No Oppo Supporters OPPOSITION OBSERVATION XXIV

Fagan is as salty as Scott , fu** him and the Brions
The way he tried to get around and almost celebrate winning the first quarter with a smile, puttin his hand around Camerons neck.
And then to come out and say he was frustrated they had won all the stats, had improved and had 10 more shots on goals than the previous game but we hadn’t improved and they had nullified Martin in the middle...
He doesn’t know or doesn’t want to accept why they lost.
He’s never been to finals before as the head coach he might just want to hand then everything over to Hodgey for the week and cheer em on.
Straight sets see ya later

I have to say I’m kind of happy they’re throwing all caution to the wind to get Danger a premiership. It keeps the comp interesting and is the entire point.

But they won’t win one so it’s also funny.

Not that we should be complaining that he went to Geelong in the first place, but had he stayed at Adelaide, it's likely that Adelaide would have been too strong for us in 2017, remembering that Sloane was tearing us apart in the grand final until Jack stopped him, had Dangerfield still been at Adelaide, their midfield would have been a lot stronger, Jack could have stopped one of them but not both.

Jack Graham, that is.

Perfect results this weekend, all Brad Johnson's teams lost - Dogs get flogged, Cats choking and whoever is playing us losing.

Now Johno wants Grimes to get to a 5K fine for staging, because it was a final.

To be fair that free kick probably ruined Charlie’s career... absolutely broken after that

Ripper article.

Straight from the Hart, footy legend opens up on why Tassie needs an AFL team
AFL legend Royce Hart on suits, success — and why Tassie needs a team

ROYCE Hart was a star from the moment he arrived at Richmond in 1966, after the club’s master recruiter Graeme Richmond had offered the now famous recruiting lure of six Pelaco shirts and a Hersh suit for the young bank teller from Hobart.
Hart kicked 52 goals in 15 games for Richmond’s under-19s as a centre half-forward in 1966 before he was promoted to the reserves late in the season to get ready for the finals, the under-19s having lost all their points after playing an ineligible player.

The Tigers were five points down with 30 seconds left against Collingwood in the reserves Grand Final when 18-year-old Hart sent a booming torpedo straight through from 60m, a distance that hasn’t been expanded over time. Never a better suit had been bought!

“Those two Hersh brothers were tailors in Lennox St, Richmond, and they made up the suit, I reckon they are still operating in Richmond. I worked in the Commonwealth Bank in the city,” Hart, 71, said this week from his Oak Downs home in Hobart.

“That’s how Richmond got me because I was transferred by the bank, so they didn’t have to get a clearance from Clarence Football Club. Mum said I couldn’t go to Richmond because I didn’t have a suit or shirts.

“Slater and Gordon used to bank there. A bloke named Peter Gordon, who ended up a senior partner of the company, said about six months ago that the Western Bulldogs have a player who reminded him of Royce Hart. A young lad named Aaron Naughton. I have watched him since and like the look of him.”

Hart, who played 187 games for Richmond (369 goals) from 1967-77 and won two best and fairests and four premierships on his way to being named centre half-forward in the AFL’s Team of the Century, provided a rare interview this week.

“I played my first game as a full-forward against Greg Brown of Essendon (at the MCG). I kicked 3.7. Then I taught myself to kick drop punts. Nines games later I got picked to play for Victoria’s second team against Tasmania at North Hobart. Then Ron Barassi got crook and I got promoted to play against Western Australia at the MCG as full-forward. I kicked seven on Colin Beard, who sadly died the other day. Two years earlier I was looking at blokes like Bob Skilton and John Nicholls, thinking how great they were, then I was playing with them. I won the Richmond goalkicking with 55 goals, we beat Geelong to win the premiership, plus I won Channel 7’s Recruit of the Year. I was presented with an Omega watch, which I keep in a safe. The actual watch is valued at $6000-$7000 but with the engraving on it, you can add $10,000.”

“I played in two Grand Finals in two states in a week. I got drafted to National Service and went to Puckapunyal first, then North Head School of Artillery in Sydney with Manly rugby league player Bobby Fulton. At one stage I was told I was going to Vietnam when I was going to do 10 weeks of preparation training at Townsville. I rang Richmond’s Alan Schwab and he got my posting changed to Adelaide. It buggered careers by going over to Vietnam, which singer Normie Rowe once told me. As for 1969, I played in Richmond’s Grand Final win over Carlton. I was based in the Adelaide Hills and would fly over on Friday night and back on Sunday. After we won the Grand Final, I didn’t get my flight back on the Sunday. They were going to lock me up in the Army prison but a bloke called Dickie Bird helped me get back to Adelaide. I then trained with Glenelg on the Tuesday and Thursday nights and played for them against Sturt in the losing SANFL GF. The law of the land said I could play because I was in National Service. I got knocked out early on and can’t remember much about it. I didn’t even get to keep the jumper, which was one of those lace-up ones that we later used at Richmond.”

HARDEST OPPONENTS

“Bruce Doull by a fair way. When he first played on me, Bruce was very defensive then he started to handball from the backline. And he was real quick over the first five yards. He was the first player to work that I would run in from the side and jump, because I wasn’t that tall (187cm). Doull got too smart and stood between me and the ball so I couldn’t jump. John Williams from Essendon was a very good player.”

IAN STEWART

“The first time I ran with him when he came to Richmond in 1971 he couldn’t finish The Tan. A couple of days later at an extra training session I found him in a room throwing a footy against a wall. He told me his fitness wasn’t good enough, so every time he got near the ball, he had to make sure he won it. ‘Stewie’ wasn’t built to be a VFL player, but he made fewer mistakes due to his ball handling. Sadly the football nous, something Stewie, Peter Hudson and Darrel Baldock had in spades, has gone out of the game.”

TODAY

“They describe me as a recluse but I can’t travel due to sciatica so they won’t allow me to fly. I watch footy until I get frustrated and change the channel. I call it keepings off. It’s a game of stats and a lot of stats are nonsense, handballs to a bloke standing still to try to get out of trouble. Sides get four or five goals in front then go into a defensive mode to protect their lead, thereby losing their momentum. I think there are too many liars in football clubs today, the same as politicians and legal people.”

AN AFL TEAM IN TASMANIA

“Too many great clubs in Tasmania have gone under. The AFL hasn’t looked after grassroots football in Tasmania. And back in our day, every school had sport as part of their programs. I would love to see a Tasmanian side in the AFL, as long as it’s done the right way. There would have to be a moratorium. The state has united in cricket. We have great real estate such as Macquarie Point in Hobart, build it like that new stadium in Perth.”

Seven news...
Spent a good 30 seconds talking about Dylan Grimes fine for staging (fair enough)

BUT

Not one mention of Zorko getting a fine for the same thing

It will be the trend across every footy show during the week as well
Is it to much to ask for even reporting