:D as that's all it was meant to be !

A big impact on SWL!!! You must be joking? One of Dosa's top players.... But thats about it.

Have to agree with you - Patty is a good honest Old Scholars player but having played against him for a number of years he would struggle to take the next step.

Will certainly hurt Dosa though as he always has a real crack and leads from the front. Going to make Milko Lamonts job even harder.

Agree thegame23. Solid player at best. Although one of the better ones for the roosters. Walked past their training last night at Dominic...Good numbers, not sure many of them can play though... skills ordinary after some not so hard running. The coach was there leading from the front and Kim Harvey is looking in good knick.. Lets hope they improve, as they are a proud club.

would of been a struggle to see how the boys skills were since the balls weren't out last night mate... boys did a 3km time trial and a boxing session (so i dunno what hard running would b to u mate:thumbsu: ) because there was so pretty impressive running from all the boys... all the lads r putting in really hard down there to atone from last yr....

Good luck to Dosa.... as long as they have picked up a good 6-7 quality players they should be ok.... Because thats how many they would need to beat the top 2-3 sides next year.;)

3k what a massive night. Fitness was not there problem last year. ABILITY was. Very defensive you Dosa boys...:thumbsu:

Does anyone know who Uni's reserves coach is for season 2010. Heard a rumour that the clubs last premiership coach (reserves 2005), Steffan "The Greek God" Waight might be making a return to the coaching ranks?? If this is true it would be a massive pick up for the 'Rainbows'.. He is a very deep thinker of the game and and his strategys and structures he brings will only benefit the whole club. If this is true, expect nothing but ultimate success for Uni this year...:thumbsu: