Our Top 10

Had an interesting conversation with a mate today at the footy when discussing who out best few players are currently. It got me thinking and I thought I'd post the question here

Here's my initial list - I'm sure I'll change my mind several times but at the moment it stands like this

1 - Cousins
2 - Judd
3 - Cox
4 - Kerr
5 - Embley
6 - Wirrpanda
7 - Glass
8 - Hunter
9 - Nicoski
10 - Stenglein

larrikin said:
1 - Cousins
2 - Judd
3 - Cox
4 - Kerr
5 - Embley
6 - Wirrpanda
7 - Glass
8 - Hunter
9 - Nicoski
10 - Stenglein
Is this based on 2006 form alone?

If so, Embley wouldn't be that high.

No love for Michael Braun.

larrikin said:
Had an interesting conversation with a mate today at the footy when discussing who out best few players are currently. It got me thinking and I thought I'd post the question here

Here's my initial list - I'm sure I'll change my mind several times but at the moment it stands like this

1 - Cousins
2 - Judd
3 - Cox
4 - Kerr
5 - Embley
6 - Wirrpanda
7 - Glass
8 - Hunter
9 - Nicoski
10 - Stenglein

that top 4 is very hard to split...you could argue any four of them and not be wrong. Good list. :thumbsu:

Gunnar Longshanks said:
Is this based on 2006 form alone?

If so, Embley wouldn't be that high.

No love for Michael Braun.
Nah - the criteria is a bit vague I guess - it's a bit of a Mike Sheehan style "who is the best player" in the league/on our list etc. It was more of a case of the fact that when talking to my mate he rated some players far more highly than I did, thought it might get a discussion going...

larrikin said:

1 - Cousins
2 - Judd
3 - Cox
4 - Kerr
5 - Embley
6 - Wirrpanda
7 - Glass
8 - Hunter
9 - Nicoski
10 - Stenglein

Ive got no complaints on that list. Nicoski has been sensational of late but overall and over the last few years you could argue that Braun deserves top 10 status. Hmm... alright ill give it a go.

1. Cousins
2. Judd
3. Cox
4. Kerr
5. Embley
6. Wirrpanda
7. Hunter
8. Glass
9. Braun
10. Stinger

With Nicoski just outside the top 10 with Fletcher.

10 best players? or first 10 players picked? I see the two as different.

Assessing 'who is better than who' is always very subjective, and most of our best players are midfielders. If I was picking the side, the first 10 I would want in are (in no particular order):

Cox, Cousins, Judd, Kerr, Embley, Braun, Hunter, Glass, Wirrpanda, Stenglein.

larrikin said:

1 - Cousins
2 - Judd
3 - Cox
4 - Kerr
5 - Embley
6 - Wirrpanda
7 - Glass
8 - Hunter
9 - Nicoski
10 - Stenglein

I'd have Braun and Chick in the list before Embley or Stinger. But other than that, it looks A-OK.

Here is mine

1. Cousins
2. Cox
3. Judd
4. Kerr
5. Glass
6. Wirrpanda
7. Embley
8. Nicoski
9. Braun
10. Hunter

This list is based on order of importance not on skill level, Judd is easily our more skilled player but Cox is more important IMO.

While Cousins is outstanding player and I really love him Judd is better and more important. As evidenced buy the fact we have really struggled last two weeks without him.

Jako said:
While Cousins is outstanding player and I really love him Judd is better and more important. As evidenced buy the fact we have really struggled last two weeks without him.

that had little to do with judd imo. i think we're just playing poorly and only stepping up when we need to which isn't good enough

wce4premiership said:
that had little to do with judd imo. i think we're just playing poorly and only stepping up when we need to which isn't good enough

Agreed.

With Judd, I feel the result may have almost been the same, Judd is a player, not the team.

jeez very good topic, not being a wc supporter this is how mine would go, criteria: most impact on a game

1. Judd
2. Cox
3. Cousins
4. Kerr
5. Wirrpanda
6. Embley
7. Hunter
8. Glass
9. Stenglein
10. (not really sure, mayb fletcher or braun, nicoski's got a penetrating left foot)

Gday fellow WC fans :thumbsu:

My top 10, probably not in particular order, would be:

Cousins
Judd
Cox
Embley
Kerr
Hunter
Chick
Nicoski
Braun
Wirrpanda

Stenglein, Glass are up there too. Graham will be a gun and the Big Unit is improving :D

This is my top ten important players:
1.Judd
2.Cox
3.Cousins
4.Kerr
5.Hunter
6.Stenglein
7.Wirrapanda
8.Embley
9.Nicoski
10.Glass

If and when Fletcher plays consistently well then he might be there somewhere. Couldnt find a place for Chick, Selwood or Braun, not enough places though are still very important players. Graham and Staker would be close.
Jeez, didnt really know how hard it was to pick until I did it!

larrikin said:

1 - Cousins
2 - Judd
3 - Cox
4 - Kerr
5 - Embley
6 - Wirrpanda
7 - Glass
8 - Hunter
9 - Nicoski
10 - Stenglein

Bump. We could certainly use those 10 fit and firing at once.

In terms of importance:

Judd
Cox
Glass
Cousins
Embley
Kerr
Hunter
Wirrpanda
Hansen
Steinglein

Nico and Fletch could be in there on any given day....I reckon we look a million times better with Hansen playing, even if he has a shocker he gives a target.

This is my top ten important players:
1.Judd
2.Cox
3.Cousins
4.Kerr
5.Hunter
6.Stenglein
7.fletcher
8.wirrapanda
9.embley
10.Nicoski

[1. Judd
2-10. Daylight]

how funny about judd being the only important player but as much as i love judd he is not the team. if WC didn't have him there will be something very important missing. my list would be the exact same as the list above.
just wondering, have you guys met chris judd (the hottie)? how is he?

Our Top 10