gocatsgo

Apr 30, 2000
Reading
On behalf of ALL Geelong supporters, I just wish to say....

So, Join in the chorus and sing it one and all..... I think we know the rest!

Good on you Kangas - even though we are supposed to hate you! Now make sure that performance can hold for one more week!

All we need now is..

The Power to win - Come on, show that Port Adelaide tradition!

Originally posted by gocatsgo

All we need now is..

The Power to win - Come on, show that Port Adelaide tradition!

Have you thought about the possibility of actually winning yourselves? (no Carlton jokes necessary please)

We actually should beat Hawthorn now as a home game at Colonial.

I'd just like to be able to guarantee a position by the end of the week, and I somehow don't get the feeling we will beat Brisbane, regardless of how much we hope.

Hawthorn are out of contention if we don't get hammered, we just need West Coast to cop it this week. I've just got a sneaking suspision that they may sneak a win in the last two, if not this week, then quite possible next week against the injured Kangas.

Traditionally, Hawthorn have been the team to just do enough to deny us in the past and we all know our history with West Coast. I just get the feeling that results may not fall out way, but it's off to a good start.

Anyway, I'd be happy to finish eighth and play Collingwood, Melbourne, Kangaroos or Essendon. We've beaten them all throughout the season.

We'd struggle against North most of all, but if we got a hard surface at Colonial without Archer, it could get us over the line.

Even if we played just the one final and got bundled out, it still would be a great achievemnt by the club to get so far.

It's been a great season for us regardless, a final would just cap it off, but I reckon we need some help getting there.

So come on the Roos, come on the Power, and come on Brisbane, go easy please!

The Spornstar: Good call!!

Can't you tell us Geelong supporters are confident? ;)

Yes, the bottom line is that we have to win one more game to qualify. But, those teams being Brisbane, and our nemisis in Hawthorn make it very tough.

At least at Geelong we are thinking of contingencies :p

If West Coast don't win another game for the rest of the year, and Geelong don't either, it is possible that by precentage, we can still sneak through with 11 wins because of Hawthorn's poor percentage (of course we are assuming that the ladder pretty much stays as is).

Never know with Geelong though, we could beat the reigning premiers, beat our nemisis and go into the finals with 13 wins, a home final and who knows what else??

I did say we were confident ;) :p

GoCatsGo......... pleeeeaassssseeeee DONT start saying we will beat Hawthorn or should beat them! I know they are out now, and next week, we could still need that win in order to make it, but doesn't that say that Geelong, by sheer weight of past chokes, mean that we will lose?

By The Way........ tomorrow's match hasn't even started yet! And we may not even have to worry about beating the Hawks (would be less fun though, hey?) ;)

I've worked it out.

If results go our way and we fail to win a game. Currently, we have 164 points to play with in terms of percentage over Hawthorn.

If we lose by say 40 points tomorrow - optimistic I know - we will have 124 to play with, meaning Hawthorn would need a 10 goal plus win to take our spot (62 to them, 62 off us would make it level)

If it is 80 points, we will be left with 84 points up and they would need to win by about 7 goals to take out spot.

Lot of variables obviously, Has anyone got a crystal ball so i can find out what happens?

Originally posted by LozNger_6
GoCatsGo......... pleeeeaassssseeeee DONT start saying we will beat Hawthorn or should beat them! I know they are out now, and next week, we could still need that win in order to make it, but doesn't that say that Geelong, by sheer weight of past chokes, mean that we will lose?

BINGO!!!

First, it's a losing situation to look ahead to a game next week that isn't a guaranteed proposition to win.

Contrary to popular belief, Brisbane IS a beatable side-- and as I've said on other related threads in the run-up to this crunch clash, the Cats' motivations to perform up to a winning calibre are higher than those of the Lions.

Geelong should, and can, get the job done now. No sense in waiting for favours from other teams, or what seems likely on paper. Contingency plans cannot, and will not, enter into the equation, as the game's not played on paper, but rather on a footy oval where all things are considered equal.

In other words, do the deed (dirty or otherwise) at home on Saturday!

Cheers,
William

Can you tell, I'd love to beat brisbane tomorrow, but the honest truth is, I'm worried about it being a blowout.

We're playing like crap, they're on top of the ladder as the reigning premiers, we've NEVER EVER beaten the Brisbane Lions and they are at full strength, we're down on personal. All signs point to a disaster

If it is, we need results to go our way, simple as that. Even the most optimistic Geelong supporter needs to prepare for the possibility.

It is Geelong after all!

Well, I have seen the Lions dish out 100 point thumpings before.... :p

Seriously GCG, while I hope we can win next week (and I think we will.. but I always think we will against the Cats) I kind of doubt that with our percentage gap as it is that the (very) unlikely situation will come about that will see us replacing you in the eight. I would be happy if it did happen don't get me wrong, just really not very optomistic about the chane of it becoming reality though.

Tell you what, wish for the Dockers and Blues to beat the Dons and for us both to make it instead okay. ;)

Cheers.

Originally posted by LozNger_6
At least at Geelong we are thinking of contingencies :p

If West Coast don't win another game for the rest of the year, and Geelong don't either, it is possible that by precentage, we can still sneak through with 11 wins because of Hawthorn's poor percentage (of course we are assuming that the ladder pretty much stays as is).

Never know with Geelong though, we could beat the reigning premiers, beat our nemisis and go into the finals with 13 wins, a home final and who knows what else??

I did say we were confident ;) :p

It also depends on if the moon rises 10 minutes before the game, if the sun shines for 5 minutes this weekend and if the players keep their fingers crossed.

Mark Thompson has conceded defeat this weekend by saying that if Geelong are losing we need to keep it to a small loss.

BigKev

Originally posted by BigKev
Mark Thompson has conceded defeat this weekend by saying that if Geelong are losing we need to keep it to a small loss.

BigKev,

That is called reverse pschycology and lets hope Brisbane actually believe what Mark Thompson said and come out accordingly later this afternoon!!

Go Cats!! :cool:
SeinDude

Originally posted by SeinDude

BigKev,

That is called reverse pschycology and lets hope Brisbane actually believe what Mark Thompson said and come out accordingly later this afternoon!!

SeinDude

SeinDude you can only live in hope mate! The only chance Geelong have is if it stays this damn freezing all day. But then again we are used to being placed in fridges!!!!

BigKev

Originally posted by BigKev
SeinDude you can only live in hope mate! The only chance Geelong have is if it stays this damn freezing all day. But then again we are used to being placed in fridges!!!!

BigKev,

So you're saying we're a chance then?? :D:D:D

Bring on the rain, the freezing cold, heck it can bloody well snow for all I care!! :D:D:D

SeinDude

We actually should beat Hawthorn now as a home game at Colonial.

Haha! How is it your home? Kardinia Park is your home, and don't forget it. Anyway, you're our bitches. What do I care anyway, we're finished, but nothing will give me more pleasure than helping the Roos into the eight by absoluty pummeling your rabble.

The Hitman

Originally posted by The Hitman
Haha! How is it your home? Kardinia Park is your home, and don't forget it. Anyway, you're our bitches. What do I care anyway, we're finished, but nothing will give me more pleasure than helping the Roos into the eight by absoluty pummeling your rabble.

The Hitman,

You're starting to sound like big Jack down at Carlton, calling other clubs a rabble when all along failing to see the team in front of your own eyes!! :D:D:D

Besides that, aren't the Kangaroos already assured of playing in the finals after last night's gutsy win against the Hawks??? ;)

I am reminded of the last time Geelong played Hawthorn in the last round when the Hawks had nothing to play for, (round 22, 1995) and it was a comfortable 46 point victory for us. Lets hope for more of the same next Friday night as Hawthorn will hopefully just go through the motions looking ahead to next season.

SeinDude

Originally posted by The Hitman

The Hitman

Hehehe, Hitman letting off a bit of steam.

Yes Kardinia Park is OUR home, we dont have to rent a ground with 3-4 other clubs.

And im sure helping the Roos into the finals would give you a huge amount of 'pleasure', thats what its all about isnt it - helping out other teams :rolleyes: .

Can you tell, I'd love to beat brisbane tomorrow, but the honest truth is, I'm worried about it being a blowout.

We're playing like crap, they're on top of the ladder as the reigning premiers, we've NEVER EVER beaten the Brisbane Lions and they are at full strength, we're down on personal. All signs point to a disaster

If it is, we need results to go our way, simple as that. Even the most optimistic Geelong supporter needs to prepare for the possibility.

It is Geelong after all!

Oh, poop. They CAN win this... after all, Jennifer and I aren't driving all the way from Ballarat just to see them lose. :D

Two wins to close out the home-and-away season-- against Brisbane today and against Hawthorn on Friday night-- will prepare the mighty Cats for September footy. :D:D

Like I said, don't rely on others to do the job, or on contingencies that are not assured of happening. As the expression goes, if you want something done right, go out and do it yourself!!!

Cheers,
William

On behalf of all Geelong supporters...