No Oppo Supporters OPPOSITION OBSERVATION XXXIII

What, like GWS and GC were?
You really think tassie will be the same as they are?

I’m not talking about on field success(although hard to be worse than north atm) but more talking about the off field stuff

Tasmania unlike the Gold Coast and NSW is a Aussie rules state
The public will embrace their team, be huge memberships Im sure

You really think tassie will be the same as they are?

I’m not talking about on field success(although hard to be worse than north atm) but more talking about the off field stuff

Tasmania unlike the Gold Coast and NSW is a Aussie rules state
The public will embrace their team, be huge memberships Im sure

No I don't think Tassie will be the same, it will be a different struggle. Basketball appears to have won over the whole state, which is often divided between Launi - North and Hobart -South when it comes to footy - hence the whole North / Hawks thing. That will be their own unique challenge.

Hobart has perhaps 250k (Adelaide a bit over 1m more at 1.3m) and the rest of Tas accounts for the other 250k approx. Broadly speaking all of Tas population is about the same size as the Gold Coast, but without the roughly 2m to its immediate north in Brisbane.

That said, I reckon they deserve a crack at it.

No I don't think Tassie will be the same, it will be a different struggle. Basketball appears to have won over the whole state, which is often divided between Launi - North and Hobart -South when it comes to footy - hence the whole North / Hawks thing. That will be their own unique challenge.

Hobart has perhaps 250k (Adelaide a bit over 1m more at 1.3m) and the rest of Tas accounts for the other 250k approx. Broadly speaking all of Tas population is about the same size as the Gold Coast, but without the roughly 2m to its immediate north in Brisbane.

Yeah it will be exciting and interesting for sure
Hope they embrace it like I think they will

Hmmm , I know a lot of tongue in cheek stuff re Norf, but I hope for their supporters sake they find a way to survive.
Went to the last Fitzroy game and thought at the time f$&ck hope this is never us. People bleed for their team, lose your identity and you are nothing.
Was almost, and it was very close, us in 1990!

Tasmania is not the Gold Coast shares bugger all with it. Better to align compare it to Geelong. Your BBL statement is based on a max crowd of 4800 and assumption that if you go go to one event, you will not go to another. This is Gold Coast again and does not apply to the Tasmanian sports fans.

Tasmania is North / South division. Both North / South venues routinely have crowds (Covid restriction released) in excess of 10K with 2 teams; one being North with a low supporter base. With a Tasmanian Team it would be reasonable to expect 40% of crowd to be travelling.
Insurance would be to play a North / South statewide game as a curtain raiser to a twilight AFL match. Add 1k min interstate travelers and tour talking mid teens attendance average.

A 2 road journey to cover 75% of the population. There is some benefit in that those who are the 25% on in the West and North West are hardened, bloody loyal and will pool resources to get to games.

While I'm on my band wagon, big should out to the Northern Territory who like Tas has been given players and supporter to the VFL /AFL since day 1 but compared to the Gold Coast & GWS have received akin to soiled toilet paper from the AFL in return.

Tasmania is not the Gold Coast shares bugger all with it. Better to align compare it to Geelong. Your BBL statement is based on a max crowd of 4800 and assumption that if you go go to one event, you will not go to another. This is Gold Coast again and does not apply to the Tasmanian sports fans.

Tasmania is North / South division. Both North / South venues routinely have crowds (Covid restriction released) in excess of 10K with 2 teams; one being North with a low supporter base. With a Tasmanian Team it would be reasonable to expect 40% of crowd to be travelling.
Insurance would be to play a North / South statewide game as a curtain raiser to a twilight AFL match. Add 1k min interstate travelers and tour talking mid teens attendance average.

A 2 road journey to cover 75% of the population. There is some benefit in that those who are the 25% on in the West and North West are hardened, bloody loyal and will pool resources to get to games.

While I'm on my band wagon, big should out to the Northern Territory who like Tas has been given players and supporter to the VFL /AFL since day 1 but compared to the Gold Coast & GWS have received akin to soiled toilet paper from the AFL in return.

Comparisons are hard to come up with, each region has its own features. I only mentioned the North / South because it has been an issue previously.

Geelong is a good comparison though - loosely based around the same population as Hobart, but with millions to it's drivable North - and that it all I was coming at with the Gold Coast reference, it too has millions to its drivable north. Hobart just doesn't have that critical mass to help it get past its rusted on support if that proves insufficient to make it work.

Don't know what the critical or break even numbers are that make the expansion work there, but I suspect they are rising each year. Thankfully Tassie has grown its population (one of the fastest per head of population in Aust atm), so that helps, but how sustainable that remains to be seen.

I get the whole deserved and received nothing much in return over decades argument, but economics care little about sentiment. I'm for it 100% on a sentiment basis - I love Tassie - I'm just not aware of how the economics (at a broad brush level) will help support it enough over the journey. Let's just say I would fear its demise.

Comparisons are hard to come up with, each region has its own features. I only mentioned the North / South because it has been an issue previously.

Geelong is a good comparison though - loosely based around the same population as Hobart, but with millions to it's drivable North - and that it all I was coming at with the Gold Coast reference, it too has millions to its drivable north. Hobart just doesn't have that critical mass to help it get past its rusted on support if that proves insufficient to make it work.

Don't know what the critical or break even numbers are that make the expansion work there, but I suspect they are rising each year. Thankfully Tassie has grown its population (one of the fastest per head of population in Aust atm), so that helps, but how sustainable that remains to be seen.

I get the whole deserved and received nothing much in return over decades argument, but economics care little about sentiment. I'm for it 100% on a sentiment basis - I love Tassie - I'm just not aware of how the economics (at a broad brush level) will help support it enough over the journey. Let's just say I would fear its demise.
Economics has very little to do with it the AFL has sunk over a billion dollars into western Sydney and yet Rugby Union is out performing them in the kids eyes, so sinking money into an footy state should be a no brainer at least there the kids won’t rake up Union, or league , like they are in western Sydney

Great Western Sydney is still a no brainer for me - there is so much growth available, and yes the work to do is still there too but it gets rewarded - it's a slow burn. Would you rather sell photocopiers where there are hundreds of thousands of accountants buying various types or a small town with 100 accountants who have only ever bought Xerox?

Career suicide going to North. Manager is off his head.

I think we all overrated CJ. There’s obviously a very good reason we were only willing to offer 2-years at I assume around $350k/season. This was despite knowing Chol was going, Lynch was injury prone and Riewoldt was close to retirement.

If Richmond were desperate to keep him they’d have offered 3+ years and more coin. So I think they knew what we had which was a slow moving ruckman with poor skills at ground level who lacked a competitive edge.

So there’s an argument to say his manager has done a sterling job. Secured him $2m and at least
4-years in the system compared to $700k with no surety whether he’d forge a successful career.

A boom recruit who cannot get a game for a side in full rebuild mode that needs a key forward target to support Larkey…. massive, massive alarm bells for Norf.

Hmmm , I know a lot of tongue in cheek stuff re Norf, but I hope for their supporters sake they find a way to survive.
Went to the last Fitzroy game and thought at the time f$&ck hope this is never us. People bleed for their team, lose your identity and you are nothing.

I think long term they’ll be fine. Have the finances in order and they’re not moving interstate. We all knew this was coming years ago with their list profile.

They’ve just made some shocking decisions in terms of the football department. If I’m in the executive I’d be looking at Rawlings very closely to see if he’s the right guy for the job.

Nothing other than discussion, The same Melbourne population is less than 1hrs flight away. It would be a foolish Tas state govt. that kills the golden tourism bucket that would make it difficult or expensive to get onto the island... There is a bit of work to do here though re public transport.

Can't see Tasmania being too different from GWS and GC. Alot of the AFL fans down there will already have a team, and I can't imagine too many of them dropping this team in favour of one representing their state. Over time this will change, and they will get an initial injection of people signing up, but it will be a slow build IMO to develop a solid supporter base.

I saw this on the Gold Coast. When they set up my son was in around u11s. None of his teammates turned up to training over the next 6 years wearing a Suns jumper. But the young kids coming in gradually changed. By 2017 turning up at the ground early with all the u 9s - u13s and there would be a lot of red jumpers on the track. It takes time. Not sure there'll be enough for them to ever be profitable though lol.

I think we all overrated CJ. There’s obviously a very good reason we were only willing to offer 2-years at I assume around $350k/season. This was despite knowing Chol was going, Lynch was injury prone and Riewoldt was close to retirement.

If Richmond were desperate to keep him they’d have offered 3+ years and more coin. So I think they knew what we had which was a slow moving ruckman with poor skills at ground level who lacked a competitive edge.

So there’s an argument to say his manager has done a sterling job. Secured him $2m and at least
4-years in the system compared to $700k with no surety whether he’d forge a successful career.

A boom recruit who cannot get a game for a side in full rebuild mode that needs a key forward target to support Larkey…. massive, massive alarm bells for Norf.

Did he do anything else at Richmond other than the 4 goals against Adelaide.

(not including putting a gun to the head of an AFL season which we won the premiership but then again Nathan Buckley falls in same category )

Im glad we didnt come out and say they walked out the wrong door.