ONE Port Adelaide Football Club

I don't support anyone in the SANFL since the PAFC left, but I think that we either are together officially or the magpies should fold

75%/16%/9% - survey of our members in late 2008 or early 2009.

Magpies/don't - didn't follow SANFL/other SANFL clubs

The Crows actually remind me of a frog sitting in a saucepan of water slowly heating on a stove.

Their attendances and memberships are slipping, they are apparently going to post a loss this year but it's nice and warm and cosy where they are at footy park. I do chuckle when I think that $20 million was spent on their training facility. I reckon part of the motivation was to bolster the standing of AAMI stadium as the home of footy in SA and was done because the Crows are in cahoots with the SANFL.

We are lean and hungry because of our situation and looking to innovate. There's a saying that whatever doesn't kill you will make you stronger. It would be nice to look back in ten or fifteen years time and see this difficult period as signalling the start of Ports reemergence as the dominant force in SA football and leveraging that to sustained onfield success in the AFL.

Spot on. What I always find hilarious though is how much innovative stuff is done at our club marketing wise etc and how many training methods and stuff our boys and our club does for significant periods of time, however it doesn't get noticed by the media then suddenly the crows copy the idea and it's apparently revolutionary and the crows at the cutting edge. It happens so much it's hilarious. The most obvious example is the Powers 23rd man initiative that we slowly phased out then the crows copied it and called it the 19th man, taking it to another level. However you ask any crows supporter and I doubt they'd have any idea that we tried the idea first.

It's definitely needed for the good of both clubs. From a business perspective there should be significant reductions in operating costs but I think the real advantage will be in supporting the clubs identity. Over the last few years all the "Live the creed" and "Est 1870" campaigns have been weakened by all the bull**** surrounding the who is "the real Port" debate and it needs to be put to bed once and for all. Reunifying the two clubs will give Port Adelaide the ability to present itself as a club (as opposed to the corporate clowns) with greater conviction and less doubt.

A lot of people ask me why I support Port Adelaide in the AFL when I follow the WWT Eagles in the SANFL, and the answer is because Port is a true club with a great history, and not a money-making entertainment machine (I use the word "entertainment" loosely). This is the angle that Port Adelaide needs to take if it wants to attract more "non-Port" people to the club, and anything that supports this position (such as reunification) is a great idea.

Great post

It's definitely needed for the good of both clubs. From a business perspective there should be significant reductions in operating costs but I think the real advantage will be in supporting the clubs identity. Over the last few years all the "Live the creed" and "Est 1870" campaigns have been weakened by all the bull**** surrounding the who is "the real Port" debate and it needs to be put to bed once and for all. Reunifying the two clubs will give Port Adelaide the ability to present itself as a club (as opposed to the corporate clowns) with greater conviction and less doubt.

A lot of people ask me why I support Port Adelaide in the AFL when I follow the WWT Eagles in the SANFL, and the answer is because Port is a true club with a great history, and not a money-making entertainment machine (I use the word "entertainment" loosely). This is the angle that Port Adelaide needs to take if it wants to attract more "non-Port" people to the club, and anything that supports this position (such as reunification) is a great idea.

Great Post sums me up better than I could say so myself.

Im in the 9% too. (North Adelaide)

I wonder what Simon Tregenza will do?

He's a crows fan, and a Port Magpies fan

Would be an interesting interview

I totally understand why and although it might cause a bit of short-term consternation for the non-Magpies era supporters we've picked up along the way (yourself, christoh?, sog35?, silky-smooth?, jumbo?, edward teach?) in the long term it's for the best.

A united Port Adelaide - within regulated parameters to maintain a level of fairness especially in terms of the SANFL arm's financing which was the main issue which sparked the split in the first place - would go a long way to righting the wrongs of the past and providing a suitable outcome for everyone concerning the two clubs' profitability in the long term.

The likes of North Adelaide can't go on bitching about the Power and Magpies receiving 'handouts' when they rubber-stamped the preconditions which helped cause the current problems in the first place and seem determined to knock any moves to remedy them on the head before they've even seen them.

What he said .....

can i add,

With this push to become one club again, Mr Tim Ginever needs to show how our club's were formed....right from the get go to educate the non supporter....yes, we need to go back and eliminate what the SANFL forced upon us, that was this split........

He also needs to show why we need this club to be as one.........it will make sense.....to any Crow supporter

It's rumoured in today's Sunday Mail that a South Australian company is about to announce a five-year sponsorship deal with the Port Magpies securing their future until the end of the 2015 season.

That will give the clubs a bit of time to work on this approach.

The issue of reduced cost will help both clubs but can the POW support both when the Magpies only supporters do not by memberships or turn up to games. I kow people want this to happen but in terms of support it will hurt the Magpies in a big way once those supporters walk.

What needs to be said is what membership and attendances are needed for both for this to work and then they need to see if this is attainable.

What will happen in the event of a clash of games?

The magpies will go to being one of the lowest attendances in the SANFL.

By all means the clubs should work together more but should not be one.

it's amazing that people jump over hurdles for the PAMFC, but as it sits, the PAFC looks more likely to fold sooner then the magpies. Crazy I know but people shouldn't forget the club in the AFL

The issue of reduced cost will help both clubs but can the POW support both when the Magpies only supporters do not by memberships or turn up to games. I kow people want this to happen but in terms of support it will hurt the Magpies in a big way once those supporters walk.

What needs to be said is what membership and attendances are needed for both for this to work and then they need to see if this is attainable.

Would you support the Power and buy a membership if this merge went ahead? Just can't understand PAMFC fans who support other clubs in the AFL

I can't undertand that either mate.
Lifelong maggies supporters not follwing Port but following Collingwood ,Carlton ,Geelong and even worse Adelaide Crows is incomprehensible..
Dwayne Russell said on the telly Today that the SANFL will never let the Maggies become the Powers reserve side and he thinks both clubs should merge as one with the magpies finishing up like it always should have been.
This is the way I interpreted it anyway and I believe this should be the case even if half of the swinging magpie supporters came on board would be of huge benefit.

The issue of reduced cost will help both clubs but can the POW support both when the Magpies only supporters do not by memberships or turn up to games.

There will be a revamped POW and the pokie licences from The Port Club which will be moved to a high-density area in future.

I kow people want this to happen but in terms of support it will hurt the Magpies in a big way once those supporters walk.

Which supporters are walking exactly?

Well, yeah...

The SANFL shouldn't let this happen. Emphasis on 'shouldn't'.

How so?

What, because you chose to believe the Power wasn't 'the real Port' and threw your lot in with the Saints?

There are alot of Magpies Fans who do not follow the Power and yes some may continue but the most will walk because we want to be our own club.

Losing these people who go to all games will hurt the SANFL club.

The Pokies are all this is about

If the Magpies did not have the POW we would not be having this debate.

The last time our board thought they could not survive.

Firth has already said that the Magpies would have to come out stronger I can not see thi shappening. this deal will help the Power in a big way i know but i see little benift for the magpies.

there will always be clased games and you are asking one group of supporter to go to the foot twice a week. I know most supporters follow both, but both clubs have started to gain new supporters who do not and although the Power wilol not lose support from this the Magpies will as these new fans follow other teams. Also it is peoples own choice if they followed port into the AFL or not. They have their right to oppose this to protect their club and the only reason we did not last time is we listen to our board who said we could not survive otherwise and had already said goodbye to the club.

There are alot of Magpies Fans who do not follow the Power and yes some may continue but the most will walk because we want to be our own club.

Losing these people who go to all games will hurt the SANFL club.

The Pokies are all this is about

If the Magpies did not have the POW we would not be having this debate.

The last time our board thought they could not survive.

Firth has already said that the Magpies would have to come out stronger I can not see thi shappening. this deal will help the Power in a big way i know but i see little benift for the magpies.

there will always be clased games and you are asking one group of supporter to go to the foot twice a week. I know most supporters follow both, but both clubs have started to gain new supporters who do not and although the Power wilol not lose support from this the Magpies will as these new fans follow other teams. Also it is peoples own choice if they followed port into the AFL or not. They have their right to oppose this to protect their club and the only reason we did not last time is we listen to our board who said we could not survive otherwise and had already said goodbye to the club.

As a Power member I couldnt give a stuff what a St Kilda supporter thinks.

As a Magpies member I think anyone who would stop supporting the club because we reunited with the Power is not the kind of supporter we should let effect our decisions.

Signed up.

Not sure if this is common knowledge, but I believe that the magpies administration is moving into Port Adelaide FC and will be located upstairs above the Port Club. Magpies gear will also be sold in Merchanise Shop. It would seem we are moving towards one club already.

ONE Port Adelaide Football Club