No Oppo Supporters OPPOSITION OBSERVATION XXXVI

mitch owens is the third best player in the entire league? i’m sorry what?
Guardians Of The Galaxy GIF
Who Is That Alicia Keys GIF by iHeartRadio

But whilst Owens has been great, it's a massive stretch to put in in the Top 10 let alone 3rd.
They invite criticism by complicating the criteria.

The rankings are decided by how far in excess the players are of a normal rating for their position.

I have a number of questions about this but can’t be bothered going into it.

They invite criticism by complicating the criteria.

The rankings are decided by how far in excess the players are of a normal rating for their position.

I have a number of questions about this but can’t be bothered going into it.
Yeah and they’ve labeled Owens a key forward which doesn’t really apply perfectly to the role he plays

Is why their system doesn’t work in the AFL. Players are rarely a clean one position role in the team like they are in other sports. Makes these comparison rankings super dumb

In the 2017 QF versus the Cats, whenever a Geelong defender - usually Tuohy or Stewart - took the kick out from a behind, they were booed by 50,000 Tiger supporters. It was just the crowd trying to become the 19th man ... might've even worked to be fair. It wasn't aimed at the individual Cats players - Shane Warne could've been playing for them that night and the MCG crowd would've booed the bejesus out of him, just to give the Tiges a little edge.
yeah we put them off bigtime that night when they were kicking out. I booed me lungs out.

isnt it funny its gone now that they run 15 metres out of the square now to kick out

shocking/afl has removed even the little details that made our game great

Booing is pretty childish, but idk I find the whole drama about it a bit over the top.

As long as its not targeted racism (is it with Buddy?) like it was with Goodes, just let it go
Was never about race with Goodes.

yeah we put them off bigtime that night when they were kicking out. I booed me lungs out.

isnt it funny its gone now that they run 15 metres out of the square now to kick out

shocking/afl has removed even the little details that made our game great
The three standing bays ,Punt Road End are now dry areas.
The roar from that area in the past used to lift the roof of the G.

More rule changes but off field.

Booing for no reason is real bottom feeder stuff. When I first heard about it I assumed that Buddy must have shoved Daicos in that little melee or something but he didn't get near him. That game Buddy cleaned up Shane Edwards I would have booed with the best of them, but if he's done nothing of note to warrant it they why do it?

It only gives the opportunity for racist morons to follow on with it and try and boo him all the time
Booing good players is just that.Nothing to do with race.Its a compliment actually.
Course there is the garden variety booing for a player who's done something to your player(Hi Stewart) and lets not forget wrong decision by the ump type of Booing.
And the Pies supporters are right on this occasion.Everyones little mate ginnaven was Booed last year and all you heard was crickets from AFLHQ and its media chums.Fast fwd to last week and all of a sudden AFLHQ's lovechild club has a hissy fit over their player getting booed for no other reason that he's a champion player of the comp and it's custom to do so.
AFL will lose supporters.Gils legacy.

That's exactly the parallel. You have a star indigenous player coming towards the end of their career and suddenly they start getting booed all game for no reason. The AFL did nothing when it started with Goodes until it was too late, if they made the same mistake again with Buddy it would be diabolical

A politician will have a viewpoint that a large amount of the crowd doesn't agree with hence they get booed

Buddy has done nothing, the booing is ridiculous in the context of that game
Buddy gets booed like Goodes because of his actions on the field but yeah its racist.
Give me a spell mate.
For every Buddy & Goodes i give you Toby Greene & Richo.Same reasoning on why they got booed.Their demeanour/Actions on the field.

The booing intensified after he called out racism during a game, so there was a race element to it.
No doubt but before hand as far as i'm concerned it was about his antics on the field that provoked the booing.

just drink piss behind the bays. get glimpses of the game when its at the punt rd end and watch the rest on the telly. farrk em

Shits me to tears that the media can direct the narrative on booing. Its just booing big deal.
People are going to go ape droppings when we play the cats on Friday and Stewart is boo'd all night.
"What's Stewart done to upset Richmond fans .... this is poor behaviour".
"I think its because of the injury to Prestia last year"
"That's nearly 12 months ago, Richmond supporters need to move on".
Move on?!? That's the sort of footy sheet I use to live for...waiting for the rematch...and getting involved with both the Boooo's and payback!
Stuff the AFL directions and control of the sport and supporter!

I find the consistent booing of a player that hasn't done anything except be one of the greatest of all time *ing stupid... Pies did it to dusty a few weeks ago.

I get it if the player has it coming (like Stewart) but what has buddy done to deserve it?
Took out Sheds for no penalty!

Buddy gets booed like Goodes because of his actions on the field but yeah its racist.
Give me a spell mate.
For every Buddy & Goodes i give you Toby Greene & Richo.Same reasoning on why they got booed.Their demeanour/Actions on the field.
What action on the field? Explain to me what Buddy did to make any sense of him being booed

Richo was never booed all game for no reason in my memory

Toby Greene got booed here and there because he liked to eye gouge and kick players in the head. Two things that Buddy has never done

What action on the field? Explain to me what Buddy did to make any sense of him being booed

Toby Greene got booed here and there because he liked to eye gouge and kick players in the head. Two things that Buddy has never done
Look up the tribalism of our sport and others.Booing has been in our game for a variety of reasons.
And you think Buddy is an angel.FMD talk about short/selective memory.

I think his semi regular targeted polaxing of players much smaller than him would be a factor.

He has no finesse with his intimidating actions, very clumsy efforts that injure players.

The booing intensified after he called out racism during a game, so there was a race element to it.

No doubt but before hand as far as i'm concerned it was about his antics on the field that provoked the booing.
Pretty sure both of these are correct.

Obviously the AFL and the clubs are getting involved because in this instance it is an indigenous player. Unfortunately they just won’t say it.

They don’t want a situation where there is a mass pile on by the racists out there but by not admitting that this is what it is and attacking booing in general they make it worse for themselves.

Clearly, if it was our supporters booing Stewart last week instead of it being Buddy nothing would have been said.

Why not just say “for those who don’t like Buddy or wanted to put him off his game, can you now refrain from booing because what this will lead to is racist boo’ers coming out of the woodwork in a massive pile on. We have nothing against fans booing but please be mindful of how this could escalate into something unsavoury “.

Or something like that.

I remember the old days of boxing Day tests 76, 77 probably just turned 18 Esky full of beers. Not enough ice so they went warm quick. Drunk as skunks.. cops kicking people out but ot too much crowd violence.
Suburban VFL back in the 70s was a great place we'd have beers for a 16 year old. 4 or 5 school friends would gather a essadon to drink. Ah the Windy hill brawl.... memories.
Whitten oval later on... funny blokes.
Going to the G these days, or any ground its sitting only. Crammed right in and I've had to check my rants at Oppo players.
But as a Catholic kid we had little limericks about proddy dogs..
School yards are horrible.. violence from teachers, parents elder kid's. Pinch and punch... etc l was Anglo Celtic and New Australians would cop it.
I've traveled a bit so my perspective has broadened but plenty of casual racism still.. Chol was the target of one middle aged guy with 2 young adult kids who were mortified by his comments.. about the time Matt Parker was getting racist comments on his social media
I love the look of our racial mix of our teams now and our club.

Look up the tribalism of our sport and others.Booing has been in our game for a variety of reasons.
And you think Buddy is an angel.FMD talk about short/selective memory.

Sure and during that game by all means I understand booing him and would join in (probably did join in). There was nothing like that in the Collingwood game he did nothing like that and got booed all game. It’s crap

I think his semi regular targeted polaxing of players much smaller than him would be a factor.

He has no finesse with his intimidating actions, very clumsy efforts that injure players.
That’s rubbish. Buddy is no more dirty than any other player. Lynch whacks blokes just as much if not more than Buddy and he’s never been booed in a game all game where he hadn’t collected anyone